Air Astana

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 223 reviews
8/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"customer service is horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tashkent to London via Almaty / Astana. Air Astana customer service is horrendous, especially if you’re stranded at an airport trying to get home. On my 7-hour flight, there was no inflight entertainment or USB charging points. I’m on the verge of tears midway through a journey from Tashkent to London via Almaty and Astana. My flight from Astana to London has been delayed, which happens. It’s not the first time and won’t be the last. Air Astana’s handling of the delay has bee utterly abysmal and frankly negligent. I was at the airport 1.5 hours before my flight was due to leave as I was transferring from Almaty. I had no notification or text message, I just found out when I wanted to make my way to the gate! I tried to find some staff, no one was around to ask questions. I went to the business lounge, who rang someone and said “they’re coming”. A whole 40 mins later, no one came. I went to one of the gates to ask staff there. They asked if I was on the Dubai flight. When I said no, they walked off. At this point I didn’t know whether my flight was cancelled, delayed or what time it was due to London. I eventually found a desk in the corner of the terminal and they advised me to go upstairs to get some food and water. They had no vegetarian options at all and tiny cups of water. I’ve been travelling for 20 hours at this point and still don’t know when I’m going to get home ... but at least I have a drop of water to keep me going.. Do yourself a favour and book any other airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTashkent to London via Almaty / Astana
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

11th November 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear R Nair, Thank you for taking your time and sharing this review. We are extremely disappointed to learn about your recent encounter with us. If you let us to comment your review. We’d like to apologize for the delay of your flight Nur-Sultan – London for over 2hrs and all the stress it caused you. We completely understand that any delay affects negatively travel experience especially if there are several flights in itinerary. Usually our ground service staff provides maximum support and assistance to the passengers from cancelled or delayed flight. We’re terrible sorry that it was not the case and you were left disappointed and felt lost without any information at your hand. Our flight delay notification is sent to contact details (email/mobile number) specified in the booking automatically. We do express our hope that your flight experiences were a bit better than pre-flight one in the airport and you have safely reached home. In regards to the in-flight Entertainment system, its configuration may be different depending on aircraft type.It's either individual screens or overhead screens with the latest movies and TV shows. We also offer as well streaming system (KCTV Stream), which is accessible on passenger’s personal device via wireless network onboard. To activate it passenger needs to download KCTV app before the flight on any personal device and enjoy the latest content during the flight. Once again, we'd like to apologize for all the inconvenience and stress you experienced. Let’s assure you that it was never our intention. A separate email from our Customer Experience team was sent to you. We hope to hear from you and continue our conversation. Yours sincerely, Zarina

9/10

"Seats were comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Novosibirsk to Almaty via Nur Sultan. Check in was easy and straight forward. There were no problems with being 1kg overweight. Both flights left and landed on time. Cabin crew were polite and spoke good English and managed to serve a snack on each flight, despite them being short flights. Seats were comfortable. I had paid extra for the Nur Sultan - Almaty leg and quite spacious.
AircraftE190 / Boeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNovosibirsk to Almaty via Nur Sultan
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best experiences"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Almaty. I credit Air Astana for their superior service on a recent flight from KUL to ALA last Tuesday 1st October. The service received on the flight was second to none, where the team leader provided a first class service during the the 7 hour flight. The quality of the main meal, wine and snack was excellent. I know Air Astana has received some criticism in the past but it was one of the best experiences I have had when flying. They made you feel welcome and special from start to finish.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Almaty
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"billed R1800 for my hand luggage bag"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Almaty. Airline billed me R1800 for my hand luggage bag, while was within its weight limit. According to their statement hand luggage and a laptop bag is 2 items, hence the reason I needed to check in my hand luggage, knowing only on bag is allowed. They than ask me to pay via my debit card. We were a team and I was asked to pay, my team was allowed to take hand luggage and a laptop bag. I demand my money to be refunded.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

2nd October 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Choumise Watkins, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are very sorry to learn that recent encounter with us was disappointing to you. This summer we have introduced new baggage policy moving from weight to piece. Now passengers in Economy class can carry 1 or 2 pcs of baggage up to 23kg depending on the fare level (Basic, Classic and Plus) or no baggage at all. Baggage allowance for Business class passengers is 2 pcs up to 32kg. Nevertheless our carry-on baggage allowance hasn’t changed at all. For Economy class passengers we provide as allowance 1 carry-on baggage up to 8 kg (56 x 45 x 25 cm) plus accessory (briefcase, camera, handbag, laptop or other) Anything extra this limit has to accepted only as checked baggage and if it’s above your checked baggage allowance on your ticket then it is chargeable. We also offer to passengers to pre-pay checked baggage allowance 24 hours before departure with 30% discount via call center, web site and any travel agency. We’d like to investigate this situation further and provide you maximum support and assistance. Could you please contact us via [email protected] and we will continue our conversation. Thank you for understanding. Yours sincerely, Zarina

1/10

"only 1 kg of checked luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Moscow to Shymkent via Almaty. For foreign passengers buying Air Astana's tickets through travel websites such as Expedia or Priceline, beware of tactics in getting people to buy their low priced tickets, only to find out the 'Economy Class with one piece of checked luggage included' actually means only 1 kg of checked luggage, which is less than the weight of most suitcases! On their website, the baggage policy for Economy class is stated as 20 kilos, with no mention of a 1 kilo policy. We flew from Moscow to Shymkent and even though our confirmation page clearly stated we are economy passengers with 1 piece of luggage included, we were forced to pay for excess luggage because their system showed we are not allowed checked luggage. We complained to the supervisor in charge of Air Astana check in desk at Moscow SVO airport but she was rude and unhelpful. She was basically saying 'I don't care what your Confirmation Page says. We go by our system so either pay or don't fly!' We have since complained to Air Astana and asked for a refund, but no reply yet. Beware!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Shymkent via Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

25th September 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Dahinta, Thank you for reaching out to us. We’re very sorry to learn about your recent experience. If you let us to comment your review; Indeed we have introduced our new fare levels across the network. On our international routes we have 3 fare levels in Economy class - “Basic”, “Classic” and “Plus”. Each one is developed according to the passengers’ needs and preferences. “Basic” is no baggage fare, it includes only cabin baggage up to 8 kg, meal, beverages, 50% Nomad Club points and also an option to pre-pay your checked baggage with 30% discount 24 hours before the departure. Other 2 fare levels - “Classic” and “Plus” include baggage allowance and other benefits. As we understand correctly, your ticket with "Basic" fare was bought at the our corporate website and on the route Moscow-Shymkent via Almaty does not include checked baggage. On your return flight Shymkent-Moscow via Almaty you have “Classic” fare that allows to carry 20kg of checked baggage. Wherever you purchase your ticket via our website or other providers, it should clearly state that “Basic” fare doesn’t include checked baggage. We’re sorry that you were misled by this. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the stress and inconvenience you faced during check-in process in Moscow airport. Our aim is to provide safe and comfortable travel and we will never intentionally deceit our customers. It stand against our brand values and goals. Our Customer Experience officer Nargiz has sent you more information regarding your case. Please liaise with her. We hope to welcome you again on board of our aircraft. Yours sincerely, Zarina

10/10

"express my deep gratitude"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Almaty. I would like to express my deep gratitude to the crew of KC936 at the 25th August for their good work in conditions of prolonged turbulence. The stewardesses, in spite of the shaking, carried out the service, organize food and drinks. The food was excellent. Service was on top! Thanks to the pilots and the entire crew for the excellent flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Almaty
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

22nd September 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Zhanna Savina, Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed your flight from Kuala Lumpur to Almaty with us. We appreciate you recognizing not only hospitality and professionalism of crew members, but also our selection of food and beverages served on board. We will definitely pass your compliments to all crew members of KC 936 flight. Hope to see you soon on board of our aircraft. Yours sincerely, Zarina

2/10

"not at all apologetic for the delay"

(India)

Trip Verified | Astana to Delhi via Almaty with Air Astana. Horrible experience, airlines delayed the flight but gave no updates or indications when the flight would go. They changed the pre blocked seats, shifted me from aisle to window, this is despite having a boarding card for aisle seat. When I complained to cabin crew, they were arrogant and told me you did not pay to block so we can move you if we want. They were not at all apologetic for the delay, on top of that they did not serve a proper meal saying that I had not made a special request, which is strange as I had not made a special request while coming into to Almaty as well, but the they served the meal. The passenger in the seat in front also had an issue and the stewardess was like you can write if you want it doesn’t matter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAstana to Delhi via Almaty
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

20th September 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Vishal Rakyan, Thank you for taking time and sharing your review with us. We’re very sorry to learn about your recent experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for flights delay KC854 Astana-Almaty (2hrs), KC963 Almaty-Delhi (30min) and all the inconvenience you faced. We completely understand that any delay can be stressful and our team is making every effort to avoid even smallest disruption to passengers' travel plans. Usually we offer an option to re-book to an alternative flights if seats available. In your case, if we understand correctly, you were re-booked to the earlier flight (KC956 Astana-Almaty) to catch your connecting flight from Almaty to Delhi. We’re very sorry about your seat re-allocation. Most likely it was changed due re-booking and limited seat choice on the earlier flight. Otherwise we try to keep passengers preferences for seat reservation. We’re also keeping in mind our passengers’ individual needs and offering over 20 special meals like Vegetarian Vegan, Gluten-Free, Kosher, Muslim meals and etc. It can be ordered 24 hours before the departure via call center or ticketing office. We checked and unfortunately you haven’t requested any special meal for the selected flights. We assume that during your first flight from Delhi to Almaty you were provided with one of the options available for this particular flight. We recommend all passengers to pre-order special meal depending on their taste, preferences or dietary requirements. More information can be found at our website under section Experience Air Astana/Special Services. The described situation with the crew member sounds disappointing. Our crew is well-known for being hospitable, professional and nothing but supportive to our passengers. We hope you understand that this particular case doesn’t represent our brand values and goals. Please accept our apologies for this. We’d like to hear more about your experience via [email protected] and we will glad to welcome you on board of your next flight. Yours sincerely, Zarina

2/10

"it was a total chaos"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Baku to Nur-Sultan was supposed to depart at 11.50pm on 23 June 2019. However, due to mechanical problems, the flight got cancelled and we were rebooked on the flight at 11.50pm on 24 June 2019. Therefore, we were delayed to depart Baku for 24 full hours. The Air Astana ground staff in Baku Airport made absolutely no formal announcement in English about the process. So we did not know what to do and what to expect. Many passengers just formed a circle around the ground staff and it was a total chaos. The whole process took almost 5 hours from flight cancellation until we got our bags and left the airport. All passengers were very exhausted and we were not provided any food or drink during that time. We were provided food or drink for the first time around 6 hours after flight cancellation. It seems to me that Air Astana could not professionally handle flight delay/cancellation situations. I also requested Air Astana to provide us delay compensation according to the "Air Astana Rules on Long Delay Cancellation and Denied Boarding" policies on 28 June 2019. I have not heard from Air Astana since then.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaku to Bangkok via Nur-Sultan
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

24th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear S Vitavasiri, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review with us. We are very disappointed with your assessment. It is never our intention to disappoint customers and disrupt their plans. We'd like to apologise for flight delay of KC114 Baku-Nur-Sultan on 23June 2019. Our Ground Service team makes every effort in handling delays or cancellation in timely and organized manner providing hotels accommodation, transfer, soft drinks and snacks. We’re very sorry if we felt short on this and didn’t meet expectations. Our Customer Experience team has carefully considered your case and replied to your claim. Please accept our apologies in delay that occurred. We hope you can give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Zhanna

9/10

"personnel are professional and attentive"

(Kazakhstan)

Not Verified | Almaty to Moscow. Every time I used Air Astana I was always satisfied by the service provided and attention to every detail. Aircrafts are ideally clean, quality of food is good, personnel are professional and attentive. But this flight positively surprised me. New aircraft, updated stylish kits for passengers and especially children, comfortable chairs. I felt myself, like I was in business class! In general, compared with other airlines, Air Astana differs by its client orientation in every element of service: dessert choice, music, responding to requests, desire to do all that is possible to solve client issues, cleanness inside aircrafts - which is very important (blankets, toilets, etc).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Moscow
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

airastana

17th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear Olga, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're always pleased to receive feedbacks from our loyal passengers, who can evaluate airline development and growth through the years. It’s very encouraging to read that your flight experience on Almaty – Moscow route in Economy Class was up to the standards. Indeed our newly arrived aircraft Airbus 321neo that operated this flight is equipped with individual entertainment systems and seats that make the flight experience comfortable and enjoyable in Economy and Business class. We're glad to offer on all international flights special amenity kits designed in collaboration with well-known brands and with special attention to the details. On flights from Kazakhstan children kits are provided aiming to entertain our most valuable passengers. We will continue to make every effort to improve our service both on board and on ground to provide better flight experience to every passenger. Yours sincerely, Zarina

1/10

"they were extremely unprofessional"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Almaty to Dushanbe with Air Astana. Forced me off my flight during check in (plane was not cancelled, it was overbooked) even though I booked 3 months in advance. Staff said this happens everyday and could provide no help. They suggested I contact their office who has not responded to my questions. Staff even asked me to please complain because this happens so often and they are clearly sick of it. To avoid this problem for others, I would recommend not using this airline as they were extremely unprofessional and no one could answer my questions. I travel every month to many countries across Asia and have never been treated so poorly. Later, Air Astana replied to my compliant with A) Wrong flight/date, and B) blamed it on a travel agent (I didn't use a travel agent) and C) stated an email notification was sent when it was not. The fact that they will lie to invalidate my legitimate complaints shows the type of business they do.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlmaty to Dushanbe
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

airastana

4th July 2019 : Air Astana response

Dear William Reedy, Thank you for sharing your review. We're very sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. We’d like to apologize for your flight cancellation KC131 Almaty-Dushanbe on 30June. The described situation sounds very far from our intention to provide excellent service both on the ground and in the air. We make every effort to avoid any disruptions to the passengers' travel plans. When they actually happen, we provide maximum support and assistance with alternative flight arrangements, hotel accommodations or other requests. Based on available information, our team provided comments regarding your unfortunate experience. Our intention was never to compromise your review or to blame the third party. Please accept sincere apologies for this misunderstanding. We have sent to you separate email from customer experience team ([email protected]), we really hope to hear from you and continue our conversation. Thank you for flagging this issue to us, we value every passenger’s feedback and need those to improve our service. We really hope that you can give us a chance to return your custom. Yours sincerely, Zhanna