Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 695 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"has to wait in Delhi for 12 hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked my mother's flight from Ranchi to San Francisco via Delhi in Feb for a May travel date. The night before my mother was scheduled to fly from Ranchi we received a call, mind you, no email stating that she will need to wait at the Delhi airport for 12 hours as her outbound flight from Ranchi to New Delhi has been re scheduled to an hour later. Thankfully, we had made the reservation using a 3rd party, since air india customer service did not pick up our call for over 40 minutes and counting. My mother's entire itinerary was moved a day forward and she still has to wait in Delhi for 12 hours to board her SFO flight. No wheelchair has been assigned and the meals have also not been assigned. To add insult to the injury, I paid extra for aisle seats and there is no way for me to get reimbursed for that expense since the payment applied to flights that have been re scheduled now. I faced similar issue with my in laws itinerary with their itinerary being randomly changed. It can not be by chance, that this lame airline messed with 2 random itineraries both in my family.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRanchi to San Francisco via Delhi
Date FlownMay 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The service is very poor"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Bangkok via Delhi. Do they know the word customer service? I booked tickets flying from Copenhagen to Bangkok via Delhi. They changed the scheduled times 3 times. The last time they only allowed me 10 minutes in transit flying from Bangkok to Copenhagen via Delhi. I tried to call 3 different numbers to try and fix the problem, but I wasn't able to get a real person to answer the call. I then tried to write to different mail addresses, again I had to wait almost 2 weeks before I finally got an answer. Their solution was to offer me to fly from Bangkok to Delhi 1 day earlier, but then I had 12 hours in transit in one of the worst airports in Asia. When I wrote back to accept their offer, I had to wait another 2 weeks, and finally the night before I was supposed to fly back, they sent me an updated itinerary. On the first leg of my trip, the entertainment didn't work. The seats are very hard and old. The service is very poor, when I compare to other Star Alliance companies. The tickets were cheap, but I will not fly Air India again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Bangkok via Delhi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"free baggage allowance"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience on this 1 hour flight from Lucknow to Jaipur. The check in was smooth and in the flight I was surprised that they serve sandwiches on such a short flight and making rounds asking passengers for more. The free baggage allowance and seat assignment is another reason represents the full service tag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLucknow to Jaipur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would rate them 0/10"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Chennai via New Delhi. My initial flight from Chicago to New Delhi got delayed couple of hours because of delayed start. I had only couple hours for my connecting flight at New Delhi. Air India agent at Chicago has rebooked my flight from New Delhi to Chennai without asking my concern and the connecting time now I have is 9hrs. I was told at Chicago that I will be provided with a hotel and asked me to talk to Air India people at New Delhi for allotment. When I reached New Delhi, I was told that they do not have any hotel but can provide me with lounge access which has beds to sleep and fresh up. I was provided with a complimentary dinner from Dilli Street restaurant inside the domestic terminal. But when I came to lounge to take rest I was told that there is communication for them to provide lounge access and we had to escalate this to a manager at New Delhi airport who in turn told me that they did not promise me any lounge access or beds. I was told to just stay at boarding gate. This is my first time flying with Air India. When I mentioned the same with Air India agents they said that this always happens with Air India and the service is not that great with Air India. When I spoke with manager and asked them "Shouldn't they be providing accommodation for delays from Air India and is this how you treat passengers?" Her reply was you can interpret that in any way but I cannot help you in any way except for asking you to wait at departure gate. Entertainment system in international flight did not work for my co passenger. I had to switch seats and we had to take turns to watch movies. I would rate them 0/10, but unfortunately I do not have that option.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Chennai via New Delhi
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"two excellent flight experiences"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Another very good flight with Air India. I was able to upgrade myself to Business and have not regretted it. The plane was very new and clean (including toilets throughout the flight), flight attendents and food excellent. The flight left on time and arrived in Melbourne about 10 minutes early. Although the layout is 2-2-2, the lie-flat beds are comfortable and Air India provided a warm blanket, pyjamas and a nice amenity set. The only slight drawback was the check-in procedure (that was not flight-specific but for all AI flights) and that took about 1 hour and 15 minutes of waiting to get four lines of passengers checked in before me, although these were the 'drop-bag' check in counters. Either Air India has upped its game or I was very lucky to have had two excellent flight experiences.
AircraftBoeing 787-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Melbourne
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Overall it was horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Hyderabad to Washington via Delhi. There is so much uncertainty, delays and unscheduled stops. Overall it was horrible. When I booked the ticket it was a 21 hrs flight with 3 hrs halt in Delhi. 4 days before the flight, I got an email of re-routing the plane through Mumbai and it added 7 hrs extra time on the flight. The problems did not stop there. Boarding from Hyderabad was rescheduled to 7:40 PM instead of 7:15 PM which was okay, but after that I received another email saying there is 2 hrs delay and it will be 9:00 PM. I am so frustrated and no one called or sent an apology. This is unreasonable and unethical. There should be accountability, responsibility and explanation. This is not right. They are stressing out travelers and their families.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHyderabad to Washington via Delhi
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"my worst flying experience"

(France)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Paris. I had my worst flying experience so far with this company. I had my retrun flight from Delhi on April 29th 2019. When I arrived at the checking counter and presented my passport, another client with many passports just passed in front of me without any explanation. She was accompanied with what seems to be the manager. The agent ignored me completely and focused only on the new customer with many passports. I asked for explanations many times but the only answer I got is "one second madam". After about 10min, when finished with the "out of nowhere" customer, he handed me back my passport while telling me that my flight is tomorrow. The only explanation I got is that there was a technical problem with the company's server and there were not enough seats. After getting my boarding card for tomorow's flight I went to Air India's agency to demand an accommodation or any other assistance while waiting for my flight the next day. The only answer I've got is that there is nothing I can get on the spot and all I can do is to send a complaint by email to ask for compensation. If possible, avoid Air India at all cost. They will not even treat you as a human being if you don't know a manager or have some kind of a mysterious privilege
AircraftDreamliner
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Paris
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Ground staff is rude"

(India)

Not Verified | I had a flight from Ahmedabad to Najaf via Delhi on April 1 2019. I was travelling with family (2 adults + 2 kids). We all were travelling on the same ticket. I got the boarding passes from Ahmedabad to Delhi in Ahmedabad and was told that the Delhi to Najaf boarding passes will be issued in Delhi. Also, I was told that I will get my luggage in Delhi and will need to check it in again. Fine with that. Reached Delhi, saw that the Najaf flight was scheduled and was showing as scheduled on departure boards as expected. Asked couple of ground staff about the checkin desk etc. I was told to stand in a queue at one of the desk. Stood in the queue for about an hour. Reached the desk and was finally told that the flight has been cancelled. If the flight was cancelled, why was I not informed in Ahmedabad. I was then asked to go to the service desk. The jokers at service desk asked me to go the ticketing desk. So I exited the airport as the ticketing desk was outside the airport. The manager at that desk told me that the only thing which they can do is refund back money of Delhi to Najaf. No compensation. No help in getting a hotel. No help in getting another flight back to Ahmedabad. No nothing. I had no food with me and was not allowed to enter the airport. The manager on the ticketing counter was so rude as if she was working for me. In any case, I have decided not to travel through Air India again in future. And I would suggest other not to travel as well. All the staff members are rude. Ground staff is rude. Air staff is rude. Plus its a government owned airlines. It will stop at any time and you will lose your money and time.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAhmedabad to Najaf via Delhi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"ruined our vacation plans"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | We booked the combination of 2 flights. 1st flight from Jaipur to Delhi 2nd flight from Delhi to Varanasi. The 1st flight with Air India got a delay of more than 1 hour and because of that we lost our connection to Varanasi and there was no other available flight to Varanasi on that day. While we where waiting for the Air India flight in Jaipur we asked several people from your company if we still could catch our 2nd flight and all people we asked told us that it would be possible. So we trust we could make it and unfortunately that was not what happens which ruined our vacation plans to Varanasi, people and make us lost money that we were not considering.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJaipur to Delhi
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Chinese carriers are better"

(India)

Not Verified | Shanghai to New Delhi. Positives: Main course was okay Arrived on time Negatives: Otherwise, the food was rubbish The hollywood section of the entertainment was frozen so didn't work, not like it offered good or new movies anyway. Only one small meal was served on a 7.5 hour flight. Seat was hard and uncomfortable. Interiors were outdated and in tatters even though it was a relatively new plane. Service was unremarkable. They didn't allow my bag to go even 0.5kg over the limit, wanted me to pay 200RMB extra. The cabin was very smelly, nothing felt clean at all. Even Chinese carriers are better than Air India.
AircraftB787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to New Delhi
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no