Avianca

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 685 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“terrible customer service”

(Canada)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible customer service. They are completely unresponsive and completely ignore your requests. I've been screwed over multiple multiple times by them. I only fly with them if I have no other choice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Toronto
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Do not use Avianca for any reason"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Do not use Avianca for any reason. This is the worst airline I've ever set foot on. Their flight was just about the same price as with any other airline that flies to South America, but since they are the only company that will fly you to Bogotá from abroad, you're stuck with their horrible excuse for a service. The planes are junk, with no legroom at all, no amenities (even some that shouldn't be considered that, like simple water, where if you want some, you'll have to pay 5USD for or be forced to go to the back of the plane to get tap water which if you're a frequent traveler, will understand is alright in paper only). It's dirty, and the seats don't recline (this is not hyperbole, they are physically not built to do so), unless you pay for their "business economy" (which is a joke of course). These are 5+ hour flights and they won't even do peanuts or a bottle of water. Their in-flight entertainment has to be through YOUR OWN devices, which I understand is the way all airlines are going, but good luck trying to watch any of their 2 Friends episodes with their bad service and a broken outlet to charge your Ipad. The staff is alright, I guess. They think they can get away with this nonsense by saying stuff like "We know we suck, we're working on it" (for real, read any of their ads), but the reality is that they should have not been bailed out by the Colombian government. Just let them go under. They are the epitome of a masterclass in doing everything wrong. Avoid at all costs. It is not worth it whatsoever.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCartagena to Mexico City via to Bogotá
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I ever flew with"

(France)

Not Verified | I have been been travelling for 27 years and Avianca has been by far the worst airline I ever flew with! I took 3 Avianca flights : two were really late, one was cancelled and I had to sleep in a very dirty hotel they paid for. The aircraft is so dirty, the crew never talks to you and never helps you when you ask anything. They didn’t even explain why our flight had been cancelled and we had to wait for hours until they gave us a voucher to go sleep in a very bad hotel. On my way back to Costa Rica, Avianca gave me wrong information about my flights, my board gate and the time of boarding and I almost lost my flight. I ended up having a panic attack because everybody was giving me different information and I thought I would have lost my flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan José to Medellin via Bogota
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | Avoid at all costs. This airline chose to be the worst (not to be confused with low-cost) airline in South America. I have flown many regular and low-cost airlines and this is by far the worst - absolutely no space in the seat, which I could survive for a 2-3 h flight, not 5.5h. On top of this, there was nothing - no low price, no hot tee/coffee (even to buy), no food to purchase, no screens or entertainment. I fly a lot (30-60 flights a year, all over the world) and this is by far the worst service I got.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Luque
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the quality decreased extremely"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Avianca is in my Top 3 of the worst airlines of the world. Every second flight is delayed up to 2 hours. Our last flight to Barranquilla was delayed while we were already sitting in the airplane, one of the reasons was that they had to calculated the fuel again to see if it's enough to get to our destination. Food during our flight from Barcelona to Bogotá was poor and for our toddler they only had some ice cold porridge. They also made you enter the planes almost an hour earlier, to just have you wait inside the planes Overall the quality decreased extremely during the last years. I hope a better competitor appears to destroy their current monopoly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBogotá to Barcelona
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"changed into a low cost airline"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | My flight was moved from November 16th to 17th early in the morning. In the counter only 4 attendants registering more than 200 passengers. I only was ticketing my luggage it took 45 minutes and additionally my seat though reserved was changed from 6C to 22A. I also had to pay my stay for that night in Medellin. I’ve been traveling with Avianca the whole year - more than 30 flights mostly international. Despite my gold status, terrible seats, service in general. Avianca changed into a low cost airline at high ticket rates as they have a regional monopoly.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMedellin to Bogota
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"standing in line for over 2 hours"

(Honduras)

Trip Verified |   Arrived LAX four hours before my flight so I could eat dinner before traveling. Checked in at kiosk and tagged my bags. That went smooth. Have been now standing in line for over 2 hours to drop my bags. Have moved about half way towards the counter in 2 hours. What a mess. Will for sure not get a chance to eat now and have another 12 hours of travel ahead of me. As a side note, their charges for carry on and checked luggage are ridiculously high. But all the American airlines seems to be doing that now.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to San Salvador
Date FlownNovember 2023
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"downgrade from Business to Economy!"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | Avianca did the impossible and managed to give me a downgrade from Business to Economy! I purchased a business class trip from Ecuador to Brazil through Colombia, whilst waiting at the gate of my first leg flight I found out it has a 6 hours and 40 minutes delay! I had to go back to check in, stay in line for 1 hour where they gave me a new flight to Colombia in order to catch my original flight to Brazil. One minor detail: my flight was now um Economy, despite my flight to Brazil was still the same. The local staff told me to solve this matter with the Colombian Staff, once I got in Bogotá I had to go to 4 different desks all saying that it was weird and told me to go to a different desk. Long story short: I received no explanation, no compensation and I flew economy but was charged business. If you’re a business man flying for work stay away from this company, the staff is totally unprepared and not willing to help, hotline doesn’t work, I’m a Lufthansa frequent traveler but didn’t make any difference.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteQuito to São Paulo via Bogotá
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I feel scammed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airline in the world. I had the worst experience with Avianca in my travels from LAX to Layover El Salvador for 4 hours then to Honduras, customer service is a scam, no one who works there even wants to help you from online help to call centre (they hang up on you, never answer) to front desk to the air plane staff/servers! They are miserable and have no training in customer service. Worst watered down coffee ever and then she wouldn't even give me a cheap add packet of instant powder to fix it, can't believe I paid for all of this! Not sure I'd even fly with them if it were free. I feel scammed.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Honduras
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Service is very poor"

(United States)

Not Verified | They will make their own rules to charge you for everything. Bags, food even a simple name change now is a nightmare. Even when you get the most expensive ticket they will still charge you for the seat. Service is very poor, do not fly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Quito
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no