Monarch Airlines

Seat Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 19 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Worth paying for upfront seat"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This review is for an exit row seat. Worth paying the extra £16 for an upfront seat. We were at the front of the plane with more space/comfort than I've ever experienced on a budget airline. Plenty of room to stretch our legs (and we are both very tall).
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Legroom is poor"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Sub contracted to Smartlynx, a Latvian airline, the aircraft had multiple empty extra legroom seats from rows 1-7 but rows 8 backwards operate on the strictest minimum pitch they can get away with. They are uncomfortable even for a two hour flight for someone of only average height. Legroom is poor. Staff otherwise okay.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"lack of legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Tenerife South to Manchester, 13th June. Some problem with airport check in system causing confusion. Horrendous queues at all desks not helped by announcements directing passengers to move from one desk to another. Having eventually checked in was a relief to find security area serenely quiet and we were through in five minutes. A321, similar type of aircraft on which we travelled out. However the seats seemed to have been compressed together. Have they the means to do that? Was so tight I measured the gap which was nine inches from the front of the seat squab to the back of the seat ahead. Took off a bit later than scheduled at 1.30pm but made up time and landed at 5.30pm. Disembarked and arrived at Passport Control at 5.50pm. Hundreds of passengers going nowhere. Clogged up by those ever so clever automatic passport readers! Escaped to baggage reclaim at 6.30pm to find the carousel stationary and our plane's baggage stacked against the wall, with one of our expensive suitcases damaged to destruction. Out of the airport more than an hour after touchdown. Apart from the lack of legroom none of this was the fault of Monarch who we have always found to efficient and friendly.
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJune 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
6/10

"headrest is non existent"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew with Monarch tonight just back, overall experience was good minus a few small problems. The check in and boarding was fine, and easy to deal with. A set of friendly staff, we departed pretty much on time, and arrived 30 minutes early than scheduled. Modern, clean A321 as you would expect but the quality of the padding on the seating has to be questioned. The headrest is non existent. It's a plastic board with a thin layer on and it's generally uncomfortable I managed to bare with it for 2 hours, but on a longer flight this really wouldn't cut it. I'd fly Monarch again however as they are far from poor.
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"experience unbelievably uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

I'm 6ft 2 tall and I was crammed into the middle seat of 3 on a 4 hour plus flight from Manchester to Tenerife. The seats were so close together that my knees were sticking into the back of the passenger in front. I struggled to get at the literature in the mesh in front and this included safety literature. The drop down tray stuck into my midriff making the whole flight experience unbelievably uncomfortable. My wife who was sat to my right is considerably shorter than me but also struggled to get comfortable. It is about time that a standard is introduced by the authorities forcing Air lines to provide comfortable seating for ALL passengers. Why am I and others of similar stature and size made to feel truly second class and asked to pay extra for comfort. If anyone reading this has any idea how to start a campaign to get comfort for all I'll be first in line to help out. There was no problem with any other part of this Monarch flight and the staff were fine but seating needs sorting.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"inhumane and cramped"

(United Kingdom)

Worst legroom of any budget airline. Do not fly with Monarch if you are tall as it is inhumane and cramped even before the seat in front is reclined. Upon reclining the row in front the seat is basically unusable. As much as I hate Ryanair, their non-reclining awful seats are more comfortable and offer more legroom than Monarch. Perhaps the EU should regulate airlines like Monarch more closely when it comes to cramped travelling conditions.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"worst quality of seat"

(United Kingdom)

Friendly staff but the worst quality of seat I have ever experienced. The cushioning is reduced to the absolute minimum and the headrest is like a big of plastic covered with a thin cloth. Appalling. Paid for priority check in and boarding which is also a waste of money unless it's high season. Didn't appear to be any mechanism for priority boarding in Tenerife. We will never fly Monarch ever again.
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"worst seats I have experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Monarch Airlines flight from Dubrovnik to LGW. Check in was fine and plane left on time and arrived early. All good but these are simply the worst seats I have ever experienced. I am 6' 4" tall so always a squeeze but I was literally physically wedged into a seat by the window. Intensely claustrophobic and after an hour I started experiencing severe leg cramp and near panic attacks. The plane was full so I had to deal with it. After arrival I could barely walk and it took me several hours to get proper movement back into my legs. I suppose this is a deliberate ploy to sell extra leg room seats but frankly I felt that the airline are getting close to providing unsafe seating with health implications. This was an agonizing experience - never again.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
9/10

"I would recommend Monarch"

(United Kingdom)

We travelled Gatwick to Funchal and found staff both outward and inward flight were very good. We did not order food on the flight. Downside we were delayed on the ouward and inward bound flights - air traffic at Gatwick and weather at Funchal on the way home. For a short haul and cheap break I would recommend Monarch.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"this was pretty bad"

(United Kingdom)

I wasn't expecting much legroom but this was pretty bad. I'm 5'11 my partner 5'8 and we were very cramped. When passengers in front reclined there was little room for my head and it was nearly impossible to get up and out. If I had to fly with Monarch again I'd definitely pay for extra legroom.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A320-200
Seat Layout3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
1 to 10 of 19 Reviews