Certified 5-Star Airlines

5-Star Airline

SKYTRAX are aware of attempts by others to imitate Airline Star Rating, and users should not be misled by such imitation third party ratings. As the prolific Irish writer Oscar Wilde once wrote: “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery that mediocrity can pay to greatness.” At SKYTRAX we can determine that such third party imitation serves as clear distinction of our airline rating programme.


The 5-Star Airline Rating status is currently awarded to a select group of airlines: Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines, Cathay Pacific Airways, Asiana Airlines, Hainan Airlines, ANA All Nippon Airways, Garuda Indonesia, EVA Air and Etihad Airways. It recognises the highest standards of both Airport and Onboard Product provided by these airlines to their customers, together with consistent and high standards of front-line staff service across the airport and onboard service environments.

Introduced in 1999 as the global Quality rating system for airline product and service standards, the World Airline Rating programme is operated by SKYTRAX, the international air transport rating organisation. World Airline Rating is the only global airline quality ranking programme applied through direct and professional Audit analysis of Quality standards, with Airline Star Ratings recognised as a global Benchmark of airline standards.

The world’s 5-Star Airlines

» ANA All Nippon Airways
» Asiana Airlines
» Cathay Pacific Airways
» Etihad Airways
» EVA Air
» Garuda Indonesia
» Hainan Airlines
» Qatar Airways
» Singapore Airlines

Airline rating analysis uses a scientific approach to deliver accuracy, with objective ratings based on SKYTRAX unified, global standards assessment. Star Ratings are awarded after in-depth analysis across an airline’s front-line Product and Service quality in both the onboard and airport environments. Airline Ratings range from 1-Star through to the prestigious 5-Star Airline ranking.

from left: Chen Fung (Chairman HNA), President Xi Jinping of China, David Cameron (Former UK Prime Minister)
Mr Yuji Hirako, President & CEO of ANA (right)
Qatar Airways
H.E. Akbar Al Baker, Group CEO, Qatar Airways
Etihad Airways
Mr Peter Baumgartner, CEO of Etihad Airways (right)
Garuda Indonesia
Indonesian Minister of Transport
Mr Derek Chen, President & CEO of EVA Air (centre left)

View other Airline Ratings

» The world’s 4-Star Airlines

» The world’s 3-Star Airlines

» The world’s 2-Star Airlines

» The world’s 1-Star Airlines