Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 233 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"exceptional customer service"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | I experienced exceptional customer service from the ground staff who checked in our baggage was professional and exceptional customer orientated. Not only she helped with our special request (which she could easily deny as per rules and which required an extra effort from her side) moreover, she went beyond that. She send an email to the Air Astana representative in Georgia asking for assistance, which we never asked for. She even accepted a slight extra bag weight and wished us a pleasant flight. Airbus 320 Neo - nice aircraft with comfy chairs. Good selection of movies, would be cool to have some podcasts though! Overall flight was good, rest of the staff did well also.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Tbilisi
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

3rd August 2021 : Air Astana response

Dear Elnar Smagulov, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad that your expectations were exceeded by the level of our customer service. Your kind words are greatly appreciated, and we hope to continue to provide great service for years to come. From all of us at Air Astana family, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards, Zhanna

10/10

"Thoroughly enjoyed flight"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Thoroughly enjoyed flight from Nur Sultan (Astana) to Frankfurt with Air Astana Sunday 14th Feb 2021, I was travelling from Almaty to Frankfurt via Astana. First leg economy, second leg business. The service on both flights was very good and the food and drink outstanding. Tasty sandwich on the first domestic leg and given plenty of choice and excellent presentation of starter and main course on the international flight. Good Job Air Astana.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAlmaty to Frankfurt via Nur Sultan
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

18th February 2021 : Air Astana response

Dear B Gordon , Thank you for your feedback and high rating. We appreciate you recognizing all the efforts taken to provide excellent service both in Economy and Business classes. We treat our passengers as our guest providing them with hospitality and professionalism of our crew members, and with the best selection of our entertainment, food, beverages and travel kits on board. We’re looking forward to greet you on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

10/10

"Keep up the good work Air Astana"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have been using Air Astana on various domestic and international routes for 15 years. I have seen great improvements in this time from the early days. Not only in the quality of the aircraft and facilities but especially in in the cabin services. My recent flight this month highlighted this. Though I travelled economy I found the cabin staff very attentive and helpful. They were polite and supportive and prompt with any requests. The food was excellent, it was breakfast but hot, tasty and filling. The amenities packs are now eco friendly. They contain all those items that one requires on a journey of 3 hours or longer. They look good too. It was a new aircraft that was very clean, with comfy seats and was equipped with an excellent entertainment package. My only concern was travelling during these difficult times and the flight was full, understandably with the reduce number of flights scheduled. The in cabin safety brief, which is excellent and worth watching in all three languages, has had an amendment to relate to the latest pandemic requirements. The cabin crew enforced these rules without fear or favour in a very polite and professional manner. Keep up the good work Air Astana, you are my favourite airline.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtyrau to Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

28th December 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Mark Sugrue, We appreciate you taking time to review Air Astana. It means so much to us when our loyal travellers share their experience and rate our services so high. Thank you for your kind comments towards our crew, catering, amenity kits and seat comfort. We hope you have wonderful holidays and we wish you a happy new year. We will be glad to greet you soon. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

1/10

"waiting for a refund for 3 months"

(Kazakhstan)

Not Verified | Poor service with customers. I booked 2 tickets in February and March. The company canceled the flights and sent emails automatically. No clear information or explanation. I tried many times to contact the call-center of the air company to get more information about the flight and discuss the schedule, but no answer. I sent an email immediately but replied after 2 months without detailed information. I have been waiting for a refund for 3 months. This is my first time to face such as poor service and no respect for customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNur-Sultan to Seoul
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

2nd August 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear K Esen , We are extremely disappointed to receive this review and learn about your recent experience with us. We are currently experiencing an increasing number of calls and inquiries, and our Call Center is working under enormous pressure doing their best to handle all the requests as quickly as possible. Please rest assured that we make every effort to fulfill our obligations fully and make refunds to all passengers without exception. From our team, we'd like to thank you for your patience and understanding. If you have any question or issues, please contact us at [email protected] and we'd be happy to assist you. Yours sincerely, Zhanna.

10/10

"Service was excellent"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Almaty - Saint-Petersburg is my favourite route. Flight was on time. Aircraft was brand new A320NEO (2 months old). Service was excellent, food was very good, choice of beverages perfect. Now airline using eco packs for amenity kits and it looks so good! And also inside of the kit they even put neck pillow, because flight was longer than 5 hours.
AircraftA320 NEO
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to St. Petersburg
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

7th August 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear German Zamorin, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with us. We’re very pleased to know that your flight experience exceeded your expectations and you have rated our onboard service and catering so high. Our food variety, entertainment system and amenity kits are created with the thoughts of passengers’ comfort. Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We hope to see you soon on board of your aircraft. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

8/10

"return journey equally enjoyable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow - Nur Sultan - Almaty in December 2019, returning 8 days later. Check in at LHR was efficient and fast track through security excellent. However the flight was then delayed at the last minute and there was hardly any seating at the gate where we had to wait, no announcements/updates and few staff who seemed a little disorganised and unhelpful. Several passengers including myself had connecting flights which was making people quite agitated as they were unsure what would happen if they missed their connections. Once aboard, the cabin layout and space were excellent. Staff were efficient, polite and you were made to feel very welcome. The food choices were great, very tasty and portion sizes just right. There was a huge choice of drink options too. The seat converted easily to a very low level lay flat bed and I managed to sleep for a few hours. Upon arrival in Nur Sultan I was met off the flight (pre-arranged) and taken through security with a quick stop in the lounge to freshen up before joining my connecting flight on to Almaty. The lady who met me was excellent and couldn’t have been more helpful. It was a huge help to me as I was travelling alone and there was very limited time to pass from international to domestic and then find my onward flight to Almaty. She spoke perfect English and made the transfer very smooth for me. The flight to ALA was good. Plenty of leg room and great adjustments on the seat, especially for leg support, but perhaps more tricky to climb out of from a window seat than the previous flight layout. The breakfast menu was excellent as you could choose anything from a pastry and coffee right up to a full cooked breakfast. The cabin crew served this efficiently in a limited time frame. My return journey was equally enjoyable. On the Nur Sultan to LHR leg there were about 40% seats not occupied in business class which made the experience even more special as the staff had more time to ensure you were comfortable. It was nice to be able to enjoy this leg during daylight hours as I’d slept a chunk of the outward version of this leg! All in all I really enjoyed my first experience with Air Astana. The only disappointment was the initial delays at Heathrow, the area we had to wait and how these were handled by the ground staff there.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAlmaty to London via Nur Sultan
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

7th August 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear V Keane, Thank you for your feedback and high rating. We constantly strive to improve our services to meet and possibly exceed passengers’ expectations. And we're glad that you enjoy your flights with us. We are very pleased to hear that you have appreciated all the efforts made by our staff to provide passengers with a comfortable and safe flight. The flight delay can be indeed unpleasant and stressful for all passengers. We’re sorry that you felt uncomfortable and uneasy before your flight to Nur-Sultan. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better our service, and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. Should you need help in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at [email protected] , as we will be very happy to assist you personally with anything you need. We look forward to welcoming you on board another “Air Astana” flight soon. Sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"trip was quite difficult"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | I want to say thank you to the Nomad Club team. Recently I had a trip from Almaty to Dubai, this trip was quite difficult, we went through all sorts of delays to weather and other reasons, flight changes, etc. Once this trip was over I described everything to Air Astana Customer care, and I was very satisfied with their response and actions.
AircraftE190-E2
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Dubai
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

7th August 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear K Dalasan , Thank you for your high rating and positive review. We would like to say thank you for being a part of our Nomad Club program and we are very pleased to hear that you have appreciated all the efforts made by our Customer Care. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Zhanna

8/10

"very pleasant crew"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Bishkek. Have flown this route number of times in past year sometimes via TSE, the older version of Embraer used which in my view is more comfortable than the new model in their fleet. All Sectors on schedule, very pleasant crew.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAlmaty to Bishkek
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

11th February 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Mr. Richards, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review with us. Our fleet is modern and young; it consists of Boeing – 767, 757, Airbus 320 Neo, Airbus 321 Neo, Embraer E90 and Embraer E190-E2. The last one has improved aerodynamics, redesigned fuselage, wings and new engines. Embraer E190-E2 is fitted with 108 seats in a four abreast / two-by-two layout which provides more legroom and additional luggage storage space. Thank you for highlighting our crew. They are always recognized for being friendly, supportive and helpful. We will be pleased to welcome you on another Air Astana flight very soon. Regards, Zhanna

7/10

"inattentive and rude"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Atyrau to Almaty. Cabin crew was inattentive and rude. Twice requested for a blanket, didn’t get it till the end. That time I thought maybe it’s not included for economy seats. But last time had to take business class ticket, yet no blanket was given and service was still not the welcoming. Aircraft was clean and comfortable. Food quality was satisfying. Also my friend’s luggage was lost on his flight. Asked me to help him to negotiate with lost and found team since he doesn’t speak Russian. The operator was non-helping. When i asked her the approximate time his luggage will be delivered she told me that it will be there after one hour. We waited 3 hours at hotel lobby at night, and didn’t get it. The lost and found was already out of service. I guess company like this can afford to make the lost and found service 24/7. So the luggage was delivered only at noon, even though airplane that brought it from Amsterdam arrived at night.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtyrau to Almaty
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

23rd January 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear Saule Sadykova, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your thoughts with us. We’re very sorry to learn about your flight and post flight experiences. Blankets are always available for the passengers despite the class of travel or destination. We completely understand that there are no small things and every detail during the flight is important for seamless and comfortable journey. Usually our staff makes every effort to support passengers with any requests and make them feel at home. We’d like to apologize that this didn’t happen during your flights and you were left disappointed with the level of service provided to you. Thank you for highlighting cleanliness of the aircraft and the meal service. Separately we’d like to apologize for the late delivery of your friend’s baggage and followed misunderstanding with the agents about the delivery time. We can imagine it was quite stressful and unpleasant situation. If you could advise us your friend’s flight details (ticket number, flight date, name/surname) to [email protected], we will be able to come back to you with the solution. We appreciate any feedback received and use them to improve our level of the service across all touchpoints. We do hope you will give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Nargiz

1/10

"Awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Nur-Sultan in August 2019. Awful experience. They used to be good but not anymore. I often fly from London to Almaty using Air Astana. The check in company ASC at Heathrow Terminal 4 used by Air Astana are rude and not friendly at all.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Nur-Sultan
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

8th January 2020 : Air Astana response

Dear B Melizova, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your thoughts. It’s very disappointing to receive this review and learn about your encounter with us. We note from your ratings that not only the check-in experience, but the other criteria are not up to our usual standards. We’d really appreciate if you could share with us your story and flight details via [email protected] For us every passenger’s feedback matters and helps us to improve the level of service. We’re looking forward to hear from you. Yours sincerely, Zhanna