Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 183 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"strange safety procedures"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Nice airport in general, with clear indications but strange safety procedures on departure: changing instructions, first to remove shoes, belts, etc, followed a few minutes later that there is now a lighter procedure, with limited checks, all with a lot of shouting. Also; the shuttles going to the different gates do not operate correctly: doors for passengers boarding and doors for passengers leaving the shuttles should not open simultaneously, as this allows you to bypass security. Fast immigration on entering; on leaving, special lane for priority passengers to check ID, but then common line for security.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely horrible airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely horrible airport, arrivals into international are abysmal. This is possibly the worst airport I’ve ever been to and will make every effort to never come here again. Anyone working here should be ashamed of themselves and the place they work for.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"I was a little bit lost"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nice airport even if it is quite big, many concourses, I was a little bit lost. I was flying in economy and so not had the possibility to business class lounges. Why the airport doesn't propose a common use lounge. Many american airport are proposing this service now. Hope IAD will open his mind for proposing this service to economy passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"have improved this airport tremendously"

(United States)

Trip Verified | They have improved this airport tremendously over the past few years, however, I still see the lack of a common use lounge as I sometimes have last minute flights and don't always get business class thus am unable to use the lounges in the airport. It would be a big added value to add a common use lounge to this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"We want a Common Use Lounge"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nice airport, but I don't understand why airport operator/authority don't propose common use lounge in USA. Only business class can have access to airlines lounges. What about other passengers of the airport? Does the airport authority is interested by their opinion? Only business class are important for airports. What a shame. We want a Common Use Lounge at IAD!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"there is no common use lounge"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Really good airport, seems quite new, a lot of space. Only one thing, unfortunately there is no common use lounge at the airport, especially in Concourses C and D. Only United lounges for business class passengers. That's a pity that for a 20 million pax only business class can have access to lounges. If there was a common use lounge, even economy can enjoy time at the lounge by paying a free entrance. Hope IAD will open their mind to international standards.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"did not provide a very good experience"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Overall, this airport did not provide a very good experience. Upon arrival, I had thought it would be easy to reach an event in D.C., starting five hours after touch down of the plane, but what a disappointment. Most of it was due to breathtakingly slow and appallingly bad organised immigration and passport control procedure, which took more than two and a half hours, even though I was not selected for any specific control so was just standing in the regular queue. Even US-citizens had to queue for more than one hour on that day. Upon departure, I found it very difficult to find my check-in counter, due to a lack of information screens. Security control went smoothly. The shops and restaurants are in no way special and the buildings seem a bit out of age.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a vast improvement for Dulles"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I must say Washington Dulles has certainly improved since I last traveled through it for an international flight two years ago. As usual on departure the TSA screeners were efficient and got us through security in no time and the Aerotrain to Concourse B was excellent. Concourse B is also very nice with good eating and shopping options. The vast improvement was on the arrival side. I used the Mobile Passport App for the first time (a must for any US citizen traveling internationally) and breezed through customs and immigration in a matter of minutes. Also our luggage came out in a decent amount of time, and finally luggage was not being removed from the carousel by those pesky airline/airport staff anymore (hooray!). We were out of the airport in about 45 minutes. The only minus is that you still have to use the mobile lounge to get to the main terminal. But overall a vast improvement for Dulles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"random-pulling procedure was totally unnecessary"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I regularly use Dulles airport for my international travel and have generally found it to be quite satisfactory - it's clean (including the rest-rooms) and accessible (if a bit distant), security and passport control are efficient, and there's a good selection of places to eat and drink. But there is one aspect of the airport that I continue to find extremely irritating, and that involves baggage reclaim. From time to time they have a person take individual suitcases off the baggage carousel, ostensibly to prevent too many bags from piling up on the carousel - trouble is, from where one is standing waiting for one's bags one often cannot see this person so one is unaware of this going on. This was the case on my return from London on 12th December of this year - I was waiting on one side of Carousel# 20 and my suitcase continued not to appear, so I started walking round the carousel and found this man randomly pulling bags off the carousel, including, as it turned out, mine - had I not started walking round the carousel I would have been quite unaware of this. There was at that time no danger of the carousel becoming overwhelmed with luggage and this random-pulling procedure was thus totally unnecessary. This has happened on other flights I have taken to Dulles and this must stop - were it not for this misguided procedure, Dulles would be as close to ideal as a US airport can be.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"sloppy protecting passenger information"

(United States)

Verified Review | Customs is sloppy protecting passenger information. Some airlines (Turkish) hand out custom forms to be filled out prior to arrival. Customs at Dulles doesn’t want/need paper but has set up small trash can for everyone to dispose of their paper copy that now contains names, addresses and Date of Birth. This should be protected (PII) and shredded. Brought to attention of supervisor Officer, she was disinterested in the problem and stopped me from retrieving my paper customs form that she placed in open trash can. Need to establish a Secure disposal of these forms!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes