Bulgaria Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 105 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"reputation and customers is not what you value"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | Booked a flight for 12.10.2020 and today, a day before I receive the cancellation of the flight. This year it has happened to me multiple times and I had to spend a fortune on buying new tickets to finally fly away. None of the Airlines I used ever refunded money so far and today I am in the same situation again, when none of the airline reps can clearly explain what is going on! How long this is going to continue? Covid is the reason? Are we going to use it as an excuse everytime and everywhere? How come that overnight everything so of a sudden changes, today is safe, tomorrow is dangerous (presumably), according to the logic of the airlines? Why, if it's so you simply don' t sell tickets and don't fool people into spending their hard earned money into something that is not guaranteed? If you cannot refund straight away, and it's a shame that 6 months wasn't enough for you to come up with some kind of solution for this then I believe your reputation and customers is not what you value! Of course, I can make it my last flight this year or even next. I think it's time for some changes from the customers side! This is ridiculous.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEstonia to Bulgaria
Date FlownOctober 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"ashamed of our national carrier"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | I have flown with Bulgaria Air more than 15 times. Mainly because on the routes I flew I didn’t have a better alternative at that certain moment. However, I don’t think I had a flight with them that didn’t have some kind of problem. Once I had to transport my dog and when we landed the ground crew returned the dog cage broken! (They obviously had dropped it while my dog was inside). Once I bought a ticket and I had to travel for business. When I tried to do the check-in it turned out there is an error in the system and the ticket didn’t exist. Imagine the surprise I felt when I had to buy a 2x more expensive ticket just hours before departure. But maybe the worst thing was when I had to fly from Lisbon back to Bulgaria and just hours before the flight I got an email that it got cancelled. Just a regular day with Bulgaria air. I am Bulgarian, travel a lot and honestly am ashamed of our national carrier. If you have a chance, fly with any other airline just not BG air.
AircraftA-319
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Madrid
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent staff and slow email"

(Bulgaria)

Not Verified | My ID expired abroad in Germany during the COVID-19 Pandemic. The Bulgarian government extended the due date on all passports by 6 months and the German government recognized this measure. I wanted to book a flight from Frankfurt to Sofia and the only airline flying was Bulgaria Air. I tried booking my flight but the site of the aforementioned airline didn't allow me to book it because of my expired ID. I tried to contact them by phone 2 times. One was outside their working hours, understandable, even tho what kind of airline can't afford a 24/7 customer support? The second time I waited in line for 3 minutes and the system told me that they were unable to get in touch with me and I should contact them through email. Still ok, I contacted them in hope that they will provide a solution. To be frank, they did. It wasn't the solution I expected tho. They wanted me to send them my data so they could make the booking and then told me that it would cost 80 euros more than the original price of the ticket when I tried to book it. I, of course, told them that this isn't my fault and I shouldn't be charged 80 euros more because their system wasn't up to date with the measures taken by the Bulgarian and German governments. I waited for a day but didn't receive an answer. I decided to try to contact them once more on the phone and to my surprise they answered. The lady on the phone didn't even know that there is no way to get a new ID right now since the offices are closed and had no idea that you could travel with an expired card. I had to explain all that and then she still told me that it wasn't their fault and it is my fault. "You should have made a reservation with the expiration date one year in the future" she said. I'm sorry but that would be a lie, if not against the law. The responsibility of submitting wrong data about my ID on my own would certainly be mine. Customer service: ZERO, incompetent staff and slow email answers. In the end, I am glad that I never flied with them and certainly never will.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Sofia
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Safety standards a bit lax"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Larnaca to Sofia. On-time departure and a fairly pleasant crew. Safety standards a bit lax, e.g. the passenger in front of me had her seat reclined during boarding as well as takeoff. The crew said nothing to her. No entertainment of any kind. The fare on this route seems quite pricey - several hundred euros for a two-hour segment. Where the airline really needs to up its game is in online booking and communication. E.g. why accept and acknowledge my online request for a Muslim Meal, only to follow it up a couple days later with a confusing, fine-print email saying "we may not be able to accommodate your request", and finally, when on board, hand out the same pork sandwich to all passengers? (Even then, the ingredients were only listed on the packaging in Bulgarian, and in microscopic font.) Bulgaria is a leader in IT, but you'd never know it by interacting with their national airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLarnaca to Sofia
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"had a very good flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Madrid. We had a very good flight- check in was quick, the flight attendants were very courteous and the flight took off and landed on schedule. Plane was clean and well maintained except the livery paint job was a little worn. I would not hesitate to fly them again.
AircraftEmbraer 150
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSofia to Madrid
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst customer service ever"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Frankfurt to Tel Aviv via Sofia . I booked my tickets through Opodo in Business Class and then when I did the Check-In it became clear that there was no Business Class on the aircraft. So, I had to fly Economy and additionally I had to pay for my extra luggage (2 bags are included in the Business Tarif). I received a very small refund for the wrong booking class from Opodo, and I was told, Bulgaria Air is directly responsible for refunding me my money for the extra bag. I am trying to get a hold of them for 4 months now. No reply so far. Worst customer service ever!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Tel Aviv via Sofia
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I feel tricked and insulted"

(Bulgaria)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Varna. This is the worst airplane company ever. I am using this company for many times unfortunately since there is no other option for internal flights, and I have had many bad experiences. First of all, this summer there was a delay w/ 7 hours. I came 40min prior the flight when I was told that the flight will have a delay w/ 2 hours. After 2 hours when the time came for boarding, ppl started to go on line, one person came and told us that the flight will have another 5 hours delay ... it will actually depart at around 21:30, not even for sure. Today, I am standing here at the airport and waiting again because I was late. I came 40 min prior my flight departure, and the worker told me I was late. The gate is already closed. Supervisor at this time of shift was rude, screaming, and gave me really hard time. I had to buy another ticket for later flight, because I did not have a choice. We leave in 21 century, and I still cannot believe that this can happen. I feel tricked and insulted.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Varna
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I would take them again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Amsterdam. I think they deserve three stars based on my flight. I had booked this flight because Adria had gone bankrupt. Two days before departure, I find this flight, quite a good price given the fact that I was leaving two days later. Seat was comfortable, we left a bit late but that's OK. I forgot to request my meal during booking, I sent an e-mail and someone answered me in a matter of hours. Food was pretty good although I can't judge for certain. I would take them again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nice for short haul flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I've always flown with them, and they're nice for short haul flight. Welcome on board with a bottle and after that given a small sandwich compare to other airlines which will even make you pay for it. Sometimes they do have delays but which airlines doesn't? For the price your paying I think its worth it, I've always picked them in front of other companies.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"flight felt like an eternity"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Sofia to Lisbon. This four hour flight felt like an eternity. Legroom was better than on their A320s but still insufficient. I emptied the pocket in front of my so there would be more space available. Food was good but not enough. There are no pillows on Bulgaria Air. Landed on time.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to Lisbon
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no