Air Vanuatu

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 53 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terrible service. Cancelled or moved all of my flights between Brisbane and three different islands. Left our luggage on another island for 5 days of our holiday. Poor communication leaving us in a hot "airport" with no access to water or food (just packets of chips which we bought and were stale due to the mouse holes in them!!!) for over 7 hours, constantly telling us it would be "10 more minutes". Be honest so people can leave and sort something else out. I got Very sick after this and at 7 months pregnant this is less than ideal - left very out of pocket due to missing luggage and flight changes which resulted in us loosing pre paid accommodation and car hire. No compensation given - returning home we have tried to claim on our travel insurance but air Vanuatu will not respond to any emails, have promised on the phone to send the info we need the same day but consistently failed to do so and now the number goes through to a recorded voice message with no ability to speak to someone
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Port Vila
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unwilling to trace the bags"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Lost our bags after they were confirmed to be on the plane. Staff have no idea what they are doing, completely unaware of their own policies and will not compensate for anything in accordance with their policies. They will state this policy is outdated and no longer applies. Initially we were told it takes 48 hours to have delayed baggage sorted and to have arrived in country. We'll on 7 night trip the bags have not arrived and nor will they. They are unable and unwilling to trace the bags and plead incompetence when you ask them to do their job. If you call them instead of needing to waste money to go and see them in person, good luck, break out the check book because you're going to need it. Answering the phone seems to be a foreign concept to these guys. And if you email you won't get a response either. Not to mention the actual flight on the way over. 3 hour delay sitting on the runway. Only to be sat in a plane without air-conditioning and no refreshments offered.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Port Vila
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"overbooking and poor communication"

(Australia)

Not Verified | As we were leaving for the airport for our flight to Port Vila, we received a phone call advising that our flight wouldn’t be going ahead and had been rescheduled to the following morning. Despite multiple requests for confirmation and a new itinerary via email, nothing was sent. However, our Qantas app was updated with the new itinerary, as we booked through them, so we felt confident it was correct. So we arrive at the airport the next morning, queue for 2.5 hours to check in only to be told that we are not on the flight! We are, in fact, on the evening flight in 12 hours time. Despite the assurances of the Air Vanuatu customer service team and a confirmed itinerary from Qantas, we had still been given the wrong information. But there were no apologies or accountability taken, just blank stares and “computer says no” attitudes. As such, we now have make a travel insurance claim for the 2 nights accommodation we paid for but could not enjoy because Air Vanuatu are a cowboy operation with dreadful customer service. Most people we chatted to in the queue had similar experiences and had been delayed for over a week, due to overbooking and poor communication. Avoid at all costs.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Port Vila
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"communication was horrendous"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We were meant to fly Air Vanuatu at 11:55am 16 December 2022. The day started off with several delays, with finally a cancellation at approximately 4:00pm. Air Vanuatu and Qantas (who we booked with through codeshare) did not contact us to notify us that it had been cancelled. The first we heard about the reason for delays was from our accommodation in Vanuatu, who had been communicating with us. We spent hours at the airport and were told so many different reasons for why the flight was cancelled, as well as all different scenarios regarding what was happening I.e. we may fly out that night; we were definitely not getting on any flight etc. They finally told us we had a hotel to stay at (which they did cover). We arrived the next day (Saturday 17 December) to hear they still had no idea regarding the plane, whilst we were hearing from our resort that the plane was likely grounded until Monday or Tuesday (2-3 days time). In the end, we were told by Qantas that we should rebook and had to cancel our trip entirely. I would not recommend traveling with this company, and have since reviewed their Facebook comments which suggest this happens in monthly basis. The communication was horrendous, and their one staff member was overworked and not informed about the situation. Do not waste your money. If you want to go to Vanuatu, go through Air Fiji or wait until Virgin Australia flies again. Pretty devastating as I imagine Covid has already impacted the country enough.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Vila
Date FlownDecember 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"flight was persistently delayed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The flight was persistently delayed by an hour in all sectors. Sydney-VLI was 737, with good leg space, clean aircraft but run-down, No full meal service, just tuna wrap and coffee and on return sector musli bar and coffee. For the domestic sector ie VLI-Luganville and return no service as being a short flight. The airline still needs to upgrade their professionalism as a team have no idea what they are doing, conflicting messages and information, even though I have got my boarding pass in my hand and when boarding I got an email from them that my flight has been cancelled and I need to board flight later in the evening around midnight. Prefer to stop using online methodology and get to airport and see what is available and insist to board the earlier flight even though you have flight amendment notifications. Passengers were moved to the next delayed flight even though the earlier flights still has empty seats. Don't know why they do this.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / Avro 72
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuganville to Sydney via Port Vila
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rude and repeatedly cut off my calls"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Fiji to Vanuatu. The worst company in the world. They are over-selling tickets. They stole my money and ruined my holiday. They left me stranded in Fiji and were not responsible for anything. I missed 4 flights and paid accommodation because of a change they made and do not acknowledge. I called more than 10 times. Their employees are disrespectful and rude and repeatedly cut off my calls. Don't use this company!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFiji to Vanuatu
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flight did not exist"

(United States)

Not Verified | Noumea to Nadi. Arrived at Noumea airport at 6:45am for our 8:45am flight to Fiji, and we were informed the flight we purchased from Air Vanuatu did not exist. We had all the booking information and everything was correct on our side. This forced us to spend $1200 per person on a last minute flight boarding in 15 minutes in order to get to Fiji and make it on time for our flight back to the US. When we tried checking into the flight the night before, it said we needed to in person due to the coronavirus so there was not a bit of suspicion with anything being wrong. The airline has not responded to any of our emails or phone calls.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNoumea to Nadi
Date FlownMarch 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I recommend Air Vanuatu"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Port Vila to Melbourne. They are in the process of modernising their fleet. Mid 2020, they will be taking delivery of the new A320 aircraft, with longer range new engines and improved efficiency. Air Vanuatu has just launched direct services to Melbourne. It is relieving that no international connection was needed, requiring hopping off the domestic flight then transferring onto the international one, which can be inconvenient. My departure gate was Gate 2, a nice simple process as Bauerfield Airport is small in comparison to major airports. Immigration process was quite swift. I like the small size of the airport, as it is partially open air and you embark the aircraft via the forward and rear stairs. My seat 11A which is a window seat. There are no individual flight entertainment screens, only overhead projector screens, however this was no problem for me, as I had downloaded movies prior to the flight. Dinner was delicious. Extra cudos for having wooden utensils instead of plastic. I chose the peri peri chicken with yellow rice and a a Mrs Higgins raspberry and white choc cookie as a complementary sweet. I then followed up with a couple of white wines which went down nicely. The flight was very smooth with phenomenal views over the South Pacific. I loved the cabin mood lighting and the cabin crew uniform which is a lovely light blue. Overall, I had a fantastic flight with no criticisms. I recommend Air Vanuatu and look forward to flying with them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort Vila to Melbourne
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"lack of service from attendants"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Port Vila. The flight takes more than 4.5 hours. The drinks trolley came through once for lukewarm water, had to request more when it wasn’t offered again. With how hot the plane was and how dehydrated we were becoming from the air conditioning, water should have been cold and offered more frequently. Bottles of water would have been better than small cups that were only half full. The plane was at the most half full, and yet passengers were seated were all put at the front of the cabin next to one another. This seemed to be a common complaint among other passengers as families were split up to make this arrangement happen. At first, I assumed this plane was old and didn’t have reclining adjustment seats. It was only after 3 hours into the flight that I needed to take a walk because my legs were cramping, that I noticed that most other seats had this feature that I wasn’t provided in the seats that I was given. As previously mentioned these seats were mostly empty (complete rows empty). I assumed that because we were in front of the exit that our seat didn’t have the reclining feature but common sense should have prevailed and these seats should be left empty when other seats are available. The practice of turning off the entertainment half an hour before touchdown seemed extreme, when other airlines keep the systems going until terminal. In summary the lack of service from your attendants and check in staff, has put a blight on our journey which will make us reconsider ever going to Vanuatu again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Port Vila
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"useless services"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Port Vila to Melbourne. What a complete joke. Tried to book extra luggage online, but it wouldn’t let me. So I ring them and they said they can’t do it over the phone and I have to go into the office. So I go into the Port-Vila office and the lady said they can’t do it from there and can’t even give me a price or information because she has no information (yes that’s right no information available in their office) and tells me I have to ring the main office. So I go home and ring the main office, to be put through and hung up or disconnected or dialled an extension to be told no one is available and to leave a message, then told message box was full. I rang this airline 8 times! Finally, get through to be told you can’t book extra luggage beforehand and have to pay 1,200vt per kilo ($15 Australian dollars per kilo) at check-in for extra luggage. Every other airline in the whole wide world you can book extra luggage in advance to get it cheaper. Took me all day to get this useless information! Just warning anyone who ever wants to use Air Vanuatu’s useless services not too. Better off going with Virgin or a better airline (any other airline) which I will be doing next time! Never Again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort Vila to Melbourne
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 53 Reviews