South African Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 526 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (United States) 30th May 2015

Avoid at all costs seats 37A/B and 38A/B. Row 36 in economy is reserved for families with babies and so row 36 on the left side of the aircraft is shifted back several cm. As a result row 37 and row 38 have much much less legroom. My knees were pressing into the seat back of row 36 for the entire trip (14+ hours) and the situation was made much worse by the fact that the person seated in 36A jammed the seat all the way back as far as she could giving me even less leg room. My seat mate was a large tall gentlemen and he suffered far more than I did. For both of us the seats in row 37 were claustrophobic. Couple that with the fact that both seats in row 36 have boxes under them that restrict the amount of room people in row 37 have to stretch their legs and you've got the recipe for a very uncomfortable ride.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
7/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (United States) 19th November 2014

Mediocre seat. Flew from JFK to JNB. Very little legroom but good recline.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
8/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa) 12th January 2014

Very comfortable seat very large leg room good food good choice of entertainment and very hospitable crew. Definitely is a must fly!
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
7/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (South Africa) 12th January 2014

The seat was slightly harder than I remember but was still comfortable the entertainment system was one of the best I've ever seen with large screens. They also had three meal options as opposed to two. If you're looking for a good low cost carrier definitely fly SAA!
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A330-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
7/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd September 2010

Seat was okay got the bulkhead which was very good meant a good deal to have extra legroom. SAA's food still comes up tops servings very generous as is the drink. (Nice to see the amarula as a South African). There was no inseat entertainment.
Aircraft TypeA340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen N/A
yes
7/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd September 2010

Seat was okay got the bulkhead which was very good meant a good deal to have extra legroom. SAA's food still comes up tops servings very generous as is the drink. (Nice to see the amarula as a South African). There was no inseat entertainment.
Aircraft TypeA340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen N/A
yes
8/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 21st September 2010

Economy class from Frankfurt to Johannesburg return. We were traveling with 4 people and seated in the middle row. I found the seats to be comfortable the recline was ok. Even with the person in front of me reclined there was still enough room to move about and to get in and out of your seat easily. I enjoyed about 6 hours of sleep during the flight.
Aircraft TypeA340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
8/10

South African Airways customer review

Review by (Netherlands) 21st September 2010

Economy class from Frankfurt to Johannesburg return. We were traveling with 4 people and seated in the middle row. I found the seats to be comfortable the recline was ok. Even with the person in front of me reclined there was still enough room to move about and to get in and out of your seat easily. I enjoyed about 6 hours of sleep during the flight.
Aircraft TypeA340-600
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes