British Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 143 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"very poor experience"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Our London to Singapore trip started off with both our seats apart in different rows (hard to believe that a ticket booked together under the same family name would be assigned as such but realised onboard that other passengers had similar issues). Aircraft cleanliness was below standard. The menu card given was not meant for the sector (was meant for the next leg of journey Singapore to Sydney). Therefore food of choice was not available and no apology rendered. No headsets nor blanket provided on seat and subsequent to request to the crew, none was delivered. The food served was below standards. Request for a second bottle of water was met with a curt - finish this one and we will refill. Request for coffee in the morning before landing was never delivered. Overall a very poor experience. On our Singapore to London journey we paid an upgraded to business, however the experience was same on all counts.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJuly 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"preferred the old seats"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | I flew on one of the newest A380's, and got the upgraded premium economy cabin. The seats felt quite hard, and became really uncomfortable after a few hours. The seat pitch is just OK for someone like me who is 184 and just had knee surgery. I preferred the old seats for comfort. The IFE was of great quality, and plenty of movies to chose from. The noise cancelling headphones are good for premium economy. But there is a very bad design flaw with the seats: they cannot be brought back to the upright position without the help of a flight attendant pushing the back up. Also, it is almost impossible for the person sitting in a middle seat to get up during the night. Last but not least, there are no dedicated washrooms for premium economy - actually only a total of 4 for all the upper deck economy and premium economy passengers (and always as usual on BA, one of them is reserved for the crew)
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownJune 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"seats were the most uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After a faultless flight with BA in a 777 travelling World Traveller Plus (Premium Economy) at the start of our holiday we were aggrieved to find that the Boeing 747-400 allocated for the return journey was an aircraft clearly at the end of a long service and one that did not meet the demands of a modern airline competing for customers. The aircraft was dirty with a thick layer of dust between the window seat and the cabin wall. There were cup ring marks on the arms and the seats were the most uncomfortable I think I have sat on for a long flight of nearly 9 hours in any class including economy. The cushion area was devoid of any 'cushioning' and the seats were worn and old looking. The TV had a screen not much bigger than my mobile and the quality was so poor I decided that I would use my phone and listen to the music for the entire trip home. This is the first time I have ever felt that I could not tolerate the poor screen quality. I had to wear my glasses just to try and follow the on screen commands. The only positive was that the earphones provided worked well on my phone and the noise cancelling removed most of the inflight noise. At a time when BA seem to be moving away from their prestige airline image that has been their selling point for many years I really can not understand why customers travelling long distances should have to be transported in such awful planes. My only serious satisfaction is that I did not accept the offer to upgrade to business. First of all the price offered was too much and secondly when I checked out the business class it did not look in anyway inviting. As stated this review is for the 747-400 used on the return Seattle to LHR and this is a seat/aircraft type review and my comments are honest and accurate.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"Legroom was ok for me"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Sat in 35J and 35K from London to Beijing and also Hong Kong to London Heathrow. This is a 2 seat row, starboard side, at the end of the forward section of economy. Seat folded back and the entertainment box in 35K was no problem. Quiet area and toilet behind was not a problem. Seat rather narrow but was able to catch 5 hrs sleep using neck pillow. Legroom was ok for me, 1.85m height. Best seats in economy -better than paying twice the price for Premium Economy. Food and service average for BA these days. Entertainment system worked well.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"good seat depth and padding"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I really like this aircraft. Great travel experience. Could not get seats in Premium Economy - but the upper deck seat we had were excellent. Comfortable, good seat depth and padding - wide enough, nice headrest not bad for a standard economy seat. Window seat has a really useful storage bin. Great experience.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"last time I will ever fly BA"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew from Gatwick direct to Tampa on 14th April, and returned from JFK in New York on 22nd April. Both flights were Economy class on Boeing 777/200 with 3x3x3. One person sat in front of me had a broken seat, and it kept reclining beyond anything I have ever seen before, he was virtually sat on my knee, The stewardess said, "I'll have to fix that", like she could have done, and left it at that. It was embarrassing for the person in the seat as well as annoying for me. I was able to move a family member to an empty seat, and then vacate that situation. However, when the person sat in front of my new seat fully reclined his chair, I was also hemmed in so much it was nearly impossible to get up to go to the toilet. The same thing happened to me on the return flight. How can a fully reclined seat leave you unable to get up to go to the toilet without pushing the person in front and waking them up. This is not acceptable, the TV screen was about one foot from my face and as someone who suffers claustrophobia, it was an horrendous flight. I have never had this on any other airline and I fly several times a year. This is the first and last time I will ever fly BA.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777 200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"old and dirty aircraft"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | British Airways seems to always have old and dirty aircraft these days. The seats are uncomfortable and cramped. Legroom is poor and seat width constricting. Perhaps it is all made to feel worse by the surly cabin crew and all round penny pinching approach of BA these days
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a very uncomfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Advanced booked and paid for the first row of 2 seats at rear for my wife and I. Whilst aircraft was very clean we had a very uncomfortable flight from San Diego to LHR as the seats were narrower than any I have experienced. You were seriously cramped - heaven knows how a large person would even fit in. This comment was also made by others on the flight. On the subsequent short haul flight LHR to EDI the width of the seats were greater than that of the long haul one. Makes no sense. Used Iberia on outward flight from Madrid to San Jose with some trepidation but found their seats wider and much more comfortable
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, outdated, unclean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | British Airways Premium Economy on Boeing 747-400. Dirty, outdated audio visual possibly the worst ever, the seating was in a terrible condition, trims broken The audio visual did not work and my iPhone had a bigger screen. The surrounding area was unclean and the staff accepted the facts but just did not care. The worst ever flown would suggest to give British Airways a wide berth on this route, ditto South Africa where similar issues encountered.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"boxes under your seat"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The British Airways A380 Upper deck window economy class seat have two boxes on each side under your seat in front of you which may block your leg and make you very uncomfortable. It may also make the area for store bags and laptop smaller. But the aisle seat next to the window seat got bigger area of underseat storage.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages