Best Cabin Crew  

American Airlines

Seat Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"horrified at lack of leg room"

(United States)

I flew from DFW to London Heathrow on an American Airlines Boeing 777. I was horrified at the lack of leg room in economy. I am 5'4 with a weight of 125lbs. I honestly could not bend over to pick up something that had fallen on the floor. If I were to have to get into an emergency landing position, my head would touch the tray table on the seat in front of me - and without being able to completely bend forward. My seat mates were a retired couple who travel internationally quite frequently. They were appalled too.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Incredibly uncomfortable"

(United States)

Miami to Bogota and back in Business Class on 737. Incredibly uncomfortable seats. I can't believe AA is using this type of equipment for a route that used to be served by 757 or 767. The seats are very uncomfortable and they don't have any leg rest. For a flight of up to 2 hours is fine but it is difficult to understand how AA instead of competing on the premium cabins among it rivals now decided to use this boings for this international routes. I even found this week that they are using this equipment from/to MIA to SAN or to/from MIA - SFO, flights that are almost 5 hours or more since you get in the plane. The recline is interesting but not having a leg rest or support makes an uncomfortable flight in a seat that is only a big wider than coach. AA should modernize the premium cabin in all their 737 planes as it is similar or worse to what other carriers call big front seat: being not that big or wide and not having a leg rest. Instead of going forward in terms of coping with premium cabins they are going backwards with all the other things that have being removed such as no meals in many flights 3 hour or less, no blankets, no pillows, etc. It is getting to a point that flying routes of up to 5 hours is similar a seating in a theater seat that after the first 1.5 hrs of the movie, one does not find a position, and no matter how hard one tries it feels very uncomfortable.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"never got the extra leg room"

(United Kingdom)

My husband and I paid $311 extra for our seats to and from Honolulu for our dream vacation. These fees were so that we could sit together for the flights and for extra leg room. We never got the extra leg room on any of the 4 flights and had to argue with the counter people to even get to sit together. For example, when checking in with AA mobile app (which doesn't work well) for our flight from Honolulu to Phoenix, the app showed our assigned seats as being available for an extra fee (which we had already paid). We were then assigned standard seats (no leg room) and 6 rows apart. Finally, we got a counter agent to at least sit us together for the flight but we were told that this was a "different plane so seats were different". If this was even true, isn't it good business to take care of those that paid extra for better seats and then assign remaining standard fare seats? It appears that American charges at least double for this bait and switch. Who knows how many "extra" fees they charged for special seating and then assigned standard seats? We know for a fact that they did so on the HNL to PHX flight, as we spoke to the people occupying our originally assigned seats. The flight to Honolulu was so bad that my arm was cramped against the cabin wall resulting in numbness for most of the flight. As a result of not having room to stretch my legs for me, as a diabetic, resulted in my ankles swelling terribly on both 6 hour flights. American should be ashamed of their rude and unapologetic staff and charging fees for services that they do not deliver.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 757
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"little more legroom"

(United States)

I recently flew American Airlines from RSW to ORD and back to visit family. I had seat 8A going northbound and 8F coming home (southbound). I will say that I was happy with what I got for what I paid for. Since I was in their Main Cabin Extra class, I got a little more legroom, although I paid $35 more each way. I feel that the extra $35 was worth it, and it made a big difference in my travel. The normal economy seats are too small for me since I'm 6ft 2 in tall. The airline itself has somewhat improved in their service, although it still has some way to go. Also, some of their planes could be cleaner than they currently are. Overall though, it was decent for me.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"avoid the exit seats"

(United Kingdom)

Flew from Manchester UK to Chicago, a flight of 9 hours in this Boeing 757, there is no onboard entertainment other than main screen. There is no WiFi onboard this plane. Try avoiding the exit seats as because the tables are stored in the arm rests, the seat pitch is narrower and is certainly felt on a flight of this length. Definite pay for the main cabin extra, the leg space is fantastic and for flights of this length, you need as much space as possible, also, additionally, every Main Cabin Extra seat comes with a power socket, group 1 boarding and allows you to leave the plane first.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 757-200
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"space very cramped"

(United States)

I flew on an almost new American Airlines A321 aircraft. This is the standard two class configuration with main cabin extra seating. I sat in a standard economy seat. American really packs em in! I am not tall, at only 5'7" but I found my personal space to be very cramped. This aircraft has inflight entertainment screens in every seat. That adds bulk to the rear of the seat in front of you which adds to the feeling of being cramped. In addition, there were the IFE boxes located in the foot areas of the two outer seats swallowing up leg room width. I recently also flew on Jetblue and Southwest and did not feel the same sense of space infringement. It might be a difference of only an inch, or inches, but that difference seems to be huge.
Aircraft TypeA321S
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"most uncomfortable seat "

(United States)

I've been on more than 50 flights this year, and this is by far the smallest and most uncomfortable seat I've ever sat in. The plane is brand new with the latest electronic equipment. I am 5'8" and thin; I don't know how the average American can fit. The seat in front of me reclined and I could not open my laptop to 90 degrees. The metal boxes beneath the seat take away a significant portion of the already limited let room. It's a shame that American has a monopoly on the direct routes to my frequently traveled cities. I would avoid flying them at all costs.
Aircraft TypeA321S
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"by far the worst airline"

(Fiji)

Los Angeles to Miami, then Miami to Barbados, both the legs were on an American Airlines Boeing 737-800, and this by far has been the worst airline I have ever travelled on. Between LA and Miami, no food, turbulent take-off, flight attendants lost in the galley flirting away with passengers. Both aircraft had poor legroom and bad service.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats too close together"

(US Virgin Islands)

Four of us flew to Las Vegas. The new 737's are the worst airplanes ever. I'm 6' and everyone else in my party is shorter than that. The seats were too close together - front to back - to the point that the shortest person in our party is 5'2" and their knees touched the seat in front. When the passenger in front reclined the seat it was even worse. Add to the discomfort the metal box under the seat didn't allow for me to move my legs forward so by the first hour leg spasms had my legs were jumping involuntarily for the rest of the 3+ hour flight. With the metal box under the seat you didn't have any storage space. Did I mention I was in the aisle seat and with all of the movement in the aisle had little use of that space. The video screens in our entire row wouldn't work even after the attendants reset them multiple times. Thank God we had other older planes on the rest of our trip. If I wasn't burning flyer miles I'd never take this airline again. It will be a long time before I consider flying American when I have options.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"satisfied with recent flights"

(Colombia)

Quite satisfied with my recent flights CLO-MIA-EWR and return. New planes, extremely friendly crew, acceptable food. Nothing reminded of former grey, dirty, and unfriendly American. This time, arriving in Miami from Colombia and having a 2-hour connection between my international flight and the flight to Newark, upon the arrival, was quickly identified by AA staff and given an opportunity to pass through immigration and customs in 15 minutes.
Aircraft TypeA319
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews