Best Cabin Crew  

British Airways

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"not a good seat"

(United Kingdom)

This was an overnight British Airways Boeing 787 flight from Calgary, Canada to London Heathrow and I was sat in seat 36A. This was not a good seat! There was very little room between my seat and the one in front. I am not tall or big but felt cramped throughout - the seat width is not great either. I would actively choose Emirates or Singapore or possibly KLM over BA if given the choice in future. Comments from people around me suggest that I am not alone in thinking this. Experience was not helped by a rushed meal service with poorly defined choices (chicken or pasta - pasta with what?) and average quality. I had expected British Airways to be better than this!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-8
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"claustrophobic, hot, cramped"

(Canada)

My experience flying British Airways Boeing 787 overnight from Montreal to London was so uncomfortable that we had to upgrade our seats to an access row on our return trip. The seats are so close to one another that the entire flight was like a lesson in withstanding torture : claustrophobic, hot, cramped, and barely endurable. Neither my husband nor I are large people, and the seats themselves were comfortable as far as hip room was concerned, but the backs of the seats in front of us were so close that we had little to no room to manouver. Just awful. I have Celiac disease and so I ordered a gluten-free meal. The dinner option was nice (tilapia on rice with side salad and fruit), but breakfast the next morning consisted of a broken plain rice cake with a small pat of jam and a cup of water. Seriously? We paid for exit row seats en route back so we had extra leg (and breathing) room, and the GF meals I was given were wonderful. Once again, staff were lovely. I don't know whether there had been issues cabin cooling on our first flight or not, but the flight home was a totally different experience.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"legroom is good enough"

(United Kingdom)

I was in seat 26A, and legroom is better than average (not excellent though). They have movies and news via overhead screen. Meal is nice but disappointing for a 5 hr flight (LHR-LCA). These Boeing 767 have the old but comfy seats. Also as its old, the legroom is good enough. The recline is stiff but it goes a decent way back (even though 26a is at the back of the cabin). For meal it was a sandwich. Also good value to money.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767-300ER
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownApril 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"uncomfortable after couple of hours"

(United Kingdom)

Tenerife to Gatwick on A320. Managed to secure exit row seats in refurbished cabin. These are the best seats in the plane now that there is no difference in seat pitch between Club and Economy. However they become really uncomfortable after a couple of hours, so this flight is an endurance test for the back. The quid pro quo on the extra legroom is that these seats do not recline (the other rows do have some recline but not much) which makes the discomfort more acute. Good seat width too even with three blokes in row - cabin on A320 seems wider than B737. Good cabin service of drinks with nibbles; fairly substantial snack box (egg mayo roll, chicken wrap, cheese and biscuits, chocolate mousse); and further drinks runs. Very competitive price at peak time, so pretty good overall.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"I don't see the benefit"

(United Kingdom)

Moderately old Boeing 777, tired decor but functioning screen, which was a nice surprise. Decor flecked with some sort of particulate matter which had not been cleaned off. Also, the leather-effect polyvinyl on the seat back appeared to have been attacked with a box cutter, which was disturbing. Seat jack socket for headphones was intermittent; for sound in both ears, you had to hold it in with a certain amount of pressure. Premium Economy seats don't recline much; barely any more than Economy. Flat and hard, which leaves your bottom numb after a while. Additionally, and this is relevant to the cabin layout, there are no toilets in P Economy, which means you have to go through the curtains into Economy and every glares at you, thinking your a Biz Class customer coming to use the Economy toilets. So, not much cop really. 5 out of 10, as I don't see the benefit over regular Economy.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"damage anyone's back"

(United Kingdom)

British Airways Boeing 777-200ER with old screens, remotes barely work, seats flat and very uncomfortable. 8 to 9hrs sitting in these seats would damage anyone's back. Interior trim and general look of cabin is very old and dated.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200ER
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"efficient but unfriendly"

(Australia)

Booked exit row seats 12D/12E. Seat and the flight were good. BA internet service prior to flight very poor. Could not find anywhere to order a gluten free meal. Could only download one of two boarding passes for the flight. Flight was on time but we had to wait for more than 30 minutes for our luggage to arrive at the carousel. Crew efficient but unfriendly.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"Premium Economy very uncomfortable"

(Germany)

The old British Airways Premium Economy seats. Front row and very uncomfortable. Double the price of Y class and yet terrible and old seats. IFE was the size of my palm. Cold service and food was Y class trash. Cabin staff didn't care and you had to use the bathroom in Y. My first time flying British Airways and I hated it for long haul. Its 2015 and NO electrical outlets!!!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"seat width is ok"

(United Kingdom)

Sat upstairs in Premium Economy - 66F (I think). Not a window seat. Seat width is ok and has enough legroom even when person in front fully-reclined their seat. There is no IFE control box under the seat in-front (there is under 66E). Managed to get about 4hrs sleep on my long-haul flight which is pretty good. The IFE screen is reasonably big and there are 2-USB ports you can use. Quite happy to sit in that seat again.
Aircraft TypeA380
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"closer to being a Ryanair clone"

(Sweden)

British Airways have taken a step closer to being a Ryanair clone. Now they charge you (even their loyalty card holders!) if you are travelling without a checked in bag & want to change the terrible seat they have assigned you. And British Airways are doing it in a very sly way, in my opinion. I have flown 3 times with them during the last month. Each time with a colleague. And on every occasion the seats have been assigned to us at the very rear of the plane, and every time without a window seat. They've done this despite plenty of free seats being available in the mid & front of the plane. There is only 1 reason - they do it specifically to force you to pay for a seat change. Have a look at the seat map from todays flight that I have attached. Despite there being numerous free seats around, they've put us at the back of the plane and on both sides of an aisle so we cant even talk together comfortably. And I was checking in only a few minutes after the online check in opened - so there was no lack of available seats. There are some other airlines also charge for seat selection, but normally they are low cost carriers. British Airways charges premium fees for its seats and is a national carrier. This is pure greed. If you don't take a checked in bag, you are saving BA money. So why should they punish you in return? They save time/money on loading the plane - on staff at the check in desk - on downtime at the gate - on risk due to terror hype - on paying to replace lost baggage and belongings and on fuel due to less weight etc. They should reduce the ticket price, not increase it! I urge you to give BA a miss until they change this policy. There are plenty of other airlines who value their frequent flyers.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no