Air Europa

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 363 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"my bag never arrived"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Rome to Madrid. I was at the end of a trip to 4 countries in Europe. I had a carry on bag which I had used for the trip. When I got out to the tarmac someone from the airline told me to leave it and that it could be picked up at baggage claim. Needless to say my bag never arrived and was never found/returned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Really horrid behavior"

(United States)

Not Verified | Madrid to Paris. I have never seen such terrible service at a boarding gate. I was traveling with a handicapped person, and they were treated like an afterthought. Every other airline I've ever traveled with, boards people with trouble walking first so they can have an easier time navigating to their seats. Not Air Europa! They bring them in at the very end, without a thought of how hard it would be to walk through the full flight. Really horrid behavior. There was one guy who was giving every passenger boarding a hard time. Putting tags on stupid things like purses. If you hate your job so much, why are you there?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Paris
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shameless behaviour"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Madrid to London with Air Europa. Frankly I have been treated better as a Ryanair passenger. It's clear that the airline condiders some passengers as "inferior". Shameless behaviour at the boarding gate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to London
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a really bad airline overall"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Madrid. Very bad website! Even though I bought a ticket with them I couldn’t add services or choose my seat. On check-in couldn’t select my seat so they put me on a so-so seat. Then when boarding they changed to an even worse seat! Even though I am Platinum at their Skyteam alliance. This is a really bad airline overall and can’t advise anyone to fly with them. This is not the first time! They also have very poor and strange lounge access which doesn’t make sense. Also seat space poor.
AircraftBoeing 788
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Bogota via Madrid. Terrible airline. Do not fly with Air Europa, even if you have to pay a few more dollars for another airline, you’ll be thankful. We were given an e-ticket with no indication that we would need to pay for checked baggage. Upon arrival at airport, we were forced to pay 240EUR for two checked bags. It’s our honeymoon. They didn’t care. Said it wasn’t their problem and that’s the charge for baggage and that they don’t include that in the ticket cost. Avoid this airline no matter what you do.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Bogota via Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"told us we had canceled our flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Miami to Rome via Madrid. My wife and I arrived at the ticket counter in Miami 2.5 hours before our 9:30pm flight to Rome through Madrid and the Air Europa agent told us that we had canceled our flight and the money had been refunded. We explained that they had made a mistake, we had not canceled and they had not issued a refund. I showed them an email dated 2 days earlier confirming our seat selections in business class. Their answer, our customer service is closed now and we have sold the seats to other passengers. They suggested we call their customer service the next day. To add insult to injury they gave us the wrong number for customer service. We did not have the option to delay our travel by one day so we had to take a last minute booking on British Airways. Once in Europe I spoke with Air Europa customer service and they told me it was their mistake, our tickets never should have been canceled and furthermore they noted that no refund had been issued. They eventually issued a refund and told me to write a complaint letter to their customer service which I did. I asked them for either a credit equal to my $10,000 out of pocket cost. After one month they responded that they were sorry about my inconvenience but there was nothing more they would do to compensate me for my costs.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMiami to Rome via Madrid
Date FlownOctober 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"made me check my free bag"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Palma Mallorca to Barcelona. The flight was full and the crew made me check my free bag. When I went to pick it up at the baggage claim it was wrecked. I fly with carry on only so I don’t lose or wreck my bags. Thanks a lot Air Europa. That was brand new bag.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePalma Mallorca to Barcelona
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst company I fly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Punta Cana to Gatwick via Madrid. The worst company I fly. The aircraft are old and uncomfortable. For a long journey such as Madrid to Punta Cana limited leg space, no entertainment on board. Food terrible. Staff has poor customer service skill. Both times we have been delayed to departure. I don't want to sound so negative., however there's nothing nice I can say about the Air Europa. I will never fly with them again .
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePunta Cana to Gatwick via Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst flight management ever"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The worst flight management ever. The plane was really old. We went on the plane, no AC working, 45 degrees, after 90 minutes we had to go back to the terminal, only a strange announcement in Spanish. Theyt held us 3 hours without explanation. Went back on board, with a bang the electricity went off. Dark. Right now I am on the plane, sweating and already 4 hours delay. No announcements on English, but in Spanish the captain said everything is OK and the plane is in a 100 percent good condition. I never had such a bad management of the situation. The captain did not even inform the stewards.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAsuncion to Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not fly Air Europa to Uruguay again"

(Uruguay)

Trip Verified | Düsseldorf to Montevideo via Madrid. Despite showing windsurf equipment consisting of max 1 board, boom, sail and mast as a sport luggage for 75,- Euro extra costs on their website, the airline refused to take 1 windsurf board which I wanted to take. Somewhere in the small prints they mention that the board has to be 250cm in total (length + width + height), just no windsurfboard will match that measurement request. I pointed that out, customer service didn’t care - that is the policy and they don’t care if it is senseless and if all other airlines transport windsurf gear. So I had to leave my board behind. In Madrid 1 h boarding delay with zero announcements on a very late departing flight (24.00). The oldest and most worn out business class I have ever seen. No individual screens, instead handing out IPads 1h after departure with 12 movies, no newer releases. Only 6 passengers in business, 18 seats in total. Crew was hanging curtains on 8 seats which served as “cabins for the crew” on an 12h flight. Later other crew members just hanging out in uncovered seats. Seats are not flat, 15 degrees angle and impossible to sleep on. Food is below average of an economy service on a regular airline. The flight was cheap (2.800 Euro return), which is 800 less than LATAM, 1.500 less than Iberia/ British / AF for the period that I booked. It was a fast transit and overall traveling time was good. Still I will not fly Air Europa to Uruguay again on my annual 2 flights between Uruguay and Europe.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDüsseldorf to Montevideo via Madrid
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no