Air Canada

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Seats extremely uncomfortable"

(Canada)

Verified Review | A330 seats are extremely uncomfortable. Airlines need to have a 'use-by' date on seat bottoms as older aircraft have seat bottoms which show a high degree of wear. It would seem a low cost to at least build in better cushioning in seats where the flights are 10 hours or more. Feels like some form of torture to make passengers sit in seats like this. A/V system is also very dated and laggy. Reinvest some of your profits in improved seats and a/V systems. Aisles ridiculously narrow.
Aircraft TypeA330
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats extraordinarily uncomfortable"

(United States)

Verified Review | I am 5'4" and normal weight. We were in row 30. We found the seats to be extraordinarily uncomfortable; little in the way of cushioning and no lumbar support. The seat pitch was terrible, they are too close together. I was unable to see or reach my belongings with my tray table down. This is particularly bad in the window seat. If you are on the aisle you can pull your belongings out to the side to reach them. If the seat in front of you is reclined it is in your face unless you recline yours too--creating a domino effect behind the first reclinee. We do not like the nickel and dime attitude of charging for seat selection ahead of time. On this flight from Portland OR to Toronto the charge is $45-46 for 'premium economy' (it did not look like seat pitch was noticeably better in these seats in front of the wing), and $21 for regular economy behind the wing. If you don't pay to choose a seat ahead of time, AC assigns you seats 24-hours ahead of flight time. Our seats were assigned by AC. We did get to sit together, but in row 30 out of 33. There is one toilet in economy class on this plane. The inside of the plane looked old and in need of minor repairs to seats and surrounds. Food and drink service was provided once at the beginning of the flight and once toward the end of the flight. Flight attendants were no-where to be seen between those times. (Probably serving in first class). USB ports at each seat, no AC outlet. Small screen on the back of the seat in front of you. A little high for me to comfortably view. But good movie selection. Under-seat storage was good, with no center divider to get in the way. Overhead bins were small, with just enough depth to accommodate a regulation size carry on placed sideways. Although we did get there and back without mishap, it felt like what I imagine it would be like to fly on Spirit Air. We will go out of our way to find an alternative carrier for our next trip to Toronto.
Aircraft TypeEmbraer E190
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownOctober 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"horrible for big persons"

(France)

Verified Review | Boeing 767 is horrible for big persons. Absolutely no place for legs while 9 hours of flight and very unconfortable seats. No tv on seat, food of low quality and insufficient quantity. When linking to the internal flight at Montreal for Ottawa, the plane was 3 hours late with no explanation.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats are so tight"

(Canada)

Verified Review | New Boeing 787, seats are so tight with narrow pitch of 31 inch that it is terrible for long haul flights. Aisle are so tight that trolley barely passes.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"extremely uncomfortable "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew premium economy Toronto to Sao Paolo. Seats extremely uncomfortable on long flights. The seat cushion tilts downward toward the front edge of the seat, so there is no thigh support and all your body weight lands on your tailbone, which becomes painful over a 9.5 hour flight. When the seat is reclined, you gradually slide forward off the seat and have to keep hoisting yourself back up. The headrest has no wings like in economy class, so your head can flop from side to side when you sleep unless you remembered to bring a neck cushion. Mine would not stay in the raised position, providing another source of constant frustration. Did not eat the dinner, but breakfast was a small plain omlet - I think the same as in regular economy. This flight was full and the crew were kept busy looking after the entire economy class section. There were sometimes queues for the single lavatory at the front of the premium economy section.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownJune 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"seats are incredibly narrow"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The Boeing 777-300 economy seats are incredibly narrow that many people have shoulders touching their neighbors' shoulders all the time. It's even uncomfortable to turn your body during the flight worrying to wake the person up. Legroom is also not very good for a 186cm tall. Had to keep my legs open, especially when the person in front of me recline the seat. Entertainment system is good, but no good movies or documentaries for me to watch.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownMay 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"Seats are very narrow"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flown the Boeing 787 today between Brussels and Montreal, seats 34A and 34B. Seats are very narrow, actually narrower than an average body. There is unavoidable and constant body contact with your neighbour. Happy mine was a nice chap. Armrest is too long and the control for the video system is situated on top of the armrest, meaning my neighbor accidentally either switched off my movie, or changed the volume, or switched on/off my individual light about a dozen time in a 7 hour flight. It was my first experience on Boeing 787 and I will try in the future to look for alternative planes or airlines whenever possible. I am glad this experience was on dayflight and not on a red eye. I do not think possible to sleep on such seats. Large widow and a good screen however appreciated (food very mediocre like on all northern american airlines but this is another subject).
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"hardly any leg room"

(United States)

Unverified | I flew from Toronto to Dubai on the Boeing 787-9, it was about 13 hours flight. The seats on this aircraft are so uncomfortable that you cannot even sit comfortably and there is hardly any leg room. I was so disappointed flying with Air Canada. In fact their smaller planes like E75 has more leg room than the Boeing 787. Shame on Boeing and Air Canada.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"worst seating experience"

(United States)

Unverified | This was my worst seating experience ever. The new high density Boeing 777 is an absolute nightmare flying with Air Canada in economy. Thankfully I had an aisle seat on this packed HKG~YVR flight but that was the only thing good about this trip. Seats ridiculously narrow. Aisle very narrow. Monitor controls in the the armrests unbelievably stupid concept. Constant lines for lavatories the entire flight. My seat reclined an acceptable amount - but felt too guilty for the poor soul behind me, so I didn't recline.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300er
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"I could stretch out a bit"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I chose seat 18K based on the reviews on this seat as it provided extra leg room. I was not disappointed in this regard. I am not particularly tall (5'7") however, the leg room meant I could stretch out a bit which was great, especially nice on the evening flight. The seat on the way over reclined well but for some reason on the way back it took too more effort to recline and seemed to come forward to the upright position of its own accord, which was annoying. In addition, it didn't recline enough for a good night's sleep. That's economy I guess. This seat was located right behind premium economy, and well away from the toilets so it was peaceful. Be aware that, in economy, the seats are particularly narrow. I'm quite a slender build and the seat was only just wide enough for me. Also, there is only a single point for a headphone charger so you can't charge up a phone or ipad. Also, no wifi. Be aware that, due to the extra space, babies can be placed in these rows. It was worth paying the extra $250 (return) for the extra space.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200LR
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews