Vote Now  

Air New Zealand

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"flight was very comfortable"

(New Zealand)

Unverified | Flying from Hong Kong to Auckland on a 777-200 featuring Air NZ's new interior, the flight was very comfortable. Recline is enough with generous legroom. The skycouch seats also have a legrest which is fantastic. The headrest was very comfortable. Being a 3-4-3 configuration the seat width is just ample. However this means aisle space is reduced. The monitor was clear with a good selection of everything. It also included USB power.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airline we have travelled"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Family recently travelled to LAX and back from Melbourne via Auckland. In short this was the worst airline we have ever travelled on. Trip started well with a one up upgrade to premium economy and you can see why ANZ has done well in this category. However as we opted for the sky couch for the main leg you cannot bid for an upgrade and this is where ANZ really lets itself down. Pictures of the sky couch look very impressive however the truth is different. Dont know if they use tiny people but there is no way a small adult and 2 kids (of any age) can fit unto this space. Having 4 people in our family there was a need for another seat on the other side of the aisle. Economy seats for a so called international airline are the worst Ive ever seen. No width breadth or recline - simply terrible. Having to endure this on the return leg we decided to opt to bid for premium economy, however we had to give up a sky couch so that wasnt a tough decision. Saying that and having to endure the waiting timed via the customer service team who had on average a waiting time of 1 hour+ on 4 separate occassions, to place a bid because apparently no one ever had done this. Anyway our bid went through and the email confirmation stated that we'd hear 3 to 7 days prior if we'd be successful or not. When we heard nothing with 3 days to fo we called and were informed that we would now not hear anything till between 9 and 7 hours prior to the flight. With 7 hours to go we received an email stating we'd been unsuccessful and we'd lost the opportunity to rebook 2 sky couches (plan b) because we'd left it too late. Also due to protestors at LAX we were asked to arrive early because of potential disruptions. So resigned to the fact that we'd be flying back economy we were buoyed by the fact that our Auckland to Melbourne flight had been upgraded. However after arriving 4 hours early and dropping off the car we needed to walk 30 mins to the international airport. ANZ arent to blame for this of course, however the cabin crew were 3 hours late which is interesting considering they told us about the issue and all the passengers were on time. As a result connecting flights were missed, with no recompense in Auckland for those delayed. Our next flight was 8 hours later (currently writing this fron Auckland airport) and no airport lounge access was provided or upgrades given. To add in sult to injury we lost our premium economy upgrade, will need taxi fare to get home and have wasted a day of our lives. In summary this is the worst airline Ive travelled on and will never travel with them again. I ca'nt rate 0 or less so 1 is then lowest.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
9/10

"IFE with a wide range of options

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Excellent trip. The inflight entertainment system was first class with a wide range of options - who knew you could find Nick Cave and The Pixies on an airline album selection? I used the system to order drinks which arrived quickly. Also the USB socket kindly charged my phone in advance of arrival.
Aircraft TypeA320
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"2 seats by a window is a bonus"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Boeing 767-300 return leg from Melbourne to Auckland on the evening flight; travelling as a couple the ability to have 2 seats by a window is a bonus. The aircraft was clean and tidy, but obviously reaching the end of its life (the 767's are being phased out by Air NZ). Good points, the IFE was touch screen and offered a wide variety of options (though not as many as on the A320). The touch screen can be temperamental when selecting choices; on my wife's seat the sound quality was appalling, so the staff reset the system for her seat which did the trick.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767-300
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"what a pitiful seat"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | The bottom cushion was fine for 14 hours on this Boeing 777-200LR flight. No real problem. The seat back though was like something out of a Beechcraft 1900 regional plane. There was maybe 5mm (1.4-1/3 of an inch) of padding over cross bars in the seat frame. I think Air NZ's domestic flights have more padding on 40 minute flights. So when you recline the seat your weight shifts to your back and the ache started or me about an hour into the flight. What a pitiful seat for such a long haul flight. Worst I can recall on such a longhaul flight on any carrier ever. I had a "premium" seat booking of 57k where it loses 1 seat in a row to two. Paid an extra $50 for this and yes great legroom. But when reclined, pain. After 2 days now my back still hurts.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200LR
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownNovember 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"shrunk their seats so much"

(New Zealand)

I will never travel long haul with Air New Zealand again especially on their new fleet. They have shrunk their seats so much and zero leg room. Even walking down the aisle I had to turn sideways. The toilets are a joke. Shame on you Air New Zealand - only looking after premium customers
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
6/10

"poor uncomfortable seats"

(New Zealand)

I was looking forward to flying in this Boeing 787 aircraft from Auckland to Honolulu. My first impressions were good, a quiet aircraft, good service, good entertainment, but for a new aircraft I now know for sure what cattle class means - very poor uncomfortable seats - I do not think I would like to fly this aircraft again.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"Totally miserable experience"

(United States)

The 777-300 is the worst plane ever in economy class. Seats are very narrow, very packed in, little leg room and have no individual air vents or controls. We felt like sardines and found the plane had no air circulation during our long haul flight from Los Angeles to Melbourne. I will never choose to this plane again. Totally miserable experience.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"worst leg room I've had"

(Australia)

Air New Zealand 777-300 is the best plane, but unfortunately they gave us the 777-200 for the long haul from Auckland to Vancouver, with 3x4x3 layout. Worst leg room I've had on a long haul flight. Narrow aisles, narrow seats, but worst is the leg room. Entertainment, service, etc are fine as usual for Air New Zealand, but I won't be flying Air New Zealand for long haul ever again.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"Premium Economy worth it"

(Japan)

I flew Premium Economy for the first time on an Air New Zealand Boeing 787 a few days ago from Auckland to Tokyo Narita. For a few hundred dollars on top of the economy fare, it was worth it. The seat and service were basically the same as business class back when Air NZ had First, Business and Economy many years ago. Cabin staff addressed passengers by name and the food and drink were similar to that in business class. Several days earlier, I flew over in economy on the same plane, and the economy class seat leaves a lot to be desired!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout2-3-2
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 62 Reviews