Best Economy Class Seats  

China Southern Airlines

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 10 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"I found the leg space ok"

(New Zealand)

The seats seemed much the same size as other economy seats but the seat felt hard and after a few hours I felt quite uncomfortable. I would recommend take a cushion or a piece of memory foam. I'm not tall so I found the leg space ok but my neighbour who was taller felt cramped. The seat recline was fine but the passenger behind complained and I was asked to raise my chair a little but the person I front of me who was fully reclined for almost the full journey was not asked to do so. The TV screen on the seat in front was a little small. The aisle space is very good, I would travel again on the Dreamliner but with a cushion instead of a neck roll.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"can recline very well"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Great seat on this China Southern Airlines Boeing 777-300ER aircraft, nice leg room, and the seat can recline very well to manage to get some rest. Wide seat helps me to sleep and didn't bother the person next to me. The aisle also wide enough for people to move, since I was seating at aisle seat, so I didn't bother by people moving around. Entertainment was standard in these days, not too big, not to small, and very responsive touch screen and plenty choices of movies and music. There is no power suply, but I can charge my phone using the usb port.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"very comfortable seats"

(Canada)

I sat in seat 48C (aisle) in the Boeing 777-300 from Guangzhou to Vancouver. Very comfortable seats with plenty of leg room and storage under the seat and in the very large overhead bins. The flight was full and everyone was able to fit their luggage in the overhead bins without an issue. I was not even bothered by the person in front of me reclining their seat. This was a return flight where the original flight was on the Boeing 787 and I must say the 777 is a more comfortable aircraft. Everything is just a bit bigger and the seat are definitely more comfortable on the 777. The 787 was ok as well, but not up to the comfort level of the 777
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"give me enough stretch space"

(Australia)

The seat give me enough stretch space and the seat includes a TV screen in front. TV program is relatively old or less interesting so you might want to bring your own laptop. One thing i liked about is it has a USB charger which helps you to charge your phone.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"Boeing 787 seats are narrow"

(United Kingdom)

Boeing 787 seats are narrow and they are tight. To make matters worse they are also crammed close to the row ahead, so an average sized man had my knees up against the seat in front and having an aisle seat was being bashed by the trolley or people passing by. By comparison the Boeing 737 was spacious.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"seating room was plenty"

(Australia)

Entire seating room was plenty, leg room is suitable for tall person but no taller than 190cm, connectivity ports are available and convenient, head rest is a bit too hard, but will help preventing head movements when sleeping, only thing to mention is the screen angle not being adjustable, if the front passenger decided to change the seat angle, the viewing angle of the screen will get uncomfortable.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"surprisingly good for price"

(United Arab Emirates)

Flew China Southern Airlines from Dubai to Auckland via Guangzhou. Not a bad airline for the price, however problems with the audio and seats not reclining dampened the experience somewhat. The lack of padding on the seats actually gives you more room to move than in other economy seats. I sat at the back, where the 4-seat center changes to 3 seats, and had a space next to me, which was good. I would recommend the Chinese meals, as the western food was pretty bad. You get pretty big glasses of drinks compared to some other airlines. Staff didn't speak much English, but were very friendly and helpful. Guangzhou not a bad spot to stop off, but only for a short break. On the return journey I was upgraded to premium economy. More legroom and slightly bigger seats, but not much else was different. Might try the business class next time, as the price is not much more than economy on some other flights. Stars were awarded for the economy seat. A no-frills airline, but surprisingly good for the price. Will fly them again.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
6/10

"seats in decent condition"

(United States)

Seats in decent condition due to newness of A380. Headrest has foldable sides to keep your head neatly in place while you try to sleep. Seat bottoms are hard.
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"sufficient legroom and width"

(China)

Seats were good and provide sufficient legroom and width.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A380
Seat Layout3x4x3
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
7/10

"recline was about normal"

(New Zealand)

Comfortable seat good size PTV screen. Recline was about normal and from what I could see the Premium Economy seats in front of us were very little different - maybe an inch or so more legroom - while that area was full we had lots of empty seats and could spread out and lie down!
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
4 star Skytrax Rating

China Southern Airlines

http://global.csair.com/GB/GB/Home

Guide Icon

China Southern Airlines is a member of SkyTeam. China Southern Airlines operates more than 600 passenger and cargo aircraft, including Boeing 787, Boeing 777 and Boeing 737 and Airbus A380, A330, A321, A320 and A319. The airline's fleet is ranked the largest in Asia and the fifth largest in the world.

FIRST CLASS

A380 is equipped with eight private flat-bed suites. IFE is via a 23-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 and A330 have 4 cocoon seats, and IFE is via a 17 or 19-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

A380 seats recline to a full flat bed. IFE is via a 15-inch flat-screen LCD TV. Boeing 787 / A330 seats recline to full flat bed with 2x2x2 cabin layout. IFE via 15-inch LCD TV.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining (*not all flights)
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

ECONOMY CLASS

China Southern Airlines cabin/seat layouts can be viewed on the Seat Map in menu below.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31-33 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.2 - 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power (*not all flights)
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meals
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillows & blankets

LOUNGES

At Guangzhou Baiyun Airport, premium customers have use of the China Southern Airlines First and Business class lounge.

Lounge SeatingExpansive seating options
Lounge showersShower rooms
WiFiLounge WiFi
Work StationsWorkstations / business area
power_iconCharging facilities
AVODTV facilities
DiningBuffet & Noodle Bar Dining
WinesSelf service bar
SleepingBedrooms
2_6_spacer

» China Southern Lounge reviews

SEAT MAPS

View aircraft seat maps for China Southern Airlines fleet. We have provided you a direct link to China Southern Fleet information page, where the most up-to-date information should be available.
» View Seat Maps

IFE

China Southern Airlines provides 600+ hours of entertainment programs on newest aircraft where audio/video program systems are installed.
» View latest IFE Guide

EAT : FIRST CLASS

Enjoy the finest East Asian cuisine and the Western food in China Southern Airlines first class.

VOTE NOW

The airline Customer Satisfaction survey is your chance to vote for your favourite airline in the Skytrax World Airline Awards, the “Oscars of the aviation industry”.
» Submit your Vote now

EAT : BUSINESS CLASS

Enjoy China Southern Airlines signature dish of beef noodle soup in Business class.

FIRST CLASS : REVIEW

A modern Boeing 787 with comfortable flat bed, nice comfort attributes and amenities, reasonable IFE, attentive and friendly staff../

» Read the Flight Review