Airline of the Year  

Cathay Pacific Airways

Seat Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 110 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"cramped with limited legroom"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I found the Boeing 777 premium economy seat cramped with limited legroom. The support and inflight entertainment control box from the seat in front reduced the legroom I could use. Likewise legroom underneath was constrained by a support bar. I was near the front of the premium economy cabin and found it claustrophobic and stuffy as they closed the business class curtain and raised the ottoman blind completely so it was like facing a wall close up. The zip of the inflight kit bag they gave broke the first time I opened it and the toothpaste inside tasted terrible. The seat was in the aisle and it was rather narrow. In fact as the photo shows the passenger on my left was sitting on my seat. The passenger in front reclined their seat all the way but as least I could do the same without any diminished tv viewing. It took ages for my bags to come out of the carousel.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"the recline was also good"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Disappointed with how old the A330-300 cabin was despite the outside of the plane being in the new livery design. The map airshow channel was broken. The storage pocket was tiny as the photo shows. The central mounted tv screen was impractical. It was stiff to move and because it was centrally mounted I had to put it at a strange angle so as not to be watching the next door passenger's tv. The headphone and usb sockets were worn out. Cabin service was not very cheerful. Legroom was quite good because I could move in and out without having to deal with the other passenger and the recline was also good as this was a bulk head seat.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Legroom was very big"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Legroom was very big and spacious. Seat width was very wide. Aisle space was average. The IFE was alright, not too small, but still can be watchable. There was a USB port on the IFE and a universal power outlet at the bottom of the seat. Storage was okay.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"extra legroom and recline is great"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The Premium Economy on their new A350 is fantastic. The extra legroom and recline is great and I was even able to sleep on the overnight flight Hong Kong to Brisbane - I don't usually sleep on planes! Food was excellent and the IFE was great. The extra storage section under the screen in the seatback in front is great for your phone or other small items rather than stuffing them in the elastic seat pocket. Only gripe would be that upon landing, Premium Economy passengers are not given disembarkation priority over Economy passengers, so you have the whole Economy cabin trying to push past you as you try to leave. As it is a separate cabin area for Premium, it would be easy to curtain this off upon landing to allow for priority disembarkation, like they do for Business.
Aircraft TypeA350
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"an amazing aircraft"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | What an amazing aircraft; the A350 sets a new standard for travel. The seats were comfortable for an 11-hour flight and the IFE was very large, hi-def and touch screen. The outside cameras provided wonderful images of the departure and the cruise (especially when listening to relaxing music. Individual USB ports were available (I think there may have also been laptop power, but I did not use this).
Aircraft TypeA350-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"actually a fairly good seat"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Seat 73C on the A350-900, the furthest back of the window seats, just in front of the alley and a toilet. Despite the position, this was actually a fairly good seat, because having no-one behind you afforded you a decent recline and good legroom. The noise from other passengers was not a distraction.
Aircraft TypeA350-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"sleeping a much easier task"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Cathay's premium economy class makes a 16-hour flight tolerable, albeit a far cry from its business product. Compared to regular economy, premium economy has an additional 6 inches in length and 1.5 inches in width. Coupled with a footrest, this alleviated the usual knee-bumping; legroom is not an issue. However, elbow space will remain an issue for larger passengers. By far the biggest perk of this seat is the 8-inch recline and the extra padding, which makes sleeping a much easier task. When the passenger in front of you reclines, however, it may be difficult for you (and your seatmate) to leave and use the lavatory; your space may feel constricted unless you recline as well. The tray, as well as a small cocktail table, is located in the armrest on the side of your seat.There is a small rack below the TV screen for you to store your belongings, although it is not sufficient for larger electronic devices.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Tiniest and hardest seats"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Tiniest and hardest seats of any A330 I've flown. Lost count of how many times the adjacent passenger elbowed me having crossed over the armrest divide. Headphone port was hard to find. Movies took 20 minutes to load. I did get a pillow but it was rather old and stained. Disappointed there was no outdoor cam unlike CX newer and better planes. The fact of the USB port was about the only good thing about this flight.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"benefit from wider armrests"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Sydney. Boeing 777 B-KQL Was not a great flight as it was packed. Seats were bigger than my last flight which was a tiny A330. Cabin was hot and I was surprised that there was no adjustable air conditioning nozzles which most domestic flights would have? The overhead stowage unit which my seat was allocated had a sticker which said it was for 'flight amenities only' so I did not use it. Turned out later it was a meaningless sticker as another passenger disregarded. I think the plane would benefit from wider armrests and maybe a clear line of division on the carpet as the passenger next to me encroached my leg space by half a foot even after I moved as far left as I could. Some good features were the USB port, the outdoor camera, the fact it was a relatively new plane, and the ability to manage bookings more than 24 hours in advance.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"seat width very good"

(Canada)

Flew Vancouver to Hong Kong (Boeing 777) in November 2016. Very good service onboard. Onboard flight attendants were very knowledgable and professional. Meals were very good. Leg room and seat width very good. Nice 9inch TVs with fairly recent movies with a classics option. Only concern is that the terminal staff for the Cathay transfers desk were very stressed and tense.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes