Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 229 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Service was excellent"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Almaty - Saint-Petersburg is my favourite route. Flight was on time. Aircraft was brand new A320NEO (2 months old). Service was excellent, food was very good, choice of beverages perfect. Now airline using eco packs for amenity kits and it looks so good! And also inside of the kit they even put neck pillow, because flight was longer than 5 hours.
AircraftA320 NEO
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to St. Petersburg
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"return journey equally enjoyable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow - Nur Sultan - Almaty in December 2019, returning 8 days later. Check in at LHR was efficient and fast track through security excellent. However the flight was then delayed at the last minute and there was hardly any seating at the gate where we had to wait, no announcements/updates and few staff who seemed a little disorganised and unhelpful. Several passengers including myself had connecting flights which was making people quite agitated as they were unsure what would happen if they missed their connections. Once aboard, the cabin layout and space were excellent. Staff were efficient, polite and you were made to feel very welcome. The food choices were great, very tasty and portion sizes just right. There was a huge choice of drink options too. The seat converted easily to a very low level lay flat bed and I managed to sleep for a few hours. Upon arrival in Nur Sultan I was met off the flight (pre-arranged) and taken through security with a quick stop in the lounge to freshen up before joining my connecting flight on to Almaty. The lady who met me was excellent and couldn’t have been more helpful. It was a huge help to me as I was travelling alone and there was very limited time to pass from international to domestic and then find my onward flight to Almaty. She spoke perfect English and made the transfer very smooth for me. The flight to ALA was good. Plenty of leg room and great adjustments on the seat, especially for leg support, but perhaps more tricky to climb out of from a window seat than the previous flight layout. The breakfast menu was excellent as you could choose anything from a pastry and coffee right up to a full cooked breakfast. The cabin crew served this efficiently in a limited time frame. My return journey was equally enjoyable. On the Nur Sultan to LHR leg there were about 40% seats not occupied in business class which made the experience even more special as the staff had more time to ensure you were comfortable. It was nice to be able to enjoy this leg during daylight hours as I’d slept a chunk of the outward version of this leg! All in all I really enjoyed my first experience with Air Astana. The only disappointment was the initial delays at Heathrow, the area we had to wait and how these were handled by the ground staff there.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAlmaty to London via Nur Sultan
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"trip was quite difficult"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | I want to say thank you to the Nomad Club team. Recently I had a trip from Almaty to Dubai, this trip was quite difficult, we went through all sorts of delays to weather and other reasons, flight changes, etc. Once this trip was over I described everything to Air Astana Customer care, and I was very satisfied with their response and actions.
AircraftE190-E2
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Dubai
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very pleasant crew"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Bishkek. Have flown this route number of times in past year sometimes via TSE, the older version of Embraer used which in my view is more comfortable than the new model in their fleet. All Sectors on schedule, very pleasant crew.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAlmaty to Bishkek
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

11th February 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Mr. Richards, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review with us. Our fleet is modern and young; it consists of Boeing – 767, 757, Airbus 320 Neo, Airbus 321 Neo, Embraer E90 and Embraer E190-E2. The last one has improved aerodynamics, redesigned fuselage, wings and new engines. Embraer E190-E2 is fitted with 108 seats in a four abreast / two-by-two layout which provides more legroom and additional luggage storage space. Thank you for highlighting our crew. They are always recognized for being friendly, supportive and helpful. We will be pleased to welcome you on another Air Astana flight very soon. Regards, Zhanna

7/10

"inattentive and rude"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Atyrau to Almaty. Cabin crew was inattentive and rude. Twice requested for a blanket, didn’t get it till the end. That time I thought maybe it’s not included for economy seats. But last time had to take business class ticket, yet no blanket was given and service was still not the welcoming. Aircraft was clean and comfortable. Food quality was satisfying. Also my friend’s luggage was lost on his flight. Asked me to help him to negotiate with lost and found team since he doesn’t speak Russian. The operator was non-helping. When i asked her the approximate time his luggage will be delivered she told me that it will be there after one hour. We waited 3 hours at hotel lobby at night, and didn’t get it. The lost and found was already out of service. I guess company like this can afford to make the lost and found service 24/7. So the luggage was delivered only at noon, even though airplane that brought it from Amsterdam arrived at night.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtyrau to Almaty
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

23rd January 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Saule Sadykova, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your thoughts with us. We’re very sorry to learn about your flight and post flight experiences. Blankets are always available for the passengers despite the class of travel or destination. We completely understand that there are no small things and every detail during the flight is important for seamless and comfortable journey. Usually our staff makes every effort to support passengers with any requests and make them feel at home. We’d like to apologize that this didn’t happen during your flights and you were left disappointed with the level of service provided to you. Thank you for highlighting cleanliness of the aircraft and the meal service. Separately we’d like to apologize for the late delivery of your friend’s baggage and followed misunderstanding with the agents about the delivery time. We can imagine it was quite stressful and unpleasant situation. If you could advise us your friend’s flight details (ticket number, flight date, name/surname) to [email protected], we will be able to come back to you with the solution. We appreciate any feedback received and use them to improve our level of the service across all touchpoints. We do hope you will give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Nargiz

1/10

"Awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Nur-Sultan in August 2019. Awful experience. They used to be good but not anymore. I often fly from London to Almaty using Air Astana. The check in company ASC at Heathrow Terminal 4 used by Air Astana are rude and not friendly at all.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Nur-Sultan
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

8th January 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear B Melizova, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your thoughts. It’s very disappointing to receive this review and learn about your encounter with us. We note from your ratings that not only the check-in experience, but the other criteria are not up to our usual standards. We’d really appreciate if you could share with us your story and flight details via [email protected] For us every passenger’s feedback matters and helps us to improve the level of service. We’re looking forward to hear from you. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

1/10

"customer service is horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tashkent to London via Almaty / Astana. Air Astana customer service is horrendous, especially if you’re stranded at an airport trying to get home. On my 7-hour flight, there was no inflight entertainment or USB charging points. I’m on the verge of tears midway through a journey from Tashkent to London via Almaty and Astana. My flight from Astana to London has been delayed, which happens. It’s not the first time and won’t be the last. Air Astana’s handling of the delay has bee utterly abysmal and frankly negligent. I was at the airport 1.5 hours before my flight was due to leave as I was transferring from Almaty. I had no notification or text message, I just found out when I wanted to make my way to the gate! I tried to find some staff, no one was around to ask questions. I went to the business lounge, who rang someone and said “they’re coming”. A whole 40 mins later, no one came. I went to one of the gates to ask staff there. They asked if I was on the Dubai flight. When I said no, they walked off. At this point I didn’t know whether my flight was cancelled, delayed or what time it was due to London. I eventually found a desk in the corner of the terminal and they advised me to go upstairs to get some food and water. They had no vegetarian options at all and tiny cups of water. I’ve been travelling for 20 hours at this point and still don’t know when I’m going to get home ... but at least I have a drop of water to keep me going.. Do yourself a favour and book any other airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTashkent to London via Almaty / Astana
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

11th November 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear R Nair, Thank you for taking your time and sharing this review. We are extremely disappointed to learn about your recent encounter with us. If you let us to comment your review. We’d like to apologize for the delay of your flight Nur-Sultan – London for over 2hrs and all the stress it caused you. We completely understand that any delay affects negatively travel experience especially if there are several flights in itinerary. Usually our ground service staff provides maximum support and assistance to the passengers from cancelled or delayed flight. We’re terrible sorry that it was not the case and you were left disappointed and felt lost without any information at your hand. Our flight delay notification is sent to contact details (email/mobile number) specified in the booking automatically. We do express our hope that your flight experiences were a bit better than pre-flight one in the airport and you have safely reached home. In regards to the in-flight Entertainment system, its configuration may be different depending on aircraft type.It's either individual screens or overhead screens with the latest movies and TV shows. We also offer as well streaming system (KCTV Stream), which is accessible on passenger’s personal device via wireless network onboard. To activate it passenger needs to download KCTV app before the flight on any personal device and enjoy the latest content during the flight. Once again, we'd like to apologize for all the inconvenience and stress you experienced. Let’s assure you that it was never our intention. A separate email from our Customer Experience team was sent to you. We hope to hear from you and continue our conversation. Yours sincerely, Zarina

9/10

"Seats were comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Novosibirsk to Almaty via Nur Sultan. Check in was easy and straight forward. There were no problems with being 1kg overweight. Both flights left and landed on time. Cabin crew were polite and spoke good English and managed to serve a snack on each flight, despite them being short flights. Seats were comfortable. I had paid extra for the Nur Sultan - Almaty leg and quite spacious.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNovosibirsk to Almaty via Nur Sultan
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best experiences"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Almaty. I credit Air Astana for their superior service on a recent flight from KUL to ALA last Tuesday 1st October. The service received on the flight was second to none, where the team leader provided a first class service during the the 7 hour flight. The quality of the main meal, wine and snack was excellent. I know Air Astana has received some criticism in the past but it was one of the best experiences I have had when flying. They made you feel welcome and special from start to finish.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Almaty
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

2nd March 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Graham Calder, We’re pleased to learn about your recent flight experience on the route Kuala Lumpur-Almaty. Our staff makes every effort to assist passengers during the journey both on the ground and on board. Thank you for recognizing this. We appreciate you highlighting our food and beverages on board. They are carefully selected depending on the route, time of travel, flight durations and other factors. Our aim is to exceed passengers expectations and provide excellence service from the heart of Eurasia. It will be a pleasure to greet you again on board of our aircraft. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

1/10

"billed R1800 for my hand luggage bag"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Almaty. Airline billed me R1800 for my hand luggage bag, while was within its weight limit. According to their statement hand luggage and a laptop bag is 2 items, hence the reason I needed to check in my hand luggage, knowing only on bag is allowed. They than ask me to pay via my debit card. We were a team and I was asked to pay, my team was allowed to take hand luggage and a laptop bag. I demand my money to be refunded.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

2nd October 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Choumise Watkins, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are very sorry to learn that recent encounter with us was disappointing to you. This summer we have introduced new baggage policy moving from weight to piece. Now passengers in Economy class can carry 1 or 2 pcs of baggage up to 23kg depending on the fare level (Basic, Classic and Plus) or no baggage at all. Baggage allowance for Business class passengers is 2 pcs up to 32kg. Nevertheless our carry-on baggage allowance hasn’t changed at all. For Economy class passengers we provide as allowance 1 carry-on baggage up to 8 kg (56 x 45 x 25 cm) plus accessory (briefcase, camera, handbag, laptop or other) Anything extra this limit has to accepted only as checked baggage and if it’s above your checked baggage allowance on your ticket then it is chargeable. We also offer to passengers to pre-pay checked baggage allowance 24 hours before departure with 30% discount via call center, web site and any travel agency. We’d like to investigate this situation further and provide you maximum support and assistance. Could you please contact us via [email protected] and we will continue our conversation. Thank you for understanding. Yours sincerely, Zarina