American Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2419 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I’d rather fly Spirit"

(United States)

Not Verified | LaGuardia to Dallas. Worst airline ever! I always fly Delta but had no choice but to fly American Airlines to Dallas and it’s the worst. They always have huge delays and issues and wont provide you with any information or approx time of departure. The staff are rude even when the airline has inconvenienced me. I’d rather fly Spirit.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLaGuardia to Dallas
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"asked to check their baggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Philadelphia. Terrible support and accommodations on-flight. No room was provided for my carry on. It should not have to be a concern of the flyer to ensure that personnel use proper storage room. Flight attendants or crew members should ensure flyers use proper storage. Instead all flyers group 6 and back were asked to check their baggage. I have important documents, work laptop and information to keep on me and was not allowed due to running out of room. I will request I never fly American aAirlines through military again. Completely let down, I have flown with this airline numerous times and have always been allowed to keep my bag even when "no room" was available. The lady at the desk was extremely rude and not willing to listen at all. Just got told to please handle it when you arrive at Philadelphia. So much for your customer service. This was terrible and can not any longer recommend your airlines for flying to others.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Philadelphia
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you didn’t make the cut off"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Salt Lake City via Los Angeles. Worst customer service I have experienced. My wife and baby went to the counter and checked in and the woman at the counter in Honolulu airport told my wife that I had five minutes to get there or I wouldn’t be able to board the plane. So my wife called me right then and I was there two minutes earlier than the five minutes because I sprinted from my car rental drop off after she told me that. When I arrived at the counter (three minutes earlier than the five minute cut off she gave my wife) she said in the most demeaning tone “you’re not going to be able to board the plane” and it felt as if she loved telling me that. I said “why?” And she said “because you didn’t make the cut off“. I looked at my watch and I said “yes I did, look at the time” and I showed her the time on her computer screen which was one minute earlier than the cut off time. She said in a sarcastic voice “I’m sorry there’s nothing I can do“. I said “can I speak to your manager“? And she laughed and said “she’s not going to help you“. She came back after like 15 seconds and said “told you, you’re not getting on the plane“. I asked her why she seemed to not be interested in helping us and told her it seems like she didn’t care. She just kept saying “it’s under the terms and conditions” and “you shouldn’t have agreed.” I will never fly American Airlines again. Because of some cut off that I wasn’t even actually late for.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Salt Lake City via Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst flights"

(United States)

Not Verified | One of the worst flights ever. We flew from San Francisco to Rome via Chicago. First they didn’t allow us to checkin online unless we selected seats for which we needed to pay like 30-40 Dollars per seat per leg of the flight. That means it costs like 150-160 dollars for just selecting a regular economy seat. Then when we reached the airport, we tried checking in the kiosk. It said assistance required and there was no one around. Then we went to a counter and checked by bag which cost 60$ for a single bag(wow). Then first flight from San Francisco to Chicago was delayed by 1 hour. That was after boarding. We barely made it 10 minutes before our boarding started for our next flight from Chicago. Then after sitting in the flight for 30 minutes they started saying that some maintenance was required for the flight and now it has been already more than 2 hours and we are still waiting. They are not even letting us off the plane.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Rome via Chicago
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delays and other issues"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Wichita, 1hr 32 mins late arriving. Worst airline in the business, delays and other issues, aircraft are cramped and uncomfortable. I would not be flying them, but my company booked the flight. Truly a disgrace to airlines, I'm not sure how an airline can screw up so badly and so often.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Wichita
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"miss our connecting flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Buffalo to Charlotte. Worst airline to fly with! This is now our second time this year for our flight to be delayed causing us to miss our connecting flight thus missing very important events that we paid a lot of money to be at. To “accommodate us” they gave us a 10% hotel discount for a hotel that was over $150 a night and sent us on our way. Absolutely unacceptable. And now that I’m reading the reviews I see that it’s a very common thing with this company. Will never be flying through this Airline again and suggest you not to if you want to make it on time wherever you are going.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuffalo to Charlotte
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they cancelled the flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Phoenix to Monterey for a wedding. We were in a 10am flight. Got on a plane and they told us to get out because of technical issues. I was asking what is going on because no one was giving us information and they told me to go sit down in a very rude way. We waited and then they cancelled the flight. I went to costumer service to ask to fly somewhere else and I got yelled there as well saying it is not their fault. They put in on 1:45pm flight. Flight was delayed because they could not find the pilot. Nobody was taking responsibility for this. We missed the wedding. We had a hotel there and could not be given our money back. Worst experience ever.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Monterey
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a comedy of errors"

(United States)

Not Verified | Will not fly American again. Flew Friday 10/12 from Bradley International Airport, Hartford CT to Richmond VA via Charlotte NC. Flight delayed 30-45min from Bradley to Charlotte. We had a 1:45 min layover so no big deal. Flight from Charlotte to Richmond delayed 30 min. Trying right now to get home. Was supposed fly from Richmond to Hartford via Philadelphia. Flight from Philly to Hartford canceled. Rebooked from Richmond to Hartford via Chicago. Flight from Richmond to Chicago delayed 30min. In Chicago right now. Flight from Chicago to Hartford thus far delayed 1:15 min and changed gates in O'Hare from one end of Terminal 3 to the other end. Funny aside, the original flight we were booked on from Richmond to Philly was supposed to leave at 1500. Over loud speaker, "Last call for such and such flight to Philly" at 1530! So that flight was delayed too. I have flown Delta for years and very few issues. Unfortunately, there was not a convenient flight on Delta for this quick trip so decided to try American. Will never do that again. They are truly a comedy of errors and pathetic-ness.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHartford to Richmond
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have dealt with"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airline I have dealt with. My flight was delayed for 10 hours, they didn't send an email or call to let us know that there was a delay. I came with a group of 5 to the airport and when you tried to check in the system showed us that there was a delay and all the American Airlines offices were closed. We have been waiting for the assistance for 3 hours to try to find at least a place to stay in because it was 3 am and we arrived at the airport at 12 am but they were disrespectful and they didn't even gave us a place to stay and it wasn't our fault. They didn't care about their customers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeattle to Phoenix
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the most helpful associate"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Norfolk to Philadelphia. Charlotte with American Airlines at Norfolk was the most helpful associate I have ever had. She was able to do things at the gate that the customer service counter said they couldn’t and was able to get me in my wife’s flight. Thank you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNorfolk to Philadelphia
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes