Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"we had no reimbursement at all"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Papeete. We used this airline to reach Polynesia for our honeymoon. We read good reviews about this and that's the reason why we opted for this company for the most important trip. When we arrived at the airport in Los Angeles we found out our flight was cancelled without any previous warning. Reason: there was no pilot! Bad organinzation at the airport and had to wait hours in a queue and lost one entire day of honeymoon stuck in LA. Worst thing is that we had no reimbursement at all as the company is not European and doesn't follow any European rule for reimbursment as the flight doesn't leave or reach an European country. Won't use with company anymore! Much better to prefer Air France to reach Tahiti, as prices are the same, but customers are protected as I found out Air Tahiti Nui often behave like that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked for a full refund"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | We were boarding on a flight by Air Tahiti Nui from Paris to LA going on a short trip. After an hour delay we were told the flight is delayed till next day due to a thunder striking the plane. We were located to hotel to wait for a flight next day. Next day we were told the flight is delayed for one more day. Overall we lost two days and there was no point to go to LA for us anymore, we missed everything and lost a lot of money. We didn’t go in a flight and asked for a full refund I didn’t mention other expenses we had due to this I only asked for a 2 tickets refund. We received the refund later but 150 were deducted. I emailed few times to ask for a reason? I received no reply. We lost so much due to this situation and all I was asking is give the money back for a ticket.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Staff very helpful / attentive"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Tahiti with Air Tahiti Nui. Plane was very clean, useful little bag of goodies, (ear buds, socks, night visor, etc) Food and drink - wonderful. Far better than domestic US flights Staff very helpful / attentive - made a very long flight better! Well Done!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Tahiti
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never been treated so badly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Papeete to Auckland. Customer portal down September 8th and 9th, so cannot event put a complaint through, no email back from their customer service yet. I went to the Papeete airport at 6am for my 9am flight. Checked in, baggage, everything. As the departure time drew near, we were none the wiser on the delay. Finally 9am rolled around, and they told us it would be another hour delay. More and more time was added, and none of the announcements were legible. Finally they tell us the flight is cancelled. They make us walk out of the airport in the heat, and go through customs which took a very long time. Then, we were forced to cue in a line to find out when the next flight was available. Everyone waited in line for an hour. When I got to the front of the line, they told me it was up to me to find my own accommodation and that the next flight was 1am the next day - and to provide them with my email and phone (which I did, I also provided them with the Air BNB host where I was staying cell number). Luckily, they had a spare room at the Air BNB. I racked up a huge cellphone bill trying to get the car company to not cancel my rental, which, they did anyway. My host drove me to the airport the next day at 10pm. We get there to find the place empty, and security telling us that the flight was cancelled. I go to the Air Tahiti Nui office that is at the airport, and I ask why I was not emailed or phoned about this. She Shrugged her shoulders and said it was not her fault. I asked her what I am supposed to do, and luckily, the Air BNB had a couch I could stay on as every hotel was booked. I went back to the place, and awoke at 6am again. Finally on the 3rd day I boarded my flight to Australia. I have traveled to a number of tropical island places, and I know, things work a bit slower on island time. But honestly, the customer service was rude, and horrible. I have never been treated so badly - and had such a horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"staff really nice and kind"

(French Polynesia)

Trip Verified | Paris to Papeete via Los Angeles. New plane which is nice but actually less comfy. The older planes where on a 2-4-2 seats set-up, newer are on a 3-3-3 set-up, which give you less room on your seat. Food is okay, poor choice of entertainment but great staff, really nice and kind.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Papeete via Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Poor experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Poor experience from Los Angeles to Papeete. Due to mechanical issues on our previous flight we lost the connection so we were booked on next available flight. We have paid for premium economy, which was unavailable on the flight we were re booked for. We tried on the phone and in the airport to get an upgrade from Air Tahiti Nui given the fact that we paid for premium economy, we had experienced an emergency landing because of mechanical issues,we were celebrating our 25th anniversary and they had empty seats in business class. They did not try to accommodate us at all and kept asking for 1400 US per person. The airplane was old, seats uncomfortable, very narrow and entertainment was a joke with very little options and very old movies. On the way back we flew the Dreamliner which was a better experience but food was a disappointment.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a sweaty 8 hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We flew from Los Angeles to Papeete and back with Air Tahiti Nui. Both planes were very hot and the food was not good. You do not have your own air control like on most flights. It was a sweaty 8 hours.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Good service, but poor food"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Tahiti to Los Angeles. Good service, but poor food. The Airport processing and waiting was unbearable. It took over an hour to checkin. Departure was delayed and the temperature had to be in the high 30’s. On the flight to Tahiti the second serving of food was frozen and we told the staff on board but they couldn’t have cared about that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTahiti to Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"business class is old"

(Italy)

Air Tahiti Nui is basically the only airline that flies to French Polinesia. The business class is old, and the seat do not recline to 180°. It's a very long flight from any airport. I flew from Japan and it was a 12 hours flight. The aircraft is very loud, there is no privacy in the business seat. The food is really good and the staff are really polite. The entertainment is quite poor.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Tahiti
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"on board service is appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Papeete. A new Boeing 787-9, good spacious seats on Business class. We had a bulk seat 1A. Even though close to the galley I did not hear any rattling. Entertainment is very poor. This review is about the cabin crew on board service. It is appalling. They do the minimum at the cabin. No helping to set up your tray for dinner. No food order taken. They look fed up. I experienced their service to be rude, distant, unenthusiastic and Unfriendly. If you ever go to PPT fly with air New Zealand.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Papeete
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews