BA CityFlyer

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 69 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"the flight was very enjoyable"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | London City to Berlin. British Airways' subsidiary BA CityFlyer really exceeded my expectations for such a short flight. London City is a great alternative to London Heathrow as flight prices are similar, and it is much more convenient and less crowded as it is in the city centre and is a smaller airport. The check-in and bag drop were all self-service but could be done easily and quickly, with staff present to assist. We boarded the aircraft very orderly, in different boarding groups. The seats on the aircraft, an Embraer E190, were wide and comfortable, with more than enough legroom for economy class, especially for an hour flight. The cabin was arranged in a 2-2 layout, so it was pretty spacious. Service provided by the crew was excellent and they provided a packet of chips and a drink. Overall the flight was very enjoyable and we arrived in Berlin on time.
AircraftE190LR
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Berlin
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Very nice flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Dusseldorf to London City. Very nice flight, including free Snacks and drinks. Legroom was okay and staff was friendly but seemed a little stressed due to a huge amount of hand luggage in this flight. Inflight magazines were old.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to London City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"The crew were marvellous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Return Edinburgh to London City BA's CityFlyer remains the most pleasant way to get to and from London from Edinburgh. The Embraer 190 has much better legroom than the 170 so look out for the type flying when booking. The blue leather seats and 2 - 2 layout make for comfort. Trip to London City on Oct 2 at 08:45 on the EMB190 was wholly smooth. Fantastic view of the three Forth bridges on departure. So much legroom and space, and I'm 6ft 1in & 19st. On time more or less, pleasant crew, and a free breakfast of bacon rolls or a platter of fruit salad and organic yoghurt. Water, and hot drinks. Just what was needed. LCY is so easy to get through in arrival and I was on the DLR to the city in 10 minutes flat. A great start to the day. Returning home on Oct 3 at the 14:40 on the smaller EMB170 was much less comfortable due to turbulence for at least 20mins thanks to the tail of a US hurricane passing over GB. The reassuring captain apologised several times and explained he was trying to get clearance to a higher level. Good to be kept informed. The crew were marvellous. Kind, cheerful, the best of BA. Drinks and snacks served despite the plane lurching about. All comp, including a good Glenlivet malt. Edinburgh arrival fine and into tram within 20 mins of touchdown. These jets aren't new and it does show a bit but it's a cut~above experience still compared to the alternatives. The tickets to LCY on the travel app I use are a little more than Gatwick but if you can miss the absolute peak flights the difference isn't much and, to me anyway, worth it for the good service and central location and efficiency of London City Airport.
AircraftEMB190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to London City
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Average short haul experience"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Zurich to London City. Average short haul flight experience. Easy and smooth morning flight to London. Cabin was narrow but ok, although not very clean. The business class was half empty and the cabin crew was sometimes friendly, but most of the time enjoying themselves while chatting to each other. BA served hot food on this short flight: it looked not good and it was not good. Otherwise nothing special.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteZurich to London City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"would recommend CityFlyer"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London City to Paris Orly. I arrived just over one hour prior to my flight and proceeded to check-in. Whilst the queues were not long, it did take at least 20 minutes due to the multitude of bags of some passengers. Boarding was orderly and we left on time. The E170 has a lot of legroom compared to other BA cabins, though the cabin has started to look a bit dated with older seats and torn magazines. The onboard service was appreciated, though it was not exceptional. The service was somewhat lethargic, but they were attentive. After about 45 minutes, we began our descent into Orly. Overall, it was a great flight and if you live somewhat closely to LCY, I would recommend CityFlyer over the regular BA service ex-LHR.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Paris Orly
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"could be a quality carrier"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London City to Granada . BA Cityflyer still feels like it could be a quality carrier worth paying for if only details were paid closer attention to. London City is a delight to fly through even though it was a bit overcrowded and the fact check-in staff were directly employed by BA really paid off as they were warm, welcoming and friendly. E190 is a pleasure to fly, the legroom is fantastic and the 2-2 seating is fantastic for couples travelling as we were. The inclusion of complimentary food and drinks with a full bar service that includes alcohol (and quality Fever Tree tonic) is appreciated. Quickly off in small but perfectly formed and clean Granada was also a nice end to the flight with luggage out immediately. Unfortunately these positives are really cut with some quite prominent negatives that are very noticeable. The plane was not clean. Secondly the crew - some of these really shouldn't be working in a customer facing environment. Lastly the food while complimentary is of poor quality.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Granada
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"service was atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London City to Mykonos. I usually love BA Cityflyer from LCY - really good airline, nice planes and plenty of room. This trip we flew Club Europe to Mykonos - a 3hour 45min flight. The service was atrocious. There is no BA lounge at LCY so really the only differentiation is the on-board product; they should really make an effort. The crew spend most of the flight chatting in the galley. They eventually came out after 50 minutes and gave us a drink. Food was good, but they did not provide ice-cream or desert as per the menu. The CSM dropped a salad at my feet, tomato all up my legs and on my shoes without an apology. The remnants just sat there for the rest of the flight being trodden into the carpet. No tea and coffee was offered. No hot towels. In fact, there was very little engagement with any passengers. This was not a bust flight, there was no turbulence or other reason for a lack of service. It really did just appear that the crew could not be bothered. Such a shame when a business ticket on this flight costs nearly £300 one way, On a positive note, we flew back in economy and the service was far superior! This may have just been a bad experience but come on, BA, you should be delivering what you advertise. I have complained but I guess it will fall on deaf ears.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon City to Mykonos
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"not value for money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Remote stand at Edinburgh with overloaded long bus ride to get there. Aeroplane nice but floor dirty, and crumbs in harder to reach to clean places. Clearly given no more than a cursory wipe. Cabin crew didn't smile and weren't chatty, but were efficient. Cheese and tomato toastie was tasty, coffee acceptable and good to get free service. Legroom good. Seat comfort good. Landed 5 mins late in London City and had gate furthest away from the domestic arrivals hall so long walk through corridor and up some stairs, down again. City airport conveniently located to get to London though. Basically all was fine but not amazing, and not particularly premium, and not worth the price. A good, but not value for money option.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdinburgh to London city
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"still include food and drink"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew London City to Palma return on an Embraer E190. We left on the outward journey on time and arrived slightly early. The return was nearly an hour late leaving because of the aircrafts late arrival. I had exit row seats both ways. Unlike its big brother, BA, Cityflyer still include food and drink which was fine.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon City to Palma
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"did exactly what was said on the tin"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I flew Business class on the nifty 76 seat E170 jet out of London City routed to Dusseldorf. The cabin interior looked a bit tired inside, the jet being 10 years old and prior to this the aircraft served with other airlines. Whilst Eastern Airways won’t be in the league with the legacy carriers, I found the flight comfortable and the crew courteous and attentive. Overall no complaints with the fight, we were delayed outbound and the pilot made up some time en route. Eastern did exactly what was said on the tin and that was getting me from A to B as comfortably and safely as possible.
AircraftE170
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon City to Düsseldorf
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 69 Reviews