BA CityFlyer

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Average short haul experience"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Zurich to London City. Average short haul flight experience. Easy and smooth morning flight to London. Cabin was narrow but ok, although not very clean. The business class was half empty and the cabin crew was sometimes friendly, but most of the time enjoying themselves while chatting to each other. BA served hot food on this short flight: it looked not good and it was not good. Otherwise nothing special.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZurich to London City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"would recommend CityFlyer"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London City to Paris Orly. I arrived just over one hour prior to my flight and proceeded to check-in. Whilst the queues were not long, it did take at least 20 minutes due to the multitude of bags of some passengers. Boarding was orderly and we left on time. The E170 has a lot of legroom compared to other BA cabins, though the cabin has started to look a bit dated with older seats and torn magazines. The onboard service was appreciated, though it was not exceptional. The service was somewhat lethargic, but they were attentive. After about 45 minutes, we began our descent into Orly. Overall, it was a great flight and if you live somewhat closely to LCY, I would recommend CityFlyer over the regular BA service ex-LHR.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Paris Orly
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"could be a quality carrier"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London City to Granada . BA Cityflyer still feels like it could be a quality carrier worth paying for if only details were paid closer attention to. London City is a delight to fly through even though it was a bit overcrowded and the fact check-in staff were directly employed by BA really paid off as they were warm, welcoming and friendly. E190 is a pleasure to fly, the legroom is fantastic and the 2-2 seating is fantastic for couples travelling as we were. The inclusion of complimentary food and drinks with a full bar service that includes alcohol (and quality Fever Tree tonic) is appreciated. Quickly off in small but perfectly formed and clean Granada was also a nice end to the flight with luggage out immediately. Unfortunately these positives are really cut with some quite prominent negatives that are very noticeable. The plane was not clean. Secondly the crew - some of these really shouldn't be working in a customer facing environment. Lastly the food while complimentary is of poor quality.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Granada
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"service was atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London City to Mykonos. I usually love BA Cityflyer from LCY - really good airline, nice planes and plenty of room. This trip we flew Club Europe to Mykonos - a 3hour 45min flight. The service was atrocious. There is no BA lounge at LCY so really the only differentiation is the on-board product; they should really make an effort. The crew spend most of the flight chatting in the galley. They eventually came out after 50 minutes and gave us a drink. Food was good, but they did not provide ice-cream or desert as per the menu. The CSM dropped a salad at my feet, tomato all up my legs and on my shoes without an apology. The remnants just sat there for the rest of the flight being trodden into the carpet. No tea and coffee was offered. No hot towels. In fact, there was very little engagement with any passengers. This was not a bust flight, there was no turbulence or other reason for a lack of service. It really did just appear that the crew could not be bothered. Such a shame when a business ticket on this flight costs nearly £300 one way, On a positive note, we flew back in economy and the service was far superior! This may have just been a bad experience but come on, BA, you should be delivering what you advertise. I have complained but I guess it will fall on deaf ears.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon City to Mykonos
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"not value for money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Remote stand at Edinburgh with overloaded long bus ride to get there. Aeroplane nice but floor dirty, and crumbs in harder to reach to clean places. Clearly given no more than a cursory wipe. Cabin crew didn't smile and weren't chatty, but were efficient. Cheese and tomato toastie was tasty, coffee acceptable and good to get free service. Legroom good. Seat comfort good. Landed 5 mins late in London City and had gate furthest away from the domestic arrivals hall so long walk through corridor and up some stairs, down again. City airport conveniently located to get to London though. Basically all was fine but not amazing, and not particularly premium, and not worth the price. A good, but not value for money option.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to London city
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"still include food and drink"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew London City to Palma return on an Embraer E190. We left on the outward journey on time and arrived slightly early. The return was nearly an hour late leaving because of the aircrafts late arrival. I had exit row seats both ways. Unlike its big brother, BA, Cityflyer still include food and drink which was fine.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Palma
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"did exactly what was said on the tin"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew Business class on the nifty 76 seat E170 jet out of London City routed to Dusseldorf. The cabin interior looked a bit tired inside, the jet being 10 years old and prior to this the aircraft served with other airlines. Whilst Eastern Airways won’t be in the league with the legacy carriers, I found the flight comfortable and the crew courteous and attentive. Overall no complaints with the fight, we were delayed outbound and the pilot made up some time en route. Eastern did exactly what was said on the tin and that was getting me from A to B as comfortably and safely as possible.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon City to Düsseldorf
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"excellent airline"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Due to my work I was required to travel to London, however as no airline offered cheap prices on such short notice, I decided to travel with BA CityFlyer from Rotterdam to London City. Traveling to Rotterdam The Haque Airport is pretty doable by public transport from Rotterdam Central Station or The Hague Central Station by bus and/or underground. Once arrived, I went straight to check-in my luggage which was fast and efficient as there was literally no queuing time. After passing the usual struggle at security I had a hour left before boarding starts. Due to work in progress on Rotterdam's terminal, there wasn't much to do (wifi was fast and constant though with lots of seating areas). Boarding was done in a nice and efficient way, however what do you expect of only boarding approximately thirty people? The cabin was comfortable. Plenty of legroom, leather seats and a good view in front of the wing, however I'd like to note that it would have been better if they actually replaced their magazine and safety card by a new one as the current one was in a very very poor state. Departed on time, it was a pretty short and straight leg with the pilot informing us several times with departure, arrival and weather information and 15 minutes into flight, the flight attendants served us a pretty limited service for British Airways terms (might had to do with a short flight of only 55 minutes), which included a drink of choice and a biscuit or chips. Once arrived with a not so smooth landing, the plane was quickly parked and deboarding started within a few minutes. Walk to customs (in peak, this is terrible) and baggage drop-off was just a few minutes. BA CityFlyer is an excellent airline providing you with plenty of legroom and friendly staff, however I still found it very pricey and catering could have been improved.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRotterdam to London City
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"still complimentary catering"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh to London City. BA CityFlyer still offers the sort of premium service you used to be able to expect of BA. As I was flying from Edinburgh I was able to access the excellent lounge at the airport thanks to my frequent flyer status (BA Gold). The lounge is spacious and has plenty of sockets to charge up your devices and desks in order to work. On-board the aircraft is configured 2-2 seating and the legroom is much better than the mainline BA flights into Heathrow and Gatwick. There's still complimentary catering in economy on flights to London City and this (for me) meant a beer and some crisps. I occasionally travel business class (Club Europe) on this route and the catering offered there is more substantial than that offered from Heathrow/Gatwick. All in all it's just a much better experience. Once landed it's less than 10 minutes from the aircraft door to the platform of the DLR. It's the best way to travel if you need to be in Edinburgh for a day of business.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to London City
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"is an excellent option"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Enjoyable and trouble-free travel on BA City Flyer. I've found that by making sure one has as much time as possible between flights for layovers this takes the stress out of flying these days with high aircraft utilisation the norm. I've noticed that so many complaints seem to be over problems caused by missed connections due to delays caused by air traffic issues or bad weather, or both. The Golden Rule is simple! - never trust the short transfer and connection times between flights listed on airline web sites or suggested by some travel agents - its just not worth the hassle these days, even if that means staying overnight at an airport hotel for your next flight, especially if that is long-haul or vv. Anyway, I allowed many hours between my flights through London City (a delightful little airport) and was also able to fit in a business meeting at the airport. BA City Flyer flights on the smaller EMB190 jet are excellent. Cabin crew were very attentive with my only complaint being that cheese dishes were all that were available - when are airlines going to realise many of us cannot east cheese (or chocolate) due to the subsequent increased risk of migraine attacks. My GP knows this and has for years, why don't the airlines? BA City Flyer is an excellent option and business class fares can often be 'cheap and chips'.
AircraftEMB190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGeneva to London City
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews