Air Malta

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 150 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"forced to check in hand luggage"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Malta. I was forced to check in my hand luggage. They said there was no room in the plane, so it had to go in the hold. It was opened and things stolen. The whole reason I only took hand luggage. No compensation, it wasn't their responsibility they said.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"excuses and no compensation"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Valletta. At check in we were told that the aircraft would be small and different to usual Air Malta airbus, and had to give in our hand luggage in which we had breakables and no locks. There was also no food or beverages you can buy on the plane and as 'compensation' they gave us a 4.95 euro voucher to buy something quickly before. The plane was not Air Malta but GetJet - a Lithuanian airline which operates very old aircraft. None of the crew or the captain were Maltese. I am a nervous flyer- we paid extra money to use Air Malta because we trust Air Malta. Had we gone for a cheaper budget airline we would have saved a lot of money and we still would have had a better experience as at least they offer refreshments on the plane. We also had an hour delay before take-off and when we asked the crew what the problem was they replied that they did not know. Two of our luggages were badly damaged and a rain jacket was missing from a side pocket of my luggage which was found opened. What's even worse than this experience is their customer service - a whole month of sending emails and reminders and calling, only to get nowhere except excuses and no compensation at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Valletta
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Complete rip-off"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Malta to Lyon. First time ever flying Air Malta, visiting the beautiful island of Malta for the first time with my wife on our honeymoon. Arrived on easyJet and Purchased one-way tickets to leave thru Air Malta. Paid 2 x 90€ for the flights. Paid 2 x 80€ for 2 pieces of 20kg luggage. 180€ in air fare. 160€ in luggage. Complete rip-off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Lyon
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't fly Air Malta again!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Malta. I bought my flight through an aggregator site, so I wasn't able to pay for bags, so I tried to go on Air Maltas site to pay for bags. When I put in my confirmation code, the system wasn't able to find my info. When I tried to call customer service I wasn't able to speak to anyone and it went to voicemail. I left a Voicemail and never got a call back, so I went on their site and bought a voucher for my flight for €50 each way. When I got to the airport they told me there was no record of me paying for my bag, and even when I showed my voucher they said since it's not in the system they can't honor it. They called Air Malta and Air Malta said the same thing, so I had to pay another €80 for my bag or I wasn't getting on the flight. When I emailed Air Malta they told me I bought the wrong voucher and wouldn't issue a refund. I have no problem paying for bags but at least make it easier to do so and the customer service should work with customers to make sure they have a good experience. I had an awful one this time and won't fly Air Malta again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Malta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"airplane was in acceptable condition"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Malta to Paris CDG. The check-in staff was not welcoming or kind, but did their job. Security screening and boarding process expedite and simple. The airplane was in acceptable condition, short leg room but comfortable seats. The cabin crew, like the check in staff, was professional, but not specially kind. Flight departed exactly on time, and arrived 20 min before schedule. Comfortably managed by flight deck.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Paris CDG
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"nobody explained what’s happening"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Malta to Palermo. Our flight was suppose to leave at 5am on 9th September. We were a whole family, with 3 kids aged between 2-9 years old. At 3:30am we were at the airport, everything looked fine, the gate opened as well. At 4:30am, the flight was delayed to 6:10am. A few minutes after our flight was marked as “More info at 8” at 8 it got marked “more info at 9”, and so on until it stopped “More info at 11”. In the meantime nobody explained what’s happening. Excuses ranged from no staff available, to no plane available, to no coach to take us to the plane. After hours fighting and arguing, the flight got delayed to 10PM. They offered accomodation for all of us, only to spend 2 more hours just to take us there. The issues escalated as we ended up with police and RIU officers around us. Finally at 2pm we arrived at our hotel, slept and showered and at 7pm were picked up again. While waiting in our gate for our flight at 10PM, it was once more delayed to 10:40pm.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Palermo
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall a great flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The inbound flight arrived with roughly an hour delay and boarding was quite awful as we were told to wait in the jetbridge for around 5-10 minutes, then we left with an hour and a half of delay, and the crew wasn't very smiling and welcoming - but you get used to it with Air Malta.I ordered a warm sandwich and it was delicious, they have some movies in the overhead screens, but that's it, and the legroom is above average. Overall a great flight. However, after arrival in Malta airport, our luggage was extremely damaged, and the ticket prices are quite high compared to what you get.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Malta
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"crew very cold, no smile"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We were supposed to be returning back from Malta to Southend, where we took off few days previously. Unfortunately, few weeks before our trip our flight back was cancelled and we had no other alternative but to accept a flight back from Malta to Gatwick. Before we left the UK I wrote an email to customer service and they assured me I could get a cab back reimbursed between Gatwick airport and Southend airport by producing a receipt. Which I did. But unfortunately I had further forms to fill and all my firends had to give permission and sign for me to send their passport details to Air Malta and another too. Why are they making things so complicated ! I am the one who paid for the cab why should my friends have to fill those forms and send them back to Air Malta, is beyond me. I don't think I will ever get reimbursed for that cab back, on top of the inconvenience it has caused me and the time I have sent trying to sort it out! Other small details, the checking online kept crashing : it took me 50 minutes to manage it for myself and my friends. Also onboard we had a mid morning flight arriving after 2pm : we were sitting in the middle of the plane - they ran out of sandwiches. Had to make do with some crisps. On the way out, I wasn't very impressed with the cabin crew, very cold, no smile. Never using that airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Gatwick
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"small and incompetent crew"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was routed onto the Air Malta website by Skyscanner to book simple 40 minute puddle jump from Catania to Malta, and tried booking my flight through there. Never got a confirmation e-mail or anything, which would be strange for most airlines but, as I'm reading the reviews here, is typical for Air Malta. So I called up "Customer Services" long distance and after 40 minutes got a hold of a pretty friendly fellow who looked up my reservation promptly rebooked my flight onto the wrong day. Finally got a confirmation of my flight on e-mail, spotted the mistake, called them back. Got a new guy who went through the whole procedure all over again. Got confirmation e-mail. Wrong flight. Then called again and got some crazy fellow who started screaming at me on the phone and put me on hold for half an hour, and wanted to charge me twice the amount for the flight I had already booked. I demonstrated to this out of control hothead how easy it was to book on another website by actually booking and canceling my flight on Expedia while he waited - that's how desperate he was to prove the point that their website worked fine which he lost. Too complicated. Just took the hydrofoil over as I'd lost faith in this small and incompetent crew. Too bad as the hydrofoil proved to be much more interesting and faster than the entire time I spent on the phone with these guys. I understand from captive clients in Malta that no-one books on their website but goes through third parties or even travel agents to avoid.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCatania to Malta
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid them as much as you can"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Rome to Malta. They have a dysfunctional technical system and website that might do booking errors and even send you confirmation emails with wrong data. The better part comes when you try to deal with their customer service for emergencies; this is when you realize that their call center is only person and that they are not “customer service” but rather “Customer Support” for ticketing as they mentioned. Finally for the cherry on top; even if they do realize they made a mistake they never own up to it but rather tell the customer that it is their fault for trusting the confirmation email they received. So they ask the customer to solve his issues and try to fly somehow either on other airlines or by paying for new tickets with new prices till they asses the case and decide whether a refund for the old booking is required. That is all besides the fact that their airport staff are of course hugely incompetent. I have travelled with more than 23 different airlines but this was by far the worst experience i had with an airline that supposedly charges you regular prices but operates as a low-fare or worse. Try to avoid them as much as you can!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Malta
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no