Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 215 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"personnel are professional and attentive"

(Kazakhstan)

Not Verified | Almaty to Moscow. Every time I used Air Astana I was always satisfied by the service provided and attention to every detail. Aircrafts are ideally clean, quality of food is good, personnel are professional and attentive. But this flight positively surprised me. New aircraft, updated stylish kits for passengers and especially children, comfortable chairs. I felt myself, like I was in business class! In general, compared with other airlines, Air Astana differs by its client orientation in every element of service: dessert choice, music, responding to requests, desire to do all that is possible to solve client issues, cleanness inside aircrafts - which is very important (blankets, toilets, etc).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Moscow
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

17th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Olga, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're always pleased to receive feedbacks from our loyal passengers, who can evaluate airline development and growth through the years. It’s very encouraging to read that your flight experience on Almaty – Moscow route in Economy Class was up to the standards. Indeed our newly arrived aircraft Airbus 321neo that operated this flight is equipped with individual entertainment systems and seats that make the flight experience comfortable and enjoyable in Economy and Business class. We're glad to offer on all international flights special amenity kits designed in collaboration with well-known brands and with special attention to the details. On flights from Kazakhstan children kits are provided aiming to entertain our most valuable passengers. We will continue to make every effort to improve our service both on board and on ground to provide better flight experience to every passenger. Yours sincerely, Zarina

1/10

"they were extremely unprofessional"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Dushanbe with Air Astana. Forced me off my flight during check in (plane was not cancelled, it was overbooked) even though I booked 3 months in advance. Staff said this happens everyday and could provide no help. They suggested I contact their office who has not responded to my questions. Staff even asked me to please complain because this happens so often and they are clearly sick of it. To avoid this problem for others, I would recommend not using this airline as they were extremely unprofessional and no one could answer my questions. I travel every month to many countries across Asia and have never been treated so poorly. Later, Air Astana replied to my compliant with A) Wrong flight/date, and B) blamed it on a travel agent (I didn't use a travel agent) and C) stated an email notification was sent when it was not. The fact that they will lie to invalidate my legitimate complaints shows the type of business they do.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Dushanbe
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

4th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear William Reedy, Thank you for sharing your review. We're very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We’d like to apologize for your flight cancellation KC131 Almaty-Dushanbe on 30June. The described situation sounds very far from our intention to provide excellent service both on the ground and in the air. We make every effort to avoid any disruptions to the passengers' travel plans. When they actually happen, we provide maximum support and assistance with alternative flight arrangements, hotel accommodations or other requests. Based on available information, our team provided comments regarding your unfortunate experience. Our intention was never to compromise your review or to blame the third party. Please accept sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. We have sent to you separate email from customer experience team ([email protected]), we really hope to hear from you and continue our conversation. Thank you for flagging this issue to us, we value every passenger’s feedback and need those to improve our service. We really hope that you can give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"would go out of my way to fly Air Astana again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never been so positively shocked by any other airline in my life! I've heard nothing but good things about Air Astana, but my experience even exceeded those high expectations. On the 2hr45m trip from Baku to Almaty, there was a full amenity kit provided (that which rivals those on transatlantic routes) ear plugs, pen, toothbrush and toothpaste, lotion, comb, eye mask, and socks! Small candies were provided before takeoff on both flights. The meal provided from Baku to Almaty was average (it's always a risk coming from a city which isn't a hub.) On the Almaty-Bishkek leg, water was provided before takeoff, as it's a less than 1 hour-long flight. The cabin crew were so pleasant and well spoken in Kazakh, Russian, and English, and the pilots gave beautifully detailed and eloquent messages in all three languages as well. Seats were average, but I didn't mind with all of the other services provided. Important - Row 14 on the 757-200 aircraft has no window, so please take caution when reserving seats. All in all, I would go out of my way to fly Air Astana again!
AircraftA320 & Boeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaku to Bishkek via Almaty
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

6th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear P Richards, Thank you for great feedback and the high rating. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your flights with us. Our team strives to build the inflight experience that comfortable, enjoyable and hospitable. Your compliments are highly appreciated for crew, meal service and amenity kits. We also can’t wait to greet you again on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely Nargiz

10/10

"friendly and professional"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Nur Sultan to Shymkent. Extremely nice experience. Food and drinks served on short flight all included in the ticket price. Cabin crew very friendly and professional.
AircraftE90
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNur Sultan to Shymkent
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

17th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear B Marelicki, Thank you for sharing your review. We're delighted that you had such a great flight experience with us. Our service on board surely depends on the flight duration, arrival/departure time, destination and other factors, but we try to offer maximum comfort to all passengers by providing meal service, amenity kits, broad entertaiment system and of course assistance from our crew on board. We're looking forward to greet you again on board of Air Astana flight. Yours sincerly, Zhanna

6/10

"review Cabin crew training"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Istanbul. Please review your Cabin crew training program. KC 911 on 17/06 delayed for 30 mins. Actually there were at least 3 flights, which were delayed around of this time. Ground staff of Air Astana did excellent work. Even though it was crowded, they handle situation professionally. 5 star to Ground staff. (Except of one thing. Lady on the check-in counter told me, that there is no delay of the flight, when actually it was a delay for 30 mins. I mean, not a big deal and most probably delay wasn't announced to staff at that moment. But fact is fact, I would rather spend 30 mins with my beloved ones, instead of crowded "transit" area (if you can call Almaty airport hall a transit area)). Real bad experience starting with announcement of the flight. Not sure, whose fault it is, airport or airline, but should be sorted. You can not hear, what staff announced, it is simply hard to understand about which flight she was talking about. Sound had a really bad quality. Waiting area was crowded and too loud. Almaty airport is very old and small. It should be replaced a long time ago. The reason, why I'm leaving this comment are cabin crew. Seriously guys, you need to review your politics and training program. As a constant customer, you can see how quality is going down. If Supervisors and business class crew are still on track, your junior/economy staff is losing a mark. Crew was rude. They commanded to do procedures, before take off and when customers (who may never flew before) looked for explanation, the answers were very sharp and again rude. Crew responded with single words, time to time mixing it with Russian, and it was obvious that it was hard for them to express themselves in single sentence. They gave an option of two meals, as usual chicken and beef. However during serving, crew literally served us without asking anything. When someone noticed, that they would prefer beef, crew responded, that she would prefer beef as well, but what is left is left. Same crew complained, that she has to wait for customers when all of them visit restroom, and because of what she is not able to serve the rest, who were keep calling her.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Istanbul
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

26th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear E Galunov, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review. It’s very disappointing to read about your latest experience with us. If you allow, we’d like to comment on your review and advise that flight KC911 on 17th of June was delayed for 18 min according to the available information. We completely understand that any delay is never pleasant or welcomed and as airline we make every effort to avoid it. Unfortunately, sometimes they can be inevitable due to the operational and safety requirements. Thank you for your compliments of excellent job performed by our Ground Service team in Almaty International Airport. The airport itself is not operated by the airline and used by all other carriers performing flights from/to Almaty. We’re well aware that certain facilities can be improved and we hope that it’s in the road map of airport. Usually our crew is well known for being hospitable and supportive. They also take training programmes regularly for service and safety. We’d like to apologize if we felt short on this during your last flights. Your comments towards the crew will be definitely addressed to improve the service and performance. If you’d like to share more information on this, could you please contact us via [email protected] ? With the hope that you will grant us another chance to experience true award-winning service on board of Air Astana. Yours sincerely, Nadima

9/10

"a 4 Star experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Nur Sultan to Frankfurt. In every sense a 4 Star experience. As a frequent traveller it was my first 4 flights from FRA to ALA via TSE and back and I was impressed. An excellent product with attention to detail. The presentation and quality of the inflight catering in my opinion is slightly above a 4 star carrier. Great airline,great product.
AircraftBoeing 767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNur Sultan to Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

26th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear J Barlsen, Thank you for your positive review and high rating. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your flights with us. Our product and service provided on board including our food variety, entertainment system and amenity kits, all are created with the thoughts of passengers’ comfort and care. We will be glad to greet you again on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely, Nadima

1/10

"children's food came as baby food"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Istanbul via Almaty. I was uneasy throughout the flight. Passengers have been on board for over an hour and have not left. In the meantime, the announcement came 40 minutes later. The children's food came out as baby food. I asked stewardess the adult meals because child could not eat, but she declined firmly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Istanbul via Almaty
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

7th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear G Hin, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Having read your on-board experience, we understand that this was not the service that we are aiming to provide. Our crew usually makes every effort to assist passengers with their requests. We’d like to apologize that we felt short on this during your flight. If you let us to comment on few points in your review. The flight delay can be indeed unpleasant and stressful for all passengers, but especially for passengers with children. We’re sorry that you felt uncomfortable and uneasy before and during the flight. In this particular case, the delay of Seoul - Almaty was due to the airport reason and the announcement was made immediately after receiving information. It’s disappointing to read that the meal provided to your child wasn’t up to your taste and preference. We offer over 20 types of special meal to our passengers considering their tastes, requirements and age. The request for this type of meal is usually accepted minimum 24 hours prior to a departure time, so we have enough time to prepare special meal according to your preference. Request can be done online at our website, via call center or your travel agent. On this particular flight we can’t identify child meal requests to be made. To enable us to investigate what has happened, could please send us your booking details to [email protected], and our team will get in touch with you. Once again we’re sorry for this situation. Air Astana always tries to provide extra attention to the passengers with children during the flight. We offer baby-packs and baby bassinets for the infants. Also on flights departing from Kazakhstan we provide travel kits that have been created especially for the little passengers. We hope you will get in touch with us, so we could learn more about your situation. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

10/10

"Food was perfect"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | St-Petersburg to Istanbul via Almaty. A21 neo for both ways with Recaro seats,comfortable for 5-6 hours flight. Food was perfect, especially from Istanbul. Good choice of beverages. On the way to Istanbul I over slept my dinner, but I got it after and the coffee was hot. In Istanbul new airport I had to visit Air Astana kiosk and I got qualified assistance there! Other flights Saint-Petersburg to Almaty, from Almaty to Astana and back to Saint-Petersburg were very good.
AircraftA321neo / A320.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt-Petersburg to Istanbul via Almaty
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

5th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear German Zamorin, Thank you for review and high rating. We are very pleased to hear that your transit flight from Saint Petersburg to Istanbul via Almaty was comfortable and enjoyable. Next time if you’re flying via Almaty or Astana, we hope you will have time to spend some time in the city. We have Stopover Holidays programme with special deals for our transit passengers. More information can be found at our website. As airline we’re making every effort to deliver the best service and product from the heart of Eurasia. Thank you for recognizing our efforts and sharing your thoughts with us. We hope to see you very soon. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

3/10

"never come back with blanket"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My flight from Tbilisi to Bangkok via Almaty on 15-16APR. I wasn't sure what’s wrong with inflight service for sector ALA to BKK. My friend and I have asked crew for blanket as it’s very cool and we were unable to adjust the temperature due to the type the aircraft which didn’t have the option on the compartment. She was providing blanket to passengers and when she reached my row/seat, she said that “Women/Children first” Her tone/sound eye contact was very rude. Is this policy to provide blanket to women and children first? I don’t mind if I get after, but I didn’t get it. I doubt that Women/children paid more expensive ticket? However, I also paid for the ticket. I was’t taking free flight. We were waiting until she provided blanket to all women and children. However, she has never come back with blanket to us. My woman friend sit behind has offered her blanket to me as I was so cool and freezing. Have sent this comment to the airline and they apologized but not response or clarify from what I doubt/questions. In addition, drink has’t served even water in the morning before landing at Bangkok. I asked for water, but the crew said I am busy with collecting blanket and never come back to us.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTbilisi to Bangkok via Almaty
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

6th June 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Pasin Buaon, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We’re sorry to learn that our service on board wasn’t up to the standards. It is the exact opposite of what we pride ourselves on. Our crew is usually recognized for being hospitable and friendly. We’d like to apologies if we felt short on this during your flight. If you let us to comment on some questions raised in your review. Indeed we provide a bit different service on Almaty – Bangkok and Bangkok – Almaty flights. The difference is driven by time of departure/arrival of the flights and our aspiration to deliver better service based on passengers’ feedback. Almaty – Bangkok is a night flight and usually passengers prefer to have a rest and sleep after the dinner, so crew offer meal service combined with beverage and soft drinks. That gives passengers more time for sleep and rest. Anytime during the flight passengers can call individually the crew for any assistance. Flight Bangkok – Almaty is served with a bar, then with hot meals and later with another round of hot/cold drinks. During the flight, drinks are served from the trays. Soft drinks are carried from the cart before descending. We’d be delighted to welcome you on board once again. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"Excellent economy flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Excellent economy flight with Air Astana. This was an afternoon flight and they provide an amenity cit for all passengers and a blanket. Cabin crew friendly and hospitable. Several times they go around with drinks and the food was really delicious. A perfect Economy flight.
AircraftB767
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNursultan to Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

30th May 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Jan Schlimm, Thank you for your high rating and positive review. We are very pleased to learn that your flight experience with us was up to the standards. Our crew is well known for being friendly, hospitable and ready to assist our passengers during the flight. Our meal and amenity kits are created with the thought of passengers comfort. Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We will be glad to welcome you again on board of our Airline. Regards, Nadima