British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2654 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"forced me to check-in my suitcase"

(France)

Trip Verified | London to Lyon. The flight has 1h 30 delay for a flight duration of 1:30. Ground staff forced me to check-in my suitcase during boarding process due to lack of space in the plane and I got my suitcase damaged with 2 big cuts on the back. Then the customer service has been very useless. Such a very bad experience. I do not recommend flying with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Lyon
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"extremely nice and helpful "

(United States)

Trip Verified | London to Boston. I was seated next to a customer who was needed an extra seat. The flight attendant was extremely nice and helpful and ensured I was comfortable throughout the flight. Superb Customer Service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Boston
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"wonderful crew"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to London. Standard configuration on short haul European flights. Business class still 3 seats each side of the isle. Middle seat fitted with a tray. Had a wonderful crew with 2 super professional stewards in business. Drinks served with a smile and the food also. Food reminding of what was served in economy 10 years ago when there still was free there. The best part of the meal was the cheese and pudding.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteStockholm to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I’m sure it’s bad luck"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to London arrived 33 minutes late - three delays, taking off, landing, and getting the walkway to the airplane. This has happened twice this year. I fly KLM 90% of the time on this route and am delayed very rarely. I fly British on this route when it is significantly cheaper but am delayed. I’m sure it’s bad luck but if you do better than double the flight time you are having a good day.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"plane seating is worn out"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Buenos Aires to London. We flew overnight Friday 9th November. The plane seating is worn out and uncomfortable, there were large numbers or Argentinian passengers on the plane yet I saw no staff that spoke Spanish. The chicken dinner was described as Curry but there was no sauce on it. The bread roll was stale and dessert stodgy, During the night no water was offered to me. It was not possible to charge electronic equipment, the seatback screens were small with a limited choice of entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"space is ridiculously narrow"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Business Class space is ridiculously narrow. Service is very careless. You are not allowed laptops on the flight from Riyadh, so you cannot work if you want to. You cannot choose when to eat.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRiyadh to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not allowing me to add a bag"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Aberdeen to Heathrow to connect to a flight in Gatwick the day after. During check-in using the BA app, there was a problem that I had to re-start, after that when I opened noted that the boarding pass was issued not allowing me to add a bag in the hold. After calling BA and explaining the situation was told that the option was to pay £65 at the airport desk. What a rip off for a short flight. By curiosity I checked with Easyjet and if I had booked with them for the same day would had cost me the same to fly as the money BA asked for the bag.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAberdeen to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not recommend"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I would not recommend this airline. I travel a lot for work and get to fly different airlines so have a good base to compare it to. Baggage Allowance: Only give you 23kgs of checked baggage and if you are 1 kg over (regardless if your other bags with your other travel companions are under) you have to pay $170AUD extra. This is the strictest airline I have ever used. All other airlines have allowed up to 5kgs over at no charge. Ensure you have pre-weighed all bags. In-flight meal: On the way to Sydney, they served soggy squashed sandwiches as a meal. It is an 8 hour flight! Make sure you pack your own snacks/meal. You don't get a bottle of water and they rarely serve drinks. Make sure you pre-pack a bottle or two once you are through customs. Customer service: From the get go the customer service was appalling. It is hard enough traveling with kids, but having to deal with BA was stressful. They wouldn't allow me to swap my ticket with my husband as we were traveling with my kids and I had a slight delay which meant I couldn't go on the same flight. At the airport, they couldn't find my children's booking which caused further delay and stress. How do you misplace 4 kids on the same booking? They then put my husband in a seat not with all of us and wouldn't do anything to help change this. We had to ask the person next to my kids once on the plane on our own. Don't bother flying BA.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Sydney
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"plane was clean, but cold"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | New York to Budapest via London. The second flight was a bit different. The plane was clean, but cold. I wanted to drink water, but the cabin crew does not accepted my request. By mistake the captain welcomed the passengers to Bucharest and not Budapest.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Budapest
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"sufficient seat legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Heathrow to Athens on A321. Arrived at the airport in time and bag drop was an ease. Got to the gate within 30mins of bag drop with light security queues. On the aircraft, there was sufficient seat legroom for my seat 7F. A funny safety video played and the flight was smooth. No food was served, except some M&S, BBC news was playing on the screens, with no sound and Russian captions, quite confusing. The plane landed half an hour late, but it was the best landing I have ever experienced.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Athens
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages