Alaska Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 633 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"not what I had hoped for"

(United States)

Not Verified | Recently flew from Anchorage to Tampa via Seattle. The flights were fine overall, great service, professional crews and the planes were in great shape. Overall a 9/10. The return flights were not what I had hoped for. No problem encountered with the actual flight crews but the ground staff, or lack thereof is another story. My flight out of Tampa was delayed by about 4 hours due to the original plane having to be replaced in Seattle due to mechanical issues, I understand this as it happens every once in awhile to all airlines. Needless to say this caused me to miss my connection in Seattle back up to Anchorage. There was no Alaska representative at our gate in Seattle when we landed and nobody staffing the Customer Service section. I ended up calling their customer service section and was impressed with how understanding the woman I spoke with was to my situation. She offered me a hotel but it was about 2am and my flight was to depart at 8am so I thanked her and said no. She offered to find me a flight on Delta but I declined the offer as well. My new flight did depart ontime and although I stayed up all night I was more than glad to arrive back home around 7 hours late. I had the time as I am retired but had I been working, it would have been a different story.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAnchorage to Tampa via Seattle
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Diego to Seattle. Terrible customer service and awful management from the customer complaint team to the airline reservation team. Huge issues with traveling with an Esa dog and poor ability to communicate between departments. This airline used to be good and now it’s just absolutely cheap with some rude staff, and lacks the ability to come up with solutions.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Seattle
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Customer service is horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Baltimore via New York. Alaska Airlines took over a wonderful airline called Virgin America and destroyed it! Customer service is horrible and rude they over charge at any instance. I had hopes they would follow in Virgin Americas footsteps but the opposite is true. I will never fly them again and will get rid of my Alaskan airlines credit card.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Baltimore via New York
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"kept giving us false information"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Francisco to Los Angeles with Alaska Airlines. Worst airline crew, there was a delay due to weather and that is fine, but the delay was due to the crew not being prepared. The captain also kept giving us false information on the departure and arrival time, if you don't know the accurate numbers/time just say so, please dont lie to us. When someone says a of couple minutes it is not supposed to mean 40-50 mins.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Los Angeles
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"my seat was downgraded"

(United States)

Not Verified | Anchorage to Missoula. What is up with this airline? Literally every time I fly there is an issue. I’ve flown 40k this year, and this time my seat was downgraded and the flight was delayed. Last time mine and my girlfriends seats were downgraded. The flight before my bag was lost. I am loyal to these guys, but they can’t ever get it together
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Missoula
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"never volunteer to check a carryon"

(United States)

Not Verified | After a fiasco with an original flight that was missed due to a traffic accident that closed the road, I was able to book a later flight to Las Vegas. In Anchorage they asked for volunteers to check their carryons to reduce the weight. Since I was grateful that Alaska Airlines was able to get me another flight that day, I gave them mine. Figured it was the least I could do. Didn't expect too much difficulty. Agent said the bag would go all the way to Vegas. It didn't. Got to baggage claim there and found out it only made it to Portland. The agent said they would most likely put it on the earliest flight from PDX, around 8am the next day, and they would bring it to the front desk of the hotel. They didn't. They put it on a flight to Seattle instead. So, I'm in this hotel, my toiletries et al are in Seattle and I don't know that I'll get the bag before I fly back the next day so I had to replace the items at the shop in the hotel. They charge $5 just for a bottle of water! But I had no choice. So, my budget for a 3 day trip was blown in 1 hour. I did get my bag after 1pm that day. But I will never volunteer to check a carryon with Alaska Airlines. I can't afford it. 5
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Las Vegas via Portland
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"So many people missed the flight"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Edmonton via Seattle. Figure out your logistics. Having a plane land 10 minutes after boarding call on the next connecting flight is the stupidest thing I’ve ever witnessed during a flight. I had to run as fast as I could to go three terminals over in Seattle to make it. So many people missed the flight that the weight distribution had to be recalculated and signed off prior to taking off. If enough time was given for these patrons to make the flight, we would have been less delayed. Also, I booked a one-way flight but ended up on one with a transfer. It was communicated that my flight would land in Edmonton at 9:40 which ended up being the time to board the next flight. All in all, this was the worst experience I’ve had flying considering other delays I’ve had to deal with had valid reasoning for them. I sifted through one of the magazines during the wait and noticed an article on military working for the armed forces and Alaskan at the same time. I’m hoping they’re volunteering or supplementing their livable wage and that Alaskan is paying them enough. You would need to pay a premium to deal with the angry customers having terrible experiences on the services offered.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Edmonton via Seattle
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ashamed of this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to San Francisco. Alaska delayed our flight 6.5 hours, and then we did not get on the plane till the next day but they did not accommodate for anything. A simple meal ticket that was not alcoholic for 12 dollars. 12 dollars for my 7 hours of time, plus my Uber home since we got home at 1:30 am. Really ashamed of this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to San Francisco
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a 30 minutes take off delay"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We have used Alaska Airlines for most of our flights to destinations in the Western United States over the last several years. While convenient that Alaska flies non stop to many destinations in this area this comes often at a steep price. We have had a problem with almost every other flight. We have experienced two cancellations for flights from Burbank to Portland in two consecutive years. Needless to say that this is maximally inconvenient. Today there was a 30 minutes take off delay and while I am writing this Review the plane has landed but can’t get to the gate since the gate is occupied by another aircraft - one has to wonder what organizational skill set allows for this kind of nonsense. We still use Alaska but i try to prepare myself for maximum inconvenience with each trip.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to San Francisco
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible experience and staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to San Diego. Terrible experience and staff. Our flight was delayed several times because they didn’t have a crew to fly. I have OAB and needed to use the bathroom while waiting forever to take off, and they denied me that. I don’t know what for because we waited around for another 20 minutes before even beginning to move. Also my seat wears grungy and wouldn’t recline. I’ve had a better experience flying with Spirit.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to San Diego
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no