American Airlines

Lounge Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Lounge Comfort 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms/Showers 12345
Internet/Wifi 12345
Staff Service 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I’m less than satisfied"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I ordered off the menu a Vegetarian Waldorf salad, when it was served it was smothered with chicken and the server said that’s how it comes and left the dish on the table. She didn’t offer to return the dish and serve me one without the chicken. I didn’t want to make a scene so I said I would pick off the shredded chicken and eat it anyway. She offered no apology and left me to pick it off. The menu clearly shows ‘V’ for vegetarian and no meat is listed in the ingredients. After finishing my meal after picking off the chicken I thought I shouldn’t have had to work so hard to eat a salad in a paid membership club. Customer satisfaction should be the prime aim. I subsequently complained to the manager. He refunded the salad charge and the tip after I requested him to remove the tip. I paid for my premium wine, but a good customer service gesture I feel should have been to refund the entire charge. Lesson learned refuse to eat something I’m less than satisfied with instead of trying to take the high road.
Lounge NameAdmirals Club
AirportChicago O'Hare Airport
Type Of LoungeMembers
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
10/10

"both dishes were simply superb"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Prior to my flight on Cathay Pacific to Hongkong I was invited to use the Flagship dining section attached to American Airlines Flagship lounge at JFK airport. This is a five-star Manhattan-style dining facility with bar and spectacular views on the tarmac. I spent almost six hours in the Flagship dining section and besides me there were never more than a handful of other diners present. The waiters were very attentive and helpful with explaining the food and wine offers. I had the strip steak and the Flagship signature burger - both dishes were simply superb. The desserts - I went for the signature sundae and the creme brulee - were heavenly good. In contrary to the Flagship lounge - which looked at peak-times like a zoo - the Flagship dining section seemed to be a perfect escape. I was in there during the time the sun was setting down which was another highlight of my visit.
Lounge NameAA Flagship Lounge
AirportNew York JFK Airport
Type Of LoungeFirst Class
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
9/10

"food is very varied and good"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I had a long wait at LAX due to AA problems in getting me to SFO so spent time in the One World lounge at TBIT where I have been many times. Its a known quantity so used it to shower and freshen up. One problem with that lounge is the appalling lighting. Very dim. From there with a couple of hours to kill went to the Flagship Lounge at T4. Great reception area and a very nice lady at the front desk who was happy to chat. If only the AA FA's would have some of her charm. Upstairs and to the Admirals Club which is standard AA fare and level ie comfortable but nothing fancy. Now if invited, I was, one can use the Flagship Lounge. Great lounge, separate areas, plenty of seating and attendant washroom facilities. The catering was superb. It is worth trawling the net for other reviews and images as the food is very varied and good. AA can put on a great show if it wants to and this lounge is proof of it. If it can transfer some of this to its aircraft that would raise AA to the One World standards of its sister airlines. Certainly in future I am more than likely to use this lounge in preference to the One World lounge at TBIT. Top marks to AA.
Lounge NameFlagship Lounge T4
AirportLos Angeles LAX Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
2/10

"What a waste of money"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We were told it was a ‘must’ to use the VIP Lounge at Cancun so we paid $37US per person to use it. What a waste of money. The Lounge was far too small for the number of people in there and we were sat in some really uncomfortable seats. There were crying babies, toddlers, really loud customers and generally no sense of quiet that you would expect from a VIP Lounge. The food was rubbish and we hardly ate anything. The coffee took about a minute to bre per person so there was often a queue to get it. The water ran out and we had to wait for it to be replaced. There was only one female toilet so always a queue. The alcoholic section was actually quite good, if you wanted it, but our flight was early so hardly anyone was drinking.overall, I wish we had saved the money and paid for a nice meal.
Lounge NameVIP Lounge
AirportCancun Airport
Type Of LoungePay to Use
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
8/10

"Flagship Bridge is much quieter"

(United States)

Verified Review | There are 2 adjacent lounges, common reception entrance. One is Flagship, the other is called Flagship Bridge. The latter is much quieter with a selection of wines - red, white and sparkling - served by bartenders at the bar or at your seat. There is also a small menu of food available by ordering. This is a much relaxed place though it could benefit from having more comfortable couches. The adjacent Flagship lounge is much larger, very crowded, with buffet service of both hot and cold foods. A large selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks are there for self serving. Good views of the taxiways. A few computer stations. Clean bathrooms and there are showers too. However, the staff is very slow in keeping the place tidy. Counters and tables have plates, glasses, napkins and food leftovers for quite a long time. Both lounges have good complimentary wi-fi and lots of plug points to charge your phones and computers. The lounges are used by One World airlines. The front desk personnel were very helpful with arranging boarding passes for me. The lounges were superb places to catch up on work, relax, watch TV and enjoy premium drinks on the house until your flight was called.
Lounge NameFlagship/Admiral
AirportNew York JFK Airport
Type Of LoungeFirst Class
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
2/10

"filthy, and horrible experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | What was once an peaceful, elegant and premiere lounge has become an overcrowded, filthy, and horrible experience. American Airlines charges a lot for their "Flagship" experience but fail horribly on their delivery. The experience is not worth the cost. They now allow so many people in that they had no food to eat or cold drinks. Their soda machine was empty of syrup. Their food counters were filthy and unsanitary. Their wifi was so slow it did not work. It was anything but relaxing. It was actually more peaceful and calm in the general waiting area of the airport. They are incapable of accommodating the number of people they let in their doors.
Lounge NameFirst Class Lounge
AirportNew York JFK Airport
Type Of LoungeFirst Class
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
3/10

"ok but often crowded"

(Mexico)

Verified Review | This American Airlines lounge at Mexico City Airport is ok but often crowded. This time it was at full capacity and I had to leave. Food and drinks are better at the priority pass one. Not worth the walk there from gate 31/36 at the other end of the airport, from where most europe flights leave.
AirportMexico City Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
no
8/10

"good places to spend a few hours"

(United States)

Verified Review | Admiral's Club lounge serving Terminals B/C at Philadelphia. I accessed it with my BA Executive Club Gold/OneWorld Emerald card, and it was my first visit to Philadelphia in transit from an international flight. Reception staff was friendly, and gave me two coupons for bottled water or premium alcoholic beverages upon check-in. There are some alcoholic beverages that do not require a coupon. The snack selection has improved a lot at Admiral's Club lounges recently, and the selection here was very good, including two soup choices at lunchtime. The lounge appeared to have been refurbished recently, and was clean. It offers a nice view of the tarmac, and has both free Wi-Fi and PC terminals available. Plenty of comfortable seating, and it was not too crowded in the several hours that I was there. I don't know if they offer shower facilities, but the restrooms were adequately maintained. I also used the Admirals's Club lounge in Terminal C of DCA (Washington Reagan National Airport) on this trip, and it was as good. However, the lounge in PHL at Terminals B/C had a better layout and felt more spacious with more natural light. Both lounges were good places to spend a few hours.
Lounge NameAdmiral's Club
AirportPhiladelphia Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
8/10

"feel welcome and taken care of"

(Germany)

Verified Review | As a oneworld-Emerald I was allowed to use the American Airlines First Class Lounge in LAX, by passing through the Business Class one. Because it is being redecorated (a whole new concept) the lounge I visited was somehow separated from the main Business one, until the brand new one will be opened (as advertised with tables and seats where you are being served personally by a waiter, possibly with a spa area). The food served (buffet style) was very delicious and although there were not many choices you could feel welcome and taken care of. I did use the business facilities (computers and printers) which worked and the ground stuff helped me at any time. A very nice experience and I can't wait to try the new one.
Lounge NameAdmirals Club
AirportLos Angeles LAX Airport
Type Of LoungeFirst Class
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes
9/10

"enough snacks for free "

(Germany)

Verified Review | Inside the national terminal at SFO there is the Admirals Club lounge which is the first one I've been to where you should pay for some snacks, but for the US I can understand this concept as many people fly frequently and probably a lot of them acquire a privilege status. Nevertheless there were enough snacks for free (bagels, butter, fruit, yogurt, cereals and so on) and drinks as well. It was quite spacious and it looked packed although it was 7 am. I didn't miss anything while staying there and it was a very beautiful experience to wait for my flight. A big thumbs up for the restrooms which were very clean and modern and for the ground staff that were so nice in helping me finding another flight as mine was cancelled. They did all the best to help.
Lounge NameAdmirals Club
AirportSan Francisco Airport
Type Of LoungeBusiness Class
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Comfort 12345
Cleanliness 12345
Bar & Beverages 12345
Catering 12345
Washrooms 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Staff Service 12345
yes