Egyptair

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 482 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

“customer service can be improved”

(United States)

Trip Verified | I flew to Cyprus from the United States. This airline wasn’t my first choice, but not many airlines offer flights to Cyprus with a decent price and route. I was not expecting too much from this airline, therefore I was not too disappointed. It’s not horrible, but I’d avoid if I can. They did get me safely from point A to point B, but customer service can be improved. There is no boarding process, and no announcements were made when boarding in Cairo. So I had no idea when my group was called or when to board. Customer service is also sub par. Flight attendants aren’t too friendly and seem to only want to get the job done rather than provide a pleasant experience, which is fine, but it would be nice to have it nonetheless. The food is probably the worst I’ve had on any airline I’ve flown. In all fairness, they’ll get you to your destination without much of a hassle, but I’d only use if I absolutely need to and have no other options. Not to mention, the 12 hour layover in Cairo made the trip all the much longer than it had to have been. The least that could’ve been done is to provide some sort of accommodation or voucher for food. Cairo airport for 12 hours is not fun. In all fairness, they’ll get you to your destination without too much of a hassle, but I’d only use this airline if the price is really good or if I need to go to a destination where not many airlines go, such as Cyprus. It’s whatever to me, I’m not disappointed as I wasn’t expecting much to begin with, but to my avail, I was right to not expect much. It’s an ok airline that gets you from point A to point B, that’s enough.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Larnaca via Cairo
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"professional and courteous"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I was flying from Toronto, Canada to Lagos on 18th of April, connecting in Cairo, Egypt. The first flight, Toronto to Cairo, was wonderful. The flight attendants were professional and courteous, and the food was great. The passengers were very diverse coming from Toronto, as is expected from the most diverse city in the world. It was one of the best flights I’ve experienced in a while, but upon arriving in Cairo where I boarded my connecting flight to Lagos, it was a completely different experience. On the flight from Cairo to Lagos it is clear that we were given much different service compared to the flight from Canada. The plane was cold and most weren’t even given blankets to stay warm. On my return flight from Lagos to Cairo thinking it would be better, but it was exactly the same. Again, we couldn’t be given a blanket. Once we landed in Cairo the connecting flight was delayed by 6 hours. There was no explanation or compensation for the delay which left us to sleep at the airport overnight. As expected, the connecting flight going to back to Toronto was exceptional, as the treatment was completely different based on the destination it was going to. There is a very clear disparity in treatment of passengers based on where the flight originates and the destination or arrival location.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLagos to Cairo
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall a fair experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Reviewing two similar domestic flights: Cairo-Aswan and Hurghada-Cairo. In both cases there was a speedy group check-in. We were bussed to and from the plane at every airport, but boarding was reasonably efficient and the seats were comfortable (seat back video only on the second plane whose seats seemed a bit wider). A piece of cake and a bottle of water were served on each leg by the friendly crews. On the ground, baggage retrieval was quick. While the Hurghada flight operated 10 minutes ahead of schedule, the Aswan flight operated 6 hrs 20 mins late due to a sandstorm in southern Egypt. During the waiting period cheese rolls, Egyptian pickles, fruit juice and water were offered free to passengers. When the plane reached Aswan it was announced that it would not be continuing on its next leg to Abu Simbel. Our tour company (not Egyptair) arranged a bus for the 3 hour onward journey, Overall a fair experience with Egyptair given the sandstorm, but the cancellation of the second leg of the Aswan/Abu Simbel flight could have been better handled.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Aswan
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"it all went smoothly"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | At the airport the queue for business class check-in was a bit chaotic, but a staff member appeared and referred us to an economy counter for very efficient processing. Fast track through security and passport control worked well. The lounge was comfortable but with few food options that were not replenished quickly enough for the hungry passengers. The plane operated an hour late. The onboard welcome was warm and the recliner seat was wide and comfortable. The food was fine. No alcoholic drinks were available. On arrival we were bussed to the terminal, but there was a separate business class bus which made the process easier. Our bags arrived quickly. This was our first experience with Egyptair and it all went smoothly.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBarcelona to Cairo
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service has improved tremendously"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having flown with Egyptair before I had sworn never again. I am pleased to have given it another opportunity and the service has improved tremendously, including the Cairo Airport. I did not use the onboard entertainment, food was good. On arriving to Cairo, I noticed a huge improvement in the airport, clean and more food choice. The Transfer desk and all signs clear. The staff of Egypt air were great and I did not lose any bags so all went well.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to London via Cairo
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Terrible service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Some of the staff are amazing, friendly, warm, and helpful. Others, not so much. My wife had an issue with her seat, there was urine on her seat, soaking the seat, but the stewardess laughed and walked away rather than help her. On top of that, we had booked 4 seats, under the same family name, at the same time, so the airline made certain we sat as far apart as possible. Terrible service.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuxor to Cairo
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"I was positively surprised"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Normally a traveller with Lufthansa group airlines, I was positively surprised by this flight (Cairo to Doha return). Flights were on time, aircraft well maintained, comfortable seats and acceptable spacing, IFE with good films available. I should even say, easily better flights and service than with LH and LX. However they have a certain casualness about leaving bags in front of bulkheads or in front of the seats on the emergency exit.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDoha to Cairo
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | At the check in in Dublin I was told that as the plane was less than half full I could also check in my carry-on bag, so I did. I landed on Friday and my baggage arrived after midnight on Monday. During that time I walked around China in the winter (it was -11 most days) with no coat or thermal clothing. My phone was dying, so I had to find an electronics shop and buy a charger. In three days I didn't hear a word from Egyptair and they ignored my various messages. Eventually, a week later, they responded to my messages by sending a standard "We're sorry for the inconvenience" ignoring the questions I had asked. They sent me a document to complete to claim expenses, but in the form of a jpg, so I then had to find a printer - in China, when I don't speak Chinese- and complete the claim by hand. In 30 years of flying this is the worst customer service I've ever experienced.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Beijing via Cairo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Snotty and unapologetic”

(United States)

Not Verified | I'm an Egyptian-American. I choose to fly with Egyptair since I thought that would be patriotic, especially during these tough times. Big mistake! Major failure on all fronts. Mobile app doesn't work so I couldn't reserve my seats. For 6 weeks the staff doesn't answer email or phone (both NY and DC offices). Lost bags on both ways. Pilots are the best but flight attendants are way below bar. They are not well trained and do not understand what it means to provide 'service'. Snotty and unapologetic. Gate processing was too slow. Airplanes are not clean and during the long flight some lavatories were 'unusable' and crew didn't bother to clean them. Food was above average to be honest, much better than food on Lufthansa and British Airways. The on-boarding process takes for ever and is not disciplined. Crew allows people to board with as many as 6 small suitcases, and of course it takes for ever to find space to store all that crazy amount of bags per passenger. I'm quite saddened to be writing this review, however, I'm being honest and hoping that someone, somewhere will realize that this is not the airline that should be the national carrier for the country. Egypt has a very long proud history in aviation but I swear this is the worst airline that I have ever used during over 35+ years of traveling around the world for business and leisure. While I'm at it, why Cairo airport smells like cigarettes as soon as you enter it? Isn't against the law? Why there are people waiting for people to finish their paperwork at the gate of the airplane? (VIP people). For anyone in charge, please try to figure out why are we living in dark ages while the world has moved to the twenty-first century?
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCairo to New York
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"definitely not worth it"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | All in all, Business Class on Egyptair is definitely not worth it! First of all seats were changed last minute even tho we had booked seats as we wanted to sit together! In Business Class, you expect that this service can be provided, instead, turns out they changed the seats so that two crew members could "sleep" on this short haul flight. Aircraft was extremely dirty and welcome drink was missing as well as water bottle, it just seemed very unorganised and extremely rushed. On top of this, the person next to me kept calling even when we were on the runway! I made gesture to the crew and they simply walked past me and shook their hands in the air as if it was 'my problem'. Once in the air, I was being told that windows had to be closed to let people sleep (this was a day flight between 10:00 - 14:00) and I felt this was ridiculous. Toilets were missing paper and the smell, well let's just say it was not great. The food and drinks were not served for the first two hours, and was disappointing for Business Class, especially on a five hour flight! The crew itself seemed to be happy about this and just sat in the front. On top of this, while the plane was only 6 years old, the seats and interior in Business looked very old, as if they had installed their old 2000s livery. All in all, this was the first and last time I am flying with this airline! The safety and comfort you get in Business Class for your money is simply not worth it!
AircraftB737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCairo to Brussels
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no