Air Europa

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 322 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"never had an airline charge for water"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Seville to Mallorca. The night before our flight, I checked-in online. I tried checking in via the webpage and app but neither seemed to translate to English, so I asked the concierge of the hotel I was staying at to help me check in. I declined to select a seat, pressed “next” and all of a sudden was given the e-ticket. At no point did the app prompt for luggage information (which would have cost 30 euros if checked- in in advance). The next day at the airport, I tried to explain this to the customer service desk, but they told me I had to pay 60 euros – more than the cost of my flight! Further, our flight was delayed by 2 hours: we were supposed to depart at 10:15pm but instead, we only boarded around midnight. Since it was so late at night, the stores were closed and we couldn’t buy snacks. Once we got on the plane, we asked for water, but we were informed that all snacks – including water – were for sale only. I have never had an airline charge for water, especially after such a long delay. This was unhumanitarian. In both situations, it seemed like the airline was capitalizing from situations that they created or that were in their control. I wrote to their customer service department explaining this and they still don’t seem to get the wrong they have done. I have flown with many airlines around the world – just within this Euro-trip, I had flown with 4 or 5 different airlines, of which 3 of them were discount airlines- and have never gotten such poor treatment. I don’t expect much, just some water and the opportunity to check in luggage when I check-in for my flight 24 hours before my flight!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeville to Mallorca
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible service - sneaky charges"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible service - sneaky charges (who doesn’t make it obvious that there’s no baggage included for a long haul flight before you arrive at the airport and then charge £100 to add it for one way?) I gave them plenty of notice for a special meal but not only was 2 days not enough, they didn’t actually offer vegetarian meals. I had to have a vegan meal in order to eat which was the worst (vegan food in general - nice), this was just boiled vegetables and a fruit salad, terrible. Flight entertainment pretty limited.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBogota to Gatwick via Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"leg room was atrocious"

(Slovenia)

Trip Verified | Malaga to Venice via Madrid. The staff's English was extremely poor. One of them even refused to speak to me in English. The leg room was atrocious. The online check-in process is a joke. We checked in two days before the flight, we were two people on the same booking, but were still assigned seats in different rows. I send them a Facebook about this. It took them more than two days to reply. We picked up our bags at Madrid because we had to spend the night there. The bag-drop queue was horrible in the morning. So disappointing. All in all, the ticket was a bargain, but next time I'd rather pay more and fly a different airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMalaga to Venice via Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is unacceptable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Valencia to Seattle via Paris. Do not book a flight through another airline that routes you through Air Europa. I made the mistake of booking a flight through Air France which coshares with other airlines and our flight out of Valencia was through Air Europa to Paris then connecting on to Seattle via Delta. Unfortunately because of the coshare booking, the Air Europa website would not allow us to check-in for our flight online. Being in a foreign country without transportation, we had no easy way of getting to the airport the day before our flight and were unable to check-in for our long 14 hour journey in order to get good seats. I spent 35 minutes on the phone waiting to talk to a customer service agent just to be told the only option is to check in at the airport. This is unacceptable in my opinion, it was not my choice to be routed through this airline and every passenger should have the option of checking in online. We were also unable to reserve seats because of this issue so my husband and I could not sit together on our 2hr+ flight to Paris. Very disappointing end to our honeymoon.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteValencia to Seattle via Paris
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Good option for London"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Madrid to London. Good option for London. 2 * 2 configuration so feels more spacious. Was given silver tier just as reward for using Air Europa on and off for two years
AircraftEmbraer 190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to London
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

" Will not fly them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew round trip Miami-Madrid, same route from last year at this time. This year they charged for luggage. $150 surprise charge on the way out. Food was worse than last year. Headphones were sold, duty free item sales too. The return leg was worse; flight UX097 Madrid to MIA. Purchasing the baggage before hand online was $100, but it did not allow purchase. It did not show the incoming flight purchase so website did not allow return purchase? I had to call it in. The flight tonight was the worse ever. Sat on tarmac for 30 min. Turbulence was announced after the fact. Mint tea only available on first meal not 2nd. Wine the same. I take full responsibility for the distraction this caused as I left my phone in the pocket. I immediately went to the desk after going through customs and they did not find my phone. It's sad because all my pictures are there. Sadly there is a $30 fee to file a claim. They dont hold staff accountable. 800 number is in Spain time and could not help. Will not fly them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Miami
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"quality low-cost, price premium"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Milan to Santa Cruz via Madrid. The quality of a low-cost at the price of a premium flight (EUR 2000). In summary: - the first flight (of four) was delayed by 2 hours. Reportedly, it is everyday so, there were people that already knew that. But other passangers lost the connection in Madrid (we didn't) - very limited legroom, and we had to pay extra EUR 20 each for choosing the seats! Otherwise the system would have split the two of us and randomly placed us next to the toilet - no entertainment screen for a flight of 12 hours (one way). On the return flight there was, but the choice was frankly appalling and you had to pay extra EUR 3 for headsets - food is terrible. Not possible to select menu in advance, so you're left with two choices, but halfway they finished already one dish, so there was no choice at all. A serious problem if you are coeliac or vegetarian etc - food is insuficient. In 12 hours daylight flight we received only a small lunch 30 min after departure (consisting of a small portion of pasta and a dessert) and a mini-breakfast (a mini-sandwich) 30 minutes before landing. So for more than 10 hour they let you starve - they didn't even serve water for 10 hours. Actually you do not see a single flight assistant for 10 hours. Flight assistants (in the rare moment they can be perceived) never smile and treat all passengers quite rudely.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Santa Cruz via Madrid
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"improve a lot of things"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Madrid. I could have flown with KLM for the same money but I decided to fly Air Europa for the first time because a Boeing 787 would be operating the flight. Always nice to fly a wide body aircraft on a short European route! I checked in 40 hours before departure with their IOS app. The app is very basic because there was no way to select a seat. I was asked if I wanted to pay more for a seat with more legroom and after selecting no, I was randomly allocated to a middle seat without the option to choose an isle or window seat. After the boarding pass was loaded in my wallet I was shocked because my name was misspelled. My surname was shown twice, while my name was correctly spelled on the reservation. To avoid being denied boarding I called their service center on Saturday. After waiting for 50 minutes on the line, I explained the problem to an agent and first he tried to let me pay 18 Euros for changing my name. I didn't agree because my name was correctly spelled on the reservation so something must have gone wrong from their side. After a lot of noise from his keyboard he told me it was OK and my name would be correct on the boarding pass. Not a great first impression! The flight itself was on time. At the airport I was able to change my seat to a window seat and add my Flying Blue number because it was mysteriously gone from the booking as well although I entered my frequent flyer number during the booking process. The aircraft (EC-MLT) didn't look in a good shape for a 2 year young aircraft. Filthy carpets, filthy seats and a grey/brown sludge coming from the air vents on the side and overhead panels. The entertainment system however is good and legroom is sufficient. On board everything is for sale just like a low-cost carrier. Not that I expect a meal or a sandwich on a 2 hour flight but a water or coffee would be appreciated. They advertise as a full service SkyTeam airline, but they are just another low-cost carrier. The flight landed on time at Madrid an after a long taxi ride we arrived at terminal 1. The jet-bridge was connected and shortly afterwards the jet-bridge retracted again, because this was an intra EU-flight and terminal 1 is only for non EU-flights. Airstairs arrived and we were bussed to the Schengen arrival area of terminal 2. I had my trolley checked in and waited at belt for the luggage to arrive. Only the priority luggage arrived and after 30 minutes the system said that all luggage was being loaded at the belt, while there were at least 100 passengers waiting for their luggage to arrive. Air Europa staff said 10 minutes, 10 minutes but nothing happened. It seemed they didn't care and there was confusion because suddenly luggage from another flight popped up on the belt and the Amsterdam flight disappeared from the screens. Finally 90 minutes after landing the luggage arrived. I think the luggage was transported to terminal 1 (where the aircraft arrived) instead of terminal 2. 90 minutes waiting for your luggage to arrive is insane. While the flight itself was fairly OK Air Europa needs to improve a lot of things to make it comfortable for passengers to fly with them.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Madrid
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"such cramped seats"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Asuncion to Madrid. I was expecting a rough ride from reading reviews. Although some aspects were confirmed as being bad (ground service was chaotic on the way out, the seats were extremely cramped) others were either tolerable (food) or even good (cabin staff service). I think that the cabin crew are making an effort to improve. On the way out the air-conditioning fell out after boarding and the passengers became restless and then angry, it was the cabin crew that had to take the brunt of their anger. They tried to patch things up by serving iced water. They showed professionalism. I have never encountered such cramped seats before. I don't think it is advisable for tall people to fly with this airline. Although I am not particularly tall, I kept bumping my knees against the seat in front of me and had to deal with the man's anger.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAsuncion to Madrid
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Great staff and great service"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Barcelona to Tel Aviv. Flight was 4:00 hours, check in at El Prat Airport was fast and quick, ground staff was friendly and even when I had overweight on my checked luggage they did like they didnt see and gave me pass without paying. Because the flight departed at 00.35 there wasn't a duty free or a meal service. The landing was good and the staff on board was friendly. Great staff and great service.
AircraftB737-800 (old livery)
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Tel Aviv
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes