Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1158 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they lost my luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Copenhagen via Toronto. I have traveled with Air Canada for first and last time, they lost my luggage. They delivered my bag 2 days after my Arrival. Air Canada destroyed my bag and they charge me extra over $60 for regular bag. Breakfast was disgusting disgusting. The good experience was the team of Flight attendants who were nice people, hard working.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Copenhagen via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I logged a complaint"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Toronto to London via Havana. It is over 3 months since I logged a complaint about my ripped brand new Osprey rucksack protector that was damaged beyond repair. Put in claim immediately, no response, nothing. Put in another, heard nothing. Horrible desk staff. Flight was delayed by 4 hours, rubbish food, dirty toilets, cramped leg room. Using Iberia this year for Havana.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to London via Havana
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid this airline in the future"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Nanaimo to Grand Prarie via Vancouver / Calgary. Terrible customer service and very unclear pet policy. Unclear and poorly formatted website with contradicting info required me to spend an extra $200 and ruined what would have been a happy occasion getting a new pet. Customer service after the incident was very very slow and also rude. Took over 2 months to get a rude email response to my complaint and also phone staff was not sympathetic or helpful. Overall I felt that their customer service policy is “you have to know our arbitrary rules from our unclear website or you have to pay massive flight change fees.” I will avoid this airline in the future when I can. Would only recommend that people who have time to comb through their whole website for each individual page related to a topic fly with them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNanaimo to Grand Prarie via Vancouver / Calgary
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"We had excellent service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Milan to Toronto. We had excellent service on this flight. The cabin crew were courteous and efficient, the food was good, and my seat was comfortable. The in-flight entertainment was good. I watched two movies and 3 TV episodes. The flight was was a few minutes late leaving, but arrived on time.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Poor movie choices"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Vancouver. I had heard bad things about this airline but wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt. Finally when the drinks trolley came by I asked for water, tea and wine. The staff said to me if everyone ordered 3 drinks he’d be here all day. Couldn’t believe his rude comment. Later a fellow passenger complained to be about how unfriendly the staff were so I wasn’t alone on that front. Trying to change a flight at the ticketing service desk in Vancouver was ridiculous. They were on hold for ages and didn’t give a damn about me standing there for half an hour to enquire. And that’s all I was trying to do, enquire. I missed one of my flights and because of that all my other flights were forfeited! Do not fly with these guys. Poor movie choices and wine. I highly don’t recommend them.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"able to do it myself online"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Jose to Calgary via Vancouver. Air Canada has some of the worst customer service of any airline I have flown on. There are times when I have had to change my flights and needed assistance doings so. I usually sit on the phone for 30 minutes because there are "higher than expected call volumes" before I am answered. On two occasions I have been quoted ridiculous amounts to change my flights on the phone only to find out I can do it for a fraction of the price online. The last time they tried to charge me $450 to change my flight and I was able to do it myself for $240 online - the price of the round trip flight was $500 so paying almost double just made no sense. To avoid flying Air Canada I would have to drive an additional 45 minutes to another airport (SFO) to fly Westjet,I think I will do that because dealing with AC is a horrible experience simply said their customer service hasn't gotten any better.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose to Calgary via Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Overall an average experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Frankfurt via Toronto. The day before departure, I wanted to check in at the LAX for the trip. But this was not possible with the machines or the ground staff. According to information only Internet check-in the day before departure would be possible. Boarding in LAX was not very organized. Both aircraft were in good condition and the cabin / toilets clean. The flight from LAX to YTO had to be paid for food. The food to Frankfurt was adequate and the drinks service was sufficient. The entertainment program could have more choice in movies and music. The seats were good, but the seat pitch too low. Overall an average experience.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Frankfurt via Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I recommend Air Canada"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Air Canada, Rome to Toronto 16 September 2018. It was my son's 13th Birthday and I really wants to thanks Pilots for their kindness by trying to celebrate my son birthday on the plane. They really made my son day and he was very happy. I wants to thanks them including the staff for everything it was amazing from all of them. Thank you I recommend Air Canada.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"rerouted to a direct flight"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | I had a conference to attend in Toronto. I was flying United and my itinerary was to fly from Hong Kong via San Francisco and then Chicago to Toronto. My United Airlines flight from Hong Kong was late to take off for over an hour and I only had an hour 25 minutes transit time. When I cleared the customs, rechecked my luggage, and ran to the gate, it was closed. After working through issues and arrival time, I was rerouted to take a direct flight from San Francisco to Toronto on Air Canada. This was my first experience with Air Canada and didn’t know what to expect. I went to the gate 45 minutes before the flight time, no one was even at the counter. The ground crew showed up around 25 minutes and didn’t start boarding until 10 minutes prior to the departure time. I immediately asked a flight attendant to fill my empty water bottle after boarding. I then found out how smart the move was. First, this 5-hour trans-border flight included no drinks (not bottled water and you had to ask before they would give you water) or food. The flight attendants’ main duty was to sell earbuds, snacks, and drinks to each customer. Thus, it took them 3 hours to reach the last row where I was. Another issue was that they sold some kind of hot snack. One of the flight attendants walked by me numerous times loudly to do heating. They did not go to the next row until the ordered food was given to the paying customer. The interior of this plane was worn with rather uncomfortable seats and entertainment programs were ancient with mostly Canadian shows. The flight attendants could not offer any arrival information, not even the general temperature range at that time of the day, and Toronto was their hometown.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"seating comfort was good"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Vancouver. Check in was well organized and done quickly. The flight started on time, was a newer aircraft, clean and in good condition. The seating comfort was good, but the seat distance was a little too narrow. The catering was on average an airline of this price range. Overall, pleasant with some possibilities to improve them, for example, the offer at the on-board entertainment.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Vancouver
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes