Air Malta

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 168 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"shameless overbooking"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My flight was deliberately overbooked and despite having booked my tickets 10 months prior and arriving at the airport 4 hours early I was turned away despite having a ticket. We were persistently told different things by different members of staff. I rang Air Malta customer service who said they would call me back and then literally hung up on me. The Air Malta representative at the airport then refused to speak to us. When I rang the day before I was guaranteed the flight was not overbooked and there was no problem. I have never been subjected to such dreadfully poor customer service. Offers of remedial compensation will not make up for the inconvenience and distress caused by your airline’s shameless overbooking.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Malta
Date FlownJuly 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoiding my refund for over a year"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Shameful airline, avoiding my refund now for over a year. Emailed over 20 times, called over 10 times. Somehow could pay back the cheaper ticket but lost the same bank details for the more expensive ticket. Fly with anyone else.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamburg to Malta
Date FlownNovember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"taxes are not refundable"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Booked our ticket in September 2021. Unfortunately, another leg of the trip was cancelled by Lufthansa (who refunded us in less than 24 hours), which means that I had to cancel my AM flight. No worries though, I made sure that the booking was 'fully refundable' before committing. Applied for a refund on the 3rd of November, 2021 and was told that I should have my money back within 60 working days. Fast forward to the 18th of June, 2022 - I have been refunded half of the original amount paid, with AM quipping that taxes are not refundable, none of this was mentioned when booking and cancelling the flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Brussels
Date FlownDecember 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"demand one straight answer"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | After our flight on the 7th of June 2020 was cancelled due to covid restrictions we had to reschedule our flight to the 8th of August 2021. Unfortunately, at the last minute, Malta changed its Covid regulations, not recognising a covid recovery certificate as viable. Due to this, we had to request a refund, which I completed at the start of August 2020. On the 31st of January 2022 my refund was processed. The company requested I provide them with my banking information so that they could transfer the funds. I already provided them with my banking information the moment I bought a ticket through the airline. Since the 31 st of January I have contacted air Malta call centre more than 15 times. Every employee I have on the telephone seems to have a different excuse for why it had not been transferred to my account yet. In addition, the employees always promise me they will call me back or send me an email. However, they never do. They also claim that they cannot contact any other department within their company via telephone "due to company policy", which makes its easy for them to delay the truth of my refund status every time I call them. I am getting sick and tired of the constant lies and demand one straight answer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownAugust 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we still haven't got our money back"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | In December 2019 we booked our trip to Malta with Air Malta for our family of 6 persons. Without covid-19, we would travel to Malta in May 2020. Unfortunately, Air Malta cancelled our trip, because of the covid-restrictions. They gave us three options. We chose for the option to wait one year and ask for a refund. We did ask for the refund after one year. After several calls and e-mails to Air Malta we still haven't got our money back. I see that more people have this problem with Air Malta. We have the right to get our money back.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownMarch 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"did not receive our money back yet"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | In December 2019/January 2020 we booked our trip to Malta with Air Malta. Without covid-19, we would travel to Malta in June 2020. Unfortunately, Air Malta cancelled our trip, because of the covid-restrictions, which I fully understand. They gave us three options. We chose for the option, to wait one year and ask for a refund. I also understood that they could not immediately pay everyone back, but wanted to spread things, and that we needed to wait one year. But now, we are almost two years further and we did not receive our money back yet. And I think this will never happen anymore because now, they even don’t answer my e-mails anymore. So thank you, for stealing money from a young couple, building on their future. Therefore, I would not recommend Air Malta to my family and friends.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Malta
Date FlownApril 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"was better than many other European airline flights I have been on"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Let me first get over my never-ending grumble about how awful European Airlines' Business Class seating is - an economy seat with the middle seat blocked, and no extra legroom. However, my frustration was eased considerably on my flights with Air Malta. Yes, it was the same layout - 3x3 with the middle seat empty, but with about 2 inches more legroom, and slight recline, which actually did make a difference. And the seating was surprisingly comfortable. The flights both outbound and return were on time, and the cabin crew though disengaging (understandably due to covid) were however polite and professional on the service front. On both flights, a pre-meal drink of fruit juice and prosecco (no champagne) was offered. On the outbound flight a delicious lunch was served, all on one tray, consisting of several small items and a hot main course of Maltese Beef Bragioli (stuffed meat bundles). The presentation was excellent in traditional Maltese ceramicware, known as 'Zingla' bowls. Lunch followed by coffee and drinks from the bar. On the return flight, the typical breakfast of egg, bacon, mushroom, and tomato (a bit boring) was served. Both the mini bread rolls and croissants were warm. Overall, I did enjoy both flights, and was better than many other European airline flights I have been on.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Malta
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"this was a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Overall this was a good experience and all was on time. There was an issue around online check-in as it seems you still need to visit the desk. We did online check-in and were issued with boarding passes and seat allocations. This worked through airport security but was an issue when we tried boarding at the gate and they had to re-check us in. Service from there was good. Maybe not as personable as some airlines but crew often checked we were doing OK and offered top ups. D.O.C prosecco was on offer rather than champagne but there was a fair selection of drinks. The meal was quite impressive with the Maltese tile below the plate. Food was of good quality, the pate was amazing and the bread warm and fluffy. All else was well cooked and impressive for a short haul flight. This was my first time flying with Air Malta, the experience was good.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Malta
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"nobody seems to be able or willing to help"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Worst experience in my life. At the airport I asked what the status was for using my ‘COVID-voucher’. The ticketing desk is unwilling to help, refers to me to yet another e-mail address of the refunds department, who apparently, have no phone and cannot be reached by anybody from the Air Malta ticketing desk. I’ve been calling and mailing for weeks now to use that voucher and nobody seems to be able or willing to help. That combined with the answer: sir, if you do not leave this desk I will call airport security. I will not rest until I get what I’m entitled to.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"priority boarding and seat were lost"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Changed my return flight with Air Malta. This can only be done by phone. But the guy on the phone must have made a mistake, because my booking code was faulty. I could not log in and I was not on the passenger list. Also, my priority boarding and seat were lost. This could not be corrected by phone. Had to be done on the airport. So both on going out and the return flight I had a problem. Air Malta's check in desks and supervisor treated me like it was somehow my fault! No apologies or anything, just 45 minutes of hassle upon check in and no priority available even though I could prove I paid for it. They did put me in the passenger list again, reluctantly. So finally I did go to Malta and back again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no