Qantas Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"economy seats are non-reclineable"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Trans Tasman flight from Wellington to Sydney. First time ever I have encountered a plane where all economy seats are non-reclineable. The button is blanked off flat and cannot be used. I know it’s only a 3.5 hour flight but a little bit of recline so the seat is not stark upright is far more comfortable. I travel and fly several times a year and first time I’ve encountered this. Is this to be the new norm on Qantas Jetconnect flights? I’m keen to know if others have noticed this change?
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"find the smallest seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was so looking forward to coming home and on a Qantas flight too! So I get on and find the smallest seat since the 70's and the seat in front goes back with a clunk - no halfway decisions here! When the meal is delivered the tray is so small that the only thing they can deliver is a roll, and main and a pudding dumped down unceremoniously. The movie i tried to watch froze at least 6 times. I asked for a reset and got nothing. I just kept restarting the movie and going back to the freeze area and trying again so also on another movie - Emirates, Etihad, Singapore are all superior to this flight. Qantas used to be so good - what happened? Despite having a few Q FF points left I shall reconsider whether this is the best FF programme for me to be part of.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"the drop in service quality"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | We have just flown return from Christchurch to Heathrow. Disappointed with Qantas this time after previous trip 2.5 years ago. We were row 70 on the way over late August and row 69 on the way back. This is where the meal service trolleys converge. The customer service was sub optimal, I accept that sometimes you cannot have the meal you'd like, however I do not like being asked what I would like and then being ignored while 8 staff have an 8 way conversation about other people's meals. Very poor, not even an "excuse me" from the staff while they spoke to their colleagues. I was the 3rd person to use the toilet after leaving Heathrow , it smelt of urine on the floor and there were grimy hand prints on the area around the lock. Not good when you know you are in the same seat for the best part of 26 hours. I'd question if it was cleaned before departure. The cabin was freezing, I accept that it is for air filtration (and we did not return with a cold, so job done, thanks Qantas) I heard other passengers asking about it to be fobbed off. It was a pleasure to swap onto the Emirates A380 in Sydney for the last leg. We are both experienced long haul travellers and disappointed in the drop in service quality over the last 2.5 years.
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seat was very uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | It was a Boeing 737-800 from Townsville to Brisbane. It was my first time on a Qantas B737. My seat was 8A in economy, and it was so cramped. Very little legroom. My wife who is shorter than me had also difficult time in her seat 8B. In addition to this, the seat itself was very uncomfortable. I got off the aircraft with a sore back.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"the poor quality seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible seating for a long haul flight on a non-budget airline. The lumbar support was awful, and the leg room was less than I would normally expect on a short haul European flight with the likes of Ryanair or EasyJet. Would never fly again unless prices competed with the budget airlines to match the poor quality seating.
Aircraft TypeA330-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"seats 24A/ are the best"

(United Kingdom)

On the Qantas A380 I have to say that for a solo traveller the Premium Economy seats 24A/ are the best to go for. They seem to be blocked for high level frequent flyers until close to departure but if you can snag one do so. These seats are window seats with a window on the exit row and the first row of PE. I've heard reports that people congregate in this area while waiting for the nearby bathrooms but I didn't see that on this flight albeit the cabin was not full. The bathrooms, the rear Business Class ones, are behind a curtain. The leg room is huge and the service starts at your seat. These side pairs of seats in a 2-3-2 cabin could be good for couples too, but the seats on the aisle may see some leg & foot interaction with people walking past during the night. Other reports are that it is cold in this row by the door. But I didn't experience that. The blankets and pillows are as provided in Business Class. The seat is pretty good with a decent width and recline. The TV Screen comes out of the armrest and is of reasonable quality. PE window seats have the added bonus of the side lockers at seat level.
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"product is satisfactory"

(Hong Kong)

Standard Boeing 737-800 economy class seat at 3x3 configuration. Seats are comfortable enough with decent recline, for flights under 4 hours, these are fine by me.The seats are fabric not leather, so it's not so hot. Individual air vent to help you keep cool. The product is satisfactory in general.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"Good seat all in all"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Seated in 14E, a middle seat in the exit row on a Qantas flight from Melbourne to Adelaide. Seat was comfortable - great leg room for someone over 200cm tall. The middle seat does have an electronics box under the seat in front (13E) which slightly narrows the space available for your feet. Good seat all in all.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
3/10

" an old plane showing it's age"

(United States)

Basically an old plane showing it's age. Not much legroom for such long flights ( trans Pacific) and quite narrow seats. To make things worse the headphone Jacks are on inside so they really narrow the seats another 1/2 inch. The new A380 is better but only just. Hey Qantas you can do better.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3-4-3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"great seats for Premium Economy"

(Australia)

My longest flight until now - 17 hours in air but great seats for Premium Economy, very friendly staff and simply amazing food! Plenty of leg room and I think if you take the seats on the sides, then you get more storage space as well. The flight was smooth and staff looked after very well.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews