Air Seychelles

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 72 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"had to reschedule my itinerary twice"

(India)

Trip Verified | They keep on cancelling the flights. I had to reschedule my itinerary twice before finally cancelling my flight for third time. Avoid.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Johannesburg via Mahe
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Flight cramped and noisy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Praslin to Mahe. Over zealous security screening at Praslin when they noticed we had packed a small pack of batteries in our hold baggage. Had to take out every item of clothing until they were found and no time to repack. On check in we thought we had prepaid for excess baggage via our travel agent only to be told it had not gone through. Staff could see that we had completed the process but still charged us the airport price rather than the online price. Staff completely unhelpful and appeared to take great pleasure in making things as difficult as possible. Would not give us any assistance of any contact details. Currently taking up the issue with their customer services and the office of their CEO. Flight cramped and noisy, recommend ear plugs, and very warm. Plus side, it was shorter than most bus journey I normally take. No assistance offered by ground crew getting on or off the plane with flimsy hand rail and low doorway.
AircraftTwin Otter
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePraslin to Mahe
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Air Seychelles is a catastrophe"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | We were booked on a one-way flight from Praslin to Mauritius (PRI-SEZ-MRU). The checkin in Praslin was pretty smooth. The lady told us that our baggage is directed to Mauritius, nothing to worry about on Mahé. Great news! After arrival we had to checkin again as the second flight was international. At the counter I mentioned casually that we only have two backpacks as carry on as our checked baggage is transferred to Mauritius. "No that is not possible" we were told. "You have to pick it up at the baggage claim and check it in again." After some discussions I went back. Luckily a met a couple from the UK that did the same trip as we did. Same problem there. We found an Air Seychelles employee, explained the situation, gave her our baggage tags we got earlier at Praslin and followed her back to the counter. They were having an argue. Unbelievable. Both flights operated by one airline that does not know their internal procedures and processes. After we were told that the baggage is transferred to Mauritius - surprise - the real problems began as my girlfriend was traveling with her wheelchair that comes with electrically powered wheels. We showed them the necessary IATA certificates and technical specs as we always do in that situation around the globe with many airlines. Airlines are generally not pleased to transport batteries in the cargo area due to potential risk of fire. But in this case the batteries are an integrated part of the wheels. You cannot take them off without taking off both wheels completely. So as usual they checked everything and let us finally continue. So far so good. After boarding was finished the captain announced that we were actually early some minutes. But suddenly the lady from the check-in appeared at our seats to tell us that the wheelchair will not be transported by Air Seychelles because an approval was missing. We had no idea what she meant. As I already wrote we had shown them the papers. And by the way we had sent the all the documents five days ahead of the flight as requested by Air Seychelles. We never got a reply to that email. They still insisted an approval was missing. Just to mention again: No issues with the same airline on the first flight segment before... However three to four employees were discussing at the aircraft door. After 30 minutes the captain explained the situation to all passengers via speaker. He said they are organizing the missing approval and are waiting for it. What missing approval and how are they organizing it by themselves when the complained that we did not bring the approval. Simply does not make sense at all. After an hour I accidentally could observe a guy walking right next to the aircraft carrying the wheelchair's wheels with the batteries. Minutes later we took off without further information. After arrival in Mauritius we found the wheelchair in parts lying on the floor in front of the special baggage counter. Some idiots bent one of the shafts that connect the wheels to the chassis. Without any tools and with pure force I could barely fix the shaft. Otherwise our trip had ended at this point. We have never ever experienced that kind of discrimination against people with disabilities anywhere on the globe. Totally unprofessional and completely intolerable. The Seychelles are probably the most beautiful places we have ever seen on earth but Air Seychelles is a catastrophe. Shame on you!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePraslin to Mauritius via Seychelles
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Air Seychelles do not respond"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Our flight was booked to fly in December 21st but Seychelles was closed to visitors from South Africa due to COVID. We never flew. Since then I have been asking for either a refund or travel voucher as we are expecting to re-book for December 22. But after several emails and requests Air Seychelles do not respond. What is one supposed to do to get what we paid for?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Mahe
Date FlownDecember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Air Seychelles customer review

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | I had booked flight back from Praslin airport where we had our hotel Lemuria back to Mahe for our international flight. So we booked flight at 5th of may directly in the airport, becouse it was near our hotel. So my trip back to Mahe was like scary movie, and all of a service for the Air Seychelles was awfull. First of all - our flight was booked for 9th may - thats sunday, this is a day off at the airport - so nobody will take phone, nobody will answer you on email, and only service for flight who dont know anything will work at the airport. Be very careful to use their flights on Sundays. In the morning 9th of may at the day of our departure we noticed that a storm comes to an islands, but we saw flights still are going, and nobody told us that something will be wrong (we had flight at 18 -40), so we packed everything and were preparing to leave. Thanks to Lemuria hotel crew at 12 o clock we were told that the airport is closed and there will be no flights today, they also sent their man to have duty in the airport if something else happened, and he called every 30 minutes. Air Seychelles didn't even get in touch with us in that day, didn't answer the phones etc. The ferry that goes only 2 times a day was already sold completely for that day. So we and other passengers had to book boats not to miss their international flights. When we arrived to the airport for our flight, planes from Air Seychelles still were not flying, and we get back home. After we get home I sent email and all information air Seychelles manager asked us for ticket refund, and we get only about 30% of money for our tickets, because we were charged for "no show" at non working airport, and refund charge. That's a total disgrace. If you use them you should have some additional money for private boats. Be ready for "no calls, no service" at critical situations, cause you may get to the airport and it would be closed in case of weather and other transport (ferry, boats) will be unavailable at the time you noticed it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePraslin to Mahe
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Below average service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Seychelles to Johannesburg. Below average service from in flight attendants. Appalling attitude, inability to carry out basic duties. Do not respond when they are buzzed, and expect you to walk to the back of the aircraft to get what you need eg a glass of water. This is a problem as the lavatory is also at the back, so at any given time theres a queue of passengers trying to navigate through the narrow aisle at the back of the aircraft. Furthermore, they are absolutely not child friendly, and made the flight very unpleasant for me and my family.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeychelles to Johannesburg
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Crew rather reserved"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Seychelles. Online check-in for Codeshare flight from Etihad is not possible. Airplane is a brand new 32N, no issues there. Seat comfortable, even for a five-hour flight. Wifi-based IFE has a very limited choice of films. Crew rather reserved and looked a bit bored and annoyed at the same time - friendly if approached though. Crews English is tough to understand. Loved the bright red blankets!
AircraftA32N
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Seychelles
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"forced to go to hospital"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Mumbai via Mahe. My wife and mother-in-law travelled with our 5 year old son and 1 year old son. While flying from Johannesburg to Seychelles, our younger sons cries more than normal day in home. My family reached Seychelles island and cabin crew decided that my baby has high fever and not to show of next connected flight. My family was forced to go to hospital and the doctor decided that it is not high fever and having ear infection. First of all the airport doesn't have any facilities to check this kind of basic things. While coming back from airport, the lady who followed with my wife forcefully taken the medical report from my wife. May be they can use that for getting some extra money somehow. The drama starts now. Initially they told that they will arrange everything, but they changed the decision. I was in south Africa and I never had a medium to contact with my wife and airport wifi also not working as like other. So I couldn't able to tell everything at right time, so unfortunately I don't have Dr report. Seychelles support staff said that only option is to book the accomodation and book Srilankan Airways which is the next flight to Mumbai and will be reaching Mumbai after 36 hours or something. So ideally we need to book everything from our pocket and even they will not help for getting taxi to the hotel. My family has three check in bag and two child. With help of my friends here in SA, I immediately booked Emirates flight and my wife told me that she will wait in airport for 8 hours for emirates. My family waited 8 hours without anything to eat. You cant get anything to eat if your family waiting for the flight that time. I am waiting for my family check in from Dubai.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Mumbai via Mahe
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Didn’t get to see the Seychelles"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Well, we never got to actually fly. It was supposed to be a two-day break in the Seychelles on the way from Madagascar to the UAE. First it became a one-day break because the airline changed the flight from the morning to the evening. It then sent several emails asking to bid for an upgrade. But on the day of the flight they didn’t bother to tell us that they had decided to cancel it. We showed up in the airport and were in limbo for nearly 24 hrs about when and whether we would fly on. At the end we bought new and more expensive tickets on South African Airlines to get to work on Monday. Didn’t get to see the Seychelles. Didn’t get our money back. And have yet to be able to reach anyone at Air Seychelles — the call center doesn’t appear to be staffed. Avoid at all cost.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAntananarivo to Abu Dhabi via Mahe
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelling flight with 3 days notice"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Mauritius to Seychelles. Nearly ruined my honeymoon by cancelling a flight with only 3 days notice. Had to scramble to book / cancel hotels and transfers. Will never use them again and will advise friends and family not too either.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to Seychelles
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 72 Reviews