Air India

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1262 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“Worst airline ever”

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airline ever. The flight was delayed by 2 hours and finally after boarding the flight hasn't left the gate for 2 hours now. The captain just mentioned that it's a technical issue. No food was offered. Also the airline was out of blankets and no inflight entertainment for international flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Mumbai
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"attempting to profit $700 from me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a flight from JFK to Kathmandu for February of 2024 in October 2023, but unfortunately had to cancel the flight within 24 hours and book via another airline. When I cancelled, I received a cancellation confirmation email from Air India confirm the flight was cancelled and I would receive a 100% refund for cancelling in a timely manner. However, two weeks later, I had not received any refund. I reached out to Air India's customer service and they insisted I never cancelled the flight. I was passed between multiple representatives and finally told to create a Case. I did so, including all documentation, and followed up with Air India two more times. The second time, a representative confirmed I would receive a 100% refund within 24 hours. No refund ever came - I followed up multiple times, and never received any further responses other than insisting I cancel myself via their online portal, which would cost me $700 for a bogus cancellation fee. I did nothing wrong in this scenario, and yet Air India is attempting to profit $700 from me, in nothing less than criminal fashion.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Kathmandu via Delhi
Date FlownNovember 2023
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“infotainment system wasn’t working”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The worst experience ever flying Air India return direct flight from Melbourne to Delhi and back from Delhi to Melbourne. It is a 12 hours flight and the infotainment system wasn’t working for both the flights. How unprofessional is that and what a rip off. How are you supposed to pass time without the infotainment system.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Melbourne
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“dirty toilets, tray table and stained seats”

(United States)

Not Verified | I had very high hopes of a turn around for this airline but very disappointing experience to say the least. THE GOOD 1. Check in experience was pleasant throughout my trip 2. I was lucky my flight was on time THE TERRIBLE 1. Aircraft not clean, dirty toilets, tray table and stained seats 2. Entertainment system not working throughout the flight (10 hour flight) 3. Terrible food quality 4. No wifi and the plan interiors look run down 5. Inexperienced, young and rude staff 6. Severely damaged bags 7. No boarding groups, free for all first come first serve 8. Pushing, shoving included in the ticket price.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Delhi via Ahmedabad
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service was terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I didn't have a good experience with Air India (AI173). The seats were uncomfortable, and none of the screens worked so had no entertainment whatsoever in a 15 hours long flight. The customer service was terrible. When you ask for something from staff they won't ever come back to you. I had to go all the way back to get the water I asked for. The staff was very rude. I was given a link to review that didn't even work. Will never ever travel through this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Kathmandu via Delhi
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

“they have done a commendable job”

(United States)

Not Verified | I took a domestic flight from Agartala to Kolkata for my international travel the same day and I was solo travelling with a 15 month old baby. I was slightly worried or had my anticipations for how things will go. But the staff had done a marvellous job up make my trip as comfortable as it can get. Specially “Mr. Avishek Dhar” helped me a lot by managing my luggage to make it through travel till JFK so that I have a comfortable trip with the baby. Also baggage allowance for international flight was allowed in domestic flight according to Air India policy. All in all they have done a commendable job to make me go stress free the whole trip. This gives me reason enough to choose air India every time again in future and also let my friends and family know the best services are provided by Air India. Keep going !!Keep up the good work!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKolkata to New York JFK via Delhi
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"lack the concept of hospitality"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had high hopes for a amazing flight experience, it was anything but that. I was very lucky my flight departed on time. Airport check in process was smooth. Entertainment system was not working. Toilets were very dirty. Food quality was bad. Choice of drinks were terrible. Overall, seats and trays were dirty. Inexperienced and young flight crew, spilled water and not even an apology. They lack the concept of hospitality
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Delhi
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“experience with Air India was challenging”

(United States)

Not Verified | My experience with Air India was challenging due to the itinerary and service encountered during the journey. The flights had extended layovers – a 4-5 hour stopover in Delhi on the way to Hyderabad and an 11-hour stopover in Mumbai on the return journey to New Jersey. This lengthy wait was quite arduous and left a lasting impression. Regarding the in-flight service, it was satisfactory, although the food served from Mumbai to EWR lacked authenticity and didn't meet expectations. At Delhi airport, I was pleasantly surprised by its cleanliness and modern infrastructure. However, there was a noticeable struggle to maintain cleanliness due to some individuals littering, which affected the overall ambiance. On the other hand, Mumbai airport was extremely crowded, and I faced challenges with uncooperative staff. Despite my long-haul flight, 11-hour stopover, and having a sick child with me, both immigration officers and Air India staff were unhelpful and showed reluctance. Their lack of empathy was evident, with one supervisor even making a disparaging comment suggesting I 'try my luck' with immigration. This was a disappointing and rude response. I strongly urge Air India's customer-facing staff to undergo training in empathy and kindness. As a business class passenger, enduring an 11-hour layover with unhelpful staff was a significant inconvenience and a negative experience. I rate my experience a 2 out of 10 specifically due to the unhelpful and rude behavior encountered with Air India staff at Mumbai airport. Such attitudes are unacceptable when dealing with customers who expect better service standards.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew Jersey to Hyderabad via Delhi
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

“crew were quite nice and soothing”

(India)

Trip Verified | I had taken the early morning flight from Bombay as I need to travel here and as I had booked the tickets quite early at a significant discount was hoping to get one of the better seats located in front of the aircraft. To my pleasant surprise I did manage to get an aisle seat located at the front which was good. Boarding was on time and for breakfast I had opted for the veg option which consisted of some stuffed parathas, chole, a croissant along with coffee. The crew were quite nice and soothing and the flight itself landed uneventfully without any issues at its destination.
AircraftA320 Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Kolkata
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"experience was much worse than ever before"

(United States)

Not Verified | My Mother passed away May 21, 2023. I booked an Air India flight to travel May 21, 2023 from SFO to COK to attend her funeral. My family scheduled her funeral accordingly so I could attend the funeral. I was supposed to land in Kerala May 23rd at 0700 a.m. in plenty of time to attend her funeral the same day at 3pm. My mother’s house is just 30 minutes from the airport, and I would have plenty of time to reach home a few hours before the funeral. But unfortunately, I couldn’t attend the funeral because the Air India flight was delayed at SFO for several hours causing me to miss the layover flight to go to Kerala. I explained my emergency to everyone who were responsible, but the Air India staff didn’t care about it and rescheduled a flight that wouldn’t reach Kerala until 7pm causing me to miss my mother’s funeral. It is important in my culture and religious belief to be present for the funeral and events following. How can I ever reconcile this situation in my life in my heart? The traumatic experience I had with flying Air India and missing of my mother’s funeral is still difficult to come to terms with. It took me a long time to even write my experience in this portal. Unfortunately, this wasn’t an isolated example of poor service on this flight. On return to SFO the luggage was delayed 2.5 hours! We were given the reason for the delay as “there was no baggage workers to take the bags off the plain.” Not only was my time wasted but my transportation home was waiting for almost three hours. This is completely unacceptable. I have been a frequent international flyer for years, on many different airlines, and I was expecting a much better experience with Air India since TATA took over. Disappointedly, my experience was much worse than ever before. I was shocked to realize that Air India doesn’t have a suitable plan to deal with emergency situations like this. Air India will not be an airline of consideration for future travels because I don’t trust their reliability getting me to my destination for important life events. I feel like Air India doubled my traumatic experience, my mother passing compounded by not attending the funeral. This is a regret that I must live with for the rest of my life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Cochin
Date FlownMay 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no