Air Mauritius

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 177 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a pleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Mauritius to London Heathrow This was an unexpected and emergency flight back home due to the Coronavirus and booked at very short notice following advice from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in Mauritius due to the Border closures given the situation. In addition, the Kenya Airways / Qatar Airways flights to Nairobi and Doha / Manchester were all cancelled due to the Coronavirus, as the airlines were not flying on these routes, with no availability to travel until at least mid-April (this now appears unlikely as the Mauritius authorities have imposed restrictions). We were informed this was the last commercial flights to UK from Mauritius, so there was no option but to book and look to recoup costs back from Credit Card company give the crisis situation. This was reflected in the cost of the one way ticket to London Heathrow. Never have I seen Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam International Airport so deserted and quiet. However check in was easy. Boarding was a little chaotic, as this flight was full (this was a concern as it was impossible to evidence concepts of social distancing in the flight as would be expected given the impact of Coronavirus, though I wore a face mask for majority of the flight). Cabin crew themselves were dressed with appropriate Protective Equipment (PPE) for the 12 hour flight to reduce risks of infection. The flight itself represents an improvement from the last time I travelled with Air Mauritius some 25 years ago !. Cabin crew were kind, friendly and attentive and service has improved. The meals sadly are of poor quality. Lukewarm, with little in the way of decent portion size (though they provided my Vegetarian Special meal). Bread was stale unfortunately, and the dessert was an odd combination of rice and sugary milk ?? Menus were not provided, which is a shame. The inflight entertainment is ok, and the flight map and routing was good. Unfortunately could not connect to the complimentary WIFI online, as it would not recognise my booking details. In summary, definite improvements noted with Air Mauritius which was welcome. The new Airbus A330neo is a lovely aircraft. Pilot gave timely announcements. Sadly the toilets were not being attended to (perhaps more due to some of the ignorant passengers onboard whom have no empathy for the airline or the crew).The only deficits as mentioned was the meal quality, otherwise it was good. A great shame I could not get a connection back to Manchester (due to the Coronavirus, but good a rental car for a quick 3 hour drive to Manchester Airport from Heathrow to collect my car and get back home). I would travel with Air Mauritius again if need be - most likely from Mauritius to destinations such as India, Malaysia and local regional areas such as Reunion Island, Rodrigues and Seychelles. As for long haul, it’s ok, but 12 hours with Air Mauritius is a bit too much and will revert back to Qatar Airways or Emirates for future travel between Manchester and Mauritius. But in summary, a pleasant experience.
AircraftA330neo
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to London Heathrow
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"uncomfortable seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Mauritius. Travelling with Air Mauritius was a nightmare. Need to upgrade to better planes, uncomfortable seat, my lunch/meal was unsatisfactory. Flight supervisor not professional, no smile, with attitude, the other attendants were all amazing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Mauritius
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"No snacks were offered"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Mauritius to Perth. I was quite appalled by the quality of both the dinner and breakfast options, and the old movies onboard. For dinner, I had tasteless vegetable, chicken rougaille and rice and for breakfast we had a slice of cake. No snacks were offered during the flight.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to Perth
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"All in all a great trip"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Mauritius. Excellent experience, even though we diverted to Madagascar. We were nearly landing in Mauritius when the plane diverted to Madagascar due to a cyclone. Air Mauritius provided shuttles to an Ibis hotel, covered all the buffet meals while we were there (and accommodation). There was a lack of shuttle buses so many people had to wait long periods to reach the hotel. We took a taxi and paid ourselves, which was a great idea. The room and food was arranged without us requesting it, so we're grateful for that. Communication was good in terms of catching a flight the next day to Mauritius. Legroom was good on the flight. The food was inedible, which is my only complaint. Airline staff was lovely, friendly and accommodating. All in all a great trip, they handled the delay well and will definitely consider flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Mauritius
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Very inconsistent service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | We were supposed to fly on 29th December. Due to a cyclone in Mauritius, the flight was first delayed, then eventually cancelled. Air Mauritius did inform us the first time, but the second time, everyone had already arrived at the airport. We were standing in line when we got notified that the flight was delayed, and then cancelled. Then we were informed at 1 am that the flight is scheduled for the 31st December at midday. We finally went through the boarding gates, took a bus to the aeroplane, and there we were - all standing on the 'runway' outside the aeroplane, waiting to board. We were outside for probably 30 minutes, then sat in the plain for another 40 minutes, without any communication about what is going on. When we finally took off, the captain apologised for the delay, but with no reason as to why. We had to ask the air hostesses every time if we needed something to drink and then they looked at us as if we were asking for something that was not allowed. They were unfriendly to us and not hospitable. When the food arrived, they ran out of the chicken option and only had fish left. My husband's fish was undercooked. When we arrived in Mauritius, we were once again stranded on the runway, without any busses, staff to communicate with or any means of getting into the airport. We were standing around for some time until we finally got picked up by one bus. We waited for more than an hour to get our luggage. On the flight back, although we were delayed by an hour, the service was a lot better. Drinks were offered all the time and the staff was friendly. Very inconsistent service. Air Mauritius did not contact us at all about the delay, asking if we would like to extend our stay or offer any discounts because we have now arrived almost 3 days later and missed out on the short time that we had on the island. Car hire was and accommodation was affected. I understand that this was an act of God, but it's all about customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Mauritius
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never recommend this airline"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Mauritius in August 2019. Our flight from Mauritius to Shanghai was scheduled the day of. They didn't bother to let us know until we were already checked out of our hotel. They did not make any effort to reimburse us for our meals even though we had to stay in Mauritius for an extra day. We had to jump through hoops just to get them to pay for our hotel for an extra night. I would never recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Mauritius
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"the worst meals served"

(Mauritius)

Trip Verified | Mauritius to Mumbai return. The food is ok on departure but they served stale buns. The seats are comfortable and flight attendants are nice and helpful. The flight delay by 1 hr we were sitting in the plane with kids, nothing served until 23.30, our flight were supposed to take off at 21.20. Returning from Mumbai was the worst meals served on this flight. Priority for meals should be given for kids first, not those who ordered.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to Mumbai
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"were the cheapest airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Nairobi via Mauritius in June/July 2019. Their check-in baggage allowance of 23kgs is a hit below the belt to say the least. In-flight entertainment needs a serious upgrade as movies and TV shows were outdated. Cabin crew were friendly, but most of them mainly spoke in French. They were the cheapest airline at that time of the year, and they offered 2 free nights at Hennessy Park Hotel during transit, because they have limited flights to Nairobi.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Nairobi via Mauritius
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"It was a very nice flight"

(Réunion)

Trip Verified | Mauritius to Paris. The legroom was huge for an economy seat. The seat was very comfortable and the crew was super nice. The entertainment was great, a lot of movies, series, music. The meal wasn’t that good but it was okay, and the ground crew wasn’t very present for us, and boarding was a little messy. It was a very nice flight.
AircraftA330neo / A350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the flight was pleasant"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Paris to Mauritius. The plane was new, clean and comfortable. The entertainment was good, but insufficient charging ports for electronic devices. The meals (dinner and breakfast) were good and plentiful, much better than our previous flight on Air Canada. The flight crew were friendly and helpful, and the flight which was eleven hours, was pleasant.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Mauritius
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes