Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 593 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Ok, but not great"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew Rome to Los Angeles. Ok, but not great. The quality of Alitalia is on par with that of United about 15 years ago. The seat cushions were coming apart, the in-flight entertainment was old and clunky (and in many cases just not accessible, as many titles gave me a "unavailable" response), they didn't have any cocktails on board, and there was no in-flight WiFi. Additionally, the headphones they gave us for in-flight entertainment didn't work, and the bathrooms on board were not very clean. The only real upside was the tiramisu they served as dessert.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"they only offered one meal"

(India)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Rome, which is not a short flight, it's almost an 8-hour flight, they only offered one meal that too only one hour or so before landing in Italy, which was not even warm and fresh. To top it, they never offered any earphones for the in-flight entertainment during the whole flight. In spite of calling them several times for water, no one from the staff cared to provide water to me.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Tunis via Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew into Rome from Croatia 45 minutes before my flight to Naples at 3 pm. Alitalia would not issue me a boarding pass saying I was too late to make the flight that was still boarding. They would allow me to take the next flight at 9:30 pm but I would have to purchase a new ticket. The new ticket cost was $100 higher than the cost of the initial ticket and $50 more than my sister's ticket who was at the next agent getting her ticket. I asked why my ticket cost was higher, I was told that it was because it was a different level but couldn't explain why. The reason they said was because it costs more! I was very annoyed and said I would never fly with them and the agent mocked me openly and blatantly. No one tried to help us even though denying us our 3 pm flight had a serious impact on our connections from there and inconvenienced many others. Worst customer service ever. It isn't surprising that they may be facing bankruptcy.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Naples
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"checked in my hand luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rome to London. They checked in my hand luggage twice in a row for no reason. It was not overweight (it was empty) and the plane was not full as I was the first boarding and then all the people after boarded with hand luggage. One travels with just a hand luggage so one doesn't have to wait for the bags after. Then whats the point. People after were let in with two pieces bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Impressive positive changes"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Impressive positive changes from Alitalia. So much that it has become a pleasure flying with them. On time flights, friendly staff, acceptable airline food and drink. Really nice and improved lounge called Casa Italia in Rome airport. Also large part of Rome Airport is modern, new and nice. Lets just stop having to drive by bus from apron to terminal. Enjoyed my flight with Alitalia .
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Tel Aviv via Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Free snack and light beverages"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Milan to Athens return. Flight on time, clean aircraft but very cramped seat. Free snack and light beverages. No communication from cockpit. Return flight perfectly on time, very good legroom and same service of the previous flight. Very attentive safety procedures. All in all well done Alitalia.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan LIN to Athens
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I've never had a problem"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Very positive review: the flight was in perfect time, the aircraft clean and comfortable. During the flight from Rome to Amman (night flight) was served two snacks (panino+muffin) and soft drinks. Alitalia provides pillows and blanket. I flew with Alitalia many times and I've never had a problem, can't understand why so many negative feedback.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMilano Linate to Amman via Roma Fiumicino
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

" Excellent flights both ways"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Athens via Rome. Excellent flights both ways from Chicago to Athens. Our connection was held in Rome so we made it on time. Staff was very nice, food was excellent, and seats were comfortable. My family and I are going to Greece again hopefully, and we would fly Alitalia for sure.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Athens via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't get what you pay for from them"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flight from Rome to FK, June 2018. Payed over $4,000 for two premium economy tickets on Alitalia. One seat was broken/didn't recline at all. An almost 10 hour flight! TV did not work, and food tray was broken as well. Flight attendant took down my info, promising me a call from Alitalia. That call never came! This airline claims they do not have a phone number to call about issues. Must email or write them! I continously did so, and received nothing for weeks! Finally got an email stating a $100 voucher would be given to me to use within a year! I spent over $4,000 for 2 premium seats! I tried to fight this through emails and letters mailed to their New York PO box, and got nowhere! We will never fly Alitalia again for business or personal travels, nor will our large family. They are a rip off for charging as much as they did, and not refunding at least some of our money to us due to us not receiving practically anything of what everyone else paid for and received. Empty seats were observed and never offered to us. I hope this helps others from being ripped off as I was. This airline is good at taking your money, yet not doing right by their customers when you don't get what you pay for from them. This was an almost 10 hour flight with no TV, no seat that reclined, and not even a food tray that came down correctly (not even to lay your head on). So much for paying thousands for extra comfort in premium seating! Please do yourselves a favor and choose another airline.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRome Fiumicino to JFK (New York)
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"serve free food nowadays"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Rome. Boarding was on time and quite fast. The plane was very old, it can't even illuminate properly the "fasten seatbelt" sign. Service on short European flight consist in a drink and a little snack, I think Alitalia is one of the few European airlines to serve free food nowadays. Our flight was delayed for 1 hour in Madrid due to airport congestion, so we arrived late in Rome.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes