Airlink

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"quality of meals was pretty good"

(Zimbabwe)

Trip Verified | We took off on time and arrived about 15 minutes early. Ground staff and cabin staff were very friendly and helpful. The advertised aircraft was an Embraer E190 but they change to an E170 allowed a look at the model which I had not flown in before. The cabin had to be sprayed before take-off at Harare while we were seated and the smell was a bit overwhelming. That aside, the punctuality and quality of meals was pretty good. The selection of beverages was very good for economy class.
AircraftEmbraer E170
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHarare to Johannesburg
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"be avoiding at all costs in future"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bags delayed twice with no compensation or report. Our bags were delayed by 26 hours on our outward journey, meaning that we had no clothes / toiletries for our first day and night. We had to purchase emergency clothes and toiletries as a result. Our bags were again delayed on our return journey by 36 hours - although as this was the home journey we incurred no additional costs. Airlink refuses to reimburse costs over ZAR 350 per day. I had purchased insurance to cover any additional costs, but I need a Property Irregularity Report for my insurer. Airlink is not responding to my emails, and is not issuing a PIR despite many emails chasing. Useless airline and I will be avoiding at all costs in future. The flights weren't even that cheap.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Walvis Bay
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"wouldn't fly this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | There was a single person manning the counters at check-in. My bags were overweight so was directed to another counter to pay for the excess which is no issue. But that took 20 mins as they kept allowing other customers in front of the line. In flight food was a joke. Now have been waiting at the baggage conveyor for over 30 mins and no bags have come out. I expect this is due to the fact we arrived earlier than scheduled and were redirected to a parking bay other than the one designated for us and therefore assume this has caused some confusion and delay with the luggage being off loaded and reclaimed. I wouldn't fly this airline again to be honest.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"definitely recommend Airlink"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Short flight but excellent service and excellent airline. Staff are really helpful and go the extra mile to help disabled passengers. I will definitely recommend Airlink.
AircraftE135
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Polokwane
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"have forfeited my flight"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I booked a ticket from Cape Town to Kimberley and made sure the ticket can be changed. At 14:36 I called the head office as I was struggling to check in online and my flight was for 15:25. I was informed that the online check in have closed, but I should at least be by the airport at 15:00. I informed the lady that I might be there around 14:58. I was assured that if I at least be there by 15:00 I would still be allowed to check in. I arrived at the counter at 14:59 and the lady tried checking me in and called and called another person to hear how she should go about. at 15:10 I was informed to go to ticket sales where I can change this flight to the next flight. Upon arrival at the ticket sales, I was informed that I have missed check in with 4 minutes and therefore have forfeited my flight and need to purchase a new ticket. If the lady on the line from airlink head office would have told me that I need to be the check in by 14:55 I would have requested to move this flight to the next. However, I was informed that 15:00 would still be all good. I have the entire conversation on recording and demand a full refund or a free flight to Kimberley for this miss information. I can you forfeit an entire flight for being 4 min late and yet nobody has boarded yet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Kimberley
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Can't trust their transfer service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Domestic transfer lost luggage during my flight via Johannesburg. Despite the bag clearly tagged and marked for transfer to Cape Town, it was the only bag left behind. Once they did manage to trace it, Johannesburg baggage office had no knowledge of it having been there and Cape Town didn't answer phone lines. Several calls later they finally said its now in Cape Town and asked me what happened. Once they delivered the bag to my home the zip was open while the bag was still locked. No reasons provided by the airline on why it was lost or zip was open. Can't trust their transfer service, yet I have to travel with them for work.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePolokwane to Cape Town via Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff was so unnecessarily rude"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | From the baggage check in, the boarding gates and the flight itself, the staff was so unnecessarily rude. My family and I were last at the gate with 15 minutes to spare before boarding would close, and yet we were met with rude looks and very obvious irritation. I tried to greet the lady and she intentionally ignored me. On the flight two of the flight attendants gave us nothing but attitude and made us feel like we were making their lives difficult when we didn’t ask for anything. The staff desperately need to be trained in customer politeness, otherwise they should not choose such a client-facing career. Everyone is stressed at the airport, a little kindness can go a long way. They acted like bratty teenagers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"flying can be an enjoyable experience"

(Namibia)

Trip Verified | Airlink is a high quality airline. I am content with their service and cannot find any fault in them. Used them on a round trip from Namibia to South Africa. The first scene which stood out to me was viewing the plane in real life with the sunbird logo. The food packaging is divine. They had a real life high quality glossy sunbird image on them. First flight I received the “Scarlet-chested Sunbird”. Second time was the “Double-Collared Sunbird.” The birds are admirable in their colourful feathers and exotic designs. For the menu they began by serving a drink, followed by a sub-lunch with the option of coffee or tea. A few minutes later, air hostesses came around offering a drink one last time before the plane’s descent. I am glad they added coffee or tea to the sub-lunch as the lunch alone is not very filling. My first sub-lunch consisted of: rolled smoked turkey slices, creamy honey mustard pasta shells, butternut and feta salad. For dessert, which was my favourite delicacy of the sub-lunch, was the custard and jelly topped with white and brown chocolate shavings. Not sure whether that’s what it actually is, however that is how I would describe it. Final part of dessert is a gourmet fudge which was over sweetened in my opinion. I have a sweet tooth, however this treat was too sweet. My second sub-lunch, I forgot to capture the menu of the second sub-lunch, however I did snap a picture of the food so here’s me writing the meal in my own words: rice, baloney style beef and corn salad. Dessert was the same as the first meal. Food tasted delicious. I appreciate the sub-lunch not being too heavy. Plus the flight is short-lived, therefore a heavy meal is not necessary. To add, they have Schweppes lemonade on board. The refresher towel which came along the sub-lunch was useful in sanitising my hands and dining tray. The Embraer-190 is small but durable. Return trip I booked a window seat with grand views. It was fascinating viewing the outline of South Africa colliding with the massive blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean, with all the shaping exactly how it’s portrayed in the maps. When flying over Windhoek I gazed through my window and was blown away by the 42 000 feet view of Windhoek’s terrains. Below me was a collection of mountains and shrubs. Airlink is gentle with luggage and cabin crew is polite and hospitable. A free copy of Airlink’s in-flight magazine in the front pocket. There is no in flight entertainment, which is understandable since the flight was short lived. It is worth mentioning if you intend to tag a suitcase along as hand luggage, they will collect it pre-flight and you shall receive it on arrival since the overhead cabins cannot accommodate larger suitcases. Airlink reminded me flying can be an enjoyable experience.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Windhoek
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Nice crew, pleasant flight"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Very professional and friendly, helpful check-in staff. Flight left Cape Town on time, was amazed that a free dinner (no, NOT a stale sandwich!) and a drink were served (flying time 1:33 hours). Nice crew, pleasant flight, luggage arrived fast in Jo'burg.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a decent regional airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airlink are a decent regional airline and the staff are pleasant and competent. If you’re travelling in business class on the E190 I’d go for row 2 You get extra leg room or storage space under the seat in front. You can recline the seat without encroaching on the person behind you. The seat has 2 windows albeit slightly misaligned compared to row 1 which only has 1 window. Reasonable snack and a drink. Check in was quick in Windhoek. Downsides no lounge at Windhoek. Buses in departure and arrival with no special transport for C class. Appalling baggage retrieval time at OR Tambo but I don’t know if that’s the airline or the airport.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWindhoek to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews