Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1560 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"declined our request for a full refund"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Air Canada cancelled our flights just two days after our booking citing COVID reasons, saying the route would no longer be flown, and then charged us over $USD800 in non-refundable cancellation fees. They cited the small print in their contract, but this flight was advertised as offering 'new flexibility' for passengers due to the uncertainty of COVID. They should not have sold tickets if they had not confirmed their capacity to fly to Australia and they are making money of passengers stranded in unfortunate circumstances due to the pandemic. Their in-house customer advocate reviewed the claim and declined our request for a full refund.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Sydney via Vancouver
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"by far the worst airline I’ve ever dealt with"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is by far the worst airline I’ve ever dealt with aside from Spirit. Their service at the airport moves at a glacial pace, they do absolutely nothing over the phone. And they don’t provide refunds on flights they’ve canceled! This company is an absolute joke. I’ve spoken to dozens of reps over the past ten months trying to get a refund and they simply don’t care. Please never fly with this horrendous airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Fort Lauderdale via Montreal
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shame on you all"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | A warning to those thinking of purchasing a ticket with Air Canada. They are in the practice of refusing to refund the purchase price even after they choose to cancel the flight. In these Covid days flights are frequently cancelled through lack of passenger capacity. Air Canada would have been aware of this before they posted the flight. They claim that this practice is consistent with other airlines policies. This is totally untrue. They also claim that the cancellation is due to uncontrollable circumstances. This is also totally untrue. Air Canada chose to cancel the flight. In any civilised country an action like this would be considered fraud but apparently not in Canada. Shame on you all.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSacramento to Brisbane
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Most unbelievable customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | We booked a flight through Air Canada for our honeymoon for 10/26. We received a flight change email from Air Canada that they changed our flight to 10/24, our wedding date! So of course we could not make this change. They then emailed us and told us they completely cancelled the flight. We tried calling them multiple times to address this and kept getting a busy tone. Due to time constraints and not missing our honeymoon, we booked through another airline. We finally got a hold of customer support and they said that they can’t refund us because it was a “schedule change”. They cancelled the whole flight! That is not a schedule change that’s a cancellation. We are now almost $2k in the hole because Air Canada robbed us. Most unbelievable customer service I have ever experienced. Customers do not come first in their business model.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to St Lucia
Date FlownOctober 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Seats are so cramped"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The Boeing 787 seat pitch and size of seats are miserable. Seats are so cramped, passengers have no place to stretch. Some of the seats are close to lavatories that passengers are uncomfortably close.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It's disgraceful and unfair"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I have 3 flights booked with Air Canada for Oct 2020. Because of the Pandemic I'm not aloud to leave my country. I had a 5 month trip planned starting 1st Aug that included 21 flights. Air Canada are the only airline not refunding my money back and are profiting from me during the 2020 Pandemic. It's disgraceful and unfair. Singapore Airlines, Finnair, Icelandair, Swiss, United, Hawaiian Air, Alaska Air, Delta and American Airlines are refunding back in full. Air Canada are deciding to profit from their customers instead.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff went beyond and above"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Montreal to Vancouver with Air Canada. I was very pleased by the amount of care I received from the staff. I needed assistance and the staff went beyond and above for caring. The food was good and there was lots of attention to hygiene and cleanliness.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"told the money is coming""

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Had booked a flight for mid April to fly to Ecuador. The flight was from Vancouver to Toronto, Toronto to Quito. COVID happened so they cancelled our flight from Toronto to Quito and back, There was no refund. We cancelled the new flight (we didn't want to go to Toronto for two weeks) and never got our money back. We took a $500 hit for cancelling but were still owed $900- we have a receipt saying this money would be sent to us. This was at the end of March. It is now the end of September. I have multiple times spent the 2+ hours on hold with them only to be told "the money is coming" and being given random numbers like "in 51 business days" or some other such nonsense. I get COVID happened and airlines had a whole bunch of people to reroute and refund and deal with but it has been 6 months. No emails have been answered and no phone calls have led to clear answers.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Quito via Toronto
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"your safety is not their number one priority"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Man beside me refused to wear his mask properly the entire flight. He would simply slip it back on whenever the stewardess was looking. Eventually he fell asleep and I managed to point out that he was not properly wearing it (or even remaining in his own seat) and the stewardess said “he’s sleeping so..” then shrugged and walked away. So I got to spend my flight with a mask-less man invading my space and taking a full open mouth nap. Just know if you fly with Air Canada, your safety is not their number one priority. In my case, the safety of myself and other people on my flight was less important than one mans nap.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"professional, helpful, attentive and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | First long haul flight since Covid impacted travel. Check in smooth at T2 at Heathrow. Service on board to Vancouver was outstanding. The crew were professional, helpful, attentive and friendly throughout the journey. I was very impressed. Food satisfactory given the circumstances. Air Canada's IFE could be better with an improved selection of movies. However, overall, a very pleasant flight with an excellent in-flight crew.
AircraftBoeing 789
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes