Air Transat

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 717 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Customer service is a joke"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Customer service is a joke with these guys. Only two ways you can contact by phone and by Facebook chat and none of them working properly. I was on phone with automated service and music on hold for more than 2 hours. On chat more than 2 hours and none of the agent shows up. So, their false information about availability 24/7 is a just joke.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Mexico
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"it was a comfortable flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I have flown with this airline several times from Canada to destinations south and in Europe. I have never had any issues flying with them. As they are often the cheaper option when it comes to travel, I can get to where I want to go with ease and know i am getting great service for the price i pay. I never had an issue with their customer service as I typically am a well-prepared traveler, and know what to expect. But when I'm in the airport the staff was helpful in using the self-luggage check-in. They were quick and helped me through the process and i was quickly through Security. Boarding is always ease, and they are there to help you find your seat quickly. While like some airlines they do not provide a blanket and pillow, i did pay for Options plus, which gave me a comfort kit. I do recommend price matching with the Options plus and eco standard as sometimes it could be cheaper. As well, I suggest bringing a blanket on board for comfort and warmth. The food is typical airplane food, nothing special about it. Overall it was a comfortable flight and quick to arrive at my destination.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Glasgow
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Never again Air Transat"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I rarely post reviews about anything but this one tops one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had. Within 5 minutes of boarding the flight, the passenger in front of me attempts to recline her seat so far back she bangs it against my knees. She continues doing so over and over again and of course cannot recline because my knees are in the way ( no fault of my own) She proceeds to call the stewardess and tell her that her seat isn’t reclining. The stewardess addresses me and starts explaining that it is the passengers right to recline her chair. I explain that while I understand that it is her right, I cannot do anything about my legs being there, I simply cannot move my legs!! The stewardess and the passenger both gang up on me and the stewardess continues with the same speech that the passenger has every right to recline. At this point I am frustrating and keep explain the same thing! I have no space!!! The stewardess then engages a random passenger in the same row who is completely unrelated to this situation and says “Do you not agree that it is her right to recline her seat?!?” At this point I don’t engage them anymore because I know they can simply kick me off the flight if the feel like it. The passenger then changes seats and for the remainder of the flight the stewardess does not give me and my friend any service what so ever for 6.5 hours. Barry looking at us or offering to take our trash or anything if that sort. Never again Air Transat,
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Paris
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Worst flight experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst flight experience. If this is your only option, just don’t do it. Aircraft was packed. I wasn’t allowed to keep my hand luggage with me even after explaining that I’d a short connection after. Got no attention from ground staff. All rude on their phones disregarding client’s urgencies. Missed my connection flight due to long waiting time at the belt for my checked in hand luggage. They didn’t arranged another flight nor overnight staying after spending an hour and half on the phone with customer service that sounded like was going to solve my problem but let me on hold for an hour. I do not recommend not even to my worst enemy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Employees are nice but are not empowered"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Zero customer service; phone hold times over 2 hours, their assistance bot couldn't be any more useless, absolutely no help at any counters. Pay extra for Flex, can't even use it because there's no one to help and no one answers any phones. Employees are nice but are not empowered to really help you beyond a kind word; Honestly, the company puts them in the line of fire to distance themselves instead of doing anything solve any issues. Wish I could score them lower all around, save your money fly with someone who actually cares.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Dominca
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"recommend avoiding this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was on a 3-month trip with most of my favorite clothes. Air Transat lost my checked bag. There has been no way to reach a human; phone numbers refer to the online system. I took each step recommended online. It has been 3 months, and I have received nothing but an auto-reply to my substantial claim of loss. I highly recommend avoiding this airline at all costs.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Nice
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"zero customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst customer service ever. I had to cancel my flight as my father passed away suddenly. I was refunded around £500 for tickets I paid £1195 for. I eventually found an email address which is largely hidden on their websites and email confirmations to get a hold of customer services. I have tried to get in touch with customer services as I have not had a reply back over the last 2 weeks. There is zero customer service from this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGlasgow to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"waste of money on the return flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I just returned from Glasgow yesterday on an Air Transat plane, quite old, maybe an A330. My seat was changed three times prior to going to the airport, and as usual I paid the extra for Option Plus on both legs of the journey. This was a waste of money on the return flight. In the boarding area there was just loads of people with no organisation whatsoever I did ask one of the attendants when are they calling option plus and she informed me that it would be called after the people who required medical assistance. Once again this did not happen as they boarded the people in group one, then started to board group two .. shortly after they call all groups to board. This was bad enough but once in the air it didn’t get any better. I had to ask for a blanket as I was extremely cold, this is when I finally told him that I was option plus. He was very surprised, then went back to get me the blanket package. There was no snacks after takeoff, surprisingly. Then came the meal which was given to everyone on the plane? I always take option plus for the convenience of my flight, but never have I had to tell anyone on board that I had it. I was very disappointed by this and of my luggage was tagged as priority and yet I was the last one to leave the carousel. I feel in this case that I should be given a refund of the money I paid for Option Plus.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteGlasgow to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"customer service is hit or miss"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We never heard Club Class being called, yet heard they will be calling by groups. They called 2-5, then shortly after added 6&7. We lined up and while in line my spouse went up to the counter and inquired about Club Class, and the Attendant said “we did, you missed it”. Nothing else, so she joined me back in line. I mentioned it to the Attendant while being greeted coming aboard and she simply, “well all those people did” (gesturing to the 8 of the 12 people seated in Club Class). So after paying for Club Class, what was our reward - arriving at our seats to find the overhead cabins were unavailable. Understandable, as they are used for staff/plane storage. Acceptable but no alternative immediately available until the gentleman seated next to us offered us space. For the extra value spent, it was a horrible beginning to a long-awaited trip to Spain. Hoping our return trip is much better! In todays challenging environment, it seems like customer service is hit or miss. BTW - our hostess was cheerful, friendly and hospitable - something that could be beneficial to the gate counter lead and plane boarding attendant.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Barcelona
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"vegetarian and I was given a chicken meal"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The seats are good since I paid extra to get it. However, my meal selection was vegetarian and I was given a chicken meal. Thank God I am always cautious and these situations make me more paranoid and not trust people and services. I was given chicken pasta instead of veg pasta. I called the rep and asked if this was veg or chicken. The guy laughed and said no it's chicken, it's a mistake. I am vegetarian because I have severe allergies to meat, fish and seafood products. He went and brought back a veg pasta and there was no apology nothing. Gave me butter but no bread but others got bread. The movies are same as other Air Transat and old ones. I paid extra to get this?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no