Airline of the Year  

United Airlines

Seat Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"even the service is better"

(United States)

Verified Review | When flying United's wide body fleet on domestic legs it is as if you are flying and entirely different airline than the domestic narrow body fleet. Besides the entertainment and seats being better even the service is better. It is understandable that you cannot have an exclusive fleet of widebodies flying domestic routes, but it sure is nice when you are on board one of them.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767-300
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"The seat was just perfect"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | I chose seat 20H. The seat was just perfect. Close enough to business cabin so you're not bothered by the noise from the rest of the economy cabin and far enough from the bathroom usually crowded area. I'm rather tall 6' and I found that space for legs was fair enough for the additional money I paid for the seat. It's an aisle seat so you need to be ready to move, but that's ok for me since I'm a bad sleeper in planes
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"no coordinated seating"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Unbelievable stress before we get anywhere near the flight. Why on earth would you assign 4 seats scattered across the aircraft, to a family group including a 3 and 5 year old? They ask for the ages of the children at booking, which was more than 4 months ago and yet no coordinated seating. It's a long way from Auckland to San Francisco for the cabin crew to service a 3 year old sitting alone and a 5 year old sitting alone. Even if the issue is worked out before boarding, the stress and angst has spoiled our holiday. A phone call to the nearest United office (Australia) and we were told that they can't move other passengers who have already selected. How did they select? This flight was booked on the AirNZ site and seats could not be selected at booking and don't seem to be able to be changed now. Really bad system.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"seat was pretty comfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | I flew Premium Economy, in Seat 19K. The seat was pretty comfortable, and I had plenty of legroom in which to stretch out. The recline, however, was subpar. It reclined maybe an inch more (maybe) than Economy (and was therefore almost incomparable.). Unless you can sleep practically upright, good luck getting in a few "Zzzz" before the plane lands. Sleeping was harder than I imagined. What really did shock me were two things: how quiet the engines were (even during takeoff and landing - eerily quiet), and how big the windows were. I look forward to flying Premium Economy or Business with other airlines to compare, and I look forward to flying with United again soon.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"Seats are comfortable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I'm surprised that this tiny jet aircraft felt big inside. Seats are comfortable. Just perfect for a 2 hours flight YVR-SFO. I was seated in 22F and it was good. Window with a view of the wing. Legroom is good for me , but I'm a short guy so legroom has never been a problem anyways. Cabin bins are quite big.
Aircraft TypeERJ 175
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"it was excruciating"

(United States)

The United Airlines A320 is such an atrocious aircraft that I can only recommend it be avoided at all costs. I was on a reasonably short flight from BOS-IAD, and it was excruciating. The 30" seat pitch is the absolute worst, and believe me, you'll feel it. I'm 6'2 and 195 lbs, not overweight or even excessively tall. United should be ashamed of what they have done with their A320 fleet. I will avoid it at all costs and will even use another airline, if needed. Even a regional provides a lot more comfort and personal space.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"terrible seating arrangement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Terrible seating arrangement to squeeze as many people as possible with only a single aisle. Not enough leg room to sit comfortably at all and definitely not enough cabin space to accommodate carry on baggage for the number of people on board. I had to check my carry-on due to lack of space and my laptop bag couldn't fit under the seat nor provide enough space for someone sitting when I placed the bag under another seat as was instructed by the flight crew. Finally I had to walk my laptop bag from row 39 all the way to first class after everyone was seated to place it in an overhead bin where room was found. Very long time to board and de-plane compared to all other aircraft I've flown on because nearly 300 people use just a single aisle to exit. What a poor designed plane. I will avoid the 737-900 in the future - and the version United put me on didn't have power or tv screens either.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-900
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"never been so uncomfortable"

(United States)

I have never been so uncomfortable on a flight in my life. Yes, I am 6' tall and had a lap infant (basically a pariah as soon as I walk on a plane), but our flights to and from Boston were some of the longest hours of my life. I could not move my legs. At all. They were jammed into the seat in front of me. Couldn't get to the bag under my seat containing food, toys, diapers for my one year old. On the flight back, the remote for the tv is somehow under one's elbow, thus causing the tv to blast on 2 inches from my daughter's face -- generally right as I got her sleepy. Forget using the tray table, forget walking down the aisle (unless you enjoy smashing yourself into other passengers personal space so that others may get by). I was so sore and I am angry because I feel this is all being done on purpose so that we will buy Economy "Plus" seats next time and an extra seat for her. Sorry United, never again.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"the most uncomfortable seat"

(United States)

Flew on a newer (my guess was new to the fleet in 2016) Boeing 737-900 from ORD to Cancun in economy. Hands-down the most uncomfortable seat I've ever flown in, after a lifetime of flying the globe on a fairly regular basis. The seat was flimsy, hardly any padding, hardly any recline but any more and I would have been squished by the person in front of me. The width was so absurdly narrow that the aisle was visibly huge. Flight attendants were polite enough, the attempt to make the plane look bigger with the new ceiling was a visual success. Flew on an older 737 on the return flight, the seat was slightly more comfortable, and I managed to get an exit row without anyone beside me.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-900
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Avoid at all costs. I'm not even close to average American frame. The TV controls are in the center of the worst designed armrest in the history of flight. Good luck not changing your seatmate's channel or volume. NO legroom at all.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews