Vote Now  

British Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 137 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"old and dirty aircraft"

(Cyprus)

Verified Review | British Airways seems to always have old and dirty aircraft these days. The seats are uncomfortable and cramped. Legroom is poor and seat width constricting. Perhaps it is all made to feel worse by the surly cabin crew and all round penny pinching approach of BA these days
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"a very uncomfortable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Advanced booked and paid for the first row of 2 seats at rear for my wife and I. Whilst aircraft was very clean we had a very uncomfortable flight from San Diego to LHR as the seats were narrower than any I have experienced. You were seriously cramped - heaven knows how a large person would even fit in. This comment was also made by others on the flight. On the subsequent short haul flight LHR to EDI the width of the seats were greater than that of the long haul one. Makes no sense. Used Iberia on outward flight from Madrid to San Jose with some trepidation but found their seats wider and much more comfortable
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, outdated, unclean"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | British Airways Premium Economy on Boeing 747-400. Dirty, outdated audio visual possibly the worst ever, the seating was in a terrible condition, trims broken The audio visual did not work and my iPhone had a bigger screen. The surrounding area was unclean and the staff accepted the facts but just did not care. The worst ever flown would suggest to give British Airways a wide berth on this route, ditto South Africa where similar issues encountered.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"boxes under your seat"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The British Airways A380 Upper deck window economy class seat have two boxes on each side under your seat in front of you which may block your leg and make you very uncomfortable. It may also make the area for store bags and laptop smaller. But the aisle seat next to the window seat got bigger area of underseat storage.
Aircraft TypeA380-800
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"ample legroom given the pitch"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Although the British Airways premium economy product is generally mediocre, their seats are surprisingly comfortable. While many premium economy seats are wider at 19+ inches with around 38 inch pitch and 8-9 inch recline, BA premium economy are narrower at 18.5" (similar to the width of a Singapore Airlines economy). Nevertheless, there is enough space for the elbows, and ample legroom given the pitch. Although, if you are sitting at the aisle, there is an odd-looking entertainment box between the two seats in front of you and railings directly under your feet - which could make the placement of your legs somewhat tricky. The padding is comfortable, even for long-haul flights but there is no leg rest (again contrasts some competitors). AVOD is responsive and has a good selection. Screens are 10.6" wide, somewhat too small in the upright position - unless the passenger in front of you is in full-recline, in which case the screen will be on your lap and you can forget about eating, using laptop, or doing any useful activity.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"Width of seat was okay"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Premium Economy on British Airways Boeing 777. We sat in front of a bulkhead, which was very spacious. The seat recliner went further back than expected, although I'd have liked the leg rest to have raised a little bit more. Width of seat was okay, and the entertainment buttons were easy to get at. The seat cushion were comfortable and a pillow was provided.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownDecember 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
4/10

"777-300 can be cramped"

(Australia)

Verified Review | The Boeing 777-300 can be cramped with a 3x3x3 layout and will be worse with the new 3x4x3 layout in the future. The biggest issue is the lack of space under the seat in front of you due to the in-flight entertainment (IFE) boxes. I was in seat 31A and the box took up three quarters of the space. It was so wide I could rest my feet on it. I was lucky the middle seat was empty so I could put my bag under that seat and if I sat on the angle could stretch my feet out under the middle seat.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3*3*3
Date FlownDecember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"insufficient legroom"

(Denmark)

I'm a good bit over average height as many Scandinavians are. Therefore it seems completely out in the blue that BA uses a seat configuration on their London Heathrow to/from Copenhagen service, with insufficient legroom if you above say 185cm of height. It seems as BA has crammed more seat rows into the cabin than other airlines. Which also has the result of insufficient overhead space for hand luggage which are then placed under seats and elsewhere. The results are a good percentage of disappointed passengers which will avoid BA in the future due to lack of the most simple comfort.
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
10/10

"spacious and comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Sat in row 7A very comfortable slimline seat, clean modern and airy interior. I found for a 2 hour flight the seat pitch was perfect and not having somebody occupying the middle seat made it feel more spacious. Return flight was row 14F, again spacious and comfortable.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3X3
Date FlownOctober 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"worst flying experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | This was the worst flying experience we had and the worst airline I have ever flown with. After I paid about $150 for the seats, they were fully blocked - could not bend backward or forward and the middle separator could not be raised. After contacting the BA Customer Relationship I was flatly denied any refund I requested for those terrible seats.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 747-400
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no