Airline of the Year  

Japan Airlines

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 17 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Boeing 787 is very comfortable"

(Spain)

Verified Review | I chose to fly JAL on my trip to Tokyo as it is the only one that flies the Boeing 787 with a 2x4x2 configuration. I couldn't have made a better choice. The economy cabin features the new garnet upholstered seats, with the black back. I sat on 53K (window) seat. Once seated, you immediately realize that the seat is really wide, and that the legroom is generous. I am 178 cm (5'10") tall and felt really comfortable. Fortunately there are no entertainment boxes under the seats, and no seat posts in the middle of the two window seats, which makes the foot space even better. A USB socket is located in the back of the seat, and the standard socket is available under the seat. The entertainment system is correct. The screen is slightly larger than the average screen size, and runs smoothly. In conclusion: true widebody comfort. In my opinion, JAL offers a much better product (in terms of seat width and pitch) than what the European legacy carriers offer in economy class on their longhaul fleets nowadays. Needless to say that a 2x4x2 configured Boeing 787 is very comfortable.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"classy design of the seats"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The spaciousness is the freest I have felt in an economy cabin. The classy design of the seats was nice, too, with the wine red and black colours. Subtle touches like the mini pouch pockets for accessaries, cables, mobile and a water bottle were nice, too. Overall the best economy seats I have experienced.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"generous seat pitch"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Very generous seat pitch and width on this Japan Airlines Boeing 767-300ER, which gives passengers much more personal space. A 2x3x2 layout, modern and comfortable cabin. IFE screen is very big and USB charging for devices is available.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767-300ER
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownOctober 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"surprised to have hot meal"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Meal was better than before. They used to serve cold meal. I'm surprised to have hot meal between Tokyo and Seoul. Inflight entertainment system was replaced to the new one. But this 90 minutes flight is too short to enjoy 1 movie. So you need to book return trip as well. You can charge your mobile phone with USB as long as the fleet was B787.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-8
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"loved the seating arrangement"

(Vietnam)

I flew from Tokyo to Honolulu and I loved the seating arrangement. It was a pleasant surprise as opposed to other airlines I often used. Ample space even at the economy class and comfortable ergonomic design. I could recline and stretch my legs and could cope with the 7 hour long flight. Also enough space for carry-ons and nice headset, comfortably resting on your head.
Aircraft TypeA340
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"lot of space in this seat"

(United Kingdom)

I was in the new economy class seat on Boeing 777. I had a lot of space in this seat. The seat was good for long flight, but seat could not recline much. TV screen was enough size to watch it and table was normal size. The seat storage was huge, but I wanted I bit more height on storage also upper compartments were fine.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"couldn't get comfortable"

(United States)

Not impressed with Japan Airlines Premium Economy seat. Looks fancy with hard shell and forward slide. Fancy concepts don't translate to comfort in real life. Couldn't find a comfortable position. Not much slide to speak of. Despite sleeping pills, couldn't get comfortable enough to sleep.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2014
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"extremely hard and uncomfortable"

(United States)

SFO-HND. My mom and I both had aisle seats in row 51. She is 5'2" and I am 5'9". The seat was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Additionally, the seat pockets barely open up, so it's hard to store anything other than paper, such as a water bottle, even the tiny ones they provide pre-flight! Leg room was quite decent and there was a footrest, somewhat making up for the rock hard seat.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJuly 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Seat recline good"

(Singapore)

HIJ-HND on JL 1612 on Y class. Unable to upgrade to J class as flight is near 100% full. Most passengers were working Japanese males probably on their way home to Tokyo. 2 rounds of drinks and inflight sales were made. Seat recline as good as GA 777-300ER. Were shown Japanese news and a clip of "Toy Story". The crew were pleasant and customer orientated. The toilets had paper cranes which symbolises the late Sadako Sasaki through the story of a thousand orgaimi cranes a symbol of innocent victims of war.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 737
Seat Layout3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
10/10

"very comfortable seat"

(Singapore)

NRT-CTS - very comfortable seat with good recline. It was advertised seat pitch of 38". Had a good nap on both sectors. Only overhead tv available for the short sector of 1.5 hrs. Upgrade to J class for 1000 yen is available upon check in. Good value for money.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 737-800
Seat Layout2x3
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 17 Reviews