Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 94 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"quick and efficient service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Papeete to Los Angeles. We left for Polynesia just before Covid-19 blocked North America. Our flight had more than 150 empty seats. The plane was very clean, very welcoming, very colourful and the service on board was impeccable! But the 5 stars is especially justified with our return flight. We had to return to Canada long before our planned return and having bought our tickets through an agency, it was up to them to make the changes. It goes without saying that the agency was completely overwhelmed and therefore unreachable and of no help! So we called ATN and spoke to 3 different people, all 3 were kind, patient and helpful than the others! In the end, we were able to dodge our agency and modify our tickets free of charge, for the same evening. In these times of crisis, even the staff at check-in and onboard were very welcoming and helpful. Congratulations to the entire ATN team and thank you for your quick and efficient service! | Nous sommes parti pour la Polynésie juste avant que Covid-19 ne bloque l'Amérique du nord. Notre vol avait plus de 150 places vide... l'avion était très propre, très accueillant, très coloré et le service à bord était impeccable ! Mais les 5 étoiles se justifie surtout avec notre vol de retour. Nous avons du revenir vers le Canada bien avant notre retour prévu, et ayant acheté nos billets via une agence, c'était à eux de faire les changements. Il va sans dire que l'agence était complètement débordé et donc injoignable et d'aucune aide! Nous avons donc appelé ATN et avons parlé à 3 personnes différentes, toutes les 3 plus gentilles, patientes et serviables les unes que les autres ! Au final, nous avons pu esquiver notre agence et modifier nos billets sans frais, pour le soir même. En ces temps de crise, même le personnel au check in et à l'embarquement ont été très accueillants et serviables. Bravo à toute l'équipe d'ATN et merci pour votre service rapide et efficace!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would look elsewhere"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was the first time flying Air Tahiti Nui. My goal was to fly from LAX to PPT (Tahiti) then PPT to BOB (Bora Bora). The nightmare started on our flight from LAX to PPT. Discovered Air Tahiti Nui does not have a designated ticket counter so you can only check in 2 hours before flight departs. This caused an issue because in order to gain access to any club lounge you need a boarding pass. Our flight arrived in LAX about 5 hours before the LAX to PPT departed so had to sit and wait in LAX for 3 hours until Air Tahiti Nui ticket counter opened. By that time there was a long line of people and the staff at Air Tahiti Nui did not seem to care how fast they processed people. So we were not able to go to our lounge and eat and relax so we had to pay for our lunch and stand around because of very limited seating in the lobby of LAX. After checking our bags we went to the gate displayed on my ticket and on the overhead boards and on my flight app. Several people started going up the the gate ticket counter asking why boarding had not started with only 10 minutes before our flight was suppose to depart. No answers. Staff simply did not seem to care. Five minutes before boarding an announcement was made of a gate change to 153 which was about 1/2 mile away all the way down to the other end of the concourse. We ran to the the other end only to wait 1.5 hours to board with more delays and no explanation. During this time I talked to a couple the long time LAX employees. They stated this happens all the time with Air Tahiti Nui. During our flight we purchase exit row seats. The Air Tahiti Nui staff allowed long lines to queue up and use our exist row areas as acceptable areas for people to stand and stretch, causing people to step on our feet several times. We brought this to the attention of the staff but they did not seem to care. Service was touted a very friendly and a great Tahitian experience. Do not believe what they tell you and show in their slick ads. We had a similar experience on way back. Sorry but once from LAX to PPT and PPT to LAX was enough. There are a lot of other airline choices like Air France etc. I would look elsewhere. Hopefully this review helped describe our experience. Even more concerning is we did not find Tahiti the friendly place to stay either. Expensive, and not very customer service orientated
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"very unprofessional service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Auckland to Papeete. From unannounced menu changes to wine that although listed on the menu was unavailable with cabin crew staff who very conveniently "forgot" passenger requests, a very unprofessional service. On an Emirates scale of 1 to 10 (with Emirates at 10), this outfit rates a 4 on a par with Air Fiji. Never again!
AircraftBoeing 789
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Papeete
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we had no reimbursement at all"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Papeete. We used this airline to reach Polynesia for our honeymoon. We read good reviews about this and that's the reason why we opted for this company for the most important trip. When we arrived at the airport in Los Angeles we found out our flight was cancelled without any previous warning. Reason: there was no pilot! Bad organinzation at the airport and had to wait hours in a queue and lost one entire day of honeymoon stuck in LA. Worst thing is that we had no reimbursement at all as the company is not European and doesn't follow any European rule for reimbursment as the flight doesn't leave or reach an European country. Won't use with company anymore! Much better to prefer Air France to reach Tahiti, as prices are the same, but customers are protected as I found out Air Tahiti Nui often behave like that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked for a full refund"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | We were boarding on a flight by Air Tahiti Nui from Paris to LA going on a short trip. After an hour delay we were told the flight is delayed till next day due to a thunder striking the plane. We were located to hotel to wait for a flight next day. Next day we were told the flight is delayed for one more day. Overall we lost two days and there was no point to go to LA for us anymore, we missed everything and lost a lot of money. We didn’t go in a flight and asked for a full refund I didn’t mention other expenses we had due to this I only asked for a 2 tickets refund. We received the refund later but 150 were deducted. I emailed few times to ask for a reason? I received no reply. We lost so much due to this situation and all I was asking is give the money back for a ticket.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Staff very helpful / attentive"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Tahiti with Air Tahiti Nui. Plane was very clean, useful little bag of goodies, (ear buds, socks, night visor, etc) Food and drink - wonderful. Far better than domestic US flights Staff very helpful / attentive - made a very long flight better! Well Done!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Tahiti
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never been treated so badly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Papeete to Auckland. Customer portal down September 8th and 9th, so cannot event put a complaint through, no email back from their customer service yet. I went to the Papeete airport at 6am for my 9am flight. Checked in, baggage, everything. As the departure time drew near, we were none the wiser on the delay. Finally 9am rolled around, and they told us it would be another hour delay. More and more time was added, and none of the announcements were legible. Finally they tell us the flight is cancelled. They make us walk out of the airport in the heat, and go through customs which took a very long time. Then, we were forced to cue in a line to find out when the next flight was available. Everyone waited in line for an hour. When I got to the front of the line, they told me it was up to me to find my own accommodation and that the next flight was 1am the next day - and to provide them with my email and phone (which I did, I also provided them with the Air BNB host where I was staying cell number). Luckily, they had a spare room at the Air BNB. I racked up a huge cellphone bill trying to get the car company to not cancel my rental, which, they did anyway. My host drove me to the airport the next day at 10pm. We get there to find the place empty, and security telling us that the flight was cancelled. I go to the Air Tahiti Nui office that is at the airport, and I ask why I was not emailed or phoned about this. She Shrugged her shoulders and said it was not her fault. I asked her what I am supposed to do, and luckily, the Air BNB had a couch I could stay on as every hotel was booked. I went back to the place, and awoke at 6am again. Finally on the 3rd day I boarded my flight to Australia. I have traveled to a number of tropical island places, and I know, things work a bit slower on island time. But honestly, the customer service was rude, and horrible. I have never been treated so badly - and had such a horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"staff really nice and kind"

(French Polynesia)

Trip Verified | Paris to Papeete via Los Angeles. New plane which is nice but actually less comfy. The older planes where on a 2-4-2 seats set-up, newer are on a 3-3-3 set-up, which give you less room on your seat. Food is okay, poor choice of entertainment but great staff, really nice and kind.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Papeete via Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Poor experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Poor experience from Los Angeles to Papeete. Due to mechanical issues on our previous flight we lost the connection so we were booked on next available flight. We have paid for premium economy, which was unavailable on the flight we were re booked for. We tried on the phone and in the airport to get an upgrade from Air Tahiti Nui given the fact that we paid for premium economy, we had experienced an emergency landing because of mechanical issues,we were celebrating our 25th anniversary and they had empty seats in business class. They did not try to accommodate us at all and kept asking for 1400 US per person. The airplane was old, seats uncomfortable, very narrow and entertainment was a joke with very little options and very old movies. On the way back we flew the Dreamliner which was a better experience but food was a disappointment.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"a sweaty 8 hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We flew from Los Angeles to Papeete and back with Air Tahiti Nui. Both planes were very hot and the food was not good. You do not have your own air control like on most flights. It was a sweaty 8 hours.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePapeete to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 94 Reviews