Airline of the Year  

Air Canada

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Seats are very narrow"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flown the Boeing 787 today between Brussels and Montreal, seats 34A and 34B. Seats are very narrow, actually narrower than an average body. There is unavoidable and constant body contact with your neighbour. Happy mine was a nice chap. Armrest is too long and the control for the video system is situated on top of the armrest, meaning my neighbor accidentally either switched off my movie, or changed the volume, or switched on/off my individual light about a dozen time in a 7 hour flight. It was my first experience on Boeing 787 and I will try in the future to look for alternative planes or airlines whenever possible. I am glad this experience was on dayflight and not on a red eye. I do not think possible to sleep on such seats. Large widow and a good screen however appreciated (food very mediocre like on all northern american airlines but this is another subject).
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
3/10

"hardly any leg room"

(United States)

Unverified | I flew from Toronto to Dubai on the Boeing 787-9, it was about 13 hours flight. The seats on this aircraft are so uncomfortable that you cannot even sit comfortably and there is hardly any leg room. I was so disappointed flying with Air Canada. In fact their smaller planes like E75 has more leg room than the Boeing 787. Shame on Boeing and Air Canada.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787-9
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"worst seating experience"

(United States)

Unverified | This was my worst seating experience ever. The new high density Boeing 777 is an absolute nightmare flying with Air Canada in economy. Thankfully I had an aisle seat on this packed HKG~YVR flight but that was the only thing good about this trip. Seats ridiculously narrow. Aisle very narrow. Monitor controls in the the armrests unbelievably stupid concept. Constant lines for lavatories the entire flight. My seat reclined an acceptable amount - but felt too guilty for the poor soul behind me, so I didn't recline.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300er
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
7/10

"I could stretch out a bit"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I chose seat 18K based on the reviews on this seat as it provided extra leg room. I was not disappointed in this regard. I am not particularly tall (5'7") however, the leg room meant I could stretch out a bit which was great, especially nice on the evening flight. The seat on the way over reclined well but for some reason on the way back it took too more effort to recline and seemed to come forward to the upright position of its own accord, which was annoying. In addition, it didn't recline enough for a good night's sleep. That's economy I guess. This seat was located right behind premium economy, and well away from the toilets so it was peaceful. Be aware that, in economy, the seats are particularly narrow. I'm quite a slender build and the seat was only just wide enough for me. Also, there is only a single point for a headphone charger so you can't charge up a phone or ipad. Also, no wifi. Be aware that, due to the extra space, babies can be placed in these rows. It was worth paying the extra $250 (return) for the extra space.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-200LR
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"Boeing 787 seat in economy is horrible"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I love Air Canada and have made them my default airline for all my business travel. I'm lucky enough to fly business class on some of my flights especially overseas but usually fly economy on domestic flights. I was excited to fly on the Boeing 787 yesterday from Vancouver to Toronto as I heard so many great things about this aircraft and I have to say, I do think it's a remarkably well-designed plane. However, the Air Canada seating in economy class is horrible. It is so cramped that my body was aching by the time I arrived in Toronto. When I first sat down my passport dropped on the floor which I attempted to pick up but it was impossible to actually bend down. And I'm only 5.6 and of average weight. I was only able to retrieve it by having the other two passengers in my row get out of their seats. The overhead bins were full but yet there was little room under the seat for storage. My bag sat on my feet for the whole trip. Two of the passengers in the row ahead of us decided to drop back their seats right at takeoff making everything oh so lovely. I've never experienced tighter seating than what I experienced on this aircraft. I'll fly Air Canada still but not on this plane, much prefer the 767's. One thing I noticed was how many other passengers were complaining about the seating. That is something I've never encountered before. Truly one of my worst flying experiences ever.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 787
Seat Layout3x3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
5/10

"feel more cramped on your seat"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Seat 30G on the Boeing 777-300ER is a mix feeling seat. First, you have plenty of leg room and lucky to not be sardines like squeezed in the other rows. Being at the first row the screen and table are located in armrests of both side hence you feel more cramped on your seat in that row. Toilets are just front of you hence there is almost always people queuing on your right waiting for their turn especially when flying trans Pacific long hauls. To squeeze more people into the plane Air Canada has removed 1 toilet that was accros the only one remaining on the right side so when seating on 30G there is only 1 toilet from all pax seated from premium eco till the last cabin. The left side still has 2 toilets therefore people from the right will cross from the right to left side of the plane via the leg room space of row 30. So you are always woke up, pump into when people are crossing from one side to the other and back. Air Canada will to make more money is heavily compromising passenger comfort. Very disappointing and time has come for their ranking to be reviewed so that people arent fooled when making their travel plans.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this aircraft"

(United States)

I flew in seat 1A for my flight from Detroit to Toronto Pearson, the CRJ is a regional aircraft, therfore the legroom was bad and the condition and amenities of the seats were poor. The seats are synthetic leather which is a plus in comparison to some of the older fabric seats found in United's aircrafts. Avoid this aircraft - the new Q400s are much cleaner and spacious.
Aircraft TypeCRJ-200
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
10/10

"recommend Premium Economy"

(United States)

The newly refurbished Boeing 777-300ER aircraft are great and have the exact same seats as their new 787s which is a great plus. I highly recommend upgrading to Premium Economy, as the seat is extremely roomy, despite it being only 3 or something more inches wide, it makes a huge difference. The legroom is great, though the footrest takes up some of it. The entertainment system is great, the amenities such as 110V power and additional storage space is great.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2016
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
8/10

"paid for the first row of economy"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Paid extra for the first row of economy on Boeing 767-300ER. Well worth it. Tons of leg room. Screen is on the bulkhead and awkward. Very smooth. Seats themselves are average economy seats. Overall this is a very good wide body arrangement. Only 7 across in economy. Compared to the 10 across horror on some of Air Canada's other planes this was very comfortable.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 767-300ER
Seat Layout2x3x2
Date FlownAugust 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
5/10

"it is a dense configuration"

(United Kingdom)

The Boeing 777-300ERseats are a little cramped (3x4x3 layout). It is a dense configuration so you do feel crowded. The seats aren't particularly wide. The IFE is buggy, and kept crashing and restarting during and after announcements, though the selection of movies is pretty good. There is a tiny box that limits your under-seat stowage, so backpacks can be hard to fit under. There is minimal space for storage for all passengers in each ABC or DEFG etc. seat group at the same time. The seat is a typical international seat. It's not special in any ways, but it is a better seat than some other carriers.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x4x3
Date FlownJuly 2016
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews