Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 105 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they do not care about servicing their passengers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We were a party of 5 in Papeete heading out for cruise when the Tahitian government shut down all cruises. I contacted Air Tahiti immediately to see if we could get a flight home. The shut down occurred on a Friday and we could not catch a flight home until the following Wednesday which resulted in 5 more hotel nights. Air Tahiti charged us $1,048.00 per ticket for the flight home in the same class of service. If we didn't pay the $1,048.00 per ticket, Air Tahiti wanted to charge us $90.00 per ticket to drop down a class. The Air Tahiti standard pricing between main cabin and business class in normally $3,000.00 per ticket, the class drop should have resulted in a refund. Do not fly this airline, they do not care about servicing their passengers and taking advantage of their customers.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteLos Angeles to Tahiti
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Truly disappointed with the service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Truly disappointed with the service. Avoid at all costs. Had a family emergency and desperately needed to get home. Tried to change my flights and willing to pay. The tool for managing the your bookings online is not available. Confirmed via phone. Phone support non existent. Called 15+ times and finally learned that the call center is not authorized to make booking changes or buy new flights. Drove to the airport office. Airport office is not authorized either to sell tickets or change bookings. Only accepted way is via email. Waited for three days already trying to change my flight. In the meantime, family member has passed away and Air Tahiti Nui was not helpful at all getting home. Will never fly this airline again. To top it off, my luggage was lost for 4 days when I arrived in Tahiti. When I received my luggage, it was damaged. Complete failure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Papeete
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"We haven't flown yet, I'm not looking forward to it!"

(United States)

Not Verified | My husband and I travel a lot internationally. I don't remember having as much trouble booking with an airline. Unfortunately, they are our only option, we booked thru American Airlines. Trying to get seat assignments was extremely painful. It took 2 days and 4 phone calls, totalling 3 hours. When I waited for an option for seats, it took over 20 min each time. When I questioned the agent, she wanted to give me the whole reason behind how "much work" this was for her. I said I 'm not really interested, let's just get on with booking the seats please. After waiting 40min, I lost my connection! How convenient! BTW, if you get seat assignments before check in, you must pay. We haven't flown yet, I'm not looking forward to it! If at all possible, I will not be using this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassing that they don't know the difference"

(Argentina)

Not Verified | When I checked in they asked me if I had a ticket out of the US and I said yes and showed my ticket to Mexico. They said that is not valid as Mexico is part of the US. I said that no Mexico is not part of the US, they even called the supervisor who said the same thing. They made me buy a ticket back to my country which I didn't want at that time because I didn't know my return date yet. I bought this flight with Qantas but when I arrived it was Air Tahiti. I had to buy the ticket in 20 minutes otherwise they wouldn't let me board. It is embarrassing that they don't know the difference between the two countries and argue with customers like this. If this is their policy at least it should be on their website.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTahiti to Los Angeles
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"we must respect distancing, it is just impossible"

(French Polynesia)

Trip Verified | Food: the food from a quality standpoint, from Tahiti to Paris, had nothing to do with being in Business Class. Seat comfort: having selected a six abreast configuration on an ultra long haul flight it is just a no sense choice. I was lucky enough to be seated on an aisle seat but for outboard PAX on LH & RH side, it is just a headache to get access to the aisle. This seat does not have enough personal belongings storage and feet area is just to narrow to have a great sleeping position. Lavatory: the airline decided to lock the forward lavatory exclusively to crew. It means 30 PC PAX + 30 PYC PAX are sharing only two Lav's near door 2. During these times when we must respect distancing, it is just impossible. This airlines needs to remember their revenue is coming from passengers.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePapeete to Paris via Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What kind of customer service is this?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My June 20th flight to Papeete was canceled by the airline due to COVID restrictions. When trying to get the $2300 or so back, I made at least 15 calls to my booking company and the airline. Booking company said Air Tahiti had to authorize any refund. Air Tahiti at first said they would only provide future credit (illegal for flights departing from the US) and then offered a refund minus a $250 service fee per person. I eventually filed a complaint with the DOT and was told by the airline they had received it. Later airline said they actually had not received it and couldn't process a refund until the DOT complaint was received. What kind of customer service is this? The agents are basically instructed to lie and give people the runaround. Eventually had the charge reversed by my credit card company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Papeete via Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Air Tahiti Nui"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked this flight via Cheapoair it was supposed to leave April 14, 2020. Then the Coronavirus hit. The flight never left for Papeete it was cancelled by the airline. I requested a refund through Cheapoair because Air Tahiti Nui said it was bought through Cheapoair. I dealt with Cheapoair who checked with air Tahiti Nui about refunding me my money. We paid almost $1500.00 for two tickets. I was offered a credit which has to be used by next year or I lose the credit of the two tickets to Papeete. I wanted my money back as I, like thousands, of others had nothing to do with the cancellation. It was a worldwide pandemic. I am told now that I can get my money back with a $500.00 penalty. The quoted amount to be returned is approximately $750.00 for a $1500.00 investment. Which is more than a $500.00 penalty. I have filed a complaint with the Dept of Transportation who frowns on this type of rip off. I will never fly Air Tahiti Nui or use Cheapoair for any reason. I am a senior citizen with a compromised immune system and am not sure when I will be able to travel due to the Coronavirus.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fly with an American airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was flying direct to Papeete, Tahiti for a cruise that was leaving 10/5/20. However, due to Covid-19 my cruise got canceled. I purchased my ticket in December 2019. When I contacted Tahiti Nui they offered no refunds but offered to extend my ticket for 2 months until 12/2/20. They offer a year beyond date from purchase. So buying early only hurt me. I can't fly this year for obvious reasons. However, they gave my friend and travel companion a year from this December and she can use it by 12/31/21. She made a big fuss and they gave it to her. She only spoke up about herself only and not me. When I contacted the airline about this to the Service Manager he said due to her circumstances being a single mother she was given this. Pure discrimination! I'm a retired senior on a fixed income but that doesn't matter. They refused to extend my ticket like hers. I wrote to the VP of the Company and never heard back. I lost 1500.00 and got rid of a person I thought was a friend. Please fly with an American airline if you can.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never book through Air Tahiti Nui"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I booked flights through Air Tahit Nui before COVID 19. A leg of our flights for July 2020 has been cancelled by the airline, and they offered to change our flights to still fly on the same day, even though there is a ban on international travel (which they acknowledge). We have been told that if we want to change our flight to any other day, we would have to pay $100 per person per fight. Save yourself the headache and never book through Air Tahiti Nui. They are dodgy. We thought they were a reputable company but they are not. How can they expect us to fly why there is a ban on travel. Absolute joke.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Tahiti
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Cabin staff did an OK job"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airplane was almost new and was in good condition. Departed and arrived on time. No problems with the checked bags. The seat back was a bit on the thin side (the new 'slim' seat design). Seat back video screen worked fine but the selection of movies, TV programs, etc. was rather limited but OK for a night flight. Food was good but not outstanding and it was served quickly after departure. Check-in at PPT started only about 3 hr. before departure. Cabin staff did an OK job but were not outstanding. As the plane departed at midnight most people wanted to go to sleep rather than anything else. Overall the flight was as good as or slightly better than flights offered by United Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes