American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3910 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"can’t say anything good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Both my outgoing and return flights through DFW were delayed and connections missed. On the return flight the pilot just said DFW was backed up and kept giving a take off time and then extending it. Once we arrived at DFW the agent said the reason for delay was not given and he could not book a room. I was given a website with supposed discounts. The hotels did not specify if they had airport shuttles & when I asked another agent I was basically told I would have to figure it out. When the shuttle did pick us up, he immediately said .. let me guess, American Airlines, right? He proceeded to say American strands customers continually there. American customer service refused to reimburse for the hotel. They don’t seem to be concerned about losing customers either. I explained their continual delays causing missed connections takes away any benefit of a slightly lower price. In addition it takes the agent about 30 minutes per person to rebook the new flight so plan on being in line forever. If you choose to do business with American, I recommend looking for at least a 3 hour layover. I really can’t say anything good about this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Knoxville via Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst travel experiences"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is by far one of the worst travel experiences in my 48 years. They reserve the right to ban you from their flight for any reason. Their practice seems to be very inconsistent, bump people from their flight, non-refundable, and sell your seat to someone else. This seems to be their current business model. Everyone has the right to refuse service but common courtesy would be to notify us, not wait till we are stuck at the airport with no other means of getting home. I have two minor children depending on me and could not reach them. We were here for 6 days and could have booked another flight but we’re not notified. This goes beyond bad business practice.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Jacksonville
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"AA customer service wouldn't even talk to me"

(United States)

Not Verified | Bought my tickets through Travelocity in July 2020 for a great price. AA changed the return flight times from 1.10 to 3.28 back in Oct 2020. I never received any notification. That change left me with 1 hour and 14 minutes to go through customs and meet my connecting flight in Miami. I contacted AA and they put the blame on Travelocity. I understand Travelocity should have notified me but AA made the changes that are impossible to keep. AA customer service wouldn't even talk to me. When we arrived at the FPO airport to come home the AA ticket person looked at this ridiculous schedule and changed us to a flight where we were now leaving Miami the next day. Keep in mind I am 59 and my husband is 63. I asked her if we are supposed to sleep on the airport floor. She told me to talk to the people at Miami. Because my tickets are now not connected I had to pick up my carry on in Miami and have it rechecked. AA wanted to charge me a second time for my checked baggage. I had to talk to those folks about the horrible mix-up that is all AAs fault before my baggage was accepted. Then they made me leave through a locking door into the terminal. I am no longer in the secure area. So now I not only have to sleep on the floor but I am now unable to access food. I tried to reenter but TA would not let me pass because our tickets were for tomorrow. The only saving grace for your horrible airlines was the manager in Miami. She was the first one in all of this nightmare that even bothered to listen to us. What should have been an easy flight home from a great vacation turned into hell! You really need to have customer service that listens to your customers instead of blowing us off to the next stop. This could have all been avoided if you didn't allow changes that were impossible to keep. That is all on you!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Salt Lake City
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Worst agent at the gate"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Appalled! Worst agent at the gate. Grabbed my arm and told me my carry on luggage was not going with me that I had to check it in. Said it did not fit the slot to see if it fits. It fit and she told me no! I told her I have flown this airline before and she told me the overhead bins were different. Very disrespectful and unprofessional. When I went in the plane without my luggage the top bins had a lot of room for more luggage. I hope people don’t fly this airline! Very unprofessional.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Chicago
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"we didn’t anticipate the rude and unhelpful staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | While we expected a weather delay due to the snow, we didn’t anticipate the rude and unhelpful staff. They basically sent everyone off with a “good luck” and zero information on what to do if you’d missed your connecting flight. Every ride we took from American on that trip had some kind of issue that seemed avoidable if they had any kind of organization at all. Neither of us could connect to the internet.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Pittsburgh
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"You have no idea what social distancing is"

(United States)

Not Verified | I will never fly American Airlines again!! You have no idea what social distancing is, but you make sure to threaten people about the mask while on flight every chance you get! Even though your stewardesses aren't going by the rules or is the guy flying the plane! No food at all except pretzels and a water, and when you say get that mask on or you won't fly American again, I am the customer and you don't talk to us that way! If I could give you a zero I would!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I can say that it was really good"

(United States)

Not Verified | I visited to Los Angeles last week. I made reservation with American Airlines and the seat was very comfortable. Food was delicious. Very caring for Senior Citizens. Overall I can say that it was really good. I also recommend it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"won’t be flying this airline ever again!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family and I planned our annual snowboard trip to Park City and we chose to fly American because they had the latest departure on our return flight home. We always snowboard the last day of our trip and then fly home in the evening. Well, American messed that all up for us. Both of our initial flights were changed and the only flight they had available to return home was so early that we were not able to board the last day of our trip, even though we purchased tickets in advanced and had to eat almost $600 for our entire family. The only concession American was willing to make was to put us on a flight the next morning- which would mean we would have to pay for an extra night at our hotel, which was sold out. No refund or credit was given. We won’t be flying this airline ever again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Phoenix
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"be flying a different carrier from here on out"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The self serve kiosks seem like a good idea, but people are not good at it and it caused me to miss my flight by 10 mins because my bag needed checked in 45 prior to boarding. Even with 35 minutes left until boarding, I was only given the option of flying the next day, and I had to pay $200 or be on standby, which was not guaranteed. Additionally, the rep was mad even before I got to her. I realize it's a difficult job, but if you are only going to be frustrated and short with people, maybe you should look into another line of work. Overall, American is pretty terrible, but this experience left me very frustrated. I could not get further up in the line even though I was missing my window to check my bag. The one person they had helping people get to kiosks could've been bringing people who were flying immediately to the front, or they could've offered to check my bag at the gate. Poor attitude and no real offers to resolve anything. Lastly, I was charged $30 again for bag fees. Everyone should know that you cannot talk to anyone about these customer service issues, you just submit online and they send back an email stating how sorry they are and even though they can't help you, they will forward your concerns to leadership so they can hear it. I'll be flying a different carrier from here on out.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Columbus
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will never use them again"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had a flight booked for March to take a cruise out of Miami. The cruise was cancelled. I re-booked for December. The airfare was a total (for 3 of us) a savings for us at $217.50. I had to fight for the credit to my credit card for the pre-paid seats, which I finally received. I called many times to get the credit for the difference in airfare credited to my credit card. I never received a call back from a "manager", and even emailed the CEO three times to get a credit rather than a voucher, which I can never use before the expiration date. Contrast to Delta, they were so nice and did whatever was needed to accommodate the disruption caused by covid. Will never use them again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Dallas via Miami
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no