Zurich Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 229 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"workers were consistently rude"

(United States)

Verified Review | My time at Zurich Airport was the worst travel experience I have had. The workers were consistently rude and were not helpful. They did not know basic information about the airport that employees of the airport should know. Multiple times I would ask individuals for help or directions and they would either disregard me, scoff at my situation, or would point me in any random direction that never went to where I needed to go. I will do everything in my power to never fly in or out of there again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"passport control had a 20 minute wait"

(United States)

Unverified | Customs / passport control at Zurich Airport had a 20 minute wait that was unpleasant and we almost missed our family flight. I will say, though that the Terminal E connection train is easy and fast. Well done, Zurich. Unfortunately, gate signs were hard to read and lack of TV monitors for flight info.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"security control was smooth and friendly"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | I arrived at Zurich Airport by train and went directly to the security control because I did not have checked luggage. Security control was smooth and friendly, I passed through in less than 3 minutes. Going through the duty free area and to the gate is no problem. Distances are not much of a problem, moving walkways help you to go to your gate. I really like Zurich Airport for it's efficent handling and so. But I don't like all the shopping areas. And yes, we are in Switzerland. Prices are uphill. But if you want to do shopping at an airport, this is your place. I did not use the WiFi.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Great Airport"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Great Airport, lots of last minutes shopping options available, plus the connect to terminal train is very nice with images of the Swiss alps and the Cows, they do have a small kids play ground in case you need your kids to get active before you board your flight
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"experience with security was ridiculous"

(United States)

Verified Review | The airport itself is fine. I'm familiar with it, and actually prefer making connecting flights through Zurich. But my last experience with security here was completely ridiculous. My boarding pass included the SSSS coding, which meant I would be pulled for a thorough pat down and security screening. At passport control at the gate, my boarding pass was confiscated and I was told to go wait by a screened off area near the gate where I would be searched. I did so. There was no security personnel anywhere in sight. After 15-20 minutes of waiting, I went back to passport control and said I was still waiting. I was sent back with a, "Security will come. Just wait." Meanwhile, over a dozen other passengers were waiting, too. I waited for 40 minutes for security to come do the screening. Our plane had begun boarding, and no security personnel had arrived. At the 45 minute mark, personnel finally arrived and began processing passengers. After my screening, my passport was also confiscated. I was told it would be returned but I would have to wait. Eventually, 10 minutes later, my passport and boarding pass were returned. I have never experienced a less efficient security screening than this at any airport. Completely ridiculous. I was also traveling with another person, so she had to wait almost an hour for me to get security clearance. Because of this experience, I will never fly Swiss or through Zurich again. I understand security these days is important, but to keep passengers waiting almost an hour? A complete joke.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the personnel have no empathy whatsoever"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Several major issues with Zurich airport. First of all, they are the only airport I know of that refuses to allow you to take your baby in a pram to the airplane if it consists of two pieces. Their response as to how you should carry two bags and your baby is that they rent out prams "somewhere". Secondly as I arrived with my little boy quite late we were checked in and rushed to the gate without stopping. At the passport control I kindly told the lady if she would allow us (me, two bags and my 2 year old) to cut the line and was told to get to the back of the line. Her response was: "we are all in a rush". You just give up on people like that. I subsequently ran to the gate, where the plane was still waiting and which was to be delayed for another hour but was refused entry. Instead of forwarding my bags or helping me out otherwise, I was told to go to Lost and Found to collect my bags and pram which took another hour. Finally with my 2yr old completely exhausted I arrived in London 8 hours later. I will try to avoid this airport in future since its policies regarding travelling with children are backwards and most of the personnel have no empathy whatsoever.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"one of the most efficient airports I know"

(Germany)

One of the most efficient airports I know. Transfering from Schengen to Non Schengen terminal is usually less then 30 mins. Plenty of choice for shops and restaurants. Certainly all is not cheap there. Everything is very clean and staff are helpful. Swiss business lounge is decend, enough smoking longues available.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"overall, unimpressed"

(United States)

Verified Review | Because we have family who live in Switzerland, we travel there regularly and typically use the Geneva airport. On our last trip, we took advantage of a direct flight from JFK to Zurich. Our arrival at the airport was favorable because we were helped by a friendly fellow passenger who directed us to the tram, passport control, and our luggage. It all seemed easy. On the day of our departure, my opinion of the airport dropped. The signage is problematic and it seemed we were in a shopping mall-not an airport. Difficulty finding information services. There are three departure gates which was totally confusing until I found the airline posting that showed which one we were to enter. Security was a major delay. Passport control was a major delay. The distance to the E terminal was significant plus there were lines for the escalator and tram. Overall, unimpressed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"holiday starts at the airport"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | When flying from Zurich, your holiday starts at the airport. Train station is under the main airport building, so access from Zurich downtown is very easy. Moreover the check-in desks are directly at the airport train station. So you carry your luggage only for a very short distance. Plenty of shopping and eating options land and airside. The security screening is very smooth. Even if you fly economy, you rarely wait more than 5 minutes. Airport is very spacious, well signed and always clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"staff was very friendly"

(Switzerland)

I started my jurney, early in the morning, so there weren't so many people at the airport. I thaught it was very clean, good to reach with train, bus or car and the staff was very friendly. As my flight to LAX departed there was an anouncement, which was clear and loud. At my arrival from LAX it was uncomplicated to get up my luggage and leave the airport quickly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes