Cathay Pacific Airways

Seat Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 1854 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 17th June 2015

HKG-SYD-HKG in Premium Economy and its a good product. Seats are comfortable, good width, storage space and the seat pitch is great. CX always has/had a good entertainment program, downside, the monitors are not as good as other carriers and the audio is a bit weak. Food and drinks are good and have a nice choice. I like that Premium Economy is in a separate compartment which makes the cabin much more relaxed and not so much "toilet traffic" (very good in particular on night flights). Overall a good product although the price difference between Economy and Premium Economy at CX is quite considerable and not quite in line with the offering.
Aircraft TypeA330-300 / Boeing 777
Seat Layout2x3x2 and 2x4x2
Date Flown17-05-2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 13th June 2015

Cathay Pacific have the best all round Premium Economy seat for the 8 hours from Australia. They offer the only Premium Economy seat direct from Brisbane to Hong Kong with 2 flights a day (day one stops in Cairns for an hour which is no deal breaker). Being a large guy these seat are really comfortable, armrests on aisle seats can be lifted, enough recline to sleep but not too much to trap you in. Food and service is good, not quite as good as Qantas, but more comfortable seats. Only drawback is there is no seperate toilets, you use the economy ones. Again, not a big thing and there is never really a big line up. Seats have good screens, plenty of movie choices, lots of storage in front of you, with USB charging at screen level. Keep it up Cathay
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2-3-2
Date Flown12-05-2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Switzerland) 29th May 2015

Worst seats ever on a long distance flight! My flight Zurich to Hong Kong was perfectly ok as the seats were reclinable. But on the return flight the seats were non reclinable (shell seat) and a 12 hours night flight in one of these is pure torture. Never had I ever travelled in such seats and never will I ever reiterate this experience. Ergonomics is absolutely not considered and despite of my small size which make most of my long distance flight seems pretty confortable in comparison to taller people these seats kept me from sleeping and my back still hasn't recover two days later. Only positive aspects of my flights were the helpful staff nice food and good entertainment.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
10/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 29th May 2015

Kaoshuing to Hong Kong. The seats were really great. Studio CX was fantastic it provides plenty of movies and music. Games like Inflight Golf Tournaments are also available. The seat was comfortable with good legroom for you to move your legs. The seats will be a bit too small for those who are fat access of seats are also the same; but for me it was wonderful.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A340
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
6/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 29th May 2015

Boeing 777-300 with hard shell seats. Hard shells wasn't that bad after all on a short haul 4 hour flight. Although seats don't recline and the person at the front won't lean back and occupy your limited space hard shells are not comfortable when compared to other ordinary seats and I don't feel relaxed at all. These seats should not appear on an aircraft of a 5-star airline. If Cathay wants seats that do not recline so much and occupy one's place at the back maybe they could choose ordinary seats that could recline but with a max angle fixed so as to reduce effects on the person at the back.. On the other hand seat legroom was just acceptable not satisfactory enough and seat width was good just like other Cathay aircraft. Conclusion: Fixed shell seats not preferred.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 777-300
Seat Layout3x3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
3/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 22nd March 2015

Flew HK to LHR after flying from ADL to HK with only one hour to stretch our legs between flights. I concede this may have made the second leg more difficult than it might otherwise have been but I will never again go all the way from Australia to Europe (or back) without at least one night in a hotel. The seat has very little recline with the seat in front fully reclined and the person next to me asleep I was wedged into my seat without even enough room to stretch my poor legs. It was awful. Check-in food and service were great but they do not make up for such discomfort.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 22nd March 2015

The worst seating I have encountered in a long time. The non reclining bottom-seat-moving forward combination was thought up by someone who never flies certainly never flies Economy in Cathay. Bad back sore neck sore tail bone - never ever will I fly CX again.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 777
Seat Layout3x3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
9/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Vietnam) 28th January 2015

Flew from SGN to HKG. The service was very awesome. The seat was very very comfortable. I got bread with chicken for my breakfast and it was so delicious. The flight attendants were very friendly too. The inflight entertainment is very interesting with many movies games musics I enjoyed it very well.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (Australia) 28th January 2015

Adelaide to Hong Kong return. The seats did not recline and I had to sit upright for the whole flight. I have a bad back and the result was agony and crippling. The return flight was so painful I thought I was going to pass out and that was after 2 hours! There was no room to stretch and the seat provided so little wriggle room. I tried exercises and everything to make myself comfortable. The cabin staff were wonderful and the food was great. Entertainment was very good but those seats were terrible.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A330
Seat Layout3x3x3
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no
1/10

Cathay Pacific Airways customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 28th January 2015

Whoever decided to do away with a reclining seat and replace it with a shell seat where the back and squab slump you forward needs to be brought to task. Never have I experienced such a dismal failure in design - almost everything about this abomination is an insult to what would be considered good customer care. Honestly a park bench would have been more comfortable. I will never fly with Cathay on any aeroplane that has this type of seat fitted again.
Aircraft TypeAIRBUS A340-300
Seat Layout2x3x2
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
no