American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 5352 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"food and drinks were allowed to run out"

(United States)

Not Verified | Halfway through the first leg of our flight the crew ran out of champagne (first order) and without any explanation they substituted wine and only admitted problem after I called them back. They then ran out of food and only option offered was dried out inedible chicken. At our 2 hour layover the food and drinks were not restocked on the plane and we reboarded the same plane in the same seat. I cannot believe that in first class food and drinks were allowed to run out and not restocked although there were over 2 hours that they could have done it. This was a long and expensive first class flight that was very disappointing. To add to the lack of food the stewardess were not organized. The service was done in shifts. First row. Then about 5 to 10 minutes then 2nd row. We were in the last row of first and business class (5) total and the people in the first three rows had finished eating by the time we were told that there was no food for us after all. Sorry do you want snacks. For the price we paid to sit in business class I thought that was very disappointing. I had chips for lunch…
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteSeattle to Cancun via Phoenix
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never fly them again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We were delayed at security and customs in Dallas and arrived at our gate as soon as we could only to find the gate closed for boarding. The staff at the gate wasn't friendly or helpful. They were aware of our delay but refused to wait. We had to book another flight 12 hours later at Dallas Airport . American Airlines offered no compensation or offer to put us up for the night or even a voucher to get some food. Not impressed with AA and will never fly them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCabo to Toronto via Dallas
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"upgrade to Main cabin plus was a complete scam"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I paid over $200 for Main cabin plus because I am 6 months pregnant & incredibly uncomfortable. For all four of my flights to and from Boston, I was told they gave my reserved seats away & that I would be reimbursed. After weeks of emails (they have nobody to contact by phone), they told me sorry but seats aren’t guaranteed. The upgrade to Main cabin plus was a complete scam. I was crammed in a middle seat in the back of the plane, while having to get up and bother my neighbors for frequent bathrooms breaks & leg movement. On our flights from Boston to Maui there was no food given or available for purchase (both over 6 hour flights). NO free entertainment or option to purchase wifi. Total Scam.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Boston
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Attendants are rude and unapproachable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Took the available seats next to the restrooms in the back, and was unfortunate to find that I was not provided any overhead storage in this abnormally small row, and had to hold by of my carry on bags under my legs or as they call "stow " under the seat in front of me. Come to find out the closest available overhead was already occupied by flight attendants. Attendants are rude and unapproachable. They did not assist me with my stowage issue, and basically served not purpose on this flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Arizona
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the last time i use this company"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | The flight departed and had to return to Buenos Aires because of mechanicals problems. They left us at the airport all night and the counter was supposed to open at 6am , so we were waiting all night and it is 7:30 am and nobody is here to fix the problem. Next flight is at 8 pm so i will be in the airport for more than 24 hours, the company asked us to go to a hotel, i don't have money because my daughter will take care of me as soon as i arrive to USA. American Airlines is doing nothing to fix the problem. This is the last time i use this company.
AircraftBoing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBuenos Aires to Miami
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They forced us to check our bags"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This company should not be in business. I've had the unfortunate experience of having several flights in which part of involved American Airlines. Every single one has ended in disaster, and the customer service is borderline scam. They forced us to check our bags to board the flight stating that the cabin was full. Reality the overhead cabins entire back half was empty. Then they change our boarding gate 10 minutes prior to boarding closing on the opposite side of the terminal. After running we get there 15 minutes before the flight left and they shut the door on us as we are trying to board.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCharlotte to Orlando
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely the worst airline there is"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst airline there is. Delayed my luggage, which had nightly medication needed and tried for literally 2 days to get the damn bag from 2 hours away. Numerous flights in and numerous idiots who not simply just put the bag on the plane to me. Do not use this airline, the lack of customer is very poor.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlbuquerque to Dallas
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"done with the lack of customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have been flying American Airlines for more than 25 years. On my recent trip from Charlotte to Portland, there was no food offered for a 5.5 hour flight. There was no in-flight entertainment devices offered. I was required to use my own cell phone. One hour into the flight, the beverage cart came around. It did not come around again until almost an hour before landing. Beverage selection was very limited, if any, I become more and more disappointed with American Airlines. Although I have been a loyal customer, I will be choosing alternative airlines in the future. I am done with the lack of customer service at American Airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHarrisburg to Portland
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever! Worst customer service ever. Kept us sitting in airport on a return flight from Memphis for 6 hours promising that another flight was coming, then cancelled us. Then, after servicing most of the passengers, they simply told us they ran out of vouchers, and we were on our own. They admitted responsibility but said, in effect, too bad. After going it on our own, they first fought the reimbursement, but then reimbursed some of my group. Still, after nearly 2 months of waiting, I have not received my reimbursement for food, hotel, and taxi. Simply the worst customer relations I have ever seen in my life. Please don't fly American Airlines!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMemphis to Washington
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Worst experience ever"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Worst experience ever. Our flight got delayed, missed the connection. Had to sleep at the airport because the hotel we were set up for was infested with bedbugs. The flight itself was OK for the money. But the delays and the service are very poor. We got rerouted the next day making a 1 stop flight to a 2 stop flight. Best part now we are trying to fly back, the same thing.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Cancun via Dallas
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no