British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2710 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"they assigned me a middle seat"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I understand completely why there is air rage in the skies when companies such as BOAC go out of their way to make the travel experience an stressful and unpleasant as is humanly possible. I paid $813 to fly r/t LAX-BUH and yet they want an extra $150 to have a desirable seat. I understand if you check-in 24 hours before departure you receive a seat from those available, but why is it they assign you the worst seat available when betters are there? In my case, they assigned me a middle seat on a 787 when both of the adjacent aisle seats are available to assign. It is baffling. The ground crew and the inflight staff are excellent but can do little with the oppressive business decisions their executives make - everything comes down to make every penny they can. And why am I flying BOAC? They owed me £25 from the last flight b/c the inflight entertainment system was inop for 1/2 the cabin and so we all had to sit in the dark with nothing to do for a twelve-hour flight. On top of that, their seats have so little padding and cushion that only the plumpest can sit in their seats longer that 15". For normal-sized adults, it is as agonising as the rack must've been. And of course you only get compensation by patronising them again. Now I know: ever a free ticket on BOAC is overpriced.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to London Heathrow to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Worst long haul business class"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Miami. Worst long haul business class. That annoying divider, the ridiculous fold down footstool and the worn out seats! The service is non-existent, unless they are serving you the meal. If you want a snack or drink get out your seat and hunt down a cabin member, they don’t ask you if you need anything between meals. The toilets are dirty and basic. I’m a Gold Member but giving it up to fly other more updated airlines. They’ve crammed as many business class seats as possible at the expense of comfort and it’s not like they’re cheap.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Miami
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

" a few more inches leg room"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I used avios point to upgrade from economy to premium economy. They get a wider seat and a few more inches leg room. Boarding was straight forward and the premium cabin had plenty of overhead locker space, water and juice was served before takeoff but no champagne. The staff were well turned out but rushed, as the premium cabin was served by the economy cabin crew. A hot meal was served an hour after take off, which was a good piece of beef with stewed vegetables, chocolate mousse and biscuits & cheese. Quality red and white wine was served. The inflight movie selection was OK. A light snack of biscuits and crisps was served before landing along with coffee & tea. Getting off the planes was slowed by immigration staff coming onto the plane to inspect all passports. Not my best flight.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLondon to Calgary
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"well turned out staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Boarding was fairly quick, the well turned out staff quickly got people on board and bags stored. I was lucky that no one was sitting next me, so I had some more room. The pre take off drink was water or orange juice. Within an hour of take off a hot meal of beef - salad was served with a good dessert. Wine selection was very American with jug wines. The movie selection was OK. The PE seats are more comfortable than economy, the extra 4 inches of width make a huge difference. The 2nd meal on this flight was a snack of crisps and cookies.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCalgary to London
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"extremely run down and shabby"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bangalore to London. Ground experience not great - at LHR automated bag drop didn't work and it wasn't clear why; slow-to-react assistance eventually came and identified travel visa to India needed to be validated. At BLR, no online check-in available and slow process. Plane decor extremely run down and shabby, various pieces of the interior trim (bulkheads etc) rattling and latches for bassinet shelves not locking. Row 12 so bulkhead seat and legroom excellent, however this comes with the hassle of not being able to leave anything on the floor for takeoff and landing; the stowage racks are never big enough to hold the blanket and pillow provided. Seat itself could have more width (I kept bumping the VOD control and I'm quite slim), recline limited and footrest could extend more. No USB power in seat which seems crazy in this day and age. VOD itself is atrocious; tiny screen (folding out of armrest on bulkhead seats), low resolution, visible gridlines and very little choice (hardly the latest movies). To top it off, on outbound leg the VOD stopped working altogether and resisted many resets. Customer service forms were handed out so I await the outcome of that. Food volume OK, quality poor (scrambled eggs in breakfast smelled terrible!), plenty of drinks on outbound leg but not inbound, cabin staff seemed indifferent on inbound leg. Insufficient lavatories for Premium Economy and Economy.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBangalore to London
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"offered me no compensation"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Barcelona to New York via London. I was in Barcelona for just four days so had one small bag which they asked me to check. My flight from Barcelona to London was delayed causing passengers to miss their connections. When I finally got a flight, we taxied for an hour and then were told we needed to return to the gate as the luggage was loaded incorrectly. It took me nearly 24 hours to travel from Barcelona to JFK. When I arrived, my luggage wasn't there so I filed a claim. I called and emailed every day and they couldn't find it even though I had a tag number and and documentation. Eight days later, they finally contacted me and gave me a six hour window for bag delivery. The final insult is that I was expected to file a claim for my missing personal property within seven days. As a result, they have offered me no compensation for damages.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to New York via London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Charging to choose seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Fort Lauderdale. Charging to choose seats, even within 24h prior take off, is outrageous. So if someone decides to carry only hand luggage one cannot choose a seat without paying extra charges?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"offered me half the money"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We recently flew from London to Bologna, the aircraft was full and they requested that people place their cabin bags into the hold with checked in luggage to save space. So we did, when we arrived my carry on bag which has accompanied me on many flights over the past 3 years was damaged and beyond repair or use for our further journeys. So I approached the damaged/lost baggage area, lodged a claim and provided all the evidence, explained that we were continuing to travel and needed to replace the bag asap. I was advised by the representatives to ring BA service line. Made the call spoke about replacing the bag and what was reasonable and did that and submitted a claim. Well it is still going, despite replacing the bag with a cheaper version the total cost has not been refunded. They instead asked me to produce receipts from 3 years ago and then offered me half the money due to depreciation. Despite a good flight etc have this ongoing angst of the money they refused to refund.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bologna
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"had a great experience"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Venice to London City. Really we had a great experience with British Airways. We enjoyed very much flying with British Airways. Lovely staff and great service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVenice to London City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Cramped uncomfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to London. Terrible service and food. Cramped uncomfortable seats and terrible entertainment, in one of my flights it wasn’t working. The crew couldn’t care less, I will not fly with them again !!!
Aircraft777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to London
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages