Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1347 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"mess of a boarding process"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Toronto. A 2 hour delay for unexplained scheduling issues (no other delayed flights at LHR). Complete mess of a boarding process meant the whole thing turned into a melee. The policy of 2 carry on bags meant that we wasted 20 minutes trying to find space for everyone’s hand luggage. Also an old plane which hadn’t been fully cleaned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inside left a lot to be desired"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Montreal Dublin on one of their new A330. Brand new paint job on the outside but the inside left a lot to be desired. Faulty recline, old seats, wonky tray tables, very dated and tatty cabin. Entertainment screens failed before they started, crew had no idea what to do. Not a big deal as these things happen and crew handed out coupons. A week later the return flight, same plane and the gate attendants tell us the entertainment systems still not working. What are you playing at air Canada? Why are you sending defective aircraft on transatlantic flights, really not on, you had a week to fix it. The 1 in this rating is for the cabin crew who were good. Looking forward to Aer Lingus doing the route next year.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Dublin
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not a sufficient time to transfer"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I have purchased Air Canada ticket at a higher price in order to get a shorter connection time. Instead I got delayed 1 hr from Milan to Toronto and 2.5 hrs from Toronto to Montreal. When I asked the customer service why I could not make an earlier flight from Toronto to Montreal I was told that 1.5 hrs was not a sufficient time to transfer the baggage. It looks like 1.5 hrs min was enough for baggage transfer when I paid for my initial itinerary, at least thats how it was presented.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Montreal via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Seats are too tight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Shanghai. Seat comfort terrible. Air Canada used to be average airline, but now aircraft configuration is such that passenger comfort is least thought. Seats are too tight and so few washrooms with long lines on ultra long flights like mine.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Shanghai
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Both flights delayed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Both flights from Toronto to Montreal and Montreal to Toronto delayed. First from Toronto to Montreal because the captain was late then because some of the crew was late. Waited 2h in the plane without moving. Coming back from Montreal to toronto delayed again, over an hour waiting in the plane. Captain makes an announcement apologizing for delay but they are still waiting for passengers supposed to be on the plane. I guess next time I can sleep in and Air Canada will park the plane and wait for me. Never flew aircanada and not had an issue to I would definitely suggest staying away if possible. Book another airline and save yourself the pain.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"No vegetarian option"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Toronto to London. Boeing 787, so ok aircraft. Premium economy so bigger seats. Onboard staff don’t know how to smile. Only small glass of orange juice or water in premium econ (compared to virgin where you get Prosecco). Food really odd. A breakfast omelette with fried potatoes and creme freche - on a 7hr flight 9am to 9pm Toronto to LHR. Followed by a turkey and cheese rol. No vegetarian option without booking ahead, and a breakfast followed by snack on a 7hr flight? No lunch. Like being on a bus, but costing nearly £2k a seat.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight was not one of the best"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Rome. Excellent Check In process in dedicated area, our Oversize luggage was handled efficiently. Maple Leaf Lounge lacked European Newspapers and was tired. Efficient Boarding process, no welcome drinks or attention prior to take off (The Purser told be she had a late arriving Commissary and was struggling to Board 450 passengers hence no service in Business Class prior to take off). Comfortable Lie Flat Seats, Good selection of Wine & Champagne. Dinner was acceptable but poorly presented. Excellent Breakfast with a freshly cooked Omelette. Service was courteous and efficient but lacked charm and it really seemed that the Cabin Crew were just going through the motions. On Time departure and arrival. We will continue to fly Air Canada Business Class but this flight was not one of the best we have experienced.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Rome
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"how I can get my bag back?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | La Guardia to Dublin via Toronto. When I checked in to my flight, I already knew I would miss my connection with them so I asked them to make sure they do not lose my bags (the flight was delayed due to weather). When I reached my gate, I asked the agent to check my connection and she said I came too late to her because there are no more flights to my final destination the next two days. I have been delayed and missed my connection on many airlines but none were as disorganized as this. The first leg of my flight was New York to Toronto. In Toronto, my bag was already lost. I reached there 2 am and the lady did not file a claim when I told her my bag was lost and rather told me to return the next day to find it.The next day I returned to find it 4 hours before my next flight and they still did not find it in time for the bag to make my connection. They told me to file a claim when I reached my final destination but AC was very dismissive here at my final destination of Izmir in Turkey and did not allow me to file a claim with them. When I tried to file a claim online, I needed a incident report number, but since no one ever filed a claim for me, I never received an incident number. On the phone they were very unhelpful and rude. First of all I had to wait 21 minutes to even get an agent and then they told me to just file a "lost and found item". Now I am trying to understand how I can get my bag back?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLa Guardia to Dublin via Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flight was changed to 12.35"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to San Francisco. This is the worst flight I have had. There was a long overlay in Toronto, my flight was 8.00 that was changed to 12.35. They did not put me on an earlier flight, and put me in a middle seat. Never again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Staff were very friendly"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flew Air Canada from YVR to NRT and back to YVR and flight was pretty good. Seatback pockets were average. Price was pretty good. They had boarding zones assigned into like 6 lines which were nice. Seat was not very comfortable, would prefer leather seats with more cushioning. Staff were very friendly and spoke multiple languages. IFE had an ok selection. Food was good at times. Recline was average.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Tokyo
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes