Caribbean Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"refund process will take a minimum of 9 months"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Trip Verified | Cancelled a return flight purchased through Caribbean Airlines. It was a FLEX/economy flight which states it's 100% refundable. But of course, you must read the fine print which says there is a USD$50 processing fee. The refund process will take a minimum of 9 months. I can see other people leaving reviews are still waiting on their refunds. Basically, you are paying them to sit on your money for 9+ months. If customer service was better and explained why it was so ridiculous, this would have been a better experience but of course, it was terrible. They were extremely short and rude. Unfortunately, CAL is the only airline flying to Trinidad & Tobago. As soon as any other airlines start flying to Trinidad & Tobago, fly with them instead.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Port of Spain
Date FlownAugust 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not yet received my refund"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was supposed to fly on Caribbean Airlines in October 2020 to Kingston. However Caribbean airlines cancelled my flight and wanted to put me on another flight 14 hours later. This was not convenient for the purpose of my travel so I told them that that flight would not suffice. They told me it could take “up to ninety business days for a refund”. It is now seven months since September 30, 2020 and I have not yet received my refund of $493. I have contacted the airlines at least five times now. I have contacted Expedia. I have contacted BBB and I have even written an email to the CEO of the airlines. All they are telling me is that my refund was submitted to the refund department.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Kingston
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing to credit or refund me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This airline cancelled my flight due to COVID in March 2020 and is now refusing to issue me a refund or a credit. The customer service rep was incredibly rude to me over the phone. When I asked to be transferred to speak with someone else, she hung up on me. $700 on a flight and they can do absolutely nothing to credit or refund me. Very disappointing, especially because we are repeat customers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"one year later and still no refund and lies, lies, lies"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I paid for my ticket in February 2020 but because of Covid my flight got cancelled. I applied for a refund because my Father received a refund for the same Day returning flight. It is now February 14, 2021, a year later and all I have heard is excuses and lies! They even had the nerve to block me on Facebook rather than issue a refund. They even said a refund was issued and after 14 days said it never was and I should receive it soon, one year later and still no refund and lies, lies, lies. So disappointed in my Caribbean Airlines position in this matter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Trinidad
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not give me a refund back"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had to cancel my flights due to COVID and they would not give me a refund back. Instead, one of their team members chose a date without letting me know and rebooked my flights. A few weeks later, my sister who was scheduled for the same flight ended up getting a full refund along with a few others I know. I'm not entirely sure why I was not getting a refund and why they kept accusing me of re-booking my tickets when I never did! Also, my last travel with them to Guyana was a horrible experience!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Guyana
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ought to be illegal!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | St Marteen to Port of Spain. I arrived at St Marteen airport to travel home via Trinidad as a layover due to the COVID issue. At the Caribbean counter, the representative was not accepting people so my flight was canceled. I asked, so that's it? I can't fly? He said, no. He said I could try another airline and that I could get a refund online, then he turned away, dismissing me. I went home, took back my apartment and rental vehicle, and made plans to just stay and deal with things, told my family to not expect me home due to the developing situation and traveling issues (we had already spent money we don't have trying to get me there and back). The next day, I went online and was told the man had lied. They told me I would have to travel, set another date and that was as good as they could manage. I'm sorry, but I did not cancel my plans. Apparently, Trinidad was closed before the ticket was ever sold. Why did you sell a ticket for a place that was closed to anyone but nationals? That ought to be illegal!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt Marteen to Port of Spain
Date FlownMarch 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"told I would receive a refund"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. I will never book another Caribbean airlines flight again!! I booked the airline for my wedding in jamaica for a 7am flight on 02/26/2020 and they called me at 5 am and cancelled my flight without giving me any reason. They could not tell me why my flight was cancelled the representative on the phone was unsure. I had around 100 people meeting me for my wedding and they told me the next available flight was at 4pm and was subject to delays. The whole day would have been missed by the time i travelled after landing in jamaica. I had to cancel my reservation in which i was told i would receive a refund. I have not received any refund or notification in writing or emails that i would be getting a refund. Only to wait 21 business days. When i called the airline no person would even tell me the status of my refund. I am completely left in the dark. I can not understand how an airline could conduct business in this manner. Also the reliability of this airline is completely compromised. I had to spend an extra 700$ to book a whole new flight the morning of the cancellation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I filed a dispute"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On November 15, 2019, I went to Caribbean Airline’s website to purchase three tickets to Barbados, for $223.20 per ticket. The flights were scheduled to leave around 2:40 pm, on November 15th, and arrive in Barbados around 10 pm that same night. I selected three flights with this flight information. When I received confirmation of the flights, it stated that the flights would arrive around 9 am the next morning, on November 16th. That was not the flight times that I selected. I immediately called Caribbean Airlines Customer Service and informed the representative that there was a mistake with the flight times on the confirmation. I stayed on the phone with her for about five minutes while she looked up my flight information. She instructed me to go to the Caribbean Airlines’ counter in the Miami Airport and have the Desk Agent change the flights. I waited for about 1.5 hours for this change. The Desk Agent also spoke with her Supervisor and they both worked on changing my flight. After waiting for approximately 1.5 hours at the Caribbean Airlines’ counter, the Desk Agent told me that there are no longer any seats available on the flights that I selected. I requested a full refund, at the counter, since the flights that I originally selected were not available anymore. I also requested to speak with the Supervisor that was helping her to change the flights. She denied my request and informed me that I would have to call Customer Service again because they do not issue refunds at the counter. She also stated that Customer Service would be able to issue a full refund. I walked away from the counter and called Customer Service. I spoke to a different Customer Service Representative than before. I explained the situation. She informed me that the reason the Desk Agent instructed me to call Customer Service was because the Desk Agent knew that I would NOT be able to get a refund at all. And the Desk Agent didn’t want to have a confrontation at the counter. So, the Desk Agent passed me back to the Customer Service Department, according to the Customer Service Rep. This Customer Service Rep said that she could only issue a flight credit. I stated that I was not interested in a flight credit because it was their error on their part with booking the wrong flights. She told me that the only person able to issue a full refund was a Supervisor. I then, requested to speak with a Supervisor. After waiting on hold for 30 minutes, the phone line was suddenly disconnected. I thought it was a mistake or maybe a bad signal on my phone. I called Customer Service again and repeated the same situation regarding booking flights for a specific time and the flight confirmation coming back with a different time. I immediately asked to speak with a Supervisor after explaining the situation. This time, I waited about 15 minutes on hold and the phone line disconnected again. My phone did not have a bad signal. They purposely disconnected the line to prevent a conversation with a Supervisor, who may or may not have been able to resolve the issue. After, a second disconnection and hours of trying to have my issue resolved, I filed a dispute with American Express to receive a credit for these flights.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Bridgetown
Date FlownNovember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"communication is less than poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Montego Bay. Flight time was 7 am. After 9 am we were told the flight may not leave as there is a technical problem. The communication between the company and its customers is less than poor. Finally around 1130 we went from not leaving to departure soon. We don’t live near the airport, we left at 1 am to make our flight. The only thing Caribbean did was hand out $12 vouchers which most establishments would not take. Steer clear, the flight was no bargain, the plane was old and dated. We tried dealing with Caribbean but would only say they don’t take phone complaints.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteNew York to Montego Bay
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"My bag never arrived"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | New York to Port of Spain. The worst customer service. My bag never arrived from JFK to Trinidad, I made a report upon my arrival and was told that they would call me once the bag was found and they would send it to me at my final destination, Antigua. Three days later, I had made more than 40 calls to the airline in New York and Trinidad, 300 USD dollars in international calls, and I received zero calls from the airline informing about the case. I was treated disrespectfully, someone hung up the phone on me when I politely insisted for assistance and information. I emailed the CEO and a director of the company asking for their help, no response, just a customer officer responded saying they would look into it. This is a disaster and I strongly advise against this airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Port of Spain
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 93 Reviews