Airlink

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

“pick Airlink at your own risk”

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | If you have another option of airline like Cemair or Fastjet pick those ones instead. Airlink left me at the terminal after I was scheduled to fly to Blantyre in May. Their boarding gates closed early and despite all my attempts to make it through immigration, they left me on the tarmac. The plane was scheduled to leave at 11:20, boarding gates were closed by 10:55am and the last bus gone. They only called me at 12:30pm to say very rudely come and get your luggage, knowing that I was left behind. If they could have called me to come and get my luggage, why did they not call me cause I was at the airport, checked in online at 8am, checked in a bag, and they still left me. It is because they don’t care, and now I will never get my R5000 back, lost ticket, lost time, lost gifts. When I emailed them to complain, they said they will get back to me after 2 months time. So pick Airlink at your own risk, I will never ever fly with them again, even if they go to the outer parts of Africa, I will rather take a bus or donkey and wagon.
AircraftAZ450
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Malawi
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Nice flight, on time"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Nice flight, on time. Smooth check in. Nice cafe after formalities at Windhoek. Only minor complaint is that email ticket confirmation says you must print out that document which is 2 or 3 pages, so I did for 3 people. These 9 pages were NOT required at Windhoek check in.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindhoek to Cape Town
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cannot recommend this airline"

(Germany)

Not Verified |   It's unbelievable, I booked a flight at 12:35 from East London to Johannesburg as my onward flight is at 19:15. Now I realize that they simply set my flight to depart at 6:15 p.m. A call to the hotline revealed that I should pay R1207 to rebook. I did not make this booking. Airlink claims there are no problems with the website, it's just strange that I'm not the only one who has the same problems. I cannot recommend this airline. It's better to book through Safair than through Airlink, this airline is a rip-off.Es ist unglaublich, ich habe einen Flug gebucht um 12:35 von East London nach Johannesburg da mein Weiterflug um 19:15 geht. Jetzt stelle ich fest das sie meinen Flug einfach auf 18:15 Abflug gesetzt haben. Ein Anruf auf der Hotline hat ergeben das ich R1207 zahlen soll für eine umbuchung. Ich habe diese Buchung zu nicht getätigt! Airkink behauptet es gibt keine Problememit der Websit, nur komisch das ich nicht der einzige bin der die selben Probleme hat. Ich kann diese Airline nicht empfehle. Bucht lieber über safair als über Airlink, diese Airline ist abzocke.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to East London
Date FlownDecember 2023
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

“cabin crew was attentive and welcoming”

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | I recently had the opportunity to fly with Airlink South Africa for a short domestic flight. Although the itinerary was relatively brief, I was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. The booking process was straightforward and user-friendly, without any unnecessary complications or hidden fees. I appreciated the option to check in online and generate a boarding pass, saving time and effort at the airport. The staff at the check-in counter was friendly and efficient, guiding me through the process with a smile. I was delighted to board an Embraer 190 jet, a spacious and comfortable aircraft known for its exceptional legroom and modern amenities. The cabin felt roomy and airy, providing ample space to stretch out and enjoy the journey. The cabin crew was attentive and welcoming, ensuring that passengers were comfortable and well-served. Before takeoff, they offered a selection of boxed juices and small snacks, a nice touch for such a short flight. The crew's friendly demeanor and genuine care for passenger satisfaction were commendable. Although Airlink's fares may be slightly higher than some budget airlines, the overall experience justifies the additional cost. The airline offers a combination of comfort, efficiency, and friendly service that makes it a worthwhile choice for travelers seeking a pleasant air travel experience. My recent Airlink flight left me with a positive impression. The airline's commitment to efficiency, comfort, and customer service is evident in every aspect of the journey. While it may not be the cheapest option, Airlink South Africa delivers a value proposition worth considering for those seeking a reliable and enjoyable flying experience.
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to George
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"lost a customer forever"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | This was a connecting flight completing an overseas trip I had made to the USA; therefore, check in was performed at the desks at the international arrivals hall immediately after customs. I knew my check in luggage was slightly overweight (23 kg), but had already had been told by my travel agent that the flight was not looking like it was full. However, the check in lady informed me I was overweight, and I would have either reduce the contents of the suitcase or pay. After some 30 hours in the air, I was not about to do the former. She was completely implacable, and adopted a sarcastic attitude when I queried the severity of her decision - at that moment, I became angry, and left precipitously. The payment was only about R120, but was an irritation to get processed - the lady receiving payment was just as rude as the check-in clerk. In any event, the plane was less than half full, to the extent that the captain had to request people to move from the front to the back to obtain the correct balance. So, for the additional princely sum of R120, Airlink have lost a customer forever - there are competition airlines on this route.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Port Elizabeth
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shame on you Airlink"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Our flight was rerouted to JNB due to bad weather in Bloemfontein. We arrived at or JNB at about 19h00. They had no idea how to handle the situation and didn't provide any information unless we insisted on it. Eventually we were taken to a hotel at 01h45 in the morning and had to be back at the airport by 04h30. Our flight was delayed again by 30min due to refueling even though we had to stay on the plane the night before because they were apparently refueling. I'm a frequent flyer on airlink and could never complain about their service, but this situation was totally unacceptable. Especially the disregard of children and the elderly. Shame on you Airlink
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Bloemfontein
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Cabin crew were friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Plane was clean and tidy but starting to look its age, the flight took off on time and was uneventful. On board catering was provided with a sandwich and a drink. Cabin crew were friendly and helpful. Once landed, deboarding was quick however the baggage took an age to come through.
AircraftE-190
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohennesburg to Port Elizabeth
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"currently sitting in complete discomfort"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Absolutely pathetic service in flight. They do not check the sizes of what people carry. Booked an entire row of 3 seats, yet my overhead luggage compartment did not even have space for a R2 coin. No willingness to help from the hostess in fact, I was told if I continue to complain I will be removed from the flight. This air hostess creating an unnecessary issue was crew on flight leaving to DBN on 2nd November at 17:30 and needs to undergo training. Threatening to get taken out a flight just because you have the right to have your denominated luggage space. I am currently sitting in complete discomfort while another crew member apologizes on her behalf.
AircraftBoeing 737-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"completely unprofessional"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Our flight was delayed due to a technical issue in Harare by about 7 hours so i missed my connecting Qantas flight. We were told by airlink staff in Harare that accommodation for the night and rebooking of flights was all sorted out. When we arrived airlink in Johannesburg were nothing short of rude and dismissive. After verbal shouting matches that almost got physical with staff that just told us to come back tomorrow and no accommodation we were left completely high and dry. Airlink SA i have never felt the need to write a review, not for anything ever, but your counter staff on the night of 10th October are not the people you want representing your company. If they are any reflection of the company itself you guys are in big trouble. I found a bed after the 5th hotel i tried at 2am in the morning, out of my own pocket. And was told i would have to buy another ticket to complete my journey and that they would not be able to help it that either. Fortunately just a single phone call to Qantas i was able to sort that side out. Airlink SA please contact me regarding this issue. Your service was nothing short of completely unprofessional.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHarare to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"everything wrong from start to finish"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Airlink is the only Airline that was late, lost my bag and had unfriendly staff, all in one flight. As for the lost bag they took 2 months to process my claim and come up with a 1 page document saying they cant be blamed for a missing bag. Guess it's unreasonable of me to expect my bag to arrive at my destination. Airlink has got it right in the past but to get everything wrong from start to finish in one flight is just scary.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLusaka to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews