Top 100 Airports  

Air Canada

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"it is a dense configuration"

(United Kingdom)

The Boeing 777-300ERseats are a little cramped (3x4x3 layout). It is a dense configuration so you do feel crowded. The seats aren't particularly wide. The IFE is buggy, and kept crashing and restarting during and after announcements, though the selection of movies is pretty good. There is a tiny box that limits your under-seat stowage, so backpacks can be hard to fit under. There is minimal space for storage for all passengers in each ABC or DEFG etc. seat group at the same time. The seat is a typical international seat. It's not special in any ways, but it is a better seat than some other carriers.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable with a huge leg room"

(Canada)

Flying from Ottawa to Toronto. It was a very short flight, but the experience is great. It was an Airbus 321. The seat is comfortable with a huge leg room. The whole flight was comfortable and smooth. No turbulence and smooth take off and landing. The flight attendants are friendly and nice. All kinds of drinks are provided. Overall, it was a smooth and comfortable trip.
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"my shoulders were killing me"

(United States)

What a downgrade! I have been loyally flying Air Canada for years between the west coast of the US and China. I loved their 767 flight between Vancouver and Shanghai. Roomy and small. Then they changed to the 787 with a 3x3x3 layout and 17 inch width. I am not a tall or wide person, but at the end of this 12 hour flight I had a back ache and my shoulders were killing me. Other than the narrow width, there were two other problems with the seats on this plane. The seat backs have no stiff material between your back and the contents of the seat pocket behind you. You can literally feel the edges of the in-flight magazine or whatever the person behind you is reaching for as they remove or insert it into their seat back pocket. The entertainment control pad is exactly where lots of people's elbow contacts the thin armrest. Sleeping was a problem because my elbow kept turning on the overhead light and hitting the attendant button. It was kind of like a disco inside the plane as other passengers did the same, especially when the cabin lights were dimmed. I see that Air Canada has tapped their new high-density 777 3x4x3 to carry passengers between Shanghai and Vancouver this summer (2016). I will for sure be avoiding that one!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-8
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownMay 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"the worst seats ever"

(Canada)

We paid for extra legroom seats on two other long haul flights (Vancouver to Sydney and Barcelona to Montreal) and it was money well spent. Cannot say the say for the recent flight AC 08 Hong Kong to Vancouver. The bulkhead seats 31J and 31H were the worst seats ever. Yes, there was lots of legroom but the flight attendants use the space for parking their service carts and the bathroom is to the immdiate left and in constant use. People using the bathroom naturally congregated in the extra bulkhead space which meant stretching your legs into the extra space was impossible. Lots of loud chatter, doors opening, lights, people bumping into your feet and entertainment system and I felt Air Canada should be paying us to seat there. Also there is no place to put your book and other travel stuff so it has to be in the overhead. I will pay for extra legroom again but will never book the seats on either side of the middle row. Those seats would offer the extra legrrom, some privacy, and a pocket for personal travel items. On the plus side the entertainment system was excellent.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"very comfortable seat"

(Canada)

A very comfortable seat on the A321. interesting how the seats are blue, even though red is the Canadian color. Very friendly crew, and the inflight service was good. If you are an av geek, i would recommend seat 31A for the best wing view. The exit row is 1 row up so if you need to evacuate its nice and close!
Aircraft TypeA321
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"was 3x4x3 layout"

(Australia)

Sold flight as a 3x3x3 layout. Seatting plan for all upcoming flights show 3x3x3 layout. Actual plane flown was 3x4x3 layout. Seat widths 2cms narrower, only a dozen or so movies available, reading light controls not working. 15 hour flight SYD to YVR. AC gradually replacing all 3x3x3 with 3x4x3 by mid-2017. Continue to show 3x3x3 seating plan up until day before departure. Misrepresentation.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
4/10

"immovable neck rest"

(Australia)

The 3x4x3 set-up is ridiculous with the least room I've seen on any plane I've flown. I'm a petite 5' and 53 kilos but found the seating cramped, and my neck was pushed forward by a bulging immovable neck rest. Why can't there be softer neck supports with adjustable heights and wings? Hard to snatch any rest on a midnight flight when you can't even sit comfortably. Toilets were not very clean. On a brighter note, the cabin crew were diligent, helpful and hardworking, but the food was average. The breakfast pancakes in a custard with strawberry fraise was a standout and delicious. A pillow and blanket were offered.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200LR
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMarch 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"3x4x3 arrangement is ridiculous"

(Canada)

Counter staff was uninformed and did not know the details of the visa-free transit through China. counter staff spent more time being confused about the difference between the 72 hour visa-free transit and its recent increase to 144 hours. The new 3x4x3 arrangement is ridiculous. The seats are narrow and uncomfortable. You sit shoulder-to-shoulder with the passenger next to you. And if you move your elbow even the slightest, you trigger the media remote located on the top of the armrest. I will avoid AC like the plague from now on.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
9/10

"personal and comfortable"

(Canada)

Seat 13A in Premium Economy. Excellent seat pitch and width. Small very personal and comfortable cabin. Nice headrest and great entertainment system. The seat beside me was empty but I suspect that even if it hadn't been it would have been a very comfortable flight. The Boeing 787 mood lighting is very comforting.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1/10

"seats are narrower"

(Canada)

I fly with Air Canada Boeing 777 frequently from Toronto to Hong Kong twice yearly for last 3 years. My recent trip I noticed Air Canada has change their seating configuration. Adding an extra seat on each row in economy class, used to be 3x3x3, now 3x4x3. Seats are narrower than it use to be, not much leg room, less recline and seat is so uncomfortable. Not a fun flight being cramped on that narrow seat for 15 hours and I'm not tall either. Never again I would fly with Air Canada.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownDecember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews