Alitalia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 656 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"no response after 5 days"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I booked an Alitalia Flight from Genoa to Johannesburg for Monday 9th September. Flying out at 19:00 and arriving Johannesburg 9:00 on Tuesday 10th. While checking in for my first flight at 17:00 I received a mail that my flight from Rome to Johannesburg had been cancelled and I would be rescheduled on a flight the following morning. At the customer service desk I was instructed to request a refund for my ticket. Once arriving in Rome I asked at customer service and was told I could only do this online. The following morning I was put on a 9:00 flight to JHB which was then again delayed for another 1.5hrs. I arrived in JHB at 20:00 on the 10th so an entire day of work lost. I also received an email instructing me to request a refund for my cancelled flight. The following day I called the Alitalia call center for South Africa, they informed me that I had to email [email protected] which I did, twice and I have had no response after 5 days. This is the third flight cancellation that I have experienced with Alitalia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGenoa to Johannesburg via Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"seats were a lot more comfortable"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Rome. The best part about taking the premium economy with Alitalia is the Priority Check-in and also the distinct compartment that separates the 18 seats from Economy and Business. It also has its own toilet although on our flight it was out of order. The seats were also a lot more comfortable than standard economy. After those advantages the rest was not much better than standard economy. The food service was ho-hum and there was no liquor available even on a trans Atlantic flight. The flight attendants were adequate in terms of attentiveness but no more. The priority check-in, Priority baggage handling and comfortable seats were worth the added cost.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto to Rome
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I recommend this airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Geneva to Rome. Adorable personnel, helpful, I recommend this airline, my flight was cancelled one day ago and they allowed me to the lounge to wait, offered me breakfast and lunch.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Rome
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"suitcase was tampered with"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Dusseldorf to Delhi via Rome. Upon arrival to Delhi, I was told my baggage was not boarded on the plane. They said it will be delivered by next flight. Next day, they said the baggage is misplaced or lost. Asked for me to fill long forms and give proofs of my residence, work etc. In the mean time I had to buy basic clothes and toiletries (as nothing was offered by the airline). However 8 days later, I finally received my baggage but the locks were broken, the suitcase was tampered with and some items missing. It was a gross case of negligence and mishandling. In order to compensate the airline offered a meager sum of €100 euros. Would never fly again and would not recommend it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDusseldorf to Delhi via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I've found decent service"

(Italy)

Not Verified | Milan to Cagliari. Wasn't taking an Alitalia flight for years, and was expecting the worse. Funny enough, I've found decent service and reasonably clean aircraft, with good knee space. Flight attendants looked stressed, but didn't disappoint. Surely will choose Alitalia again, at least for short range flights.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Cagliari
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Poor staff service"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Johannesburg via Rome. Where does one begin? Send delay information emails and confirmation after it already happened. Poor staff service, very unfriendly. No support to single mothers with children, can't even get receive a bottle of water on request. Everything asked seems to be too much of a hassle or inconvenience for the staff. Refuse to speak another language to some customers while gladly speak the same language to other customers. Will never fly with Alitalia again. Our friends warned us about the shocking service and thought it can't be so bad, but it's very bad indeed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Johannesburg via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Our group of four took Alitalia from Chicago to Rome on 06/26/2019 and returned to Chicago 07/03/2019. We had a flight that left Chicago at 3:30 p.m. Once we took off the employees came around and gave us some food that was ok. By 5:30p.m. the employees told the passengers to pull down the window shades so the inside of the plane was dark. I believe their intent was to make everyone go to sleep and not bother the staff during the flight. I do not go to sleep at 5:30 in the afternoon and did not sleep during any of the flight! The staff did not come through the plane to check on passengers for hours during the flight and I had to go search for one of them to get a drink of water. I think the staff went to sleep during the flight. On the way back to Chicago we left Rome at 9:30 a.m. and again were told to pull down the shades. While this may work well for people who want to sleep during the day I believe it was again done so the steward and stewardess could ignore the passengers. When the staff did come through the airplane with what they called food they were rude and curt if any of the passengers wanted to ask any questions about the "food". Some of the passengers are allergic to various ingredients and the airline employees did not show any interest in answering questions about the food. I would not recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Chicago
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"My luggage was lost"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airline ever. My luggage was lost on July 27. July 29 they called me to tell me they found my luggage and will ship to me. They never shipped but closed the file. Since then I have called and emailed and they have yet to reopen file which means my luggage will not be sent and no-one will look for it if its lost.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"very different flight experiences"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Bari to London via Rome and had 2 very different flight experiences. I booked my flights several months ahead of travel for my summer holiday and found the Alitalia site to be very efficient and user friendly. Alitalia emailed me a reminder to check-in online and so that side of things proved to be impressive and reliable. Check-in at Bari was quick and the gentleman who checked me in made pleasant small talk and was very polite. The flight from Bari to Rome was on an A320, the aircraft was clean and the interior well presented. Boarding was well managed and the flight departed slightly early and reached Rome 10 mins ahead of schedule. During this short flight the friendly and well turned out crew served drinks and were a great credit to their company. Disembarkation was most efficient and orderly. I transferred from the domestic terminal to terminal E for the flight to London. This flight was on a clearly older A320. Boarding was not orderly as too many passengers had far too much hand luggage. The flight was delayed for over 90 minutes on the runway and no announcements were made by the captain at all. Most of the cabin crew disappeared and left one lady to try and answer questions from worried passengers. One passenger was told that storms over London had caused the delay and another person said there was power failure at Heathrow. This was all hearsay and not at all beneficial to passengers. I noted how a captain from another airline was treated like a king by the cabin crew. He was placed by the emergency seat and another passenger moved to enable this. Two Mexican ladies sat next to me and were concerned about missing their flight to Mexico City. The same cabin crew member who fussed over the captain waved her hands at the Mexicans and said it was not her job to know about connecting flights. During this flight a small drink was served and a snack consisting of a micro packet of biscuits. When I arrived at Heathrow I found that my case had been broken. I had to find a place to report this and was assisted by a young man who was clearly not coping well. Apparently quite a few bags on the flight did not even arrive in London. I shall hesitate to use Alitalia for international flights but should I need a domestic flight, I shall consider them! The poor communication was a great concern and the indifferent staff on the Rome to London flight were a cause for concern.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBari to London via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cairo to New York via Rome. I would not recommend this airline, they are apart of the sky team alliance and I purchase my ticket through delta but feel as though I’ve been ripped off. The employees of this airline is rude both on the plane and at the gate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairo to New York via Rome
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no