Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2097 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"never travel with Air Canada again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I would like to share with you the lack of service from the flight from Toyko to Toronto. The flight was so cold we needed three blankets and we were still freezing. People were waiting hats and winter coats on board. Also when we arrived at Toronto airport we waited for over an hour and 45 minutes for our luggage to come through. Air Canada have clearly lost your capability of servicing customers and your organizational skills are appalling. Would never travel with Air Canada again. Shocking service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToyko to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"service was bare minimal"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I consider myself a patriotic Canadian, I always tried to fly Air Canada because I wanted to support our national airline even if it costed me few $$$ more than the other choices. I write this with great deal of pain that my flying experience with Air Canada in the recent past has been nothing but disappointing. My most recent trip to England (Jan 18th to 30th) for a family tragedy was the last straw. I will try to avoid flying Air Canada unless there is no other choice! My experience from start to end was very disappointing. The service on the plane was bare minimal. The food was horrible. I went to the back of the plane to use the washroom and spoke to the staff, I mentioned how bad the food was, I said people feed their pets better food than what we had, the buns were like plastic (I noticed most of the buns went to the garbage because people didn't/couldn't eat them, staff was very sympathetic, one of them nodded and said "you should complain because they (AC management) don't listen to us". On my return flight I had a layover in Toronto. They didn't offer anything let alone the garbage food they served on previous flights. They were even trying to sell the lousy earphones that would cost then no more than few pennies. They treated me as a domestic flyer despite they charged me over $1600 for a flight that should cost no more than $1000.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to London via Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"best customer service experience"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Called Air Canada from Frankfurt to change my flight, was not able to do this online. The customer service rep was incredible, she was able to assist me, after I tried to do it myself for over an hour online. This was the best customer service experience I have ever had from any airlines. This representative did what I couldn't do in a couple of minutes. I waited less than 5 minutes on hold, I will recommend Air Canada to my family, friends and everyone else.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Montreal
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"delayed by 3.5 hours"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We are delayed by 3.5 hours, i missed my connection they have no idea what to do and no information to provide. Other airlines departed on time, the weather is good so its just incompetence of the Air Canada.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Frankfurt
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible from start to finish"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible from start to finish. Hours and hours of delays because of “IT issues” hardly any updates. Why is this still happening? Don’t they have backup systems? I already avoid this carrier at all costs, next time I’ll force myself to try West Jet.
AircraftBoeing 737 max
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Calgary
Date FlownFebruary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"steer clear of this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Air Canada left us with a horrendous ending to an otherwise amazing vacation. Flight out of Cancun at 2pm was cancelled last minute due to "maintenance issues". Got rebooked on a "9pm" flight that didn't end up departing until 10:45pm after waiting over an hour on the tarmac. The AC rep at Cancun also booked us on the late 9:45pm flight out of Toronto to Sault Ste. Marie stating "there was no earlier flight". We later found out that was a lie when 2 other friends booked the 2:10pm flight from Toronto to Sault Ste. Marie, after the lady told us there were no other flights. We then arrive in Toronto at 2am thinking there would be AC reps waiting for us to get hotel vouchers and meal vouchers, no one at any AC rep desks until 4am when we finally got hotel and meal vouchers. You only get 20 dollar meal vouchers for the entirety of the next day, when our flight wasn't until 9:45pm. Not to mention, you can only use them at the airport, where a coffee will run you roughly 10 dollars. They also had no idea where we had to go to catch the shuttle to our hotel. Fast forward to the next day, we spend hundreds of dollars on breakfast lunch and dinner, all uncompensated before finally arriving to the airport around 8pm for our 9:45pm flight. We walk into the airport just in time to receive an email from AC stating our flight has been cancelled for a 3rd time now due to "crew shortages" this time. Again, we get our hotel and meal vouchers from thr AC rep. They again tell us we will not be compensated for meals outside of the airport before giving us another measly 20 dollars in terrible overpriced airport food. We are booked on a 11:15am flight tomorrow now, but I'm sceptical it gets out due to AC incompetence. Update: flight was in fact delayed until 2:30pm. I advise anyone wanting a pleasurable flying experience to steer clear of this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Sault Ste. Marie
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Economy travellers are treated like cattle"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Air Canada in flight crew could have shown a bit of human decency but did not. We flew Victoria-Vancouver-Toronto-Miami. Victoria to Vancouver was delayed as was Vancouver to Toronto. This put us into Toronto an hour and a half late, cutting our connecting flight time to Miami in half (significant when you have to go through security and customs). We spoke to two attendants on the flight about this, both said they would check and neither of them got back to us. We were also seated at the back of the plane (Air Canada changed our seats at the last minute) so it took forever to just get off the plane, leaving us to run and scramble through the airport. Our plane was loading as we were at security. If flight attendants were decent (no extra work required) they could have asked passengers who did not have connections to remain seated while those that had tight connections left the plane. This would have given us an extra 15 to 20 minutes, and would have relieved the stress. We did make the plane just before the gates closed but only because passengers at customs let us through. No help from any flight personnel. Economy travellers are treated like cattle
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVictoria to Miami via Vancouver & Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"painful experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Uncomfortable seat layout 10 abreast. Pitch and seat not suitable for long flights. Food is mediocre and cold. Flight delay and poor customer service was adding to painful experience.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Delhi to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

2Extremely rude staff"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Extremely rude staff. The air hostess attending us screamed at my autistic son for making her go aside as she was blocking his screen. He wasn't given any meals/food, we had booked the tickets with a fruit platter for my son. In a journey where as a parent I was super anxious about how my son would do, he was made to feel bad and not taken care of. The air hostess in question leaned over to talk to a passenger sitting beside us blocking my son's TV screen twice. And shouted at him twice when he tried to move her away. We were in the last seats of the middle row. There's aisles on either side, she could've gone to the other side and catered to that passenger or someone else coming down on that side could have assisted him. The staff was obsessed with having our seats upright.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Vancouver
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"only one of our 3 bags arrived"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I am a Super Elite 2 Million Miler with Aeroplan/Air Canada. Waiting for 2 hours only one of our 3 bags arrived. The AC baggage customer service employee at Pearson Terminal 1 confirmed, looking at the tracking system screen, our 2 bags were left in Montreal. According to his instructions I filed a report. Luckily, we waited for additional 15 minutes and the two bags arrived. Speaking to him again, he reconfirmed that the system is showing the bags were still in Montreal. He turned the screen to prove it to me, I could not see any proof that the bags were still in Montreal. Clearly, he did not know how to navigate the tracking system. We were lucky but there must be thousands of unlucky people left the airport. Air Canada and Pearson Airport need to improve the incompetency level of their customer reps to properly handle people's property.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Toronto via Montreal
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no