Airline of the Year  

Swiss Intl Air Lines

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Seats were extremely narrow"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | What a mistake of Swiss to have this configuration of 3x4x3 in a plane (Boeing 777-300ER) that makes long flights. Seats were extremely narrow, even eating was just a challenge. Legroom was good and the IFE screen was very good and large. USB powerport also nice.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"nice and spacious seats"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | Very nice and spacious seats in our A320. Enough legroom en seatwidth were good. More spacious then onboard their 777-300ER's. Overhead screens were present but no charging options installed.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"lacking in good legroom"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Awful seats, lacking in good legroom, lower back and thigh support. I used the given pillow for additional lower back support but that was still inadequate. I like that there were no controls or buttons in the armrest - everything was in the screen, very very nice. Perhaps that's the way they manage to squeeze out some additional inches in the width? Didn't feel any more spacious than other economy class.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"comfortable flight for sure"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | I flew from Zürich ZHR to Nice NCE with Swiss Global Airlines. Since February 2017 they use the brand new Bombardier CS100 as first operator on their route. I really enjoyed the flight. The CS100 is a very silent aircraft. I sat in the last seat at the back of the aircraft. And it still was very silent. The CS100 has huge windows. They are around 26% larger than the 737-800 windows. The CS100 has got a very large central aisle with a 2x3 configuration. The head rest felt very good. The table is robust and has a good size. But there is no Inflight entertaining system. But Swiss global airlines does not operate on more than 1h 30min flights with the CS 100. And the cabin air felt fresh. If you are looking to fly on a CS100 with Swiss. You will have a comfortable flight for sure.
Aircraft TypeBombardier CS100
Seat Layout2x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"have to sit separated"

(Austria)

I have booked this flight about six month in advance, and I also paid for reserved seats. When we got our boarding passes we saw that my wife and I had different seats, even not in the same row as they changed the airplane type. The staff in SFO ignored our complain. They said we are only paying for a window and an aisle seat, and this is what we have got. So we would have to sit separated during a 12 hours flight, my wife having fear of flying. Another passenger was so kind to switch seat, so at the end we were sitting close to each other. But my Email complaint to Swiss also was not successful. After 6 weeks, I got an email, full of phrases but no regret.
Aircraft TypeA340-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"seat pitch is generous"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The A330's of Swiss have really old seats, but with personal IFE Screen. The seat pitch is generous and the recline is good. Also the firmness of the seat makes a trip quite comfortable. One disturbing thing is the fact, that the personal IFE screens do not have a touchscreen but a remote control and that is complicated.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I have experienced"

(Germany)

Verified Review | This was my first (and last) flight with Swiss new Boeing 777, which is scheduled to replace the A340 fleet. Swiss queezes 10 seats in a row, which makes it extremely uncomfortable to sit. This was a short flight, the plane is designed for ultra long flights. I can't imagine flying with it to Hong Kong or even JFK. The guy in front lowered his seat and the backrest was 8 cm (3 inches) from my face. Reading or watching the video screen was impossible. The seats are very narrow in width and also the distance to the seat in front is very small. I am 190 cm (about 6ft.4) and weigh about 110 kg (240 lbs), so I am about average but usually have no problems in widebody jets. Thank goodness the seat next to me remained free, Even people smaller squirmed in their seats. I can only warn everyone over 6 feet to go on this plane. It is the worst I have experienced in widebodies (and with about 3,500 flights in my life I have seen a lot).
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"no window and no recline"

(Denmark)

A comfortable flight on LX1271 to Zurich from Copenhagen followed by an awful flight from Zurich to Porto on LX2064. Although I had asked to check my baggage at Copenhagen, the check staff had weighed it and told me to take it as carry on, I was harassed by ground staff who insist on weighing my bag with a handheld scale, and insisting that it was over weight and be checked baggage. I tried to explain that it had been weighed by a finer instrument at check in in Copenhagen but this person just wasn't listening. When we boarded we discovered we had been allocated seats in row 39 which have no window and no recline. Just terrible - I the flight on LX1271 shows that Swiss Air can be great but LX2064 shows the flip-side. Bad staff, bad attitude, bad service. Beware!
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"no room to shift position"

(Germany)

Very close seating in economy with no room to shift position. I had an aisle seat, which allowed for some arm and leg movement on the aisle side, but none on the side with the adjacent seat. Forward leg room was sufficient for me (175 cm), but not for my neighbor (194 cm). Eating was also difficult due to restricted arm space and the closeness of the fold-down table to the body. Food and service from Zurich to Newark was very good; from Newark to Zurich only the service. The staff were efficient and friendly. Boarding was done from the back to the front, which prevented jams that I have experienced during boarding on other airlines. On board entertainment selections were extremely good and provided more than enough variety. The plane's turbines were so loud at times that conversation and film watching became impossible. Don't know if this is possible, but I had the feeling that the plane was alternately accelerating and coasting. This was very annoying especially as this was an overnight flight and most passengers were trying to sleep. I would book SWISS for a transatlantic flight again, but definitely not before checking if other carriers offer better seating at a similar price.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"seats reasonably comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Zurich to London City in Economy class Flight was on time both on take off and landing. Seats were reasonably comfortable, even if of the old, thick type. Space between different rows in average. Crew was not particularly attentive: although they distributed a sandwich and a drink to all passengers. Overall it is very convenient because it lands at City airport.
Aircraft TypeAvro RJ00
Seat Layout2x3
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews