Top 100 Airlines  

Virgin Atlantic

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 103 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"were unbelievably cramped"

(United States)

This was the worst flying experience I've ever had. The Virgin Atlantic A330 seats were unbelievably cramped. I'm 6' tall and I had to sit with my legs at an extreme angle to avoid hitting the seat in front of me. My 5'4" wife had her knees touching the seat in front. No "Extra Leg Room" seats were available. Getting in and out was a chore. It was literally claustrophobic. The aisles were super narrow as well. When the seats in front reclined, the situation was unbearable. I was in pain and had to get out of my seat every hour to stretch, a chore on an 11 hour flight. Also, the meals were mediocre at best. This was my first flight on this airline and I expected far, far better. I will never fly on Virgin Atlantic again.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"feel robbed and cheated"

(United Kingdom)

Flew to Miami mid-March with Virgin Atlantic. So very, very unhappy. Initially very excited to be travelling Premium Economy on the Boeing 787. Imagine our disappointment to find that the three rows of seats in front of us were full of men on a stag visit to Miami. Heavily intoxicated before getting onto the flight. Quiet for take-off then seven hours of loud vile language, throwing stuff around the cabin, jumping into each other seats and repeated use of electronic cigarettes. What did Virgin do - nothing. Except serve them more drinks (including liquors at their seats.) The crew finally refused to serve them any more alcohol for the final two hours of the flight, I really thought fighting would break out at this point. I paid for this flight out of my own money, I expected an enjoyable experience, what I got was seven hours of terror. I feel robbed and cheated. Never again on Virgin
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"are they in financial trouble?"

(United Kingdom)

We had booked and paid for extra leg room seats 7 months before flying. When we arrived for flight back to Manchester they had changed the plane and given all extra leg room seats to other passengers. We are in our 70s and found the seats we got were small and uncomfortable. We arrived at Manchester cramped and in pain. We have been offered Virgin air miles as an apology, but over the last 8 years or so have never been able to use them on any flight, upgrade that we have booked with them. Also we paid for these leg room seats in June 2015, and Virgin have still not returned our money. Are they in financial trouble? They do not care a jot about their customers. A couple of years ago we had paid for premium economy seats and they were not available. You get no notice of these changes, so you cannot change your flight.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"worst flying experience"

(United Kingdom)

I was expecting something special when I found out I was flying on a Boeing 787 to Johannesburg but I was so disappointed! The seats were tiny with very little leg room and if the person reclined in front of you, you had to eat your food with their head in your face. I would go one further in saying it was the worst flying experience I have had flying longhaul.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats small and uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Recently flew to and from Johannesburg on Virgin Atlantic Boeing 787 in economy. The cabin is smaller than the old A340-600 which had a 2x4x2 seat plan, the 787 has 3x3x3 into a smaller space and the seats are small and uncomfortable, especially if the cabin is full. Once the seat backs go back you cannot move to get out of your seat or even eat your meal. The meal trays are too small to accommodate the meal and slide all over the place and if anything is dropped it is lost forever. Some of the seats have metal boxes on the floor attached to the seat in front restricting leg room further. It was almost impossible to sleep as everyone had to lie on each other due lack of space (this is a ten hour overnight flight). There are no toilets at the rear of the plane so long queues form at the centre wing area toilets. The cabin crew appeared to be rushed, delivering the drink and meal in double quick time before going to bed, they were also extremely reluctant to provide alcoholic drinks, requests for which brought dirty looks.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"seats were dreadful"

(United Kingdom)

We flew to Grenada, meaning we were on the plane for over 11 hours - and the seats were unbelievably uncomfortable, very hard, no back support and no foot rests. On the return flight we had extra leg room seats and the leg room was much better in these but the seats just as hard and uncomfortable. Staff were pleasant, food OK and the choice of films was excellent but the seats were dreadful.
Aircraft TypeAirbus A340-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"narrowest I have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Extremely disappointed by this flight. The seat where we were (exit row seats we paid extra for) were the narrowest I have ever experienced. I am average size and it was a really uncomfortable for someone even of my average girth. Heaven knows how some wider people would cope. The audio didn't work on the entertainment system, supper was nothing special and the alleged breakfast was as poor as other people have already described. Virgin Atlantic economy class has really gone downhill in recent times, they used to be my preferred airline.
Aircraft TypeA340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats were extremely hard"

(United Kingdom)

Leg room was awful and the seats were extremely hard. Width wise not much better either. I paid the extra $70 dollars on the way back for supposedly extra leg room. Could not tell if there was any, so felt ripped off. Plane was late taking off on the way due to technical problems which took 1 hour and 50 minutes to fix with very few updates from the crew. Only nice thing was the complimentary bag. I would not recommend Virgin Atlantic certainly on the their older fleet. It seems to me that passengers in the US or flying transatlantic are getting a bum deal. I fly regularly to Far East and the airlines are far better in every way.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"journey was very unpleasant"

(United Kingdom)

I have flown with Virgin Atlantic on a number of occasions but not in the last 4 years. I went with my daughter to Orlando from Manchester and I say the level of service was awful. The food was dreadful. The entertainment service was worse than Delta (partner airline). On the way out the cabin crew were very bad tempered. On the way back the seat in front of me was empty until the seat belt light went out. It was the claimed. When the meal was served, the seat in front was reclined. This had the effect of sending my meal into my lap. The entertainment unit was then too close for me to see. I wear glasses and could not focus very well. I also have long legs so when the passenger in front went to sleep she objected to my legs/ knees digging in her back and started to argue with me. There wasn't much I could do so she went to see the cabin crew who did absolutely nothing although the middle seat was empty and she could easily have moved to it. She pushed back as hard as possible on the seat making my legs ache. The journey was very unpleasant. The food on the return journey (what I ate of it) was not very nice. I was glad to get off the plane. Delta was much better. Easyjet and Ryanair are better. Avoid!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
9/10

"seats comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

We found the experience very good, crew welcoming, seats comfortable, welcome drink prior to take off. Food selection was good with hot / cold snacks offered between meals. Cabin staff were attentive and offered great service.
Aircraft TypeA340
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes