Airline of the Year  

British Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 140 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Legroom was ok for me"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Sat in 35J and 35K from London to Beijing and also Hong Kong to London Heathrow. This is a 2 seat row, starboard side, at the end of the forward section of economy. Seat folded back and the entertainment box in 35K was no problem. Quiet area and toilet behind was not a problem. Seat rather narrow but was able to catch 5 hrs sleep using neck pillow. Legroom was ok for me, 1.85m height. Best seats in economy -better than paying twice the price for Premium Economy. Food and service average for BA these days. Entertainment system worked well.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"good seat depth and padding"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I really like this aircraft. Great travel experience. Could not get seats in Premium Economy - but the upper deck seat we had were excellent. Comfortable, good seat depth and padding - wide enough, nice headrest not bad for a standard economy seat. Window seat has a really useful storage bin. Great experience.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"last time I will ever fly BA"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew from Gatwick direct to Tampa on 14th April, and returned from JFK in New York on 22nd April. Both flights were Economy class on Boeing 777/200 with 3x3x3. One person sat in front of me had a broken seat, and it kept reclining beyond anything I have ever seen before, he was virtually sat on my knee, The stewardess said, "I'll have to fix that", like she could have done, and left it at that. It was embarrassing for the person in the seat as well as annoying for me. I was able to move a family member to an empty seat, and then vacate that situation. However, when the person sat in front of my new seat fully reclined his chair, I was also hemmed in so much it was nearly impossible to get up to go to the toilet. The same thing happened to me on the return flight. How can a fully reclined seat leave you unable to get up to go to the toilet without pushing the person in front and waking them up. This is not acceptable, the TV screen was about one foot from my face and as someone who suffers claustrophobia, it was an horrendous flight. I have never had this on any other airline and I fly several times a year. This is the first and last time I will ever fly BA.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777 200
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"old and dirty aircraft"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | British Airways seems to always have old and dirty aircraft these days. The seats are uncomfortable and cramped. Legroom is poor and seat width constricting. Perhaps it is all made to feel worse by the surly cabin crew and all round penny pinching approach of BA these days
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a very uncomfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Advanced booked and paid for the first row of 2 seats at rear for my wife and I. Whilst aircraft was very clean we had a very uncomfortable flight from San Diego to LHR as the seats were narrower than any I have experienced. You were seriously cramped - heaven knows how a large person would even fit in. This comment was also made by others on the flight. On the subsequent short haul flight LHR to EDI the width of the seats were greater than that of the long haul one. Makes no sense. Used Iberia on outward flight from Madrid to San Jose with some trepidation but found their seats wider and much more comfortable
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, outdated, unclean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | British Airways Premium Economy on Boeing 747-400. Dirty, outdated audio visual possibly the worst ever, the seating was in a terrible condition, trims broken The audio visual did not work and my iPhone had a bigger screen. The surrounding area was unclean and the staff accepted the facts but just did not care. The worst ever flown would suggest to give British Airways a wide berth on this route, ditto South Africa where similar issues encountered.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"boxes under your seat"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The British Airways A380 Upper deck window economy class seat have two boxes on each side under your seat in front of you which may block your leg and make you very uncomfortable. It may also make the area for store bags and laptop smaller. But the aisle seat next to the window seat got bigger area of underseat storage.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"ample legroom given the pitch"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Although the British Airways premium economy product is generally mediocre, their seats are surprisingly comfortable. While many premium economy seats are wider at 19+ inches with around 38 inch pitch and 8-9 inch recline, BA premium economy are narrower at 18.5" (similar to the width of a Singapore Airlines economy). Nevertheless, there is enough space for the elbows, and ample legroom given the pitch. Although, if you are sitting at the aisle, there is an odd-looking entertainment box between the two seats in front of you and railings directly under your feet - which could make the placement of your legs somewhat tricky. The padding is comfortable, even for long-haul flights but there is no leg rest (again contrasts some competitors). AVOD is responsive and has a good selection. Screens are 10.6" wide, somewhat too small in the upright position - unless the passenger in front of you is in full-recline, in which case the screen will be on your lap and you can forget about eating, using laptop, or doing any useful activity.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"Width of seat was okay"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Premium Economy on British Airways Boeing 777. We sat in front of a bulkhead, which was very spacious. The seat recliner went further back than expected, although I'd have liked the leg rest to have raised a little bit more. Width of seat was okay, and the entertainment buttons were easy to get at. The seat cushion were comfortable and a pillow was provided.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"777-300 can be cramped"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The Boeing 777-300 can be cramped with a 3x3x3 layout and will be worse with the new 3x4x3 layout in the future. The biggest issue is the lack of space under the seat in front of you due to the in-flight entertainment (IFE) boxes. I was in seat 31A and the box took up three quarters of the space. It was so wide I could rest my feet on it. I was lucky the middle seat was empty so I could put my bag under that seat and if I sat on the angle could stretch my feet out under the middle seat.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3*3*3
Date FlownDecember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no

British Airways Photos

British Airways is the flag carrier of the United Kingdom, with its main hub being at London Heathrow Airport where it operates from Terminal 5 and Terminal 3. The airline also has substantial operations from Gatwick Airport. British Airways is a member of Onweworld alliance, and part of International Airlines Group (IAG). Since 2016 British Airways has been implementing cost-cutting across many parts of the customer product, with the 4-Star Airline rating held by BA for many years under review.

FIRST CLASS

British Airways offers First Class on many long haul routes operated by widebody aircraft (Boeing 747-400, Boeing 777, Boeing 787 and the A380). Most aircraft have 14 flat-bed seats in First Class, and 8 seats on the Boeing 787-9.

flat_seatsFlat bed seat / suite
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningOn demand dining
WinesFine wines & beverage service
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

BUSINESS CLASS

Branded as Club World for long haul and Club Europe for short haul services, British Airways was one of the pioneers of flat bed seats in long haul business class. The product is overdue an upgrade, with the seat layout on a Boeing 777 being 8-across in contrast to the more standard 4-across layout. British Airways Club Europe cabin uses a standard Economy class seat, with the middle of each 3-across section left empty. British Airways charges business class customers to reserve seats for both long haul and short haul flights..

LONG HAUL
flat_seatsFlat bed seat
power_iconIn-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
AVODAudio / video on demand
On demand dining
SleepingPillows & duvet / blanket
PyjamasPyjamas / Sleepsuit
AmenitiesAmenity kit

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
DiningComplimentary meal / snack

PREMIUM ECONOMY

British Airways offers a premium economy cabin on their long haul / widebody aircraft, branded as World Traveller Plus. With the exception of the larger seat, the onboard service and product varies little to the standard long haul Economy class.

Seat pitchSeat pitch : 38 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 18.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

ECONOMY CLASS

British Airways has been reducing economy class standards recently and now charge for all food and beverages on short haul services. Further cuts are expected to their long haul product standards. The cabins are branded as World Traveller for long haul, and EuroTraveller for short haul.

LONG HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 31 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17.5 ins
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
power_iconUSB power
AVODAudio / video on demand
DiningComplimentary meal
WinesComplimentary beverages & wines
SleepingPillow / blanket

SHORT HAUL
Seat pitchSeat pitch : 29-30 ins
Seat widthSeat width : 17 ins
In-seat &/or USB power
No WiFiOnboard WiFi
Inflight entertainment
Complimentary meal / beverages