American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 3588 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"never had a good experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Lynchburg to Tallahassee via Charlotte. I have flown American many times, I have never had a good experience flying with them. However AA is the only airline that has flights in and out of Lynchburg Virginia. The last time I flew with them they broke my checked bag and refused to believe they broke it, they caused me to miss a flight because we sat on the Tarmac for 30 minutes after that flight already being delayed. They proceeded to tell me I should have booked a flight with a longer lay over in CLT. This is one of many times they have delayed a flight before I ever even made it to the airport. If you have he option do not fly with American, the in flight service is good but they simply could not care less if you have make a connection or not.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLynchburg to Tallahassee via Charlotte
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff are unfriendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Killeen to Seattle via Dallas . The staff are unfriendly and sometimes flat out rude. They don't smile, they aren't happy to see you and I always feel very unwelcomed when flying with AA. I will only fly with them when I have to (for work), but when I do, I dread having to fly with them. Flying for work sucks anyway, their awful customer service just makes it that much more of a terrible experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKilleen to Seattle via Dallas
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

" dedication to good service"

(United States)

Not Verified | AA found the ipad mini I had left in my seat! While I filed a report on the ground in Des Moines, the baggage agent person did not give me much hope. After getting weekly texts saying they had not recovered it, to my surprise I got an email saying they had it! Today I received it in good condition and after a charge, all was good. I really appreciate the dedication to good service and the recovery of that item.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Antonio to Dallas via Des Moines
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"this airline is poor"

(United States)

Not Verified | To be honest, this airline is poor. I've flown American a few times, and tried quite hard to be understanding. But consistent delays, mismanagement, and employee incompetence paired with low quality flights and no acknowledgement from customer service or staff besides a boiler plate apology every time they screw up(which is often) has driven me to conclude that this airline is not worth your money. Take for example, my last flight. Every single one of my planes with the exception of the return trip from Ontario to Dallas had a delay, all of which took from 30 minutes to 2 hours. 2 due to an utter lack of any communication between staff. They did gate changes with very little notification almost causing some to miss their flights. They boarded planes that had preexisting maintenance problems which caused a severe delay, and their staff are incredibly surly, careless, and disinterested with very few exceptions. I will be taking my money elsewhere in future, and I would recommend doing so as well.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGrand Rapids to Dallas Fort Worth
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Everyone was accommodating"

(United States)

Not Verified | Asheville to Newark via Charlotte. Flights, personnel and seating was excellent this trip. Everyone was accommodating, especially Lynn in Charlotte. Allowing to store carryon suitcases in planes cargo hold was convenient and cost effective. For basic economy pricing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAsheville to Newark via Charlotte
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not take customer service seriously"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Ottawa to San Jose via Philadelphia. From the beginning even before my journey started I had issues. American Airlines changed my flight schedule without informing me. The departure time was the same but all the connections where different as well as the arrival time. I didn’t let that bother me since they were small changes. Once I left Canada I landed in Philadelphia at 730am. I had a 7h layover at the Philadelphia airport. 3 hours into the layover, I heard an announcement saying that the flight was delayed do to maintenance. At that point, I proceeded to the American customer service desk. A gentleman greeted me asking what the problem was. I started explaining that my flight was delayed and it might have an impact on my connecting flights. In addition, I was meeting a friend in Costa Rica and it was important I arrive on January 21st. He looked at my itinerary and informed me that I will need to stay the night in Philadelphia and leave for Costa Rica in the morning, since I would not be able to make my connection flight from Miami To Costa Rica. I was floored! He had no empathy for my situation. At that point, I started talking to one of his coworkers and she started digging into additional solutions. She managed to book me a flight with two connections but it was going to be a close call. I took what she gave me and thanked her! Running to my connections was not easy but I was able to make all the flights and arrive at my destination on time. Looking back at this, I can’t believe one of the American Airline employees tried to take the easy way out and keep me overnight. Upon my arrival I see no bags. I had to wait in San Jose for a day for my bags. No apologies or compensation were provided by the airline. All in all I would give American Airline two thumbs down, a 0/10. This airline does not take customer service seriously and when you need help they will do the bare minimum to help. This is a sad reality but my lesson is learned American Airline is no longer an option for me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to San Jose via Philadelphia
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Jose to Los Angeles. Worst airline ever. I had a confirmed ticket but was removed from the flight because they overbooked it. It causes great deal of inconvenience. Never fly with this airline ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

American Airlines customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to New York with American Airlines. The airline is pretty good with punctuality. Boarding is terrible, they give preference to people who pay more money, if you happen to be an unlucky chap who just wants to fly from point a to point b in basic economy, then, this is not the airline you want. You'll board last. You'll be sitting in the middle. You'll get no overhead bin space for your carry on.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to New York
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"It was horrible!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Lexington to Charlotte. I had a truly horrible experience with AA a few weeks ago. I was flying economy, so was at the back of the plane. I asked if this could be changed because I have a migraine disability and being near the engine noise exacerbates this condition. I was told no at ticketing, but told it could be possible at the gate. My father's funeral was the previous day, and I was with my son, so I forgot about asking at the gate. once I got on the plane, I tried to speak with the stewardess about the situation. I have never been treated so aggressively rudely in my life. She made it very clear that I was a nuisance from the beginning. We ended up stuck on the runway for two hours because it was Sunday and they had to call in a crew (they weren't already at the airport) to remove a plane blocking the runway with a flat tire. I tried to explain to the stewardess about my disability and asked if I could sit in one of the many empty seats at the front, in order to alleviate the extra noise and heat of sitting in the back--triggers for the disease. She yelled at me, created a scene, refused to respond when I pushed the overhead button so that I could get rid of the needle and syringe I had to use because of the stress her behavior caused me. After two hours of sitting on the tarmac, we taxied back to the gate and I was removed for being "disruptive". I couldn't believe it! Because of this aggressive, nasty, devoid-of-compassion stewardess, I was seven extra hours en-route to my destination! When I complained to the airlines, they basically said "too bad". If the stewardess doesn't like you, they can label you "disruptive" and have you removed! Was she taking something out on me? Was it bad day for her (consider my situation with my father)? I have no idea, and the Airlines refused to take responsibility! I will do my utmost never to fly with company again because of this women. It was horrible!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLexington to Charlotte
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff were courteous and friendly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Pittsburgh to Oklahoma City via Dallas. American Airlines was on time, smoothly boarded both planes, hassle free flight with no delays! The staff were courteous and friendly. They offered and drink and snack on the flight from Pitt to Dallas, on the OKC just a drink.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePittsburgh to Oklahoma City via Dallas
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes