Batik Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"underhand business practices"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sent many emails trying to cancel our flights as the trip was cancelled due to the pandemic. Batik Air ignored them all and even refused to acknowledge we did not take the flight or provide us with a no show letter for our insurance company. I am shocked by the appalling underhand business practices they use.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Komodo
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"trying to get a refund"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I was due to fly on 15th April 2020 with Batik Air, on the 13th March 2020 I received an email advising they cancelled the flights (note this was before the Australian COVID-19 Restriction were put in place). I have been trying to get a refund from the airline for nearly 2 months, they've disconnected their customer service line in Australia and every email I send is met with a generic response saying refunds may take up to 30 days (despite the fact it has been 52 days so far and I have yet to receive anything).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Denpasar
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"better options available"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | I booked a roundtrip flight from Taipei to Jakarta. A few weeks after booking I received two emails stating the flights were canceled (no explanation why). I figured they would automatically refund my fare so I waited a bit, they did not refund my fare. I emailed their customer service twice and never received a response so I called the phone number listed on the Batik Air website, that phone number took me to Malindo Air who then gave me the phone number to Batik Air. Once I was able to speak with a customer service representative, I was told since I was canceling the flight I'd only receive a 90% refund. After explaining to her that the flight was canceled by the airline and that I felt I should not be penalized for a flight I didn't cancel, she told me it was company policy and I would only receive a 90% refund. Okay, silly, but I was over it, I just wanted some sort of a refund. She said the refund would be processed in 15-30 working days. She then told me I needed to provide the full credit card number I used for the original booking, even though she had it. I had an issue with this request for obvious security reasons, but complied and gave her the number. After providing my credit card number, I figured all was good and settled - wrong. I was then told I'd receive an email I needed to send them a copy of my Passport. Why I asked? She said it was company policy. One more questionable security violation, in my mind. Why do I need to provide them with the information they already have to refund an airline fare for a flight they canceled? Short story long, avoid Batik Air at all costs, there are better options available.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"flight attendant is nice"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Makassar to Surabaya. Extremely long queue on Check-in Counter. The check-in counter staff working slow. Great boarding time, on time. The flight attendant is nice. The meal is good
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMakassar to Surabaya
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Seat was very comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Jakarta. At gate was driven to the aircraft by van. Hand luggage taken onto the air by staff. Shown to my seat 2F by cabin crew. Seat was very comfortable and was asked if I would like juice or water. Once airborne the cabin crew handed out hot towels and headsets. Food was delicious served with bread roll entree dessert which were all delicious. Entertainment had a good variety also. Looking forward to flying them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDenpasar to Jakarta
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Would fly with Batik again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sorong to Jakarta. I flew Batik Air from Jakarta to Sorong return. I had a great flight, Batik was on time in both directions, they were not pedantic about the luggage weight. They allow 20kg and I was over by 3kg (due to all the diving gear I was taking), and it wasn't questioned at all. I was very grateful for that, sometimes the airlines can be uncompromising in this area. I haven't anything negative to say about them. Would fly with Batik again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSorong to Jakarta
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Disappointing and very expensive flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Disappointing and very expensive flight with Batik this time. Not sure what is happening on the Perth to Bali route, but extra competition has recently come in with CitiLink starting the route with Airbus A320. Very surprised when my flight cost me close to $600AU for this time of year. Flight from Perth to Bali was fine, usual standard of service that I'm generally quite happy with. Return flight however was total opposite. People were very late, people were juggled about in their seats. Basically crew were triple checking everything. As an ex pilot, I think that something was amiss with the weight and balance of the aircraft on that flight. Flight took off over 30 minutes late, lots of ground staff checking things. Strangest thing, a fairly healthy and young man was moved out of the exit row, because he was having some pain with a tattoo that had been recently done. Cabin crew moved a young woman into that seat, who quite honestly, would never have been able to remove that window if an emergency had occurred. Same on the other side, the men took zero notice of the briefing, but still the cabin crew just let it happen. Lastly, just a bit of a heads up for travellers, take into consideration what you expect to take as carry on. I'm all for the airlines charging a lot extra for this service. People take it too far. On my flight I'm surprised the overhead above me did not drop open. Have some consideration people! As for Batik cabin crew, you need to be more conscientious about how you move your passengers around.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Perth
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"still recommend the airline"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Lombok and Bali to Jakarta with Batik Air. Both flights are punctual and good. Both flights served with good food and friendly staff. Although the Entertainment needs to be improved with more content since the aircraft I’ve flown on both flights are operated by the plane with older IFE with limited Entertainment choices. But Luckily, I Played my games in my computer instead. Batik Air needs to improved more to compete with Garuda Indonesia and other full service carrier to be called as a real full service carrier. But I still recommend the airline.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Lombok
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a big step up from Lion"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Manokwari to Surabaya via Makassar. Checking in was chaotic with staff happily serving all those that jumped the queue and went straight to the front till I loudly protested them doing so twice. Flight left 20 minutes late due to check in not completed on time. Once on board things improved with decent entertainment and courteous crew. However headsets had to be purchased for money and the girl serving my row gave us a random meal while passengers in other rows could choose from two. Meal on the first leg if the flight was good though. On the 2nd leg it was just 2 cakes. Despite departing Makassar on time we somehow reached Surabaya half an hour late. Overall Batik is certainly a big step up from Lion but the crew needs more training.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManokwari to Surabaya via Makassar
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"attendants can't help me"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Denpasar. It's started from self check in, it was not very good. I can't print the boarding pass, and need to wait in long queue just to print the boarding pass. Inside the plane, i can't find the empty slot for my cabin baggage. All slot are full, the flight attendants can't help me so much. And i think, they didn't care with that. They just said to put under my seat, which i took that option and make my entire flight uncomfortable because lack of leg space. Despite all of that, their entertainment in flight is good, sensitive touchscreen and full of movie content.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews