Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1325 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"failed to provide meaningful compensation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We booked and paid the higher prices for a direct flight taking 5.5 hours and departing early afternoon from Heathrow to St Johns, Newfoundland. Air Canada later cancelled the flight (for an appropriate reason), rescheduled us onto an indirect flight via Toronto taking over 13 hours and requiring a 4am departure from home with young children, but have failed to provide any meaningful compensation. E-mails to Customer Services (which have been the only way to contact them) have resulted in rude, unprofessional responses. We want to complain not only about compensation, but also about the attitude of Customer Services. However, they don’t seem to publish their Complaints Procedure anywhere. Therefore, nearly 6 weeks ago, I e-mailed to ask what their complaints procedure is if unhappy with the response from Customer Services – they have not responded. I thought Air Canada would be a professional, well-run business with competent, trained, efficient staff. In our experience, nothing could be further from the truth.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to St Johns via Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I had an excellent flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Vancouver. I had an excellent flight with Air Canada last week. The 777-LR with the pods and AC's Signature service is wonderful. The staff were attentive and friendly. I had the beef and the salad, dessert and cheese with a glass of wine were memorable. I flew on their latitude fare (which is full fare economy) and they gave me an up-grade from economy to a seat in the front cabin. My advice is if you fly several times a year fly with the same carrier or alliance because they notice and treat you like gold. One can look for a lower cost fare. However, as a tall guy I really appreciate the service and the big seat and it was very comfy. Also, the IFE was excellent. The AC wide body planes have an excellent number of choices and the front cabin has very large screens. I watched two films and hopefully when I fly AC again I can watch the other half of the third film I was watching. I appreciate that they have 'classic' films because the recent films are not necessarily my first choice.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Staff were lovely"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto Pearson to London Heathrow. This airline was amazing. The 777-300ER wasn’t old. Staff were lovely and my flight was on time. From Toronto Pearson to London Heathrow were the best 8 hours on an airline. I would recommend this airline. It’s one of the best airlines money can buy. Food wasn’t shabby as well. When we arrived at London Heathrow baggage reclaim was excellent. No mix-up or any problems. 5 stars.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto Pearson to London Heathrow
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"remained unhelpful throughout"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We had a connection flight from Victoria to London that stopped in Vancouver, with only a 1h10min stop over which had been arranged by the airline through the Air Canada website - we are experienced flyers and had we been able to we would have booked ourselves on the 16:00h flight rather than the 18:00h flight that we ended up on. The first flight from Victoria was delayed by half an hour which mean that we had even less time to get between the flights and we knew Vancouver airport was rather large. The flight was then delayed again meaning that even though it was supposed to take off at 18:30 actually took off at 20:05, which was 5 mins before our next flight was supposed to take off. There were 16 other people on the same flight with us that were also told that they were going to try and get Vancouver to hold the flight for us as there were already many delays in Vancouver. However, the flight was not held for us and did in fact take off earlier than it was supposed to at 20:05. We missed the flight and expected some compensation as it meant that our entire journey had been delayed by a full day as the only flight they could get us on was for the evening after, and Air Canada did not even provide any hotels for us, despite them being the cause of a 24h delay. As well as this, we had paid money to be put in the preferred seating with extra legroom and when we brought this up while they were booking us on the next flight they were unable to do anything to help us. We understand that other people would have booked the same seats we did and they would be unable to change this, but even after several conversations with the customer "service" for the airline asking if they could possibly upgrade us to premium economy as we had paid for more room which we were now not getting, and been delayed by their incompetence, but they remained unhelpful throughout the whole process. Overall, although the individual employees were trying their best to help us, the airline as a whole was awful at helping us and made the journey very difficult as it was in fact them selling us the tickets with only an hour in between that lead to the problems we face.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVictoria to London via Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"still not on my way home"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. I have a 75k status, been at the airport since 11:00 am, it is now 6:30 and I am still not on my way home to Montreal. Now the 6:00 pm flight will not leave before 7:00 pm, the toilets are not flushing, so the pilot tells us we can go at the airport. The staff at the gate will not let us go.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"This flight was amazing"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Montreal. This flight was amazing. The only problem we had was the long 4 hour delay but that was due to the very poor weather in Chicago. When we boarded everything was clean. We were met by an AMAZING flight attendant, sadly I forgot her name. When we sat down we noticed that there were IFE screens, on a regional jet. The only problem with those was that they were a bit unresponsive. When we got up in the air there was only a drink service but if you wanted you could have purchased a voucher for the buy on board menu or you could have just bought it from the menu. Card only! There was a limited selection due to there being no ovens on the Embraer aircraft but I opted for the chicken noodle soup. Sadly they had run out so I had oatmeal instead. Other than that it was a smooth flight. The bags were on the carousel when we got there and we were gone.
AircraftERJ 175
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Montreal
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no communication at all"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Vancouver . There was a lighting storm that stopped most flight on the day, and it was a public holiday, jazz festival and a Sunday that can't be helped and meant all could not be put up in a motel. The problem was that there was no communication at all to tired and stressed travellers. They were able to organise security to subdue travellers, when official announcements and communications should have been priority. This came 3 hours after, too late and baggage was not delivered until 5 hours after so nobody could really leave anyhow. Cabin staff were short and rude on the eventual flight after anyhow, when many had been sleeping at the airport for 28 hours.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Vancouver
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"complicated to have some sort of a refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Grenada. We had a connecting flight in Toronto, however the plane had technical issues in Montreal and, as consequence, we missed our connecting flight. We lost 2 days at the Sandals resort and it is so complicated to have some sort of a refund from Air Canada, too many document requirements, complex process & hard to reach.
AircraftAC481
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Grenada
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"The plane was old "

(France)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Paris. 4hrs+ flight delay and they didn't apologize at the boarding gate. The plane was old and uncomfortable, with the IFE remote control located in the armrest of my seat . Catering was the worst I had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Paris
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lost our luggage"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | We flew Dubai to Montreal and then Montreal to Porto with Air Canada rouge. Air Canada lost our luggage on both flights ways and couldn't tell when it would be delivered. I fly regularly for business 20-30 times year and have had my luggage lost once in the last five years. There always seem to be problems on AC last time we flew they cancelled a flight and we were stuck in Toronto. Canada deserves better.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Porto
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no