ANA All Nippon Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 585 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"formerly my favorite airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Relatively uncomfortable flight with minimal and rude service. 11 hour flight that was very cramped, flight attendants avoided assisting me, claimed they had no meal choices, or told me they would get something and did not. Quite surprising for an overseas flight, and ANA no less, formerly my favorite airline for economy seating.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to San Francisco
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they couldn’t upgrade her"

(United States)

Trip Verified |  They canceled my mother’s flight without any announcement to the passengers who were waiting in line for almost 2 hours. The airport flight information displays still showed that the flight was on time even after we were turned away 2 hours later. While we were at the ticket counter trying to figure out what to do next, their manager told us that flight will be tomorrow morning at 8am (which is incorrect because Seattle only has 1 ANA flight a day, and they’re all at 3:35pm). My mother was staying with us so they didn’t even pay for anything for inconvenience of the delay. They didn’t even offer to try and find another flight. We came back the next afternoon, and finally were able to check in her bags and when we inquired about a seat upgrade (like business class since she already had premium economy), we were told that it was full and they couldn’t upgrade her. They provided nothing for any sort of compensation for the inconvenience,
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Haneda
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"ANA went above and beyond"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were unable to land in Sydney due to adverse weather conditions, and were redirected to Brisbane. ANA went above and beyond to look after everyone, booking 4* accommodation with transport, breakfast, a return to flight to SYD the next day and $100 compensation. You can usually judge a business by how they handle things when they go wrong, and ANA really impressed here.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteTokyo to Sydney
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

“the best in a long time”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The absolute best flight segment I’ve flown in 10+ years. I fly 100+ commercial flights per year and this flight today was the best in a long time. The crew of NH1811 should all be commended for their service, safety and care.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToyama to Sapporo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"fail to load my check-in luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | First airline I've encountered which waited late passengers for over 30 minutes and was late for arrival, over 30 minutes. The other flight I took with them was late for 1 minute, only 1 minute, and ANA told me they fail to load my check-in luggage to the connecting flight, so I was denied on board. They refused to rebook my ticket because the flight was not late, and the luggage had enough time on board.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Haneda
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"fallen short of the mark"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My experience today with ANA on flight NH211 from Haneda to London was far from satisfactory, marking it as my worst business class experience to date. The first setback was a 90-minute wait for business class check-in, an unprecedented delay. The staff seemed overwhelmed and disorganized, leaving counters unmanned for long periods. The frustration grew when informed that my luggage wouldn't arrive with me but on a subsequent flight, with no clear indication of its arrival time. Adding to the disappointment was the last-minute aircraft change. I had chosen this flight specifically for ANA's acclaimed 'The Room' business class service, but it was changed to the old business class on a 777, with no prior notice. The older business class configuration was a stark contrast to the modern luxury I anticipated. The seating arrangements added to the chaos. All pre-arranged seat allocations were discarded, forcing passengers, including myself, to travel in separate seats. The Wi-Fi on this flight was painfully slow and frustratingly unreliable, It's a stark contrast to the high standards typically associated with Japanese airlines. This series of missteps has left a lasting negative impression, overshadowing any positive aspects of the journey. It's a reminder that even reputable airlines can falter, and in this instance, ANA has unfortunately fallen short of the mark.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to London
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"always my preferred choice"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified |   I just cannot express how much I love ANA. They are always my preferred choice for domestic flights in Japan. The check in was a breeze, the staff from the counter all the way to the cabin crew were just amazing. For me ANA has an edge over JAL (which is an equally amazing airline) due to the baggage policy which allows 2 pieces (23 KG each) instead of only 20 KG by the latter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFukuoka to Osaka
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"ANA is the first carrier"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | HND-FUK-TSJ and back. Before setting out on this trip, I had one anxiety: short transfers at FUK, 30 min. in the outbound and 45 min. in the return. Our flight left delayed 15 min. because of the heavy traffic in the early morning at HND and was supposed to land on FUK at due time, that is, delayed. However, the flight attendants took considerable care of those passengers flying to Tsushima. They let them deplane first. Then the ground staff was waiting there, preparing for a van, which carried us up to the second flight. What smooth and steady services they offered! As far as domestic services in Japan go, ANA is the first carrier to be picked up. This time also my impression strengthened more thanks to their services.
AircraftBoeing 772 / DH8B
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Tsushima via Fukuoka
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"enjoyed a very comfortable flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Great airline and deserves its' Skytrax rating. 2 overnight "red eye" flights. Will be our airline of choice in future when possible. Check in efficient and quick with minimal wait. Boarding and disembarking very organized and fast. All PAX off the aircraft and in the terminal upon arriving at Haneda from Sydney in 5 minutes. Plenty of legroom up against bulkhead seats, Japanese meal choice tasty and filling. Cabin crew receptive to requests and efficient. Managed to get 5 hours sleep in each direction - this was a plus. The negatives - after 9 hour overnight flights Syd to Haneda and return - no breakfast was disappointing. With a morning domestic connection to Sapporo, and no time to eat, with no meals served on the domestic sectors - left us without food until early afternoon. The cabin was too warm and stuffy on both the overnight flights - apparently to appease the Japanese. Certainly did not need warm clothing nor the blanket provided. .Additionally, cabin crew did not come around the cabin offering water or juice resulting in a considerable thirst. Cabin crew dressed in attractive, professional uniform but spoilt at meal times by them wearing aprons - but maybe this is a cultural thing. I did observe a cabin crew member not ask for the window tint to be opened for landing -perhaps a potential safety issue as we could not see outside the aircraft. .Despite the negatives, we enjoyed a very comfortable flight.
AircraftBoeing 787-9 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Sapporo via Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"mostly fine for a short flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We only flew briefly, but the flight was mostly fine for a short flight, service was great. Aircraft was really hot which made the flight a bit difficult. There was no entertainment or food on this domestic flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIwakuni to Naha
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes