Aeromexico

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 562 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Avoid if you can"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The airline sucks, but most workers we interacted during the trip were trying to compensate it. Avoid if you can. Never ever have connection in MEX airport. We booked Aeromexico because it was the only flight with couple hours layover from SFO to LIM. The airline changed the flight schedule a few times and we eventually had 11 hours layover in the MEX airport. Aeromexico did not offer refund, but only voucher. Aeromexico customer service offered VIP lounge as a compensation, but in the MEX airport we were asked to pay for it. On our way back we had a horrible experience of waiting in line about TWO hours to pass MEX custom for connection stopover. There were thousands packed in the line. COVID social distance was totally ignored. That was a perfect place to spread COVID or any other decease. Very poor communication: 80% in-flight and boarding communication was in Spanish. Most of the staff in MEX did not speak English. The airline did not communicate COVID documents requirements before the flight. Our forms filled before flight were turned down. In-flight entertainment system was broken or misconfigured - the US movies did not have English subtitles.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Lima via Mexico City
Date FlownOctober 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" You never know when you arrive and if your belongings will follow"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst travelling experience of my life. I booked a flight with them (only because options this year was limited). They cancelled it a week later and refused to refund me. So I had a voucher for my next flight but I could not apply it online. Had to spend hours on the phone to use it. On the flight day in Mexico City, the plane was going round on the tarmac. The captain announcing that they were waiting for the weather to clear up before taking off even though it was sunny. Then they parked the plane and asked 17 volunteers to get off because the plane was overloaded. By the time volunteers came forward, got off, with their baggage we were hours late all the while waiting in the plane. But that's not the worst. Once I finally arrived, my two pieces of luggage were missing and I was not the only one. So they threw them out along with the volunteers. One luggage was delivered to me a week later. The second one I never got back 3 weeks later. You never know when you arrive and if your belongings will follow. They have no luggage service (just one email address I wrote to multiple times along with their legal services) and never bother to answer. Nightmare. They treat customers like livestock.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Mexico City via Montreal
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"my baggage was lost"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Upon arriving to Cancun, I was horrified to find out that my baggage was lost. I had paid $30 USD to check in this baggage, only to be disappointed. We had arrived very late, close to midnight. Waited and waited and could not find my baggage. Approached a staff, and they told me this happened all the time, they told me there were 2 more airlines that would arrive after us, and most likely my bags were mixed up and they promised to deliver that night. We had only 4 days to spend, after wasting one whole day (October 7th) getting from Houston to Cancun. Waited for someone to call me, at close to 3 a.m. I finally gave up. Next morning, I called Aeromexico and was given the run around, it was impossible to get a hold of someone who could tell me the status of my lost baggage. All my clothes, medication, snorkel gear was in that bag. We had an early excursion planned that day and had to cancel because I did not have all my clothing and gears. Facebook Chat staff was not courteous, Whatsapp them and it was pointless too, I could not get a hold of someone. Thankfully, one of the ladies at my hotel had a contact who worked at the airport, he gave me a Whatsapp contact and only then I was able to find out that my bag was found, but had no idea when they were able to deliver. We finally left for an excursion, and at around 2:00 p.m. on October 8th, they called to say they were going to deliver my bag. No sorry, no apology. To top it off, my son had a velcro patches of Texas Flag and U.S. flag, they were both missing. The velcro was really strong and it was impossible that it had fallen off by accident. I wanted to call to get my $30 checked in baggage refunded, but you could not imagine how hard it is. I am probably going to place a chargeback.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Mexico City
Date FlownOctober 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"If you want to lose your money go ahead and book with this airline"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | I'm a European citizen who was planning a trip to the USA and Mexico. However, because of a travel ban imposed by the US government, I am not allowed to travel. My booking is a non-refundable one. However, I want to travel, but I am not allowed to. I explained the situation to Aeromexico, and requested a voucher, which was denied. It not my fault that I am not allowed to travel, but Aeromexico doesn't care about it. They've already got my money, so they don't really care about giving me a chance to use the service I already paid for, once the travel ban is lifted. The customer care service is of extremely low quality. If you want to lose your money go ahead and book with this airline. By seeing all those negative reviews, it seems apparent to me that Aeromexico has financial difficulties.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Mexico City
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"can't make any changes online"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I haven't travelled yet but I am dreading it already. You simply can't make any changes online and when you call them, their phone system is insane. They speak English but their lines are muffled and unclear, take forever to answer then charge you double the cost of the ticket online because you called a call centre, but they dont give you any option to do it online anyway. So antiquated. Be sure your flights you book are 100% what you need because making changes after the event is near on impossible without being robbed financially!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSan Jose to Tijuana via Mexico City
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude and unaccommodating"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | My partner and I had our first flight with Aeromexico from Amsterdam to Mexico city and then to Puerto Vallarta on 18-19/Aug. There were delays (30-60min.) and the cabin crew was rude and unaccommodating. We don't speak Spanish and it was obvious that they had a problem with that. Especially one lady who was really nice to all Spanish speaking passengers but when I asked her something I got just one word answer in a really impolite way. Another flight with Aeromexico was supposed to be from Puerto Vallarta to Mexico City and from there to Vancouver on 25/Aug. As the first flight got delay almost 3 hours we weren't able to catch our second flight. Lady at the PV airport was unhelpful, and after we approached her, she told us that we had just 2 options. Stay one more night and take the same route next day, or take the first flight to Mexico city and wait there for the second flight to Vancouver till next day. We've been told that it wasn't Aeromexico's fault therefore they won't provide us hotel or meals. After we got out, to our surprise our original flight to Vancouver just began boarding right at the next gate. We happily get there to realize that we can not get in. Why? Nobody knows again. At first they told us because of "weight and balance" after that because they didn't have available seats and so on. It was two of us and another 15-20 people including families with small children who weren't able to get in. We were trying to understand this situation but after 30 minutes no reasonable explanation came. We accepted vouchers for hotel and meals as at the airport in Mexico city miraculously could provide them. Next day after we got back to the airport we were trying to get confirmation about the flight delay as we supposed to be already in the work in that time but we were stuck in Mexico. Of course customer service at the airport was as bad as the lady at our first flight so we got nothing. Finally 50 minutes after our flight was scheduled we were finally boarding, still not sure if we can get in this time. We got in and after almost an hour we started rolling and captain is speaking to us. Unfortunately we had to have a stop in Tijuana to get fuel. In the end this flight had 3 hours delay (+24 hours). I never heard sorry or any kind of apology till this moment. One more thing, after we got vouchers for meals and hotel we've been told that we can catch Aeromexico shuttle in front of the T2 gate which take us to the hotel. We've been there for almost 30 min. and what we've seen was just shuttle for crew. At the hotel we've learned that we should have vouchers for taxi too but we didn't have them so we paid 2 fairs with taxi by ourselves. I would like to see my money for this last flight back but after I read many bad reviews about Aeromexico I think I'll never see them again but I'm more then sure that I will never ever fly again with Aeromexico.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Vancouver via Mexico City
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"both times we were late"

(United States)

Not Verified | I had two flights with round trip and both times we were late. The first trip did not matter because Guadalajara was my first destination but return was crucial because I had another flight to take after landing in Salt Lake City. We did not even have an hour to board the next plane and to add insult to injury Delta Air Lines had departure was at 11:30 am and I arrive at the terminal at 11:27. Me and another person are left stranded today until 10:10 pm, unbelievable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGuadalajara to Salt Lake City
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Aeromexico really put my nerves to the test"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I have flown on many airlines and have had few problems. I consider myself pretty easy going but Aeromexico really put my nerves to the test. I will just make a list: -My luggage was broken into and my jewellery stolen during my 5 hour layover in Mexico City on my way to Los Cabos. I reached out to the complaints department but not surprisingly no one has responded (weeks later). Upon my return to Toronto, I once again had a short layover for 2 hours in Mexico City. While lining up at the gate to get on the aircraft, the staff closed the door while 15 passengers remained behind standing, me and my family included. it was stressful, messy and confusing and the staff said nothing to us about what was happening, they just pointed a finger for us to go to customer service. That's when we discovered we had been bumped off our flight for the next 24 hours and they couldn't even guarantee us that we wouldn't be bumped again the next day. The customer service rep. explained that we couldn't go on the flight because of weight/balance issues, and that's when my husband and I came to the conclusion that passengers are being kicked off the flight in order to make room for more lucrative cargo. We collected our luggage for the 24 hour delay because after my initial experience, we did not trust our luggage sitting in the Airport with out them being rummaged through and items stolen. When we received our luggage, my bag was heavily damaged and a wheel completed ripped off so I could barely manage rolling it around the airport and to our hotel. The next day we checked in 3 hours before our flight because we wanted to avoid any issues. The line up at the gate was a crowded mess, it felt like I was going to get trampled on. Once seated and on the plane the crew made an announcement that a few passengers would not be coming on the plane again and that their luggage needed to be removed from the plane. So the airline was again doing to others what we experienced the day before. At that point, the passenger sitting behind me told the flight attendant that she just saw the ground crew taking her bag off the plane even though she was still on it, at which point the flight attendant left for a couple minutes and when he came back the plane just started to pull out and he said there was nothing he could do about it at this point. Once we arrived in Toronto Pearson Airport, and made it through customs, my husband and I discovered that our luggage was also taken off the plane in Mexico City. After filling out the necessary paperwork, the Aeromexico luggage attendant informed us that we should have our luggage delivered to us no later than Tuesday September 7th. It has been 4 days now since we landed, with multiple phone calls and emails made on my part, no one from Aeromexico has contacted us about its whereabouts. And after having my personal items stolen out of my luggage on my 5 hour layover in Mexico City, I can only imagine what I will or will not have left in my luggage if Aeromexico ever returns our luggage to us. However, my daughters luggage WAS on the plane, and upon returning home she discovered she still had all her items in her bag but she also had extra items. Shirts and skirts that did not belong to her, which means the baggage staff at Aeromexico is opening peoples luggage to look for valuables and is just stuffing personal items back haphazardly in random suitcases. That tells me that many people are missing items.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico City to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never fly Aeromexico!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Never fly Aeromexico! I cancelled my reservation and they told me they will issue a refund in one year! I tried to use an electronic voucher issued by Aeromexico and on the screen it appeared that it was used and the amount to be charged to my credit card was lower. A higher amount was actually charged and when I called to resolve this they said that they will issue a refund on a valid voucher in 12 months' time. I told that that it's unacceptable and cancelled the entire reservation. The refund for the entire reservation will also be issued in 12 month's time. With Aeromexico charging customers and not providing service, will it exist next year?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Mexico CIty
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never book Aeromexico again"

(United States)

Not Verified | We are not able to fly out for vacation. Aeromexico will not reschedule, hold or refund. Our tickets where $589.06 and they will do nothing to help. I will never book Aeromexico again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Cancun
Date FlownAugust 2021
Value For Money 12345
no