Air Canada

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1569 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"My experience with Air Canada has been horrible"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My experience with Air Canada has been horrible. Very rude customer representatives on the phone and at the airport. On the flights is a different story. This morning of April 2021, I called to get information on how to change my flights due to the changes Covid has made. I was told to contact the airline Qatar Airways to make the changes. Furthermore he said, “the changes made is not Air Canada’s problem, it’s your problem”. I will never again fly with Air Canada. WestJet, I’d rather take their service for my future travels.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Montreal
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refuses to refund my money"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Upon arrival at Heathrow I requested an upgrade to business class as I had tripped on the escalator and hurt my back. I paid for my upgrade. In the business class cabin there was NO social distancing even though it was only one third full. The passengers behind me refused to wear their masks. The flight attendant requested they do so, at least 3 times. The electronics at my seat were not in working order and I kept drawing this to the attention of the attendant. I paid a lot of money for this upgrade and Air Canada refuses to refund my money. The people that refused to wear their masks were moved to a 2nd business class cabin and they had it all to themselves. They wouldn't even move me to a working seat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Edmonton via Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Air Canada is truly a despicable airline"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Air Canada is truly a despicable airline. The reviews of the Customer Support Team are incredibly low, and unfortunately, I have to agree with them. The support members are rude with an attitude, and the entire experience with the airline has been putrid from start to finish. Due to multiple flight cancellations, it has taken Air Canada over 3 months to process flight refunds (which are still not received) despite being offered the refund ticket months ago. And with the support team, there are a myriad of excuses as to why the funds have not been processed. No one on the support team is capable of assisting, response time is despicable, and even the booking process is a mess. I am uncertain if this is the case for international flights only, but the experience has been extremely disappointing.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNetherlands to USA
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"every time I fly with Air Canada I land irate"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Just spending my time waiting on my (yet again) delayed Air Canada flight writing negative reviews. Don’t have a lot of choice of airlines where I’m from and every time I fly with Air Canada I land irate. Cancelled flights, delayed flights (all the time), lost luggage, delayed luggage. Had it all. I also don’t understand how every other entity in Canada is mandated to “stay 6 feet apart” except flights. How does that make any sense?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSmithers to Edmonton
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad service and customer support"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very bad service and customer support. They changed my flight once, so I changed it, understanding that there is a pandemic going on which is causing flights to change. Then they changed it again into one that is not convenient at all. Customer service was not helpful at all in solving the issue. The wait to reach a representative is bad enough, let alone the fact that they don't offer any practical or reasonable support. I do not recommend that anyone books with Air Canada.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Beirut
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"please refund me my money"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I am messaging with an ardent request to refund my money 2660 cnd as the Air Canada flights (back and forth) that I had booked for 22 Jan 2021 have been cancelled (Attaching the itinerary as well). After waiting for 1 full hour to get through the call, I got an agent and I could not even complete my statement and the call was disconnected. It is not my fault that the flights are cancelled. Why should a Customer bear the expense? I am a single working woman working hard to sustain a decent life. Covid times have severely affected us as well and every penny matters! I request you to please refund me my money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Mumbai
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"The main problem crops up with the IFE in the old cabin"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | From a service perspective, Air Canada is great, both on ground, on telephone and in the air. Their staff are polite, professional, practical and very accommodating. The pilots are well trained and provide sufficient information to the passengers along the route. The aircrafts are properly maintained and cabins are sufficiently clean. The main problem crops up with the IFE in the old cabin. I have flown Air Canada domestic, transcontinental and international multiple times to be able to say that the IFEs on their old and new cabins are chalk and cheese. On the most recent flight(s), I flew on the old cabin(s). The IFEs in the old cabins are slow, unresponsive and have a rather strange choice of music and programs. The headphones don't always work in old cabins either, but given that the most interesting thing on the old IFE could be the flight map, you might not need them at all. The IFEs in new cabins, however, are far better. It's overall a good and safe full-service airline with a good network and value for money. Due to COVID restrictions, we did not have a full meal service, but pretzels and biscuits were provided.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto via Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"this airline is absolutely shameful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We returned from St-Lucia yesterday night, December 19th. It’s been 3 years now since we have flown with Air Canada. Due to our last few very bad experiences, we tried to avoid them at all costs. This time, we had no other choice than Air Canada to fly to Saint-Lucia. Three days before our return to Ottawa via Toronto, we notice on the AC application that our return flight will be delayed 2 hours, thus missing our connection in Toronto for Ottawa. They changed our flight to another time that was still impossible to catch. Arriving in Toronto late on Saturday night, the Air Canada employee was immediately firm about telling us they are not providing a hotel and meal voucher as they pretend it is "out of their control", they seem to have all the freedom to lie about what’s in or out of their control. To be honest we saw it coming, having experienced their completely non-existent customer relations in the past and after talking with some of their former employees (management level), it was our fear that we would face their abuse once more. Any other airline in the world would have treated this issue fairly (from experience). I am sure all Canadians would love to feel pride in our main airline and feel appreciated and be respected by a company that carries our flag around the globe. In reality, this airline is absolutely shameful, it abuses its customers every single day, and by the looks of it none of their employees are proud to represent this company either. As a Canadian that travelled around the world, the lack of service, appreciation and fairness from Air Canada is very obvious when comparing to any other airline. We strongly recommend to everyone to seek any other options possible prior to resulting in flying with this miserable company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt Lucia to Ottawa via Toronto
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Air Canada came through"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My wife and I booked flights through Flight Network but chose Air Canada as the carrier. We had to cancel our flight due to COVID-19 back in June. We went back and forth with Flight Network to try and get our Air Canada travel voucher (we were owed). Even Air Canada customer relations told us we had to go through the 3rd party provider to collect the voucher that Air Canada had already sent to them. We made a final plea with Air Canada to please cancel the travel voucher they sent to Flight Network and send directly to us. Air Canada came through. The customer service agent was very understanding and really came through for us. No more booking through Flight Network. We will book directly through Air Canada now. It really comes down to how Air Canada treated us. And although they've sometimes received bad reviews in the past, we really think they're turning a corner. Post COVID-19 when everyone in the world wants to travel like crazy, look out for Air Canada. Their planes will be full with customer service like we received.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to St John's
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"declined our request for a full refund"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Air Canada cancelled our flights just two days after our booking citing COVID reasons, saying the route would no longer be flown, and then charged us over $USD800 in non-refundable cancellation fees. They cited the small print in their contract, but this flight was advertised as offering 'new flexibility' for passengers due to the uncertainty of COVID. They should not have sold tickets if they had not confirmed their capacity to fly to Australia and they are making money of passengers stranded in unfortunate circumstances due to the pandemic. Their in-house customer advocate reviewed the claim and declined our request for a full refund.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Sydney via Vancouver
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no