Air Malta

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 153 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Staff were miserable"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Heathrow to Malta. We were a party of 4 adults and one child. Staff were miserable. Hot food had to be ordered, but no one asked if we wanted anything. When we asked for a toastie it was like being told off for not ordering it. Drinks and food were served with a pay machine shoved in your face. The staff didnt even stop their conversation whilst serving us. When leaving the aeroplane, as always we said thankyou and again they couldnt acknowledge us or stop their conversation. One of our suitcases was ripped, got in a queue behind 5 others who had damaged cases. Our case was beyond repair and needed a new one to fly home with. 1 day of our 10 day holiday was spent getting a taxi to the nearest town, finding a shop that sold cases then taxi back to the hotel.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Malta
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to pay any compensation whatsoever"

(Malta)

Not Verified | Air Malta cancelled the second leg of my ticket. They did not inform me nor the travel agent in time. I was finally re-routed with a 4 hour delay and no compensation whatsoever. It was a horrible flight! This is not the first time Air Malta has ruined my holiday. Last year my luggage arrived 6 days late for a cruise and Air Malta refused to pay any compensation whatsoever. I can only warn anybody not to book this airline!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Malta
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"2 hours flight is the maximum one would want to experience"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Air Malta offers cheap tickets between VIE and Luqa. Both flights were on time. Although the seat configuration of the A320 is similar to their competitors they are still using very old seats that cause the feeling of having absolutely no room at all. I think that is the main problem with Air Malta - not sure if they are about to change that or invest into new planes but I would say a 2 hours flight is the maximum one would want to experience. There is no real service except the sales-trolleys so I was extremly surprised to see 5 cabin crew members on both flights instead of the regular minimum of 4 (certainly not because of the work load). Their business class is a little joke - there's not even a cabin divider so I was happy that I did not pay for a last-minute upgrade. When available in the cabin the crew was friendly but most of the time all five of them were not visible on both sectors. Since their competitors on this route are even worse I would say that KM is the best option our of VIE for flights to Luqa.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVienna to Malta
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"forced to check in hand luggage"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Malta. I was forced to check in my hand luggage. They said there was no room in the plane, so it had to go in the hold. It was opened and things stolen. The whole reason I only took hand luggage. No compensation, it wasn't their responsibility they said.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Malta
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"excuses and no compensation"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Valletta. At check in we were told that the aircraft would be small and different to usual Air Malta airbus, and had to give in our hand luggage in which we had breakables and no locks. There was also no food or beverages you can buy on the plane and as 'compensation' they gave us a 4.95 euro voucher to buy something quickly before. The plane was not Air Malta but GetJet - a Lithuanian airline which operates very old aircraft. None of the crew or the captain were Maltese. I am a nervous flyer- we paid extra money to use Air Malta because we trust Air Malta. Had we gone for a cheaper budget airline we would have saved a lot of money and we still would have had a better experience as at least they offer refreshments on the plane. We also had an hour delay before take-off and when we asked the crew what the problem was they replied that they did not know. Two of our luggages were badly damaged and a rain jacket was missing from a side pocket of my luggage which was found opened. What's even worse than this experience is their customer service - a whole month of sending emails and reminders and calling, only to get nowhere except excuses and no compensation at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Valletta
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Complete rip-off"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Malta to Lyon. First time ever flying Air Malta, visiting the beautiful island of Malta for the first time with my wife on our honeymoon. Arrived on easyJet and Purchased one-way tickets to leave thru Air Malta. Paid 2 x 90€ for the flights. Paid 2 x 80€ for 2 pieces of 20kg luggage. 180€ in air fare. 160€ in luggage. Complete rip-off.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Lyon
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't fly Air Malta again!"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kiev to Malta. I bought my flight through an aggregator site, so I wasn't able to pay for bags, so I tried to go on Air Maltas site to pay for bags. When I put in my confirmation code, the system wasn't able to find my info. When I tried to call customer service I wasn't able to speak to anyone and it went to voicemail. I left a Voicemail and never got a call back, so I went on their site and bought a voucher for my flight for €50 each way. When I got to the airport they told me there was no record of me paying for my bag, and even when I showed my voucher they said since it's not in the system they can't honor it. They called Air Malta and Air Malta said the same thing, so I had to pay another €80 for my bag or I wasn't getting on the flight. When I emailed Air Malta they told me I bought the wrong voucher and wouldn't issue a refund. I have no problem paying for bags but at least make it easier to do so and the customer service should work with customers to make sure they have a good experience. I had an awful one this time and won't fly Air Malta again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKiev to Malta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"airplane was in acceptable condition"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Malta to Paris CDG. The check-in staff was not welcoming or kind, but did their job. Security screening and boarding process expedite and simple. The airplane was in acceptable condition, short leg room but comfortable seats. The cabin crew, like the check in staff, was professional, but not specially kind. Flight departed exactly on time, and arrived 20 min before schedule. Comfortably managed by flight deck.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Paris CDG
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"nobody explained what’s happening"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | Malta to Palermo. Our flight was suppose to leave at 5am on 9th September. We were a whole family, with 3 kids aged between 2-9 years old. At 3:30am we were at the airport, everything looked fine, the gate opened as well. At 4:30am, the flight was delayed to 6:10am. A few minutes after our flight was marked as “More info at 8” at 8 it got marked “more info at 9”, and so on until it stopped “More info at 11”. In the meantime nobody explained what’s happening. Excuses ranged from no staff available, to no plane available, to no coach to take us to the plane. After hours fighting and arguing, the flight got delayed to 10PM. They offered accomodation for all of us, only to spend 2 more hours just to take us there. The issues escalated as we ended up with police and RIU officers around us. Finally at 2pm we arrived at our hotel, slept and showered and at 7pm were picked up again. While waiting in our gate for our flight at 10PM, it was once more delayed to 10:40pm.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Palermo
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall a great flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The inbound flight arrived with roughly an hour delay and boarding was quite awful as we were told to wait in the jetbridge for around 5-10 minutes, then we left with an hour and a half of delay, and the crew wasn't very smiling and welcoming - but you get used to it with Air Malta.I ordered a warm sandwich and it was delicious, they have some movies in the overhead screens, but that's it, and the legroom is above average. Overall a great flight. However, after arrival in Malta airport, our luggage was extremely damaged, and the ticket prices are quite high compared to what you get.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Malta
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes