Air Tahiti Nui

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 107 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This airline is unreliable"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | This airline is unreliable. They will make you late, make you miss your connecting flight and leave you to sort your problems out at your own cost without any help. Unbelievable. It cost us an extra $248 to sort out flights because their plane had a technical issue. Their problem, their fault they admitted. They promised to compensate at the airport and then later using fine print reneged on their responsibilities. Of all the 20 international flights that arrived in Auckland the same day theirs was the only one more than 10 minutes late. They were 2 hours late. We were stuck for an additional 4 hours at Auckland airport before we could get a new connecting flight. The plane was chocker, not a spare seat, they were getting the best part of $2000 a seat and they still couldn't find a measly $124pp to compensate us for their screwup/
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Auckland via Papaete
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Business Class product was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Their lack of care, lack of support and lack of customer service is monumental. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and heading to Bora Bora. Air Tahiti from LAX to Papeete and then on Air Tahiti (regional carrier) to Bora Bora. About 2 hours prior to our late night flight, Air Tahiti Nui cancelled the flight. The reason was that the incoming aircraft was struck by lightning. Understanding that safety is paramount and absolutely the most important factor of traveling, we understood that the aircraft had to be inspected. Keep in mind that Air Tahiti Nui only has like 4 aircraft in their fleet so it's not like they can quickly bring in a new aircraft. We were shuttled to an airport hotel at LAX and told to come back in the next day as the flight would now depart at 2pm. Back to LAX we went and learned that Air Tahiti Nui kept delaying the flight with no information or communication to the passengers. When a Gate Agent did appear, we were advised that they are third party employees and have no further details. All this while we were watching tape being put on the front of the aircraft where it was struck by lightning. After hours again in LAX, the flight finally departed. Upon arrival in Tahiti there was no one from Air Tahiti Nui to provide hotel vouchers (as the majority of passengers were connecting to neighboring islands and there were no regional flights out that late). There was a line of about 200+ passengers waiting for some assistance from one woman sitting in the Air Tahiti office! After hours of waiting we were put up in literally a dump of a motel for the night. Knowing that the flight was cancelled the previous day, why would they not have staff ready to assist their passengers as well as hotel vouchers for those stuck in Papeete. Take my recommendation, fly an alternate carrier if going to Tahiti. Their Business Class product was terrible. 2x2x2 seating on a 787 where others offer plenty more room. Inflight entertainment was very limited and food was "just OK' but nothing I would expect from a flag carrier. Internet never worked and while flight attendant service was very cordial, it certainly does not make up for their lack of customer service. We lost nights in Bora Bora and I have written a letter to Air Tahiti Nui and the response basically was "sh*t happens". Air France, United, Delta would be the carriers of choice.
AircraftBoring 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they do not care about servicing their passengers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We were a party of 5 in Papeete heading out for cruise when the Tahitian government shut down all cruises. I contacted Air Tahiti immediately to see if we could get a flight home. The shut down occurred on a Friday and we could not catch a flight home until the following Wednesday which resulted in 5 more hotel nights. Air Tahiti charged us $1,048.00 per ticket for the flight home in the same class of service. If we didn't pay the $1,048.00 per ticket, Air Tahiti wanted to charge us $90.00 per ticket to drop down a class. The Air Tahiti standard pricing between main cabin and business class in normally $3,000.00 per ticket, the class drop should have resulted in a refund. Do not fly this airline, they do not care about servicing their passengers and taking advantage of their customers.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteLos Angeles to Tahiti
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Truly disappointed with the service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Truly disappointed with the service. Avoid at all costs. Had a family emergency and desperately needed to get home. Tried to change my flights and willing to pay. The tool for managing the your bookings online is not available. Confirmed via phone. Phone support non existent. Called 15+ times and finally learned that the call center is not authorized to make booking changes or buy new flights. Drove to the airport office. Airport office is not authorized either to sell tickets or change bookings. Only accepted way is via email. Waited for three days already trying to change my flight. In the meantime, family member has passed away and Air Tahiti Nui was not helpful at all getting home. Will never fly this airline again. To top it off, my luggage was lost for 4 days when I arrived in Tahiti. When I received my luggage, it was damaged. Complete failure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Papeete
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"We haven't flown yet, I'm not looking forward to it!"

(United States)

Not Verified | My husband and I travel a lot internationally. I don't remember having as much trouble booking with an airline. Unfortunately, they are our only option, we booked thru American Airlines. Trying to get seat assignments was extremely painful. It took 2 days and 4 phone calls, totalling 3 hours. When I waited for an option for seats, it took over 20 min each time. When I questioned the agent, she wanted to give me the whole reason behind how "much work" this was for her. I said I 'm not really interested, let's just get on with booking the seats please. After waiting 40min, I lost my connection! How convenient! BTW, if you get seat assignments before check in, you must pay. We haven't flown yet, I'm not looking forward to it! If at all possible, I will not be using this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"embarrassing that they don't know the difference"

(Argentina)

Not Verified | When I checked in they asked me if I had a ticket out of the US and I said yes and showed my ticket to Mexico. They said that is not valid as Mexico is part of the US. I said that no Mexico is not part of the US, they even called the supervisor who said the same thing. They made me buy a ticket back to my country which I didn't want at that time because I didn't know my return date yet. I bought this flight with Qantas but when I arrived it was Air Tahiti. I had to buy the ticket in 20 minutes otherwise they wouldn't let me board. It is embarrassing that they don't know the difference between the two countries and argue with customers like this. If this is their policy at least it should be on their website.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTahiti to Los Angeles
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"we must respect distancing, it is just impossible"

(French Polynesia)

Trip Verified | Food: the food from a quality standpoint, from Tahiti to Paris, had nothing to do with being in Business Class. Seat comfort: having selected a six abreast configuration on an ultra long haul flight it is just a no sense choice. I was lucky enough to be seated on an aisle seat but for outboard PAX on LH & RH side, it is just a headache to get access to the aisle. This seat does not have enough personal belongings storage and feet area is just to narrow to have a great sleeping position. Lavatory: the airline decided to lock the forward lavatory exclusively to crew. It means 30 PC PAX + 30 PYC PAX are sharing only two Lav's near door 2. During these times when we must respect distancing, it is just impossible. This airlines needs to remember their revenue is coming from passengers.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePapeete to Paris via Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What kind of customer service is this?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My June 20th flight to Papeete was canceled by the airline due to COVID restrictions. When trying to get the $2300 or so back, I made at least 15 calls to my booking company and the airline. Booking company said Air Tahiti had to authorize any refund. Air Tahiti at first said they would only provide future credit (illegal for flights departing from the US) and then offered a refund minus a $250 service fee per person. I eventually filed a complaint with the DOT and was told by the airline they had received it. Later airline said they actually had not received it and couldn't process a refund until the DOT complaint was received. What kind of customer service is this? The agents are basically instructed to lie and give people the runaround. Eventually had the charge reversed by my credit card company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Papeete via Los Angeles
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Air Tahiti Nui"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked this flight via Cheapoair it was supposed to leave April 14, 2020. Then the Coronavirus hit. The flight never left for Papeete it was cancelled by the airline. I requested a refund through Cheapoair because Air Tahiti Nui said it was bought through Cheapoair. I dealt with Cheapoair who checked with air Tahiti Nui about refunding me my money. We paid almost $1500.00 for two tickets. I was offered a credit which has to be used by next year or I lose the credit of the two tickets to Papeete. I wanted my money back as I, like thousands, of others had nothing to do with the cancellation. It was a worldwide pandemic. I am told now that I can get my money back with a $500.00 penalty. The quoted amount to be returned is approximately $750.00 for a $1500.00 investment. Which is more than a $500.00 penalty. I have filed a complaint with the Dept of Transportation who frowns on this type of rip off. I will never fly Air Tahiti Nui or use Cheapoair for any reason. I am a senior citizen with a compromised immune system and am not sure when I will be able to travel due to the Coronavirus.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fly with an American airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was flying direct to Papeete, Tahiti for a cruise that was leaving 10/5/20. However, due to Covid-19 my cruise got canceled. I purchased my ticket in December 2019. When I contacted Tahiti Nui they offered no refunds but offered to extend my ticket for 2 months until 12/2/20. They offer a year beyond date from purchase. So buying early only hurt me. I can't fly this year for obvious reasons. However, they gave my friend and travel companion a year from this December and she can use it by 12/31/21. She made a big fuss and they gave it to her. She only spoke up about herself only and not me. When I contacted the airline about this to the Service Manager he said due to her circumstances being a single mother she was given this. Pure discrimination! I'm a retired senior on a fixed income but that doesn't matter. They refused to extend my ticket like hers. I wrote to the VP of the Company and never heard back. I lost 1500.00 and got rid of a person I thought was a friend. Please fly with an American airline if you can.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Papeete
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no