Top 100 Airports  

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airline experience ever"

(Denmark)

We booked KLM for our group of 6 family members AAL-AMS-BKK, a general delay of 2 hours from the start was kept during the whole flight. KLM managed to delay part of our luggage for 3 days before it showed up, meaning we had to stay additional days in Bangkok waiting for it to arrive, still waiting for their answer on my request for compensation Anyway in regard to seating on the 777 we were feeling like cattle on the way to the slaughter, never in my life have I been on such limited space, so for the return trip we changed upgraded to premium economy, what a joke, the seat could recline 4-5 cm more, but it was still terrible. TV went on and off and had to be reset several times by the attendant, food was not according to menu on both flights, meat balls was supposed to be chicken and the other way around, vegetarian breakfast on a long flight. My worst airline experience ever.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"felt like a low cost airline"

(Hong Kong)

The seat are really the worst part and I don't understand how an airline that defines itself as world class can pack customers like cows in a barn. I am slim and 168 cm and I had difficulties fitting in the space. I had middle seat with a man crammed next to the window not being able to fit his legs, apparently they could not even fit him anywhere else in the flight. The seat of the lady sitting on the other side could not recline so you can imagine the frustration that builds up sitting in uncomfortable seats and position for 12 hours straight. I felt like I was travelling in a low cost airline and would strongly recommend anyone to choose another airline
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"3-4-3 layout was a nightmare"

(Netherlands)

I have flown AMS to JNB return with KLM in Boeing 777-200 with 3-4-3 seat layout. That was a nightmare, especially on the way back. First of all there was no possibility to choose your seat even 24 hrs before. I got a middle seat. I'm 170 cm tall and relatively slim. Next to me were, from one side a Dutch man 2 mtrs high, and on the other side, a sportsmen. Their shoulders were wider than these new "super-slim" 10-in-row chairs. Next time, I better fly with stopovers and not with KLM on B777-200.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience ever"

(Norway)

The worst experience ever with the "New ergonomically designed seats" on the flight from Sao Paulo to Amsterdam last week. Sitting in the window seat, I felt pressed to the wall, by the passenger next to me, a normally built man, who obviously needed more space. Whatever position I sat, resulted in contact with the passenger next to me. This was never a problem with the old, comfortable seats. They had plenty of space for normally built passengers. I attempted to sleep by standing for a couple of hours by the restrooms, but was not allowed by the flight attendant. I was told that the seat widths are the same as earlier on KLM aircraft, which seems to be incorrect, after reading the reviews on this site, where so many others are complaining about the narrow seat width.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"seats are the worst imaginable"

(United Kingdom)

The KLM Boeing 777-200 seats are the absolute worst imaginable. Narrow, uncomfortable and impossible to watch the inflight movie monitor with the front seat reclined. They have decided that even a minimum amount of comfort is too much in their effort to find ways to save costs. It doesn't matter how well they score on other points but I will not be flying with KLM anytime soon.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"the most uncomfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

I flew from Johannesburg to Amsterdam on what can only be described as the most uncomfortable flight of my life. As a regular KLM customer for over 20 years and a current gold card holder I decided to upgrade to premium economy for the flight to ensure that I had a bit more comfort, how wrong I was. OK, I had a bit of legroom but the seats are far too narrow in the new 3x4x3 configuration. Whatever position I sat in resulted in contact with the passenger beside me (I was in a window seat), it was most uncomfortable, at the very least you expect to have some personal space when you fly economy "comfort". Sadly I will be avoiding this new layout whenever I can in future, I really enjoyed flying with KLM because being a gold card holder everything else is fantastic. Now I always look to fly with another airline within the Skyteam group of airlines, I have actually started my rewards programme with Star Alliance because of the narrow seats issue with KLM, I'm sure I'm not the only customer that is unhappy, So far I've flown 20 times with KLM this year (2016) and I have not booked any more flights. The best thing about the flight was the new entertainment screen and the crew, the cabin crew were also complaining bitterly about the new layout because it makes their job a lot harder. I can see KLM going back to 3x3x3 because a lot of people are complaining, I suggest that you look for other options before booking on a KLM aircraft with this layout!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"seats became more narrow"

(Netherlands)

A general note in regard to KLM's new updated Economy cabin. They have been promoting the new cabin and seats as an improvement, ergonomically better, etc. Fact is that the seats became more narrow, meaning a large group of people (in particular the Dutch who are generally taller) are crammed into the seat now. So instead of improvement, the comfort became much less and, as some say, feels like your on a low cost carrier airline. Generally very happy to fly KLM looking at quality of food and, for Dutch standards ok service. Cabin service improved a lot over the past years. Comfort unfortunately not, wich is sad considering many of the competing airlines of KLM score high in comfort.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat LayoutAisle
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"seat cannot recline much"

(Canada)

The A330-300 leg room is short. The seat cannot recline much. The worst is that KLM put an electronic box under the seat to take away the last existing small leg room from me. KLM has no attention to provide the basic comfort to its passengers. From that electronic box, I do not feel KLM respect its passengers.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"what a horrible experience"

(Hong Kong)

What a horrible experience! It is our first and last time to ever fly KLM. My husband is a very tall man (over 2m) so we will always book premium economy. In this case, KLM has named it "economy comfort" but there's nothing "comfort" about it. On our flight to Amsterdam from Hong Kong my husband couldn't actually fit/sit in the super narrow seats. How embarrassing. We travel frequently and this has never happened. Luckily, the purser upgraded him to business and promised to send an email warning them about our return journey in a week's time. But when we checked into our flight home to HK there was no record of this issue. In fact, once we were directed to the ticket counter to get some help, the woman there was incredibly rude, telling us it's our fault for not checking the seat width online (I guess assuming that an international carrier that offers "economy comfort" would be like every other international carrier we've flown was the wrong thing to do after all). She also said that the seat widths are the same on all other airlines which is factually incorrect. And after reading the reviews on this site, I've noticed that so many others have complained about the super narrow seat width. So now, we are at the gate, having been told my husband may not be able to fly home, and we've been forced to pay 700 Euros for him to get a seat in business class. We certainly can't afford to pay this price, but how else is he going to get home?! There are other smaller items I would complain about; however, I've written enough already. What a horrible horrible airline and a sad way to end what would have been a fantastic trip to Amsterdam for my husband's 40th birthday.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747
Seat Layout3x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"cramped 3-4-3 layout"

(Netherlands)

This plane had the "new" interior and it's horrible. Extremely cramped 3-4-3 layout, narrow seats but a little more legroom than in the A330-200 for example (probably due to the super thin seats). The ailes are so small I cannot walk straight without bumping into people so you have to walk somewhat sideways. After about 1 hour me and my GF both had a back ache. My healthy 27 year old back still hurts like hell more than 48 hours after the flight. I always saw KLM as one of the premium airlines. Well, after this not anymore.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 62 Reviews