Vote Now  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Seat Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 104 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"sleeping a much easier task"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Cathay's premium economy class makes a 16-hour flight tolerable, albeit a far cry from its business product. Compared to regular economy, premium economy has an additional 6 inches in length and 1.5 inches in width. Coupled with a footrest, this alleviated the usual knee-bumping; legroom is not an issue. However, elbow space will remain an issue for larger passengers. By far the biggest perk of this seat is the 8-inch recline and the extra padding, which makes sleeping a much easier task. When the passenger in front of you reclines, however, it may be difficult for you (and your seatmate) to leave and use the lavatory; your space may feel constricted unless you recline as well. The tray, as well as a small cocktail table, is located in the armrest on the side of your seat.There is a small rack below the TV screen for you to store your belongings, although it is not sufficient for larger electronic devices.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Tiniest and hardest seats"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tiniest and hardest seats of any A330 I've flown. Lost count of how many times the adjacent passenger elbowed me having crossed over the armrest divide. Headphone port was hard to find. Movies took 20 minutes to load. I did get a pillow but it was rather old and stained. Disappointed there was no outdoor cam unlike CX newer and better planes. The fact of the USB port was about the only good thing about this flight.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"benefit from wider armrests"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Sydney. Boeing 777 B-KQL Was not a great flight as it was packed. Seats were bigger than my last flight which was a tiny A330. Cabin was hot and I was surprised that there was no adjustable air conditioning nozzles which most domestic flights would have? The overhead stowage unit which my seat was allocated had a sticker which said it was for 'flight amenities only' so I did not use it. Turned out later it was a meaningless sticker as another passenger disregarded. I think the plane would benefit from wider armrests and maybe a clear line of division on the carpet as the passenger next to me encroached my leg space by half a foot even after I moved as far left as I could. Some good features were the USB port, the outdoor camera, the fact it was a relatively new plane, and the ability to manage bookings more than 24 hours in advance.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"seat width very good"

(Canada)

Flew Vancouver to Hong Kong (Boeing 777) in November 2016. Very good service onboard. Onboard flight attendants were very knowledgable and professional. Meals were very good. Leg room and seat width very good. Nice 9inch TVs with fairly recent movies with a classics option. Only concern is that the terminal staff for the Cathay transfers desk were very stressed and tense.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"not a very wide seat"

(China)

Verified Review | Easy to transfer to connecting flights to and from mainland China with Cathay Pacific's cooperation with Cathay Dragon. Club members were taken good care of, including priority of boarding and much faster check in. Food is pretty delicious, but low-fat food is not good at all. Very clean and comfortable cabin environment, all equipment in good condition. Quite good on board entertainment system. Pleasant experience when waiting in HKG with plenty shops and restaurants available. Not a very wide seat, as well as lack of support for neck, made the 13 hour flight kind of stressful. Not very easy to get services in sleeping time.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"Inflight entertainment was excellent"

(United Kingdom)

The Cabin crew were very helpful and polite, especially when assisting with passengers that require attention like my father who were disabled; we we're informed what to do before leaving the plane. There was a good hand-over process from which the assistance on the airport were waiting for us and guided us to the fast lane. The food was excellent, no problem there. Inflight entertainment was excellent lots of updated movies and tv series. Unfortunately, the only problem were the seats because they were too cramp and cannot easily maneuver expecially if you're in the middle seat. I have tried sleeping but after a while i will gain neck pain and leg cramps but i guess economy class will always be but i hope in the future it is rectified for more comfort without paying for an upgrade.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"maintained 9-abreast configuration"

(Canada)

Bulkhead new Economy seats are very wide seats compared to airlines in the US. CX has so far maintained the Boeing 777 9-abreast configuration, making it feel less cramped. The only issue with bulkhead seats is the storage - you'll only have a seat pocket which is reasonably far away. But overall, I would give up that storage if it meant more comfort on a 16-hour flight.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"legroom and recline was wonderful"

(Indonesia)

Seat width, legroom and recline was wonderful on Cathay Pacific premium economy seats for Boeing 777-300 flying from Hong Kong to Jakarta. The comfort of the seats, as well as the width and legroom was beyond my expectations. I liked the little tray under the IFE where I can store my little things. Eg. my glasses while i sleep, and store my phone when i charge it with the usb port that is right next to the IFE.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"width is more generous than some"

(Canada)

Vancouver to New York. I decided to book a bulkhead seat as per usual. The seat width is more generous than some other airlines which have Economy Class in 3x4x3 configuration. CX's IFE for Economy on the 777-300ER still has the 9-inch PTV, and with the extra legroom at bulkhead seats, it takes a bit of squinting to see what's going on. For some reason, either it was the person sitting behind me or the seat was kind of malfunctioning, I didn't get much recline. Overall, great airline with great seating products.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJune 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"was fairly comfortable"

(United States)

I flew from JFK to HKG on CX last February. The flight was fairly comfortable (16 hours flight). IFE screen could have been larger as well as the seat legroom. The food was fine for economy, but the portion was not enough (for me), ice cream was offered for dessert at the main meal service. Crews were friendly. While flying on CX for many times I've observed that if you're an elderly or unaccompanied minors (as well as disables or people having trouble navigating through their seats), the crews would offer them seats in the front cabin (can be PE, can be business) if they're empty seats.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes