Austrian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 511 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"connection flight missed."

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Paris to Innsbruck via Vienna. Extremely untimely. 2 times flown, twice the connection flight missed. Travel time 6 hours longer than advertised. That has system. I'm taking the train now. Extrem unpuenktlich. 2 mal geflogen, 2 mal den anschlusslflug verpasst. Reisezeit 6 stunden laenger als beworben. Das hat system. Ich fahre jetzt not den zug.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Innsbruck via Vienna
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Who will pay extra for nothing?"

(Brazil)

Not Verified | Austrian's regional business class is a complete rip-off. No lounge, no preferential boarding, the seat pitch is worse than Ryanair's, the on board service is delivered by an indifferent crew. No smiles, no words except the strictly necessary. The snack was nicely presented but that was the only positive point I could find. Arrival in Vienna under showering rain and not even a simple covered staircase from the plane to their eternal, outdated bus service. We were shoved wet and dripping into it. As as special treat, their ground staff broke one of my bag wheels. I understood then why I was the only passenger on C class on this flight, as well on outbound OS 810 flight 2 weeks earlier, when on top we had the pleasure to fly with a pedantic purser. Who will pay extra for nothing? Goodbye forever Austrian! Never again!
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteThessaloniki to Vienna
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Good job, Austrian Airlines"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Bucharest to Vienna return. Both flights were on A320 with slight delay on departure. friendly cabin crew, light snacks and drinks, nothing to fault the airline. They are a reliable option on short and medium flights to Vienna or for connections. Good job, Austrian Airlines!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Vienna
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"tight connections both flights"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Tirana via Vienna. While waiting, I saw our plane had left VIE about 30 mins late, which with a 50 mins connection would be tight. By the time the plane arrived at the gate boarding time had passed. It then took them another 30 mts to do the turnaround so we left AMS over 60 mins late - for a 50 mins connection. Despite the pilots making up time, we arrived late. By the time we had wrestled ourselves through security and immigration and had ran to the gate, the gate was just closed, although the plane was still standing there. We were sent to customer service to be rebooked. (not sure why the new boarding passes were not already at the gate as reputable airlines would have so prepared). Here it got worse. Apparently hundreds of people had missed their connections so there was an enormous line. I would have walked away had my luggage not been somewhere 'in the system'. I pulled a number and waited. My 'turn to be serviced' came after about 3 hours standing in line with lots of other 'happy' customers. We were then rebooked via FRA to arrive about 9 hours late in TIA and I had to cancel the rental car and first hotel night reservation. I put in a claim for compensation. Not surprisingly this was denied, under the reason of 'traffic control'. Obviously traffic control has nothing to do with the slow turnaround in AMS (they lost 30 mins there) and the massive queue for the CS (they lost another 3 hours there). Anyway we were in TIA. After a day I noticed in the OS app that our return flight had disappeared. I called. The lady on the line said 'oh no worry, I put it back'. Indeed she did. As I had lost most of my confidence by now I kept checking over the next few days. Sure enough, the return booking disappeared again. When I tried to online check in for the return flight the booking 'did not exist'. So I called again. To my surprise to CS lady told me that my flight had been changed to a one-way flight. This must have been done by the clumsy guy in VIE who rerouted us via FRA. So I objected, and explained what happened. After some investigation the lady agreed with me and re-activated our return booking. In TIA airport the economy line was long so we lined up for the business class as I have a *A gold card. When there were still 2 customers in front of me, the check-in staff sneered to my friend 'this is business class'. He ignored her and we just waited. As our turn came I handed her 2 passports for the both of us. As we were the only 2 persons in front of her it was very clear for who those passports were. Apparently not for her as she asked me 'do you have 2 passports?' So I told her '2 persons check in to AMS' She then started chatting with the lady at the next counter. Not sure about what but I heard '*A gold' so at best she was asking how to best service us, at worst trying to find a reason to not service us. She then asked 'if he had a visa'. I assumed she was addressing me instead of my friend so I told him to better show her the visa. We then got checked in. Plane arrived and left in time, arrived about in time in VIE for a 40mts connection. We just made it by running full speed from gate to immigration and a to the new gate. This is clearly not for slower people. To be clear: these tight connections both flights were not our choosing but were the trips as sold by OS. Clearly they failed to deliver. The flights themselves were ok.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Tirana via Vienna
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"8kg for the hand luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Vienna to Amsterdam. Limit of 8kg for the hand luggage (before security, 2 star members will make you weigh your luggage and if any kg above, you’ll pay 40eur. Staff is rude. On the flight in we were made to wait for 30min in the aircraft without a single announcement. Really to avoid.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"both seats are in her name"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My wife booked two return tickets. Apparently both seats are in her name. This only came to light on attempting to book assistance for me at the airport. Austrian Airlines do not accept that their system was at fault by allowing two seats in the one name one of which obviously cannot be used. Their solution was to cancel one seat and book another at over 10 times the price. Eventually they agreed to refund the taxes but not the fare. We are now travelling with a different airline, at short notice, at over twice the original cost. The policy of Austrian Airlines is costing them reputation in the market for the cost of one seat! Not recommended.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Vienna
Date FlownMay 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"somebody else in my seat"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a flight from Vienna to Toronto., I got my boarding pass, got to airplane and find my seat, according my boarding pass that my number was clear, somebody else was in my seat. He was with family some kids, one of them had exactly my seat number. The hostess lead me to another seat at door way next to window, it was terrible. I complained plenty of time, asked them to change my seat, but none of them didn’t care about me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"chose to not upgrade"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Terrible flight from Copenhagen to Vienna on 13 Apr 2019 at 0710. Austrian Airlines overbooked the flight and did not communicate overbooked flight to any passengers nor ask for volunteers to be rebooked to another flight for a compensation. Ground staff at the gate did not provide any communication of what will happen to any of the 9 people who did not get seat allocation. In the end, 5 of the 9 people managed to get seat allocations. The remaining 4 of the 9 people had to be rebooked to a later flight, even though there were 4 business class seats available. The ground crew chose to not upgrade the 4 people to business class which puzzled even the pilots and flight crew.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Vienna
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"It was completely fine"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Flying Austrian Airlines from Vienna to Munich. A short regional flight went exceptionally well. We go a small snack and drinks free of charge, the cabin crew seemed to be nice. It was completely fine.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Munich
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"ticket is economy and not flexible"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Vienna to Sibiu. I had booked a ticket with Austrian a month prior and called the customer service a week before my flight to reschedule two days earlier. A flight that is not fully booked either on the day I fly nor the day I want to fly. My ticket is economy, no insurance and not flexible. That is why they couldn’t reschedule it for me and I understand.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Sibiu
Date FlownMarch 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no