Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 219 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"only 1 kg of checked luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Moscow to Shymkent via Almaty. For foreign passengers buying Air Astana's tickets through travel websites such as Expedia or Priceline, beware of tactics in getting people to buy their low priced tickets, only to find out the 'Economy Class with one piece of checked luggage included' actually means only 1 kg of checked luggage, which is less than the weight of most suitcases! On their website, the baggage policy for Economy class is stated as 20 kilos, with no mention of a 1 kilo policy. We flew from Moscow to Shymkent and even though our confirmation page clearly stated we are economy passengers with 1 piece of luggage included, we were forced to pay for excess luggage because their system showed we are not allowed checked luggage. We complained to the supervisor in charge of Air Astana check in desk at Moscow SVO airport but she was rude and unhelpful. She was basically saying 'I don't care what your Confirmation Page says. We go by our system so either pay or don't fly!' We have since complained to Air Astana and asked for a refund, but no reply yet. Beware!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Shymkent via Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"express my deep gratitude"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Almaty. I would like to express my deep gratitude to the crew of KC936 at the 25th August for their good work in conditions of prolonged turbulence. The stewardesses, in spite of the shaking, carried out the service, organize food and drinks. The food was excellent. Service was on top! Thanks to the pilots and the entire crew for the excellent flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Almaty
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

19th September 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Vishal Rakyan, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review with us. We’re very sorry to learn about your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for flights delay KC854 Astana-Almaty (2hrs), KC963 Almaty-Delhi (30min) and all the inconvenience you faced. We completely understand that any delay can be stressful and our team is making every effort to avoid even smallest disruption to passengers' travel plans. Usually we offer an option to re-book to an alternative flights if seats available. In your case, if we understand correctly, you were re-booked to the earlier flight (KC956 Astana-Almaty) to catch your connecting flight from Almaty to Delhi. We’re very sorry about your seat re-allocation. Most likely it was changed due re-booking and limited seat choice on the earlier flight. Otherwise we try to keep passengers preferences for seat reservation. We’re also keeping in mind our passengers’ individual needs and offering over 20 special meals like Vegetarian Vegan, Gluten-Free, Kosher, Muslim meals and etc. It can be ordered 24 hours before the departure via call center or ticketing office. We checked and unfortunately you haven’t requested any special meal for the selected flights. We assume that during your first flight from Delhi to Almaty you were provided with one of the options available for this particular flight. We recommend all passengers to pre-order special meal depending on the their taste, preferences or dietary requirements. More information can be found at our website under section Experience Air Astana/Special Services. The described situation with the crew member sounds disappointing. Our crew is well-known for being hospitable, professional and nothing but supportive to our passengers. We hope you understand that this particular case doesn’t represent out brand values and goals. Please accept our apologies for this. We’d like to hear more about your experience via [email protected] and we will glad to welcome you on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely, Zarina

2/10

"not at all apologetic for the delay"

(India)

Trip Verified | Astana to Delhi via Almaty with Air Astana. Horrible experience, airlines delayed the flight but gave no updates or indications when the flight would go. They changed the pre blocked seats, shifted me from aisle to window, this is despite having a boarding card for aisle seat. When I complained to cabin crew, they were arrogant and told me you did not pay to block so we can move you if we want. They were not at all apologetic for the delay, on top of that they did not serve a proper meal saying that I had not made a special request, which is strange as I had not made a special request while coming into to Almaty as well, but the they served the meal. The passenger in the seat in front also had an issue and the stewardess was like you can write if you want it doesn’t matter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAstana to Delhi via Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"it was a total chaos"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Baku to Nur-Sultan was supposed to depart at 11.50pm on 23 June 2019. However, due to mechanical problems, the flight got cancelled and we were rebooked on the flight at 11.50pm on 24 June 2019. Therefore, we were delayed to depart Baku for 24 full hours. The Air Astana ground staff in Baku Airport made absolutely no formal announcement in English about the process. So we did not know what to do and what to expect. Many passengers just formed a circle around the ground staff and it was a total chaos. The whole process took almost 5 hours from flight cancellation until we got our bags and left the airport. All passengers were very exhausted and we were not provided any food or drink during that time. We were provided food or drink for the first time around 6 hours after flight cancellation. It seems to me that Air Astana could not professionally handle flight delay/cancellation situations. I also requested Air Astana to provide us delay compensation according to the "Air Astana Rules on Long Delay Cancellation and Denied Boarding" policies on 28 June 2019. I have not heard from Air Astana since then.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaku to Bangkok via Nur-Sultan
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

24th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear S Vitavasiri, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us. We are very disappointed with your assessment. It is never our intention to disappoint customers and disrupt their plans. We'd like to apologise for flight delay of KC114 Baku-Nur-Sultan on 23June 2019. Our Ground Service team makes every effort in handling delays or cancellation in timely and organized manner providing hotels accommodation, transfer, soft drinks and snacks. We’re very sorry if we felt short on this and didn’t meet expectations. Our Customer Experience team has carefully considered your case and replied to your claim. Please accept our apologies in delay that occurred. We hope you can give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"personnel are professional and attentive"

(Kazakhstan)

Not Verified | Almaty to Moscow. Every time I used Air Astana I was always satisfied by the service provided and attention to every detail. Aircrafts are ideally clean, quality of food is good, personnel are professional and attentive. But this flight positively surprised me. New aircraft, updated stylish kits for passengers and especially children, comfortable chairs. I felt myself, like I was in business class! In general, compared with other airlines, Air Astana differs by its client orientation in every element of service: dessert choice, music, responding to requests, desire to do all that is possible to solve client issues, cleanness inside aircrafts - which is very important (blankets, toilets, etc).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Moscow
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

17th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Olga, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're always pleased to receive feedbacks from our loyal passengers, who can evaluate airline development and growth through the years. It’s very encouraging to read that your flight experience on Almaty – Moscow route in Economy Class was up to the standards. Indeed our newly arrived aircraft Airbus 321neo that operated this flight is equipped with individual entertainment systems and seats that make the flight experience comfortable and enjoyable in Economy and Business class. We're glad to offer on all international flights special amenity kits designed in collaboration with well-known brands and with special attention to the details. On flights from Kazakhstan children kits are provided aiming to entertain our most valuable passengers. We will continue to make every effort to improve our service both on board and on ground to provide better flight experience to every passenger. Yours sincerely, Zarina

1/10

"they were extremely unprofessional"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Dushanbe with Air Astana. Forced me off my flight during check in (plane was not cancelled, it was overbooked) even though I booked 3 months in advance. Staff said this happens everyday and could provide no help. They suggested I contact their office who has not responded to my questions. Staff even asked me to please complain because this happens so often and they are clearly sick of it. To avoid this problem for others, I would recommend not using this airline as they were extremely unprofessional and no one could answer my questions. I travel every month to many countries across Asia and have never been treated so poorly. Later, Air Astana replied to my compliant with A) Wrong flight/date, and B) blamed it on a travel agent (I didn't use a travel agent) and C) stated an email notification was sent when it was not. The fact that they will lie to invalidate my legitimate complaints shows the type of business they do.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Dushanbe
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

4th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear William Reedy, Thank you for sharing your review. We're very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We’d like to apologize for your flight cancellation KC131 Almaty-Dushanbe on 30June. The described situation sounds very far from our intention to provide excellent service both on the ground and in the air. We make every effort to avoid any disruptions to the passengers' travel plans. When they actually happen, we provide maximum support and assistance with alternative flight arrangements, hotel accommodations or other requests. Based on available information, our team provided comments regarding your unfortunate experience. Our intention was never to compromise your review or to blame the third party. Please accept sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. We have sent to you separate email from customer experience team ([email protected]), we really hope to hear from you and continue our conversation. Thank you for flagging this issue to us, we value every passenger’s feedback and need those to improve our service. We really hope that you can give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"would go out of my way to fly Air Astana again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never been so positively shocked by any other airline in my life! I've heard nothing but good things about Air Astana, but my experience even exceeded those high expectations. On the 2hr45m trip from Baku to Almaty, there was a full amenity kit provided (that which rivals those on transatlantic routes) ear plugs, pen, toothbrush and toothpaste, lotion, comb, eye mask, and socks! Small candies were provided before takeoff on both flights. The meal provided from Baku to Almaty was average (it's always a risk coming from a city which isn't a hub.) On the Almaty-Bishkek leg, water was provided before takeoff, as it's a less than 1 hour-long flight. The cabin crew were so pleasant and well spoken in Kazakh, Russian, and English, and the pilots gave beautifully detailed and eloquent messages in all three languages as well. Seats were average, but I didn't mind with all of the other services provided. Important - Row 14 on the 757-200 aircraft has no window, so please take caution when reserving seats. All in all, I would go out of my way to fly Air Astana again!
AircraftA320 & Boeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaku to Bishkek via Almaty
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

6th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear P Richards, Thank you for great feedback and the high rating. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your flights with us. Our team strives to build the inflight experience that comfortable, enjoyable and hospitable. Your compliments are highly appreciated for crew, meal service and amenity kits. We also can’t wait to greet you again on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely Nargiz

10/10

"friendly and professional"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Nur Sultan to Shymkent. Extremely nice experience. Food and drinks served on short flight all included in the ticket price. Cabin crew very friendly and professional.
AircraftE90
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNur Sultan to Shymkent
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

17th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear B Marelicki, Thank you for sharing your review. We're delighted that you had such a great flight experience with us. Our service on board surely depends on the flight duration, arrival/departure time, destination and other factors, but we try to offer maximum comfort to all passengers by providing meal service, amenity kits, broad entertaiment system and of course assistance from our crew on board. We're looking forward to greet you again on board of Air Astana flight. Yours sincerly, Zhanna

6/10

"review Cabin crew training"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Istanbul. Please review your Cabin crew training program. KC 911 on 17/06 delayed for 30 mins. Actually there were at least 3 flights, which were delayed around of this time. Ground staff of Air Astana did excellent work. Even though it was crowded, they handle situation professionally. 5 star to Ground staff. (Except of one thing. Lady on the check-in counter told me, that there is no delay of the flight, when actually it was a delay for 30 mins. I mean, not a big deal and most probably delay wasn't announced to staff at that moment. But fact is fact, I would rather spend 30 mins with my beloved ones, instead of crowded "transit" area (if you can call Almaty airport hall a transit area)). Real bad experience starting with announcement of the flight. Not sure, whose fault it is, airport or airline, but should be sorted. You can not hear, what staff announced, it is simply hard to understand about which flight she was talking about. Sound had a really bad quality. Waiting area was crowded and too loud. Almaty airport is very old and small. It should be replaced a long time ago. The reason, why I'm leaving this comment are cabin crew. Seriously guys, you need to review your politics and training program. As a constant customer, you can see how quality is going down. If Supervisors and business class crew are still on track, your junior/economy staff is losing a mark. Crew was rude. They commanded to do procedures, before take off and when customers (who may never flew before) looked for explanation, the answers were very sharp and again rude. Crew responded with single words, time to time mixing it with Russian, and it was obvious that it was hard for them to express themselves in single sentence. They gave an option of two meals, as usual chicken and beef. However during serving, crew literally served us without asking anything. When someone noticed, that they would prefer beef, crew responded, that she would prefer beef as well, but what is left is left. Same crew complained, that she has to wait for customers when all of them visit restroom, and because of what she is not able to serve the rest, who were keep calling her.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Istanbul
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

26th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear E Galunov, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review. It’s very disappointing to read about your latest experience with us. If you allow, we’d like to comment on your review and advise that flight KC911 on 17th of June was delayed for 18 min according to the available information. We completely understand that any delay is never pleasant or welcomed and as airline we make every effort to avoid it. Unfortunately, sometimes they can be inevitable due to the operational and safety requirements. Thank you for your compliments of excellent job performed by our Ground Service team in Almaty International Airport. The airport itself is not operated by the airline and used by all other carriers performing flights from/to Almaty. We’re well aware that certain facilities can be improved and we hope that it’s in the road map of airport. Usually our crew is well known for being hospitable and supportive. They also take training programmes regularly for service and safety. We’d like to apologize if we felt short on this during your last flights. Your comments towards the crew will be definitely addressed to improve the service and performance. If you’d like to share more information on this, could you please contact us via [email protected] ? With the hope that you will grant us another chance to experience true award-winning service on board of Air Astana. Yours sincerely, Nadima

9/10

"a 4 Star experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Nur Sultan to Frankfurt. In every sense a 4 Star experience. As a frequent traveller it was my first 4 flights from FRA to ALA via TSE and back and I was impressed. An excellent product with attention to detail. The presentation and quality of the inflight catering in my opinion is slightly above a 4 star carrier. Great airline,great product.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNur Sultan to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

26th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear J Barlsen, Thank you for your positive review and high rating. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your flights with us. Our product and service provided on board including our food variety, entertainment system and amenity kits, all are created with the thoughts of passengers’ comfort and care. We will be glad to greet you again on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely, Nadima