British Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2633 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"experience was bad"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to London. Seating and interior old with a very small IFE screen. I did not like the meals. Had a short connection and i was rebooked from another partner. Upon arrival in LHR others for the same connecting flight were awaited but not me. I was told there would be service agents in purple everywhere but I found none. The fast track security was non existant. Total experience was bad.
AircraftBoieng 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to London
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lost my clubs for 7 days"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | London to Toronto. 14 day trip to play golf with my Father, and BA lost my clubs for 7 days. Dealing with BA lost luggage/customer service was brutal, they had no idea where my clubs were or how long it would take to retrieve them. I had packed all my clothes with my clubs. First days of trip were to buy clothes and essentials. Flight home from LHR-YYZ was an old 777 with a misplaced seat cushion, and a broken seat that wouldn't stay upright. The IFE system badly needs upgrading, and no power ports at the seats - grueling 7.5hr flight. As bad as I thought Air Canada was they are light years ahead of BA.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"BA provides buy onboard"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | London to Vienna. I was shocked that BA provides buy onboard short haul flights - no free water, coffee or tea. I tried to buy something but my Credit Card wouldn't work, and I could not pay with cash.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Vienna
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"does not seem to get any better"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to London. I tend to stay with an airline as a frequent flyer and I fly business class. I have seen a change for the worst in BA service, and it does not seem to get any better. Bedding finally a decent pillow, a very good one indeed. The rest is a waste of money unless a new announced Club World seat is introduced where all this will fit perfectly. Seated in a window seat makes it impossible to make up a bed properly with them new things. I don't expect top food in a plane but I expect service. If you announce things, make sure you have them. On some flights Champagne is not being served when you have taken your seat. Premium economy however gets a sparkling wine. You must eat when they order you to eat. They seem to have run out of certain items such as a gin other than Gordon's. You have to decide upon breakfast before you even had dinner. Entertainment, make sure you bring your tablet with downloaded things to view. BA offers you the most limited offer.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to London
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"cabin service was good"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to London Heathrow. It's my first time traveling on British Airways. The seat arrangement in its long-haul business class is very uncommon that half of the seats are facing backward. So you are face-to-face with the one sitting opposite you (at least during taking off and landing when the divider is lowered down). There are 8 Club World seats per row for 777-300ER, which is relatively narrower if comparing with other carriers serving this route. The cabin service was as good as expected. However, I saw only chocolate bars and sweets for the minibar during night. There could be some other choices.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to London Heathrow
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"BA club world is a farce"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Los Angeles. Booked this trip eight months previously and as I lost my status on BA a few years ago were forced to pay an additional £180 for our two seats. The flight I chose was a Boeing 787 and was prepared to part with the extra cash so we could be in the small front cabin. Never expecting anything to go according to plan with BA and our flight was cancelled a few days before. We were rebooked onto a later flight which they changed from an A380 to a twenty one year old Jumbo. We were then seated right at the back of Club World to benefit from a screaming child sat in the front row of premium. We were greeted by a rather pleasant steward who told us he would be looking after us for the trip, he then disappeared never to be seen again. Food was served within an hour of take off for an eleven hour flight. The steak so tough was it impossible to cut and could only be eaten by picking up and biting pieces off. After a few hours I went to the galley to seek out a drink as the crew had disappeared, stood there being completely ignored by three stewardesses. Reluctantly one stopped chattering and managed to get me a drink. The second meal was served about seven hours after lunch, steak sandwich, at least that one was edible. The seat was as you would expect on such an old plane totally knackered, getting out was a task in itself. I bought WiFi for the whole trip, it ran for about 50% of the flight, yet their customer (non existent) services refuse to refund the payment even though I sent them a whole host of screenshots showing at various times there was no wifi service, but they are happy to note the problems. We have avoided BA now for some time, except where there is no other option as on Club Europe. But with transatlantic they are probably the bottom of the pile. We only took this trip to use up some Avios, they have all been used now and we could come back from LAX on Virgin Atlantic. Never again, BA club world offered is a farce in today's business market.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"BA lacks consistency"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Miami to London Heathrow. As with many others whom have posted reviews on this site my issue is with BA's customer service when dealing with an issue that has arisen from flying on this once proud airline. My issue was with faulty equipment onboard. Issue with my seat that the onboard team tried to the best of their ability to sort but unable to through no lack of effort and have nothing but praise for these guys working with aging equipment and keep on trying to do their best to keep the customer happy. Had to move seat and as first, club and premium economy all full, had to move back to economy. Asked customer services to refund me the fare difference for this part of the journey and after several cut and past generic replies on their part and fed up hitting my head off a brick wall have given up as life is too short to fight profits over customer satisfaction organisation. Following a favourable review of my outward journey it is clear BA lacks consistency and don't wish to deal with issue when something goes wrong. As i said in both my reviews nothing but praise for the onboard crews dealing with these issues and trying to make it a great experiance but think BA now need to work on their problem solving skills. I now have 91000 Avios going to waste as my business will be going else where.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMiami to London Heathrow
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unbelievably rude and unhelpful"

(United States)

Not Verified | London Heathrow to Milan Malpensa. Worst airline I’ve ever dealt with. I fly 100+ times a year. British Airways lost my and my wife’s luggage on our vacation. They have been unbelievably rude and unhelpful in resolving this issue. They have ruined our vacation and refuse to help us. Please, never book this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Milan Malpensa
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"5 mins too late for me to check in"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Calgary to Rome via London. My wife and I booked our 10th anniversary trip from Calgary to Rome return, with British Airways, Sept 17-27. This was my first trip in Europe, and we spent almost $8500 CAD on first class tickets. The flight Calgary to London (stopover) was ok. I got a bottle of water, and then nobody came to the pod I was in for the next 8 hours. One would have expected more from first class, maybe another bottle of water? They asked me to fill out what I would like for breakfast on a card. I filled it out but no breakfast or even coffee came. The vacation itself was great. On the day of the return flight, our Trenitalia train broke down in Naples, and we were 80 mins late. My wife tried dozens of times to phone British Airways but none of their phone numbers posted on the website were working; most of the calls were just dropped and some were out of service. We tried the numbers from our tickets, their website, their help desk, Facebook page, Google etc. We tried at least 5 different phone numbers a half dozen times each over the 90 mins, and could not get through. My wife managed to check herself in online, but could not check me in. There was a glitch on the computer saying they needed my passport to check in, once my wife pressed my name, the passport information was already on the form and said form is complete. It was a computer glitch we couldn't get around. Ultimately we arrived at the Rome airport 5 mins too late for me to check in. My wife was ok and could go through but I could not. We asked the 3 ladies at the British Airways desk for help, and they shrugged and said they couldn't help us. Apparently, they said it would have been different if we called before, and we showed them her phone (see the attached photos) with all the calls we made. They then told us it was a ticket kiosk only and they couldn't reschedule us. They gave us another number to call My wife at this point was near tears. I am visually impaired and had eye surgery just 2 weeks prior, so I was not allowed to carry over 5 lbs. She was managing all the luggage, the ticketing etc and after 10 hours of delays she was very stressed. The attitude of these ladies certainly did not help in any way. The new secret customer service phone number we were given did work, and my wife was on the phone with Customer Service for over an hour. After reviewing the details with several teams of specialists, we were told basically that they didn't believe us that we tried to call, they were not interested in us sending screenshots of us trying to call. Nothing could be done for us, and they could only rebook us for $8800. No apologies whatsoever were given, nor the slightest help or accommodation for us being stranded in Rome. We eventually made it home on different airlines but I have lost all respect and trust for British Airways. Like any corporation they are only interested in taking your money while making minimal effort to customer support.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteCalgary to Rome via London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"aircraft interior was old"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Bangkok. Flew British Airways for the first time in a couple of years. Terminal 5 is rubbish. It may look great, but you have to travel further using the train services to get there, and once there you may find that after check in you need to travel again on another train to T5a or b as they are again separate sections of terminal 5. I usually fly EVA and others from Terminal 2 and I would avoid T5 if possible from now on. The aircraft interior was old and dated, the seats had seen better days and the tv screen was about the size of an iPhone 8+ (without the technology). The food was ok at best, served cold to warm on both meals on both flights. The crew were okay on the flight home, however on the flight out they were not interested when you spoke to them. Landing cards for Thailand were loaded on the aircraft in a total of about 50 so most people in economy had to land in Bangkok and spend time filling one in just before immigration which is ridiculous as the queue is always huge at Bangkok and you want to just get on with clearing through and getting your bag. The flight had some drunks on the way back to the UK, and while this isn’t the airlines fault, I did notice that when one young guy of about 21 was told no more alcohol by the cabin manager (he kicked off) the next crew member did serve him. This is the last time by choice I will ever fly British Airways, if there’s no seats available anywhere else (which is why I went with them this time), then I guess I’ll have no choice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages