American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2478 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"ultimately very costly trip"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Pensacola to Boston via Charlotte. I recently flew American and the flight resulted in a change to a further airport, a delay in the new flight due to airport maintenance that was known about but not conveyed until after the flight was supposed to take off and finally an hour wait while they retrieved our gate checked bags and found us a hotel. Each individual I spoke to was very polite but ultimately the company policy made this a difficult,exhausting, and ultimately very costly trip with lost days of work.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePensacola to Boston via Charlotte
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"our luggage was not there"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Charlotte. Waited at gate for paperwork (as per captain) Made us almost miss connection. After standing at the luggage carousel for 30 min, we realized our luggage was not there. Walked all over the airport trying to find a AA employee. Found a security girl that directed us back to luggage pick up. Found AA baggage office, they say they will deliver my baggage some time at night. Tired from getting up early and flying all day, I am now expected to wait up for this.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteDenver to Charlotte
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff absolutely brilliant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The flight from St Louis to Chicago via Providence was, by far, the best domestic flight I have ever been on. The staff were absolutely brilliant - the most accomodating, friendly, and humorous flight attendants. They were extremely attentive and made the flight seem even shorter than it was. They even brought some gifts over for the kids sitting behind me which was very sweet. The pilot kept us updated during the flight and provided a safe and smooth take-off and landing. He even saw us off the plane after we landed. I never had a favorite airline before but I will absolutely be flying American from now on!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt Louis to Chicago via Providence
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"nickel and diming you throughout"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Baltimore to Dallas with American Airlines. Paid for inflight internet and it barely works. Waste of $12. Not the first time either. Airline has turned into something like Spirit Airlines, nickel and diming you throughout the process. I’m already looking at other options for travel. My retirement certainly won’t be this brand. I’ll use my 157000 miles (hopefully they won’t ruin that too) and get out.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Dallas
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"nothing but rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | West Palm Beach to Las Vegas via Charlotte. The ladies at the desk at Charlotte airport American Airlines were nothing but rude! It was late but I get that, it happens- but the ladies made an announcement if your looking to switch seats come to the desk, so with a seat 29B I was delighted! I go up and the lady looked at my ticket then smirked and was like your in basic economy “if you have the money is the only way I can switch your seat” - ok lady, I am the customer what happened to the customer is always right or at least don’t be rude is all I ask. Then the other woman at the desk announced there is no food on this flight, so I go up and ask if there’s at least gonna be water. After speaking with her coworker, she was rude after a simple question based off of a bad comment she announced. American Airlines, hire more polite people or train your people better. Very displeased.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWest Palm Beach to Las Vegas via Charlotte
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stuck in the bankruptcy period"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Orlando to Orange County via Dallas. My flight from Orlando to Dallas was delayed, but I was able to obtain a seat on another American flight and make my Dallas connection. However, a computer program determined I would not be able to make the connection, cancelled my seat on the flight to Orange County, and assigned me to a flight the following morning. I received an automated email asking that I accept the next day flight or request another, which I did not respond to since I was able to get on another flight. I did discuss this with the gate agent in Orlando who apparently cannot override the computer's erroneous conclusion. American Airlines Customer Relations responded in writing to my complaint, but stands steadfast by the computer rather than the customer. American Airlines has attempted to reorganize from bankruptcy with a new logo and some new planes (although they remain among the older fleets). The Admirals Club staff are clearly trained to smile and great and offer assistance to customers. Unfortunately the Customer Relations staff appear stuck in the bankruptcy period, little imagination or motivation to attract and maintain customers.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Orange County via Dallas
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"poor communication"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Salt Lake City to Lubbock via Dallas Ft Worth. In short, multiple occasions of poor communication at the airport, cancelled flights with hit an miss support, delayed bags after confirming they were on the flight, & rude employees during and after trip. My problem isn't as much that bad things happened, but how many and how the airline handled the situations. I even filled out the the survey that American Airlines sent me. Due to my responses, I expected that I would have been contacted by now (3 weeks later) with al least an email apologizing for the problems I had and appreciation for flying with them. As a result I feel it is important to share with others my experience. The problems started with a series of gate changes that had me bouncing around the airport at DFW. At one point there were people from 4 different flights at a gate trying to figure out if it was the gate they were supposed to be at. The monitors at the most of the gates did not show any information about the flight that was upcoming. This added to the confusion for my flight and others. Eventually my flight was cancelled. The next flight wasn't available till late morning the next day. The person at the gate was able to re-route my flight so I could meet up with the group I was going to road trip with. I received a hotel voucher for my overnight stay. When I called the hotel shuttle to pick me up, they informed me that they wouldn't send a shuttle. I told them I had a voucher from the airline for my stay. The hotel said that it didn't matter and I would need to talk to the airline for different arrangements. Many American Airlines employees & 4 hours later, I was finally on my way to a hotel I would have to pay for myself and submit a refund from the airline. Another person on the shuttle had many difficulties as he didn't have a cell phone to get messages about gates changing and flights cancelling. The lack of announcements and information at the gates was a serious concern. Once at my hotel, I called to confirm that my baggage would be rerouted with me to my new destination. The employee submitted a request, but said I would want to arrive early at the airport and talk to the baggage people in person. I arrived several hours prior to my flight and approached the baggage assistance counter. I stood at the counter being ignored by the employee for several minutes before she acknowledged my presence. She then asked me to wait a few minutes. When she was ready for me, I explained my situation, she seemed pretty annoyed, but she did pulled up my information and said that my bags are marked to be with me. I expressed concern because the lack of confidence from the employee the night before. She snipped at me and said they will be on my flight. (They didn't make it on my flight.) I proceeded to my gate. While waiting, I observed similar flight and gate confusion as the night before. Gate changes & people not being sure where they were really supposed to be. One particular flight only had one passenger on board and they were within a few minutes of needing to shut the gates for take off. I was only set to a few gates that morning. On the plane, the passenger next to me and I realized she had received texts from the airline directing her to gates that were different then the ones I received. We confirmed by looking at each others messages. Upon arrival I was informed that my bag was going to a different airport. I ended up having to replace the contents of my bag and submit reimbursement. Still hoping for refund.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Lubbock via Dallas
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most unpleasant travel experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Baltimore to Dallas Ft Worth. American has become the most unpleasant travel experience I’ve ever had. They just collect my money and treat me like a number; a meaningless number at that. It’s pointless to go into a great amount of detail because it won’t matter. Let’s just say I got some bad news from home and I was told to prove it. It was cold and callous. They didn’t get that I couldn’t get them the information until it was too late. They even told me they had available seats. Forget that I have flown them for 35 years and have accumulated hundreds of thousands of miles. They just don’t care.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Dallas Ft Worth
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff is mostly in a bad mood"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Miami to Zurich via Philadelphia. Second time the plane for the connecting flight suddenly had technical issues and we had to wait more than 3 hours for them to find a new plane. And of course every flight is overbooked and delayed because they have to find people who are willing to take a different flight. Also, better don’t think it will get any better once you are on the plane. The cabin staff is mostly in a bad mood and ignore you. Definitely not worth saving a couple of dollars flying with this airline!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Zurich via Philadelphia
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"would never fly with them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Medford to Los Angeles. Got here 2 hours early. Needed a wheelchair, waited 45 minutes before anyone came to help me. Still waiting for help. Requested wheel chair while making my reservation. Called to see if the airlines got my request. Got to Medford airport which is tiny. Still no wheelchair. No one was willing to help. Very scary feeling, when you're handicapped. If it wasn't one of two airlines that fly direct, I would never fly with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMedford to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no