Cathay Pacific Airways

Seat Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 114 reviews
5/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"great for a long haul flight"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | The Boeing 777-300ER premium economy seat was great for a long haul flight. It was wide enough, had just enough legroom, some storage on the seat in front of you and the armrests were wide. Recline was good, and the IFE screen was wide enough and easy to use, and had plenty of materials. The calf-rests were very very hard to operate as they refused to extend or retract, which was frustrating.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"One of the worst seats"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | One of the worst seats I have ever sat in on the Boeing 777-200. The fixed back of the seat makes the recline a ‘slouch’ recline which terribly hurt my back. I am glad that they have started to phase out this seat design to the traditional reclining seats. The seats were obviously old, however weirdly spacious on the seat pitch. There are electrical ports which makes typing on a laptop convenient. Seat storage is awful - the airline magazines are already filling it full and to fill anything extra there just makes it pop out. Seat table is also inflexible; the new double-folded seats are better as it helps to exit in and out of the seat without having to hold the meal tray.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"should not find it cramped"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | On a relatively new A330 within the Cathay's fleet, the seat is good. It is wide and the legroom is good. You should not find it cramped even if you are 1.9m tall. The headrest is adjustable to address passengers with different heights. The seat can be reclined on this plane. Some of the CX A330 seat cannot be reclined but this one can. And there is USB charging port on each seat for mobile phones. The TV screen is great. It is large enough and in high resolution. There are many movies, TV programmes in good quality. The earphone provided is not particularly comfortable to wear and the sound quality is not great. So I just plug in my own earphone that I usually use for my smartphone.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"seat itself is comfortable"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The economy class layout is generally 2x4x2. But i got a seat close to back of the plane, row 73. So the layout is 2x3x2. Since there are one less seat at that row, the aisle space is quite wide. You can slightly hang your legs out without causing much troubles to the fight attendants and other passengers. The seat itself is comfortable. It is wide with sufficient legroom. It is important to note that this A333 economy class seating comes with a hard shell. The seatback is fixed. Instead of reclining backwards, it slides down. I think this design is pretty good. It may not be as comfortable as the ordinary design. But it definitely delivers a better environment for having inflight meal and less annoyance from the one sitting in the front. The seat comes with USB charging port for mobile phone. The TV screen is large enough and quite user friendly.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
3/10

"cramped with limited legroom"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I found the Boeing 777 premium economy seat cramped with limited legroom. The support and inflight entertainment control box from the seat in front reduced the legroom I could use. Likewise legroom underneath was constrained by a support bar. I was near the front of the premium economy cabin and found it claustrophobic and stuffy as they closed the business class curtain and raised the ottoman blind completely so it was like facing a wall close up. The zip of the inflight kit bag they gave broke the first time I opened it and the toothpaste inside tasted terrible. The seat was in the aisle and it was rather narrow. In fact as the photo shows the passenger on my left was sitting on my seat. The passenger in front reclined their seat all the way but as least I could do the same without any diminished tv viewing. It took ages for my bags to come out of the carousel.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"the recline was also good"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Disappointed with how old the A330-300 cabin was despite the outside of the plane being in the new livery design. The map airshow channel was broken. The storage pocket was tiny as the photo shows. The central mounted tv screen was impractical. It was stiff to move and because it was centrally mounted I had to put it at a strange angle so as not to be watching the next door passenger's tv. The headphone and usb sockets were worn out. Cabin service was not very cheerful. Legroom was quite good because I could move in and out without having to deal with the other passenger and the recline was also good as this was a bulk head seat.
Aircraft TypeA330-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"Legroom was very big"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Legroom was very big and spacious. Seat width was very wide. Aisle space was average. The IFE was alright, not too small, but still can be watchable. There was a USB port on the IFE and a universal power outlet at the bottom of the seat. Storage was okay.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"extra legroom and recline is great"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | The Premium Economy on their new A350 is fantastic. The extra legroom and recline is great and I was even able to sleep on the overnight flight Hong Kong to Brisbane - I don't usually sleep on planes! Food was excellent and the IFE was great. The extra storage section under the screen in the seatback in front is great for your phone or other small items rather than stuffing them in the elastic seat pocket. Only gripe would be that upon landing, Premium Economy passengers are not given disembarkation priority over Economy passengers, so you have the whole Economy cabin trying to push past you as you try to leave. As it is a separate cabin area for Premium, it would be easy to curtain this off upon landing to allow for priority disembarkation, like they do for Business.
Aircraft TypeA350
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"an amazing aircraft"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | What an amazing aircraft; the A350 sets a new standard for travel. The seats were comfortable for an 11-hour flight and the IFE was very large, hi-def and touch screen. The outside cameras provided wonderful images of the departure and the cruise (especially when listening to relaxing music. Individual USB ports were available (I think there may have also been laptop power, but I did not use this).
Aircraft TypeA350-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"actually a fairly good seat"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Seat 73C on the A350-900, the furthest back of the window seats, just in front of the alley and a toilet. Despite the position, this was actually a fairly good seat, because having no-one behind you afforded you a decent recline and good legroom. The noise from other passengers was not a distraction.
Aircraft TypeA350-900
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMarch 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes