Caribbean Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 88 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ought to be illegal!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | St Marteen to Port of Spain. I arrived at St Marteen airport to travel home via Trinidad as a layover due to the COVID issue. At the Caribbean counter, the representative was not accepting people so my flight was canceled. I asked, so that's it? I can't fly? He said, no. He said I could try another airline and that I could get a refund online, then he turned away, dismissing me. I went home, took back my apartment and rental vehicle, and made plans to just stay and deal with things, told my family to not expect me home due to the developing situation and traveling issues (we had already spent money we don't have trying to get me there and back). The next day, I went online and was told the man had lied. They told me I would have to travel, set another date and that was as good as they could manage. I'm sorry, but I did not cancel my plans. Apparently, Trinidad was closed before the ticket was ever sold. Why did you sell a ticket for a place that was closed to anyone but nationals? That ought to be illegal!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt Marteen to Port of Spain
Date FlownMarch 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"told I would receive a refund"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. I will never book another Caribbean airlines flight again!! I booked the airline for my wedding in jamaica for a 7am flight on 02/26/2020 and they called me at 5 am and cancelled my flight without giving me any reason. They could not tell me why my flight was cancelled the representative on the phone was unsure. I had around 100 people meeting me for my wedding and they told me the next available flight was at 4pm and was subject to delays. The whole day would have been missed by the time i travelled after landing in jamaica. I had to cancel my reservation in which i was told i would receive a refund. I have not received any refund or notification in writing or emails that i would be getting a refund. Only to wait 21 business days. When i called the airline no person would even tell me the status of my refund. I am completely left in the dark. I can not understand how an airline could conduct business in this manner. Also the reliability of this airline is completely compromised. I had to spend an extra 700$ to book a whole new flight the morning of the cancellation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I filed a dispute"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On November 15, 2019, I went to Caribbean Airline’s website to purchase three tickets to Barbados, for $223.20 per ticket. The flights were scheduled to leave around 2:40 pm, on November 15th, and arrive in Barbados around 10 pm that same night. I selected three flights with this flight information. When I received confirmation of the flights, it stated that the flights would arrive around 9 am the next morning, on November 16th. That was not the flight times that I selected. I immediately called Caribbean Airlines Customer Service and informed the representative that there was a mistake with the flight times on the confirmation. I stayed on the phone with her for about five minutes while she looked up my flight information. She instructed me to go to the Caribbean Airlines’ counter in the Miami Airport and have the Desk Agent change the flights. I waited for about 1.5 hours for this change. The Desk Agent also spoke with her Supervisor and they both worked on changing my flight. After waiting for approximately 1.5 hours at the Caribbean Airlines’ counter, the Desk Agent told me that there are no longer any seats available on the flights that I selected. I requested a full refund, at the counter, since the flights that I originally selected were not available anymore. I also requested to speak with the Supervisor that was helping her to change the flights. She denied my request and informed me that I would have to call Customer Service again because they do not issue refunds at the counter. She also stated that Customer Service would be able to issue a full refund. I walked away from the counter and called Customer Service. I spoke to a different Customer Service Representative than before. I explained the situation. She informed me that the reason the Desk Agent instructed me to call Customer Service was because the Desk Agent knew that I would NOT be able to get a refund at all. And the Desk Agent didn’t want to have a confrontation at the counter. So, the Desk Agent passed me back to the Customer Service Department, according to the Customer Service Rep. This Customer Service Rep said that she could only issue a flight credit. I stated that I was not interested in a flight credit because it was their error on their part with booking the wrong flights. She told me that the only person able to issue a full refund was a Supervisor. I then, requested to speak with a Supervisor. After waiting on hold for 30 minutes, the phone line was suddenly disconnected. I thought it was a mistake or maybe a bad signal on my phone. I called Customer Service again and repeated the same situation regarding booking flights for a specific time and the flight confirmation coming back with a different time. I immediately asked to speak with a Supervisor after explaining the situation. This time, I waited about 15 minutes on hold and the phone line disconnected again. My phone did not have a bad signal. They purposely disconnected the line to prevent a conversation with a Supervisor, who may or may not have been able to resolve the issue. After, a second disconnection and hours of trying to have my issue resolved, I filed a dispute with American Express to receive a credit for these flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Bridgetown
Date FlownNovember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"communication is less than poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. Flight time was 7 am. After 9 am we were told the flight may not leave as there is a technical problem. The communication between the company and its customers is less than poor. Finally around 1130 we went from not leaving to departure soon. We don’t live near the airport, we left at 1 am to make our flight. The only thing Caribbean did was hand out $12 vouchers which most establishments would not take. Steer clear, the flight was no bargain, the plane was old and dated. We tried dealing with Caribbean but would only say they don’t take phone complaints.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"My bag never arrived"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | New York to Port of Spain. The worst customer service. My bag never arrived from JFK to Trinidad, I made a report upon my arrival and was told that they would call me once the bag was found and they would send it to me at my final destination, Antigua. Three days later, I had made more than 40 calls to the airline in New York and Trinidad, 300 USD dollars in international calls, and I received zero calls from the airline informing about the case. I was treated disrespectfully, someone hung up the phone on me when I politely insisted for assistance and information. I emailed the CEO and a director of the company asking for their help, no response, just a customer officer responded saying they would look into it. This is a disaster and I strongly advise against this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Port of Spain
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"poor customer service"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Not Verified | I made reservations for my daughter and her husband to Tobago, however when the email arrived her name was spelt incorrectly. I then called to make the change, I was put on hold at least four times, each lasted at least 10 mins. I was told all of the times that I had to wait on a supervisor's report of the recording. I was then told I was the one who misspelt my daughter's name. I called the very next day, requesting a listen of the recording. I was then transferred to customer service I was told I can't and they had to send the recording to another supervisor again I was put on hold for at least 13mins. this time I was told that I will not be able to listen to the recording. this time someone tried to explain that the travel is between Trinidad and Tobago and sometimes if a letter is missing they can overlook it, however if they don't I will have to pay for the error. This is poor customer service, even though they are the only airline operating the bridge between T&T its highly unprofessional.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTrinidad to Tobago
Date FlownOctober 2018
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service representative negligence"

(Jamaica)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. I bought a 2 way ticket on Caribbean Airlines. Before my return trip I received an email from the airline saying that my flight was cancelled and I was reaccommodated on a flight the following day. I was not able to travel on the date they gave me so I called more than a week before the given date to find out my options. The representative on the phone was rude and unwilling to help. She said I had to pay a rebooking fee plus the difference to get on a new flight with the same airline. I was not advised that I could place that ticket on hold for future use or that I could receive a refund as my flight being cancelled happened on the airline's part, certainly not mine. I received no refund and no credit either. I had to buy a new return ticket because of Caribbean Airline's customer service representative negligence due to inadequate customer service training of the airline's staff.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"small airline with great qualities"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Trip Verified | Traveled from Miami to Port of Spain on a Boeing 737-800. Check in was smooth and quick. Purchased a Caribbean Plus seat, 9C. As a member of Caribbean Airlines club, check in process is via the business class counter. I proceeded to the LATAM club. This club was very clean and offered light snacks, free wifi, charging ports for electronic devices. After, I proceeded to the gate for boarding. Boarding process was very easy as Club members board after business class passengers. Upon arrival into the aircraft, I was personally greeted by the purser. He checked my boarding pass and directed me to my seat. My seat was very comfortable and very spacious. I highly recommend purchasing a Caribbean Plus seat. The advertised seat pitch is 37 inches and seat recline was great. The meal service was excellent and comprised of chicken breast, noodles and vegetables. The meal was delicious. The flight attendants were very friendly and professional. The flight left five minutes early and arrived into Trinidad 25 minutes early. The landing was the smoothest landing ever. The captain and his first officer were outstanding.This is a small airline with great qualities and I hope it continues.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMiami to Port of Spain
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"staff very unfriendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Georgetown via Port of Spain. Check in staff in Newark misinformed me about my bags being checked all the way through to Georgetown, I bought duty free in EWR and it was a hassle getting it through Port of Spain. Staff at front desk made me wait until they were ready to walk me through the gates. On both outgoing and return trips I found the staff, with a couple notable exceptions, very unfriendly. Seemed they thought they were doing me a huge favor. You guys need to either retrain these staff or get rid of them as they are doing damage to your reputation. On return trip I was literally refused to be sold Duty Free because no one at the front desk told me that I had to place the duty free in my checked luggage? When I arrived in Port of Spain it seems that they had a procedure for handling it for in transit passengers. I ended up buying the Duty Free in Port of Spain at a higher price as well! Flight delays were not even explained properly. With one exception the ground staff showed little empathy with the fact that a 2 hour delay could have messed up my interconnecting flight. The agent that checked me in was rude and very curt. She signaled me to walk up to her desk then had me wait several minutes while she finished the prior task she was working on before even greeting me. Why not just leave me in the line so I could go to another agent who would be ready to do my transaction? I had zero confidence that she would have given me any useful information given her demeanor. I had to ask around ince inside the terminal building until I found someone who was able to explain that the interconnecting flight would also be delayed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Georgetown via Port of Spain
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"changed our flight 5 times"

(United States)

Not Verified | New York JFK to Port of Spain. Horrible, they changed our flight 5 times before we even boarded. The result was a different date and a very inconvenient red eye. No flexibility at all, no refunds at all. Never again
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Port of Spain
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 88 Reviews