Top 100 Airlines  

Swiss Intl Air Lines

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"seat pitch is generous"

(Germany)

Verified Review | The A330's of Swiss have really old seats, but with personal IFE Screen. The seat pitch is generous and the recline is good. Also the firmness of the seat makes a trip quite comfortable. One disturbing thing is the fact, that the personal IFE screens do not have a touchscreen but a remote control and that is complicated.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst I have experienced"

(Germany)

Verified Review | This was my first (and last) flight with Swiss new Boeing 777, which is scheduled to replace the A340 fleet. Swiss queezes 10 seats in a row, which makes it extremely uncomfortable to sit. This was a short flight, the plane is designed for ultra long flights. I can't imagine flying with it to Hong Kong or even JFK. The guy in front lowered his seat and the backrest was 8 cm (3 inches) from my face. Reading or watching the video screen was impossible. The seats are very narrow in width and also the distance to the seat in front is very small. I am 190 cm (about 6ft.4) and weigh about 110 kg (240 lbs), so I am about average but usually have no problems in widebody jets. Thank goodness the seat next to me remained free, Even people smaller squirmed in their seats. I can only warn everyone over 6 feet to go on this plane. It is the worst I have experienced in widebodies (and with about 3,500 flights in my life I have seen a lot).
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"no window and no recline"

(Denmark)

A comfortable flight on LX1271 to Zurich from Copenhagen followed by an awful flight from Zurich to Porto on LX2064. Although I had asked to check my baggage at Copenhagen, the check staff had weighed it and told me to take it as carry on, I was harassed by ground staff who insist on weighing my bag with a handheld scale, and insisting that it was over weight and be checked baggage. I tried to explain that it had been weighed by a finer instrument at check in in Copenhagen but this person just wasn't listening. When we boarded we discovered we had been allocated seats in row 39 which have no window and no recline. Just terrible - I the flight on LX1271 shows that Swiss Air can be great but LX2064 shows the flip-side. Bad staff, bad attitude, bad service. Beware!
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"no room to shift position"

(Germany)

Very close seating in economy with no room to shift position. I had an aisle seat, which allowed for some arm and leg movement on the aisle side, but none on the side with the adjacent seat. Forward leg room was sufficient for me (175 cm), but not for my neighbor (194 cm). Eating was also difficult due to restricted arm space and the closeness of the fold-down table to the body. Food and service from Zurich to Newark was very good; from Newark to Zurich only the service. The staff were efficient and friendly. Boarding was done from the back to the front, which prevented jams that I have experienced during boarding on other airlines. On board entertainment selections were extremely good and provided more than enough variety. The plane's turbines were so loud at times that conversation and film watching became impossible. Don't know if this is possible, but I had the feeling that the plane was alternately accelerating and coasting. This was very annoying especially as this was an overnight flight and most passengers were trying to sleep. I would book SWISS for a transatlantic flight again, but definitely not before checking if other carriers offer better seating at a similar price.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"seats reasonably comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Zurich to London City in Economy class Flight was on time both on take off and landing. Seats were reasonably comfortable, even if of the old, thick type. Space between different rows in average. Crew was not particularly attentive: although they distributed a sandwich and a drink to all passengers. Overall it is very convenient because it lands at City airport.
Aircraft TypeAvro RJ00
Seat Layout2x3
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
6/10

"Rock hard seat cushion, unwatchable TV screen "

(United Kingdom)

Rock hard seat cushion, unwatchable TV screen and IFE box taking up half of your foot space, really let Swiss long haul down. On the plus side, food and drinks were very good and plentiful, cabin crew on the whole friendly and efficient. Not going to complain about seat width and pitch as this information is easily found out beforehand and therefore can't come as a surprise - needless to say most airlines have roughly the same seat pitch/width, so it's the food and entertainment system that gets votes. We all wish that we had a bit more room in economy but that's not what lets Swiss down in my opinion.
Aircraft TypeA340-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2014
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"Excellent economy class seat"

(United States)

Excellent economy class seat. Well thought out and implemented. Every seat in the airplane was taken, but I felt quite comfortable and not crammed.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownAugust 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"seat legroom was surprisingly good"

(Switzerland)

Seat legroom was for a short haul flight surprisingly good. This might have to do that it was an Airbus and not a Boeing, as they've have not added more seats yet.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
6/10

"no more space for your feet"

(Switzerland)

On RJ100 the seat rows 7/8/9/10 offer no space for luggage in the cabin. Seat 6F the view is obstructed by the engine and noisy. If you have to put your luggage under the seat you have no more space for your feet.
Aircraft TypeRJ100
Seat Layout2x3
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
1/10

"seat pitch is terrible"

(United Kingdom)

I am in Seat 11b Zurich to LHR. For some reason Swiss in their infinite wisdom put A319 in old seat fit out on Friday pm Heathrow flight. Seat pitch is terrible combined with gate staff taking all small 2nd bags for hold even when website clearly states 2 items of hand luggage!! Don't use Swiss if ur a time conscious and cost conscious business traveller- there are better other carriers! Having used Swiss for years - disappointed.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A319
Seat Layout3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews