Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 99 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly Air Tahiti Nui"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked this flight via Cheapoair it was supposed to leave April 14, 2020. Then the Coronavirus hit. The flight never left for Papeete it was cancelled by the airline. I requested a refund through Cheapoair because Air Tahiti Nui said it was bought through Cheapoair. I dealt with Cheapoair who checked with air Tahiti Nui about refunding me my money. We paid almost $1500.00 for two tickets. I was offered a credit which has to be used by next year or I lose the credit of the two tickets to Papeete. I wanted my money back as I, like thousands, of others had nothing to do with the cancellation. It was a worldwide pandemic. I am told now that I can get my money back with a $500.00 penalty. The quoted amount to be returned is approximately $750.00 for a $1500.00 investment. Which is more than a $500.00 penalty. I have filed a complaint with the Dept of Transportation who frowns on this type of rip off. I will never fly Air Tahiti Nui or use Cheapoair for any reason. I am a senior citizen with a compromised immune system and am not sure when I will be able to travel due to the Coronavirus.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fly with an American airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was flying direct to Papeete, Tahiti for a cruise that was leaving 10/5/20. However, due to Covid-19 my cruise got canceled. I purchased my ticket in December 2019. When I contacted Tahiti Nui they offered no refunds but offered to extend my ticket for 2 months until 12/2/20. They offer a year beyond date from purchase. So buying early only hurt me. I can't fly this year for obvious reasons. However, they gave my friend and travel companion a year from this December and she can use it by 12/31/21. She made a big fuss and they gave it to her. She only spoke up about herself only and not me. When I contacted the airline about this to the Service Manager he said due to her circumstances being a single mother she was given this. Pure discrimination! I'm a retired senior on a fixed income but that doesn't matter. They refused to extend my ticket like hers. I wrote to the VP of the Company and never heard back. I lost 1500.00 and got rid of a person I thought was a friend. Please fly with an American airline if you can.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never book through Air Tahiti Nui"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I booked flights through Air Tahit Nui before COVID 19. A leg of our flights for July 2020 has been cancelled by the airline, and they offered to change our flights to still fly on the same day, even though there is a ban on international travel (which they acknowledge). We have been told that if we want to change our flight to any other day, we would have to pay $100 per person per fight. Save yourself the headache and never book through Air Tahiti Nui. They are dodgy. We thought they were a reputable company but they are not. How can they expect us to fly why there is a ban on travel. Absolute joke.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Tahiti
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Cabin staff did an OK job"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airplane was almost new and was in good condition. Departed and arrived on time. No problems with the checked bags. The seat back was a bit on the thin side (the new 'slim' seat design). Seat back video screen worked fine but the selection of movies, TV programs, etc. was rather limited but OK for a night flight. Food was good but not outstanding and it was served quickly after departure. Check-in at PPT started only about 3 hr. before departure. Cabin staff did an OK job but were not outstanding. As the plane departed at midnight most people wanted to go to sleep rather than anything else. Overall the flight was as good as or slightly better than flights offered by United Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the worst airlines"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Papeete in December 2019. One of the worst airlines I have ever flown in my life. Not only are they incredibly rude, and very poorly managed, you should see the letter I got from their CEO - no CEO in their right mind would ever write something as stupid and rude as this - it is truly incredible Air Tahiti Nui does not deserve your business, fly Air France and/or United to and from French Polynesia instead.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"quick and efficient service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Papeete to Los Angeles. We left for Polynesia just before Covid-19 blocked North America. Our flight had more than 150 empty seats. The plane was very clean, very welcoming, very colourful and the service on board was impeccable! But the 5 stars is especially justified with our return flight. We had to return to Canada long before our planned return and having bought our tickets through an agency, it was up to them to make the changes. It goes without saying that the agency was completely overwhelmed and therefore unreachable and of no help! So we called ATN and spoke to 3 different people, all 3 were kind, patient and helpful than the others! In the end, we were able to dodge our agency and modify our tickets free of charge, for the same evening. In these times of crisis, even the staff at check-in and onboard were very welcoming and helpful. Congratulations to the entire ATN team and thank you for your quick and efficient service! | Nous sommes parti pour la Polynésie juste avant que Covid-19 ne bloque l'Amérique du nord. Notre vol avait plus de 150 places vide... l'avion était très propre, très accueillant, très coloré et le service à bord était impeccable ! Mais les 5 étoiles se justifie surtout avec notre vol de retour. Nous avons du revenir vers le Canada bien avant notre retour prévu, et ayant acheté nos billets via une agence, c'était à eux de faire les changements. Il va sans dire que l'agence était complètement débordé et donc injoignable et d'aucune aide! Nous avons donc appelé ATN et avons parlé à 3 personnes différentes, toutes les 3 plus gentilles, patientes et serviables les unes que les autres ! Au final, nous avons pu esquiver notre agence et modifier nos billets sans frais, pour le soir même. En ces temps de crise, même le personnel au check in et à l'embarquement ont été très accueillants et serviables. Bravo à toute l'équipe d'ATN et merci pour votre service rapide et efficace!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would look elsewhere"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was the first time flying Air Tahiti Nui. My goal was to fly from LAX to PPT (Tahiti) then PPT to BOB (Bora Bora). The nightmare started on our flight from LAX to PPT. Discovered Air Tahiti Nui does not have a designated ticket counter so you can only check in 2 hours before flight departs. This caused an issue because in order to gain access to any club lounge you need a boarding pass. Our flight arrived in LAX about 5 hours before the LAX to PPT departed so had to sit and wait in LAX for 3 hours until Air Tahiti Nui ticket counter opened. By that time there was a long line of people and the staff at Air Tahiti Nui did not seem to care how fast they processed people. So we were not able to go to our lounge and eat and relax so we had to pay for our lunch and stand around because of very limited seating in the lobby of LAX. After checking our bags we went to the gate displayed on my ticket and on the overhead boards and on my flight app. Several people started going up the the gate ticket counter asking why boarding had not started with only 10 minutes before our flight was suppose to depart. No answers. Staff simply did not seem to care. Five minutes before boarding an announcement was made of a gate change to 153 which was about 1/2 mile away all the way down to the other end of the concourse. We ran to the the other end only to wait 1.5 hours to board with more delays and no explanation. During this time I talked to a couple the long time LAX employees. They stated this happens all the time with Air Tahiti Nui. During our flight we purchase exit row seats. The Air Tahiti Nui staff allowed long lines to queue up and use our exist row areas as acceptable areas for people to stand and stretch, causing people to step on our feet several times. We brought this to the attention of the staff but they did not seem to care. Service was touted a very friendly and a great Tahitian experience. Do not believe what they tell you and show in their slick ads. We had a similar experience on way back. Sorry but once from LAX to PPT and PPT to LAX was enough. There are a lot of other airline choices like Air France etc. I would look elsewhere. Hopefully this review helped describe our experience. Even more concerning is we did not find Tahiti the friendly place to stay either. Expensive, and not very customer service orientated
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"very unprofessional service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Auckland to Papeete. From unannounced menu changes to wine that although listed on the menu was unavailable with cabin crew staff who very conveniently "forgot" passenger requests, a very unprofessional service. On an Emirates scale of 1 to 10 (with Emirates at 10), this outfit rates a 4 on a par with Air Fiji. Never again!
AircraftBoeing 789
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Papeete
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we had no reimbursement at all"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Papeete. We used this airline to reach Polynesia for our honeymoon. We read good reviews about this and that's the reason why we opted for this company for the most important trip. When we arrived at the airport in Los Angeles we found out our flight was cancelled without any previous warning. Reason: there was no pilot! Bad organinzation at the airport and had to wait hours in a queue and lost one entire day of honeymoon stuck in LA. Worst thing is that we had no reimbursement at all as the company is not European and doesn't follow any European rule for reimbursment as the flight doesn't leave or reach an European country. Won't use with company anymore! Much better to prefer Air France to reach Tahiti, as prices are the same, but customers are protected as I found out Air Tahiti Nui often behave like that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked for a full refund"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | We were boarding on a flight by Air Tahiti Nui from Paris to LA going on a short trip. After an hour delay we were told the flight is delayed till next day due to a thunder striking the plane. We were located to hotel to wait for a flight next day. Next day we were told the flight is delayed for one more day. Overall we lost two days and there was no point to go to LA for us anymore, we missed everything and lost a lot of money. We didn’t go in a flight and asked for a full refund I didn’t mention other expenses we had due to this I only asked for a 2 tickets refund. We received the refund later but 150 were deducted. I emailed few times to ask for a reason? I received no reply. We lost so much due to this situation and all I was asking is give the money back for a ticket.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 99 Reviews