Air Koryo

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 54 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Cambodia)

Only flew internal flights (3 legs) on AN-24. Drinks (beer or cider) provided on the 2 longer legs. No IFE. FAs spoke reasonable English and were friendly. No safety demonstration and the overhead bins were just overhead shelves. I like the way you can push the empty seats all the way forward (so they lie flat) in a half-empty plane it's a good option for more leg room! There is no choice flying domestic in DPRK but Air Koryo provided good entertainment.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Australia)

Beijing to Pyongyang return. The plane was clean and well presented. Check-in service was impersonal but satisfactory. The food was good. Both flights left and arrived right on time. A shame the airline doesn't fly more routes.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United Kingdom)

Honestly can't fault Air Koryo - their 1-star rating is completely unjustified. I've had worse flights on Malaysia Airlines Turkish Airlines and British Airways. I flew PEK-FNJ on a modern Tupolev-204 and both check-in and boarding were faultless. We departed on time and the cabin crew were courteous. Free food and drinks were served and the safety demonstration was very professional. Once we arrived in Pyongyang immigration took 10 mins and bags were delivered immediately. I'd definitely use them again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United Arab Emirates)

Flew a total 8 sectors between Beijing Pyongyang Chongjin and Sondok onboard IL-62 IL-18 Tu-134 and Tu-204. Flights were all on time. Good English spoken onboard and a full meal service on 1.5 hours between Beijing to Pyongyang. All baggage delivered promptly with no delays. Planes are maintained well.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew were very courteous"

(United Kingdom)

PEK-FNJ-PEK in August 2015 and a seamless experience. Both flights on time. The seat was comfortable with sufficient legroom. The TU-204 aircraft is only a few years old and the interior was clean and tidy. There was a free drinks service including local beer. Their famous Air Koryo burger was a very tasty snack and I would have eaten another. Cabin crew were very courteous. All in all, a very pleasant experience.
AircraftTU-204
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Pyongyang
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Australia)

I flew from Beijing to Moscow on a charter flight last month I was pleasantly surprised with the service and the joy of flying on a TU-154M. I was in business class and found it to be just fine the entertainment was a tad basic but the food and cabin crew were lovely. I would have no hesitation of flying them again.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Clean classic aircraft"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Pyongyang to Vladivostok. Clean classic aircraft with amazing engine sound. Seats were a bit narrow, but okay for a flight of around one hour and ten minutes. Cabin staff was friendly, sandwich and lemonades, water were provided free. Excellent experience.
AircraftIL-62M
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePyongyang to Vladivostok
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Germany)

I was flying from Beijing to Pyongyang with a Tupolev 204-300. The aircraft was in an excellent state and the service was very friendly. The flight departed and arrived in time.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"hot/cold drinks and a hamburger"

(Ghana)

Verified Review | Pyongyang to Beijing with hot/cold drinks and a hamburger which was adequate for length of flight. Very polite and welcoming service. Efficient check in and boarding. In flight entertainment limited to a video of recent North Korean hits. Pyongyang Times and Korea Today available to take on board.
AircraftIL-62M
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePyongyang to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"food and drinks decent enough"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Everything went smooth from Pyongyang to Beijing. Check-in staff were friendly. Seats were comfortable. Inflight entertainment could have been better. Food and drinks decent enough.
AircraftTu-204-100
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePyongyang to Beijing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"aircraft was clean"

(Slovenia)

Beijing to Pyongyang with Air Koryo - kind staff. A passenger had some health issues and at Beijing airport a medical team waited and was informed about the problem. There was Korean cartoons and short movies. Food and drinks served was OK. Flight was were on time. Aircraft was clean.
AircraftAn-148
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePEK to FNJ
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"burger was quite tasty"

(United Arab Emirates)

Beijing to Pyongyang. The Tupolev 204-100 aircraft is as comfortable as many that are flying around the US. The check-in experience was quick at Beijing and Pyongyang. The crew were friendly and smiling during the flight. The "burger" was quite tasty and I got a beer with it. Baggage quickly delivered at both ends.
AircraftTupolev 204-100
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePEK to FNJ
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United Kingdom)

I flew PEK-FNJ at the start of my holiday in the DPRK. I had a bit of trepidation flying on North Korea's state airline but was pleasantly surprised. The Tupolev was smart and modern and the plane was new. We had a reasonable amount of space and the staff were smartly dressed and friendly. The food was a burger with a mystery meat inside which was not very nice and I did not finish it. The air ticket was part of my holiday package so I do not know what it cost.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United States)

I flew Air Koryo as part of an organized tour in and out of DPRK planes were new TU204s. The planes were clean and plenty of overhead luggage space crew was pleasant and efficient food okay for a short flight. The overall experience was better than some airlines with 2 and 3 star ratings.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the aircraft was clean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Pyongyang to Beijing with Air Koryo. The departure and arrival were punctual, staff smiling and friendly, the aircraft, including toilets, was clean and there were magazines and newspapers at the entrance. The food was a chicken burger but the drink selection was rather limited, either water or one type of soft drink. It is maybe not the most luxurious airline but the service for a short-haul flight is better than European or American airlines I have used for the same distance.
AircraftTupolev TU 204-100
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePyongyang to Beijing
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Finland)

PEK-FNJ New TU204 seats relatively comfortable service friendly meal standard economy meal. Pyongyang Times and Korea Today newspapers which keep first-time DPRK visitor busy for the flight.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Canada)

PEK-FNJ return in the newer Tu-204. Check in at PEK is fast and agents seem blind to overweight/over size baggage (not mine but many others). The plane is clean and seats are comfortable with very good pitch. FA's served water apple juice and a North Korean greenish carbonated drink (soda) and the "hamburgers" that were brought in from FNJ. The plane departed on time and arrived into FNJ early. The plane was parked out on a taxiway and all pax were bussed to the terminal because the terminal is under construction. All arrivals and departures were handled in a temporary terminal and can only handle one flight at a time. Fortunately there are only 4 flights a day. All 7 immigration booths were open to handle about a plane load of 150 passengers. Luggage arrived about 20 minutes after we arrived at the terminal. Return FNJ-PEK was on the other Tu-204. Check in is quick and easy. I requested a window seat and got one. Again the terminal can only process one flight at a time. We had to wait in the public area while they handle an earlier flight to Vladivostok. Once the pax for that flight boarded the bus we cleared security and checked in. Check in is quick and again I requested a window seat with no problem. All pax then were bussed to the remote parking site and boarded the plane about 30 minutes before scheduled departure. The flight left 5 minutes early. Inflight experience was similar to the last flight PEK-PNJ. This flight was originally scheduled to use a smaller An-148 but was switched to a larger Tu-204-300. The plane was about 80% full.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Flights on time"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Aircraft clean with immaculately presented and polite cabin attendants. Seat comfortable with great leg room. Flights on time. Inflight entertainment consisted of North Korean military type music. Food was a cold burger with a choice of water, coffee, tea or soft drink.
AircraftTU204-100
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Pyongyang
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a normal standard"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Pyongyang. Comparing an intra-European flight of 2 hours and this flight, practically no differences: clean aircraft, nice stewardesses, punctual, simple food, good and attentive service, a normal standard.
AircraftTU304
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Pyongyang
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

On both legs (Beijing - Pyongyang - Beijing) the plane was a more than decent TU 204 with a reasonable seat pitch. Check in fast and efficient both at Pyongyang and Beijing: check in staff also turned a blind eye of a 2 kgs excess I had on both legs. This airline is an experience in itself: propaganda is on air during the whole flight with DPRK music. Complimentary inflight service with local both soft and alcoholic drinks. Deplaning at Pyongyang fast with rapid baggage delivery: in less than 30 minutes I was on my way (escorted by guides) to the hotel.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Australia)

SHE-FNJ-SHE in Economy class. On the way to Pyongyang it was an old aircraft check in at Shenyang airport was smooth and check in at Korean air counter. Boarding was fine staff on board helpful and friendly. Due to the air conditioning the cabin was full of fog. There was a lot of condensation. No food for 1.5 hours flight to Pyong Yang. Check in at Pyong Yang was easy because there were not many flights at all. Departure and arrival are sharing same hall. One room for everything but very efficient. On the way back to Shenyang was new TU204 very modern aircraft. Food was served (a hamburger). Would recommend for the experience of the old aircraft (one off experience). I would fly again with the new aircraft in the future.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United Kingdom)

Beijing (PEK) to Pyongyang (FNJ) return 22-24 August in economy. PEK to FNJ was on a newish and very clean two class TU-204 with decent seat pitch in economy drop down inflight entertainment and efficient service (economy bulkhead is row 4 first exit row with extra legroom is row 7). Catering consisted of the infamous Air Koryo 'hamburger' containing some kind of mystery meat and a choice of alcoholic or soft drink. Inflight entertainment consisted of clips from classical music performances and the obligatory state propaganda about the DPRK. Although there are headphone sockets none are given out (music plays throughout the cabin). Smooth landing but long taxiing time in Pyongyang. FNJ to PEK was on an older one class TU-204 with slightly less legroom but the service was the same - short propaganda piece inflight music and catering with the dreaded Air Koryo 'hamburger'. FAs are reasonably efficient if a bit robotic with adequate English skills (better than China Eastern for example). Quick check-in procedures in both Beijing and Pyongyang. Requested (and given) a window seat on both flights. No issues with luggage although baggage delivery in Pyongyang is painfully slow (allow 45 minutes or so waiting time). Overall a decent effort. The 1 star classification is unjustified - based on my experiences Air Koryo is somewhere between 2 and 3 stars overall. Catering and safety procedures need to be improved - tray tables were down and cabin baggage blocking access during take off.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service was perfectly passable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I don't know how things were in the past, but there is no current reason for a one star review. Flew from Beijing to Pyongyang. From a comfort perspective, Air Koryo was just like any international economy class seat. Yes, the inflight entertainment for the 2 hour flight was basically North Korean propaganda and magazines from North Korea - but surely if you are a tourist to North Korea that is exactly what you are interested in. In fact, you'd probably prefer that to say Big Bang Theory episode re-runs. The food was average. The service was perfectly passable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePEK to FNJ
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Australia)

FNY-PEK as part of an organised tour. The aircraft used was one of the newer Tupolevs. Good points. Check- in assisted by our 'minder' ensured that all luggage went through with no problems. Seating was better than some other aircrafts flown food - although only a snack was more than adequate for a short journey (and provided free). FA's were efficient and any reasonable needs were complied with. However the IFE consisted of the same propaganda film shown in the airport and must have been on an endless loop. The flight left earlier than my agenda showed although we got there in ample time I was not notified of any change. We were advised that there was no Business Class - there was and for most of us this would have been the preferred option. Overall I believe Air Koryu is a reasonable airline to fly and would not hesitate to use them again.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United Kingdom)

PEK-FNJ on their brand-new Antonov An-148. Courteous and professional cabin crew served a lavish hot meal with several different savoury items in little plastic dishes - fish chicken salad plus a main of chicken curry plus dessert bread roll tea cider or beer. Landed on time and formalities to enter North Korea went very quickly. FNJ-PRK on their Tupolev Tu-204-100 wasn't as smooth boarding started early but a small hitch checking in a passenger with an oversize bag halted check in for over half an hour while staff dithered. This resulted in a departure an hour late which wasn't made up in the air and I missed my connection to the US necessitating a 24h stay in Beijing. Since I was originally only going to be in transit and not enter China Air Koryo's PEK staff had to rebook me before I could enter China which took about an hour. The change fee I incurred on my flight to the US was £300 of which Air Koryo contributed $100. Delays happen but this one was so easily avoided. Will definitely fly Air Koryo again as they are a very interesting airline compared to the competition (Air China) and have a vastly better onboard product but will be prepared for the odd burst of eccentric behaviour such as this.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment N/A
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"The food was acceptable"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Beijing to Pyongyang. The aircraft was clean, cabin crew friendly and the flight on time. You get the Pyongyang Times to read aboard. I flew for the first time this type of a Tupolev and found not much difference to some other aircraft. The food was acceptable. The selections of beverages could be better.
AircraftTU204
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Pyongyang
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United States)

PEK-FNJ on Tu-204. Check in quick and efficient at PEK. Clean new aircraft seating reasonably comfortable and adequate for 2 hour trip. Was served bland meal but no worse than many other economy class meals. Service was efficient but cold drinks offered and free English language DPRK "literature". Entertaining pre-take off video with politics included and inflight video showed happy images of the DPRK. Quite reasonable flight noticeable that all non-Koreans were in the front economy cabin - with the back cabin full of Koreans. Pre- take off and touchdown were marked by the happy playful music of an electronic band eerie but very much part of the DPRK experience. I was pleased to land given the safety reputation.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Norway)

PEK-FNJ-PEK 12-19 August 2014. Departed and arrived on time on both flights good FAs and great seats. Interesting airplane (TU204) and very likely the first and last time I fly a Russian built plane (not a lot operated where I spend most of my time). Flight to North-hard and bumpy landing. Back to Beijing was good - not so many turns and much smoother. Once we arrived in Pyongyang immigration took 10 mins and bags were delivered immediately. I'm glad it all went well.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money N/A
no
6/10

"good old-style music"

(Thailand)

If you compare Air China with Air Koryo, there is a lot to be said for Air Koryo. New uniforms for the stewardesses, friendly faces, good beer, lousy food, clean plane, reasonable seats and good old-style music.
AircraftTupolev Tu-204
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePEK to FNJ
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Germany)

Flew FNJ-PEK last week. Handling on ground smooth and efficient accepting a couple of kgs more weight than allowed without even a question aircraft clean and modern service friendly and with a smile both on the ground and in the air. Ok catering and a good choice of drinks given the short leg of just 1.5 hrs flight time. On time flight. I guess the bad rating comes from the "old" Air Koryo operating but since a while both their equipment and their attitude has changed strongly and it's another carrier now.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Australia)

Flew Beijing-Pyongyang (IL-62M) Pyongyang-Samjiyon return (Tu-134) Pyongyang-Hamhung return (IL-18) Pyongyang-Beijing (Tu-204) as well as 3 other flights on their An-24RV IL-76 and Mi-8 helicopter. I was on an organized aviation tour and we had not one problem on the whole trip. While all but the Tu-204 were ancient Soviet aircraft they were in immaculate condition. Every flight left on time with most arriving ahead of schedule. The crew's attitudes varied from flight to flight with some being better than others. Food was only given out on the international sectors and I must admit was revolting. IFE was also extremely poor and only available on their two Tupolev Tu-204 aircraft. All they showed us was a North Korean concert which was on a loop. While it didn't bother me too much on our 2 hour flight from Pyongyang to Beijing it would have driven me insane if I was flying to some of their other destinations such as Kuala Lumpur or Bangkok.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"crew are efficient, pleasant and helpful"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | It is absolutely unfair to give only one star to this airline: the Tupolev plane is in good condition and perfectly clean, the crew are efficient, pleasant and helpful, and last but not least, it is always on time, you can find many airlines much worse than that, for instance Air China on the same route. The route flown is the no. 1 route of Air Koryo linking DPRK to Beijing, and this entitles you to some patriotic videos on the overhead screen. The buns served are not too bad, and drinks are acceptable for such a small trip. All in all, a good experience.
AircraftTupolev 204
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFNJ to PEK
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Netherlands)

Beijing to Sunan International an experience to fly their IL-62 it was back in time. Food was good and service efficient. As North Koreans travel with lots and lots of baggage it was placed all over the plane. Plane on time in Sunan but waited more than 1 hour for our baggage.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Hong Kong)

A timewarp experience to say the least my flight from Beijing to Pyongyang was without hitch although you'd be hard pressed to find a team less interested in not only the well being but the safety of the passengers. For example when the purser was meant to make the safety announcement she looked around and saw a flight full of foreigners. As a result she actually shrugged rolled her eyes and sat right back down instead of briefing us. That it was a 30 year old Tupolev made that nagging feeling of 'I should probably listen to the safety announcement in case I jinx the flight' all the more pressing. That said the flight was a dream. The plane felt so heavy we barely realised we were touching down. The food was passable but the experience was unforgettable. Our seats tilted forwards rather than backwards. But for a 2 hour flight the sense of wonder far outweighs any actual discomfort. The stewardesses seemed more interested in reapplying thick strata of foundation and redoing their 60s overdone hairstyles than actually serving their passengers but the sight was certainly more entertaining than the sad slightly desperate propaganda movies played throughout the flight. My Air Koryo flight was a tremendous start to my trip.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Air Koryo customer review

(United States)

PEK-FNJ-PEK in business class on new Tu-204. The seats were quite spacious and airplane comfortable. I thought it really odd that they served a huge meal PEK-FNJ but only bread on the return. The flight attendants were decent enough though English skills were lacking. There was access to the Air China lounge at PEK T2. I didn't visit the lounge on the return at FNJ. On the flight PEK-FNJ there were no more seats so a North Korean teenager sat in the flight attendant jump seat for the whole flight. On the way back the security guard sat in the flight attendant jump seat and she sort of sat on the very edge of the same jump seat and held the wall for take off and landing. They also kept the curtains closed to the front of the aircraft which in the event of an evacuation would be a no-no because people couldn't see to get to the exit.
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Germany)

18 May 2013 PEK-FNJ JS 152. 25 May 2013 FNJ-PEK JS 151. Not as bad as expected. Standard level of service modern aircraft (Tu-204) similar to 757 or 320 series not any worse when comparing with some airlines of Europe or Asia. Aircraft and interior were in mint condition on time service no problems at all.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

Air Koryo customer review

Round trip PEK-FNJ. New Tupolev plane. Service inflight entertainment and food excellent. A clean and comfortable plane comfortable seats and professional flight crew.
no
3/10

Air Koryo customer review

PEK-FNJ on old Tupolev 154. Professional if solemn crew but decent flight and lots of food.
no
3/10

Air Koryo customer review

Beijing to Pyongyang and return and could enjoy the new Tupolev planes of Air Koryo. The business class is very small (8 seats but comfortable with good seats). Stewardesses attentive entertainment is miserable and so is the food. Anyhow the Tupolevs bring a huge improvement to the image of Air Koryo.
no
3/10

Air Koryo customer review

I took a round trip of Beijing to Pyongyang - Il-62 and Tu-154 aircraft - and the experience was to say the least memorable. As I was sat quite far back in the Il-62 it was right next to the engines and I'll never forget the feeling of impending dread and doom as we descended down to Sunan Airport. We landed safely. The food was satisfactory with chicken curry beef with rice some melon-esque vegetable bread and dessert. Seats were nice but it was slightly cramped. The luggage space was limited and there was no cover to prevent it from falling off. There were North Korean magazines and a North Korean newspaper (Pyongyang Daily) up for grabs too on a meal cart. The return to Beijing was on the Tu-154 : sitting a few rows behind Business class the flight was very comfortable. We did feel hungrier this time as there was no food service coupled with delays hovering over Beijing due to busy traffic at the Airport.
no
2/10

"food is best left alone"

(China)

I make quite regular trips from Beijing Capital to Pyongyang Sunan, and I cannot reconcile with your latest reviews here!? I belief that safety requires staff to be able to communicate in the international English language, and that is still very poor for Air Koryo. None of us can truly speak for their maintenance, but from local standards in other industry this will be a continued concern for some persons. The food is best left alone which I now do - Air Koryo supply outbound and inbound flights from Pyongyang, and cuisine standards there are certainly not the best. I think many my fellow "foreign" travellers are more interested in flying Tupolev airplanes or checking if N Korea is really people say - best of luck with that. But this is not airline you would choose if there were more operators to choose. Guess that's not going to change in the near times!
AircraftTu-204
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Air Koryo customer review

PEK-FNJ. Interesting to say the least. Outbound was oldest plane I have ever seen in my life (Il-62) and literally falling apart at the seams. Propaganda handed out announcements regarding how this flight was made possible by the dear leader etc. Return was same aircraft type but much better shape. However upon landing in Beijing was quickly sweating due to no air conditioning. Not like you have much of a choice when flying to Pyongyang - snag Air China if you want a safe flight but Air Koryo if you want the experience.
no
2/10

Air Koryo customer review

PEK to FNJ roundtrip on Ilyushin 62--The flight was only 1.5 hours. Aircraft was very old-looking and used. I had to work hard at attaching my safety belt. The fabric on the seats was old and frayed. The crew was very perfunctory in their duties but still polite and civil. The crew was not service oriented nor did it seem inclined to be. Not a bad experience but nothing to standout in my mind.
no
2/10

Air Koryo customer review

(Germany)

Not as lucky as the last writer here. Travelled on an ancient Ilyushin aircraft and whilst happy to reach my destination this is not an airline I would use again (no choice this time on my schedule to Pyongyang). This plane was not maintained well from the surface appearance in the cabin and many seat mechanisms also were broken. Cabin staff had a fixed smile on boarding and whilst they gave out a meal tray they could not speak or understand English and appeared to rather poorly trained. Food was as expected I guess but the quality was well below all Asian airlines I have ever flown and think it was the cheapest meal ever sampled on a plane.
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they don't pay attention to safety"

(China)

There is no Air Koryo Business Lounge benefits if you take its red eye flights. The staff of VIP Lounge was in a hurry to get off work refusing me entering it at Pyongyang Airport, although it's not very late and only two fights would take off at night. Food and beverage of Business Class is as same as Economy Class. The beverage service is so poor that only has tea, coffee, beer, water and fruit soda. Cabin staff Chinese is fluent so communication in that language is smooth. However, they don't pay attention to safety and cabin service detail at all. No one required passengers should power off cellphone, they don't check seat belt and or ask to return your seat backs to the upright position, which is common sense. Cabin staff weren't willing to ask passengers if they need blankets, even if there are blankets in the plane. What made me surprise most is there was no food the whole plane and it only one drink for us! Overall, Business Class of Air Koryo is not worthy of its price. The only real distinction between Air Koryo Business Class and Economy Class are the cabin seats.     ⚑ Air Koryo Ranking
AircraftAN-148
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Pyongyang
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
na

Air Koryo customer review

Beijing to Pyongyang return on an Il-62 in economy. On the outbound sector the most beautiful cabin crew I have ever seen (all female). The meal although huge was of the horrible processed type. 70s style interior with sick bag stating "for your refuses" hmm. Amusing to see the crew hanging onto the galley for dear life on take off and landing! On the return due to the amount of passengers an additional service was laid on (Tu-154) leaving half an hour later. Overall one of the more interesting short haul sectors to fly.
no
na

Air Koryo customer review

Koyro PEK-FNJ Ilyushin IL-62. The inflight product was great however their safety standards are in need of international review - no cabin crew jump seats are provided - they hang on to assist handles in the galley curtains are drawn for take-off and landing exits blocked with service carts no cabin baggage storage checks and the safety demo is a seat belt only. Also pax are assigned exits to use in an emergency depending on where they are seated - and I'm sure the FA's will want to see your boarding pass as you jump down the canvas apron slide!
no
na

Air Koryo customer review

Beijing to Pyongyang on economy - the airplane was an Ilyushin 62 quite roomy business class is separated from economy via the galley which one walks through to get to the back of the plane. Service was excellent the food was ample and more than enough for a one hour flight; fruit a green curry with rice fine-tasting North Korean beer. Air Koryo compares to my mind more than favorably with other short haul sector airlines. I can definitely recommend Air Koryo.
no
na

Air Koryo customer review

PEK-FNJ FNJ-SHE. Beijing to Pyongyang on Tupolev 154 very old plane revolutionary marching music played before take off and before landing. Attentive service meal on 1.5 hour flight - food a little processed but edible. Return to Shenyang on Ilyushin IL-18 - by far the oldest plane have flown on and was very happy to land! Food was a sandwich containing undentified meat but quite tasty. Both flights unique and a great way to start/finish a trip to North Korea.
no
na

Air Koryo customer review

I was fairly disappointed by the service however was amused when both pilots came around to say hello to the dignataries with me presumably leaving the aircraft on autopilot anyway! Made the journey exciting I can tell you.
no
1 to 50 of 54 Reviews