Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 559 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"their standards have plummeted"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Auckland to Sydney. Terrible mix up with my wife's passport; surname changed well before flight and airpoints card updated with Air New Zealand assuring us the fare was altered. On the day still under maiden - caused huge delay and worry. Flown with these guys for years and their standards have plummeted in the last 18 months - avoid if you can.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Sydney
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"crew in our cabin were second to none"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | First time flying on the Dreamliner and also first time with Air New Zealand in over ten years. Boarding got under way smartly and was well organised for the 00.10 departure. Lovely welcome upon boarding and nice mood lighting in the cabin. My daughter and I were seated on the side and ended up with three seats that configure into the skycouch, was pretty good and it offered us extra room. The crew in our cabin were second to none, they treated us like we were old friends, so warm, kind and genuine. The meal was excellent and plentiful accompanied by a lovely Kiwi glass of Fizz followed by a Shiraz. Entertainment was good although I didn't watch much as I was lucky enough to get a decent sleep. Two hours out of Singapore breakfast was served and offered another glass of Fizz, great memory! We landed ahead of time and that capped off a great flight, best I'd had in ages. My sincere thanks and appreciation to the excellent crew, these guys are keepers!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"has definitely slipped"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Brisbane to Christchurch. Flight was great, great service, comfortable seat and plane was nice and clean. On the down side was the appalling meal, there were two options but by the time they got to me only one could be offered which was a bland chicken tandoori, rice and silverbeet, an appalling bland meal, I was most disappointed, Air New Zealand has definitely slipped here. There was a small fruit slice offered for a sweet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Christchurch
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew very attentive"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I flew with Air New Zealand for the first time. What an awesome flight. We flew from Auckland to LAX. From the time we boarded the aircraft until we went through customs in LAX, they treated us very special. The food was great and the crew very attentive. They made up our lay flat bed and made sure we received anything to make our flight better. When we woke the next morning, coffee was waiting for you. They remade our bed back in to regular seats. Then a fantastic breakfast was served. We could not have ask for a better flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"thank them so very much"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Adelaide return. When we first walked into Adelaide airport the airport had 2 staff in the entrance and I went over and asked them nicely if they would be able to get me a wheelchair for my mum who was clearly having difficulty walking. They said you’ll have to go to air New Zealand part and they’ll help you. I was horrified with their service. Really very cruel if you saw how my mum struggled to walk. I saw and was told by my mum and sister how wonderful the staff were from the time I walked in with my mum at Adelaide airport to the air New Zealand booking part. till the time they arrived back in Nz where staff continued to help them all the way through. As soon as I arrived at the air Nz check point one of the staff came out from behind the counter. She got a wheelchair she helped label their bags. She arranged everything for us She was on the phone letting other staff know that you had a customer that required help. She arranged other staff to pick mum up on the other side. Anyone once we checked our bags through we waited where this lady had arranged a pick up point and 2 lovely woman arrived so calm and so patiently waited while we said our goodbyes. Don’t even know if I thanked them cause I’m not good with goodbyes but I hope I did. They even pushed my mum along side my sister. They collected them from different points and got them on and off the plane. From a distance as they wheeled mum They even cared enough to turn mum back around to wave to us as they left. I just can’t tell you how beautiful the staff were to my mum and sister. Thank you so... much for caring for them so well and with such care. I just want to thank them so very much for helping my sister and caring for my mum.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Adelaide
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"everything was well done"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I don't normally fly with Air New Zealand. However, today I completed two sectors on Air New Zealand (NZ102 and NZ101). The first sector I did in economy in a B787-9 and the second in Business class in a B777. I can't speak highly enough of the professionalism and service of Air New Zealand. Absolutely everything was well done. The lounge is beautiful and comfortable with plenty of well prepared high quality and tasty food (some of it prepared by chef right in front of you!). On the first sector I travelled in seat 37C on a 'works' economy ticket. The seat was comfortable, adequate leg room (I'm 178 tall and 90kg male) and the lunch served was a choice of osso bucco with mash and green beans, or cold roasted chicken breast salad (which was excellent!) followed by brownie and ice cream, yum! On the second sector, I was in seat 2A business premium. The seats are angled slightly away from the windows in such a way to give full aisle access from all seats, yet quite good privacy. They are wider than many business seats. Breakfast was amazing, a choice too wide to list but listen to this, fried eggs and bacon on an aeroplane? Really good stuff that I've not seen on any other! Coupled with the second-best inflight entertainment I've experienced (second to ICE), an excellent airline!
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"lucky to make a connecting flight"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Invercargill to Whangarei via Christchurch / Auckland. Air New Zealand was excellent, The only thing was I was lucky to make a connecting flight due to the time space between getting off one aircraft onto the other one I had to rush.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteInvercargill to Whangarei via Christchurch / Auckland
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"reputation is sliding downhill"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Wellington to Hamilton. Engineering problems meant that our flight was cancelled 10 minutes before boarding. The airline had an awful lot of engineering issues and delays during the afternoon. I question this reasoning and wonder whether we were cancelled due to the plane not being full? First strike disappointment regarding the transparency of communications. Second strike was being transferred to the last trip of the day to another destination via a txt. Thanks for thinking of me but you could've transferred to a flight that actually landed in my home town. Having to collect bags again, check in again, go through security screening again and wait again for a flight that is delayed again! Anyway horrendous trip home via Auckland and bus to Hamilton. A trip where we were meant to be home by 7.45pm refreshed for work the next day turned into an 11.45pm exhausted mess. I thought this only happened with the likes of Jetstar not Air NZ. Air New Zealand reputation is sliding downhill. I will end on a positive. The counter staff in the Koru Lounge were helpful and the bus driver was amazing, smooth drive home thank you.
AircraftBombadier Q300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWellington to Hamilton
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"legroom was good"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Los Angeles return in November 2015. The staff were friendly and helpful. The legroom was good (not great, but who has great legroom economy these days?) I am 6'4" (195 cm) and felt pretty comfortable. The entertainment system was awesome with lots of movies and shows to choose from. The real kicker with Air New Zealand is that you can order drinks and snacks throughout your flight after the main meal.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"attendants were super helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Raratonga return. I came to write this review because when I was looking for positive reviews on this airline I couldn't find many great ones and none from the route I was flying. We did economy regular and were comfortable on our long haul 10 hour overnight flight. The attendants were super helpful and concerned with comfort and safety. My bf had an injured foot and was wearing a boot and they even upgraded us on one of the routes. Entertainment and food were great too. Plane wasn't too big, but big enough and it was def one of the newer ones. One thing I wouldn't recommend if you're over 5' is getting the sky couch. I watched folks wish they could fully extend their legs. I wouldn't do it unless I had little kids with me or if i was by myself. I hope this helps anyone on the fence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRaratonga to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes