Aeromexico

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 521 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"I was denied boarding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Aeromexico has a front desk at CDMX Airport. The desk is not to help customers but to Sell tickets! (Who buys tickets at the airport unless forced to when missing a flight?) I was denied boarding because I had a digitized jpeg of my covid test instead of a digitized PDF (both are digitized images, what difference does it make about the device that recorded the image?). I explained this to Aeromexico flight but they had zero empathy for my situation and refused to help. They said they're sales, not customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to New York JFK
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"all of the employees were rude or lied straight to our faces"

(United States)

Not Verified | Never use this airline - avoid at all costs. We flew in from Cancun and during our layover our flight got canceled to the states due to weather. Upon returning to the airport for our new flight, we had all of our documents checked by workers twice at the gate before boarding started. Then five minutes before boarding began an employee came to us and told us we were missing a customs paper. I had to run back to Immigration, file for a new paper, pay 600 pesos and then go through customs again to get back to my flight. When we finally got to the gate, they asked for our boarding passes and then turned us away. The lady at the desk said "you were one minute late" and shut the door. I was begging them to please let us in, when another gentleman walked up, showed his boarding pass and was welcomed on. We were not. We had to buy new tickets for $774 USD to get on the next flight home. No one would help us, all of the employees were rude or lied straight to our faces. I will never fly with this company again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to San Antonio
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"brazenly violating American law"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On November 1, Aeromexico cancelled my flight to Santiago, which I booked through my travel agent, Chase. I requested a refund three times from Chase. Chase told me that due to the pandemic, Aeromexico inhibited Chase's ability to issue direct refunds to passengers, and Aeromexico's policy is to only offer travel credit even for flights that they cancel. Three and a half months after the cancellation, I still don't have my refund. Aeromexico is brazenly violating American law.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Santiago via Mexico City
Date FlownDecember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They oversell tickets"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They oversell tickets then leave people on purpose at the waiting room to board. The last place this can happen to you is in Ciudad De Mexico. They were asking people to stay and will give them $300 well no one wanted to stay so they board the passengers that overpay for the ticket and told the rest that the plane was close already. Force me to exit the airport to go change my fly outside and outside they play games and they force me to purchase another itinerary for $1,500.00 when my original ticket was round trip from Los Angeles to Guatemala for $550.00 I had no choice unless i wanted to stay at the airport in DF.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuatemala to Mexico City
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I have never felt so mistreated doing business anywhere"

(United States)

Not Verified | I gave this rating due to my awful experience returning from Mexico City to Tijuana. I arrived at the gate for my flight AM0170 at 6.13 am on Feb 6th, 2021. The flight was scheduled for a 6.35 departure. As I ran towards the gate one of the two attendants at the desk immediately left and closed the glass door behind him. When I presented the remaining attendant with my boarding pass he scornfully informed me that I was too late to board. There was still 23 minutes before departure. I pleaded with the gentleman to let me board, but it seemed to me he derived pleasure in my denial as he informed me "You're two minutes late." On my boarding pass, which I still have it clearly states boarding is at 6.00 am. It seems unreasonable to allow less than 13 minutes to board. I was forced to buy another ticket at a much higher price without a single concession offered. I have never felt so mistreated doing business anywhere. I cannot in good conscience recommend Aeromexico to a colleague or friend and would in fact discourage anyone from doing business with Aeromexico.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Tijuana
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"run-around when I tried to get a refund"

(United States)

Trip Verified | In brief, they cancelled my flight and then gave me the run-around when I tried to get a refund. In July of 2020 I bought a round-trip ticket London-Cancun for a friend for travel in August. Three days later they cancelled their London-Mexico City flights for the entire month of August. I called to find an alternative, but they couldn't offer me anything, save for travel credit. When I said I wanted a refund, the agent said I'd have to write to a dedicated email address. The email was returned as undeliverable, so I opened a dispute through my credit card, figuring I'd get my money back that way. AeroMexico objected to the dispute, saying my fare was non-refundable; they said I had credit to use within a year, minus a $200 no-show fee. A no-show fee for a cancelled flight. When I finally fixed the problem with their email address, they said that since I bought the ticket through a third party vendor (in this case Orbitz) I'd have to get the refund through them. Orbitz was helpful, but said they still had to go through AeroMexico for their approval before issuing a refund. Months went by, and all Orbitz could say was that the airlines are very slow these days and AeroMexico was not responding. So they have the manpower to object to my credit card dispute and keep my money, just not the manpower to approve my refund. I wrote to them several times about this discrepancy, but they never addressed that issue, just repeating I'd have to go through Orbitz. Let me add, I tried to be understanding. I can see that the airlines are strapped. I said I would accept credit in place of a refund if I could change the name of the passenger (which the rules disallow; remember I got this for a friend) and if the credit were not time restricted (which, so far as I can see, just helps them out even more). They said they could not do that because their policies do not allow it. Of course, their policies are under their control. They could change their policy if they wanted to, or just make an exception.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Cancun
Date FlownAugust 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never book a flight with Aeromexico"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airline is a joke do not fly them unless you really need to be somewhere and there's no other option. I had to book a flight to see my mother before she died then I had to change my ticket for obvious reasons and they didn't care about the reason they still just wanted my money. They wanted me to pay a change fee that was as expensive as a new flight they put always profit before people. I ended up buying another ticket from them because that was the next available flight. This is really the worse service by far I have ever received from an airline and there are many really bad ones out there. Many airlines would have compassionate waivers in cases like mine but they don't care. Do yourself a favour and never book a flight with Aeromexico!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Mexico City
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no social distancing implemented"

(United States)

Trip Verified | There was no priority boarding as was included in my ticket. We were boarded last (apparently a covid 19 measure) however, there was a huge crowded line for boarding which completely defeats the purpose. Additionally, no social distancing measures were implemented. Our so called “dedicated” overhead compartment was given to anybody and everybody and our luggages were moved farther away from us, to make space for other people’s luggage. No point buying their premium tickets because the services are the same, in-fact due to the covid measures you are better of getting the cheapest tickets and you will board first. Overall, they give empty promises and 0 services. Its an airline that calls itself premium but offers basic budget services. Overall don’t get high hopes about their quality.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCancun to Mexico city
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"only provide instructions in Spanish"

(United States)

Not Verified | They only provide instructions in Spanish. My husband and I were separated for a random security check. They don’t announce that it’s time to board. They also don’t put the flights they are boarding on the screen in front of the gate. We needed up paying an extra $700 because of their complete lack or organization when it comes to boarding.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Houston
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not given any type of refund or credit"

(United States)

Not Verified | My granddaughter was getting married in Cancun Mexico in May, 2020. We needed to reschedule our flight for January due to the resort closed because of the pandemic. Now, in January we are not able to fly because of COVID and were not given any type of refund or credit. Will never book with Aeromexico again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no