Etihad Airways receives Certified 5-Star Airline award

October 16, 2016 Category:

Etihad Airways has become the ninth airline worldwide to achieve the Certified 5-Star Airline rating from Skytrax, the international air transport rating organisation.

When an airline achieves Certified 5-Star Airline rating, Skytrax note that their customer’s expectations become even more demanding, and the pressure on Etihad Airways will increase to deliver the highest quality 5-Star standards to each and every customer on a most consistent basis.

In First class, Etihad Airways sets a benchmark for product excellence, and their business class product and service includes a distinctive approach to seat design and dining quality. In Economy class, good standards of product and service attention were noted, and because this cabin is where most customers will experience Etihad Airways, Skytrax place great emphasis on it’s quality performance.

Across the airport environment, Etihad Airways premium lounges at Abu Dhabi Airport have been redesigned for First and Business Class, and the airline continues to expand their lounge concept at key network airports, helping to develop product consistency and their service culture. In Abu Dhabi, there have been efforts to increase the presence of ground staff to smooth the transfer process, and Skytrax expect standards to improve further when the airline moves to the new Midfield Terminal at Abu Dhabi in the next couple of years.

5-Star Certified Airlines

The Certified 5-Star Airline rating is the highest global Quality recognition that is awarded only to an airline providing exceptional front-line Quality performance to its customers. It is the established international mark of a top quality airline and the 5-Star Airline symbol is recognised throughout the world by customers, media, airlines and the travel industry as a whole.

The are nine Certified 5-Star Airlines as at October 2016: Qatar Airways, Singapore Airlines, Asiana Airlines, Cathay Pacific, ANA All Nippon Airways, Hainan Airlines, Garuda Indonesia, EVA Air and Etihad Airways.

World Airline Rating

World Airline Rating is a global quality rating programme operated by Skytrax, the international air transport rating organisation and leading authority on airline quality standards. Certified Airline Ratings classify airlines by the quality of front-line product and staff service provided to customers, and are recognised as a global benchmark of airline standards.

Using an internationally recognised evaluation system to assess quality, Skytrax provide the world airline industry with a professional, unified Quality classification system that is an established and respected symbol of airline standards.

Certified Airline Rating uses a well-established scientific approach that ensures accuracy, and an objective ranking system based on global quality measurements. As part of an audit process to determine Airline Rating levels, Skytrax conduct detailed quality analysis of up to 800 different areas of product and service delivery for both Onboard and Airport environments. Certified Airline Ratings are not related to any type of customer reviews or passenger surveys.

Related Links

» Etihad Airways customer reviews
» News Headlines
» Special features