Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 763 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not recommend this airline"

(Canada)

Not Verified |   The plane was delayed for almost 2 hours so we were on plane approx 6 hours. Only passed with drinks once and was told no sandwiches on this flight only pringles, gummy bears etc.S eats very uncomfortable. Would not recommend this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJamaica to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"demanded the blind be closed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We booked a daytime flight and asked for a window seat because my fiance needs to be able to look out of the window as she's a very nervous flier. The extremely aggressive air hostess demanded the blind be closed as soon as we took off for the duration of the 8 hour daytime flight. She then called my fiance a 'minority' and suggested that meant she had no rights to have her blind open. We are horrified by this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“we have yet to hear anything back”

(Canada)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst agency I've ever come across. They gouged us for prices, lied about what to expect at the resort, then when we tried to complain, there was no one to talk to. They have no phone line for customer service complaints for past trips, only a link to a form to fill out. It has been 4 months, with many follow ups, and we have yet to hear anything back. I tried contacting them through their FB messenger chat and was given no answer except "they will contact you via email as soon as possible". Never using this horrible airline again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cuba
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



12th January 2024 : Air Transat response

Hi there, I am sorry to read that the resort wasn't up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for the delays in response, the customer relations team is working very hard to answer all the requests they receive. I assure you that you will receive a response by email. Thank you. /Alexe

1/10

"don't care about their customers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight from Toronto to Cayo Coco with this company and when the payment went thru the departure and arrival of the flight was scheduled in Montreal which is about 10 hours drive from where i am. I called them to change it and they left me wait on the phone for hours giving me excuses and at the end after all the time i waited they told me that I'd have to pay off my own pocket for a trip to Montreal. This company don't care about their customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cayo Coco
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Value For Money 12345
no



12th January 2024 : Air Transat response

Hello there, I'm sorry to read that the incorrect airport was booked. Please send us a private message via the chat on our website and an agent will be happy to assist you. Here's the link to chat with us : https://www.airtransat.com/en-CA/travel-information/customer-service/contact-us Thank you. /Alexe

8/10

“flight crew were friendly and efficient”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very pleased with the my direct flight from Glasgow to Toronto in November 2023. I had to make a round trip at very short notice and I found Air Transat, although the online reviews were a bit “scary”. The online booking went smoothly and the mid-week, outward and return flights left on time and arrived on time. Good work guys. The check in teams at Glasgow and Toronto were friendly and helpful. The flight crew were friendly and efficient, probably helped by the fact that the flights were around half full. My checked baggage was retrieved quite quickly on both occasions. The seating and catering was reasonable for economy class and in my experience better than expected from many of the harsh reviews. Perhaps I had beginners luck! I will be using them again. Keep up the good work.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



2nd December 2023 : Air Transat response

Hi Rob. I am glad to read that you had a great experience flying with us. Hopefully, we'll see you again soon. Thank you! /Alexe.

10/10

"love Air Transat service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I always fly Air Transat, been to Spain two times, Portugal, Rome, been going to Cuba for 20 years. Been with a few other airlines. I love Air Transat service I always fly club class the price is reasonable and worth the price. I Am trying Costa Rica for the first time this year.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto to Varadero
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



23rd November 2023 : Air Transat response

Hi Robert, this is so nice to hear. Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction. We wish you a really nice trip to Costa Rica. Leo

3/10

"the most uncomfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We paid for extra legroom seats for all three travellers and had booked two tickets first then an extra seat later, I had called to ensure we were all seated together in the extra legroom seats we paid for. When we got on the flight home we had been separate from my grandmother despite having had the seats agreed and nobody telling us we had been changed, we also were not changed for a like for like seat (still extra legroom but from window to aisle). We eventually are able to get them to move us back together. These are by far the most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat in. It was more uncomfortable than their standard seats and is totally unacceptable that people pay money for those seats when they are so uncomfortable. I was incredibly disappointed with my service with air Transat and do not plan to use them again which is a shame because they used to be an excellent alternate to flying from Heathrow or using Air Canada.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



23rd November 2023 : Air Transat response

I completely understand your frustration and I am sorry your trip with us was so disappointing. Sometimes operational change can change your seats at the last minute and we always try to assign you some equivalent seats depending on the availability and the aircraft configuration. You can always make a claim directly on our website by completing this online form: https://www.airtransat.com/en-CA/forms/Post-travel-questions-comments-or-claims-excludi However if you were not comfortable in the seats with more leg room, I invite you to try our Club class cabin with spacious and comfortable seats. Leo

1/10

"short of my expectations"

(Canada)

"I would like to express my deep dissatisfaction with the way Transat has handled my claim. To date, two months have passed since my trip, and I have not received any updates or resolutions to my issue. The customer service I have experienced so far falls far short of my expectations. My goal is to draw attention to the issues we have encountered while hoping to encourage a significant improvement in their abysmal service. I also want to emphasize that their customer service is non-existent by phone, and reaching them is impossible. I wish good luck to anyone who may face issues with Transat. | Je souhaite partager ma profonde insatisfaction quant au suivi de ma réclamation avec Transat. À ce jour, deux mois se sont écoulés depuis mon voyage, et je n'ai reçu aucune nouvelle ni résolution de mon problème. Le service à la clientèle que j'ai expérimenté jusqu'à présent est loin de répondre à mes attentes. Mon objectif est d'attirer l'attention sur les problèmes que nous avons rencontrés, tout en espérant encourager une amélioration significative de leur service pourri. Je tiens aussi à souligner que le service à la clientèle est inexistant par téléphone, et il est impossible de les joindre. Je souhaite bonne chance à toutes celles et ceux qui pourraient rencontrer des problèmes avec Transat.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



23rd November 2023 : Air Transat response

Hi, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your opinion is important and we want to improve the satisfaction of our customers and their whole experience. I sincerely apologize for the delays in response, the customer relations team is working very hard to follow up on all the requests they receive. I assure you that you will not be forgotten if you complete the online form. Leo

1/10

"The airline is dysfunctional"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airline is dysfunctional, from check in to on board and deplaning. Their lack of knowledge is baffling and their customer service and experience is so poor 0 stars would not do it justice. Our reservation was not honored (purchased extra leg room for ease of maneuvering and comfort while traveling with our infant) that only 1 of the 3 passengers who purchased these accommodations were given. In flight crew was not only rude, we felt discriminated against due to traveling with an infant. When deplaning in Montreal we were told by 6 different inflight and ground crew members that our stroller would be moving along with us to Toronto and would not be at the gate but would be with the oversized luggage if not at the gate when landing at our final destination in Toronto. Needless to say this was not the case, and over 2 months since returning from our trip we still do not have any information on this stroller. When contacting the airline for hours and days they were no help and continued to give us a run around with no solutions offered. I took the step of sending a message to the CEO via LinkedIn in the hopes of making progress. This too proved to be underwhelming as they passed me off to another representative (which I understand and expected) who still has provided no solutions and empty promises. We were assured that we would be refunded for the additional cost of thee extra leg room seats that were not honored, but 3 weeks later still nothing from the airline, and multiple correspondence have been ignored. We took the step to purchase a new stroller ($430 USD) to replace the same one we originally traveled with with the promise of reimbursement which has been an even bigger struggle to recoup. Again my family has flown this airline for the last 20 years with no issue for their annual trip to Greece to visit family and friends. This will no longer be an airline we support and I will go out of my way to discourage anyone I come in contact with from choosing them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Toronto via Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



22nd November 2023 : Air Transat response

Hello Chris, Thank you for the time you have taken to leave your comments about your flight. I am truly sorry about the experience you've had. I can assure you this is not the standard we aim for as we wish comfort, security, and ease for each of our passengers, even the ones traveling as a family. If you have indeed filed a claim and complaint to our customer relations team, please know that they can take up to 90 business days to process it. I promise everyone from the department is doing the best they can to acknowledge these as quickly and as efficiently as possible. If you wish for a follow-up and or have any other questions, do not hesitate to contact us through chat on Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter and we'll do our best to assist you. Jessica

2/10

"could not print me a boarding pass

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | If you book a codeshare flight, there is no way to checkin or manage your flight online. No allergen free meal was offered as part of booking. Seats are narrow. My connection was with their codeshare partner, Porter. When I checked in at the airport, Porter could not print me a boarding pass. I arrived in Toronto and no Air Transat employee could print me a boarding pass airside. This meant I could not access the lounge of which I am a member. When an Air Transat staff member finally arrived at my gate, she could not assign me a seat and printed me a standby ticket. I would be happy to purchase an aisle seat on a discount airline, but since there is no way to manage your flight online this wasn't even an option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Glasgow via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



22nd November 2023 : Air Transat response

Hello Megan, Thank you for your comment - we appreciate you taking the time to talk about your situation. I'm sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Codeshare flights are particular reservations and require more preparation than the usual direct flight operated with one company and do require a direct check-in at the airport, that is correct. For more information and answers to the questions you might have had, I invite you to check out this page on our website: https://www.airtransat.com/en-CA/book/codeshare-flights. And of course, if you wish to address this issue with us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us through our chat platforms on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Jessica