American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2631 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"does not seem to care"

(United States)

Not Verified | Portland to Los Angeles. Traveling for a family emergency, so I booked last minute and my best option was to travel via American Airlines. My flight out of Portland was delayed, as is my connecting flight (1.5 hrs so far). The aircraft I traveled in was extremely dirty, making my experience much more unpleasant. Customer service does not seem to care. Will never travel American Airlines ever again. The level of customer service is not up to par with other airlines like Delta and Alaska.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service reps rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cancun to St. Louis via Chicago. There was air traffic/ground traffic causing me to miss my connecting flight which I had a 2.5 hour window to make. I was told that the airline does not supply hotel vouchers or even meal vouchers because the plane landed on time there was just traffic on the ground so we couldn’t get off the plane. Nothing was done besides handing me a slip of paper to sleep in the airport or pay for an hotel when clearly it was out of my control. The customer service reps were entirely to rude. No to mention my flight was delayed according to my text alert but they closed the doors 15 mins early so I still could not board. I have no idea where my luggage is. The customer service reps were rude, and could care less about helping me find a comfortable place, I sucked up the fact that I was staying in the airport overnight after travels literally all day and asked for directions to the military USO. A place I knew I could sleep comfortably, the custome assistance rep responded “I don’t know it’s somewhere in here” and proceeded to talk to her co worker. I was told multiple times that’s it was not the airlines fault that I missed the connecting flight and policy is not the accommodate me. Which is ridiculous! I did not fly the plane I did not cause the traffic jam, how is the airline not at fault? I was not pointing the finger, but at 2300hrs after traveling for over 13 hours I just wanted to lay down or even someone to speak to who respected me as a person instead of a burden on their job. The next morning after sleeping in the USO I eventually located I headed to my gate which was printed on the ticket. Only 30 mins before boarding I realized the screen had not changed to my final destination. After checking the main listing of of flights and gates screen, I found my gate had changed without notification whatsoever, and it was on the complete opposite side of the airport. The whole airline experience was horrible! I will never fly this airline again, not even if it were $1 per flight. The customer service needs a serious retrain on quality customer care! 0 out of 10
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCancun to St. Louis via Chicago
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Only fools fly American"

(United States)

Not Verified | Unfortunately there are times when I have no choice but to fly American. Flight booked from Austin to Salt Lake City with layover in Phoenix. Per usual the flight is delayed. I get into Phoenix with just enough time to run across this ridiculously designed shit hole airport. I make a quick stop at customer service asking them to let them know I'm coming as fast as I can. She said she would and as I run off I hear her coworker mumble under her stinky breath that "they've already given your seat to someone else". I get there and the door is shut 2 minutes before it's supposed to be. In fact they bumped me from boarding in group 4 to group 8 on a flight that leaves 5 hours later. I've said it before and I'll say it again. Only fools fly American. I will no longer be a fool. I'll quit my job before I fly American again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAustin to Salt Lake City
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Horrible airline!"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Philadelphia. American Airlines is horrible. We heard that on our nine hour flight there would only be be overhead screens, I downloaded the AA app that would have free movies for on the flight. The inside of the aircraft looked new in the business cabin but was 1990 style in the economy cabin, when the flight took off I heard that the app would not work. The attendant said that I could read a book. Shortly after all the lights turned off (not a night flight) and I couldn’t read. Horrible airline!
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Philadelphia
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"It was a sight from the past"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A special flight, where I found the flight crew acted as though they enjoyed their job. I was afraid that the way I used to fly had disappeared where the passengers were respected, greeted with a smile. The flight attendants were dressed sharply, proud to wear American's uniform. It was a sight from the past. I traveled 1/16/19 On American flight# 1351, 11:42 am from Tampa to DFW.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Dallas
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"treated me with empathy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was scheduled to leave at 1230pm, arrive in Dallas, Tx. at 400ish and leave there and arrive in Lubbock at 545. Well, both flights leaving Dallas were canceled due to weather. Misi was working the gate and informed me of this information. She rescheduled me for a direct fight that leaves at 730pm. She explained the benefits and draw back of not only this option but with several other options she presented me. She did this with a very genuine, sincere smile on her face. She is very pleasant and treated me with empathy and sincere interest in me. Thanks for the great service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Lubbock
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"is utterly incompetent!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Puerto Vallarta to Phoenix. American Airlines is utterly incompetent! A month before our departure to Puerto Vallarta, we are informed that our original flight has been cancelled, and we need to take the return flight a day earlier. Our hotel has already been paid and is non-refundable. So, the vacation is a now a day shorter, and we are out a few hundred dollars. Upon arrival in the PV airport to return home, the flight has been delayed two hours, and we will miss the connecting flight, requiring an overnight stay in PHX. Originally we were told it was due to weather, but the incoming flight is sitting in Phoenix with clear skies. After asking them to double check the reason, we are told it is for scheduled maintenance. What? Scheduled maintenance when you have a flight booked? Well, after spending two hours on the phone, we have been re-assigned to fly on a different airline. No offer for reimbursement for the flight difference, and an extra $100 charge to check bags on a different airline. They might as well tell you to get lost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Phoenix
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Overall a great experience!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oakland to Montego Bay via Phoenix / Charlotte. I recently traveled on American Airlines on several flights over a period of a few days. After booking, I read lots of bad reviews about AA. My experience with AA was great! All six flights were on time. The staff at the gate and on the plane were friendly and helpful. The pilot kept us informed when we were about to experience turbulence. Overall a great experience!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Montego Bay
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"by far the worst experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Albany to Columbus via Philadelphia. This is by far the worst experience that I have ever had with an airline. I had a flight delay leaving my original location from a business trip due to air traffic. After arriving in Philadelphia, I had less than 5 minutes to run from terminal F to terminal B to reach my connecting flight. I gave it my best effort to make it, but sadly missed the flight by only a minute or so. I approached customer service who told me the the next flight to my location was the following morning. I informed them that I was flexible on airport locations, and that I would be willing to fly into any airport in Ohio. They were quite rude in informing me that I had no time to make the next flight to Cleveland, so I had no choice but to wait. I asked about hotel accommodations, to which they said that they only offered a discounted rate, however, if I would like to sleep in the airport, there were cots. I called about the rates and found nothing cheaper than $100 + tax. I decided to sleep in the airport, however I was informed later that there were no cots, and the airport had stopped providing them some time ago. After asking around, my only option was a small pillow and blanket and to find a "comfy" spot in the airport. Overall, I found American Airlines to be extremely unprofessional and unwilling to accommodate, despite the fact this was no fault of my own, but rather a fault of the airline. I will not be flying with American Airlines again and do not recommend them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAlbany to Columbus via Philadelphia
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very rude people"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Saint Louis. The worst airline ever. Very rude people. I sat in airport 14 hours. Got shuffled from plane to plane which both was broken missed 2 flights. Cause of the plane issues was never once told sorry. Was very confused on what was going on. Never again will I fly with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Saint Louis
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no