Vote Airport  

Washington Dulles Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 220 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"processing was quick and easy"

(United Kingdom)

I'm a regular user of Dulles, and was dreading arriving on the afternoon of January 4th, a peak travel day, on a packed trans-Atlantic flight. Leaving the people mover (and I know I'm in the minority, but I like them), my heart sank when I saw how busy immigration was. Several other flights had arrived at a similar time, including flights from Japan and Qatar, and I resigned myself to at least two hours queuing in the non-citizens section. But that's not what happened. For the first time ever in my experience, the immigration hall was almost fully staffed, processing was quick and easy, and I was through both immigration and customs (more long but fast-moving and well-staffed queues) in precisely an hour. Many of us are often - quite rightly - quick to complain when US airport immigration is poorly staffed and painfully slow, but I thought it worth noting at least one day when Dulles actually managed to get it right.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Long term parking can be an issue"

(United States)

Long term parking can be an issue. Dulles does not have a good or reliable shuttle to long term parking. There is no rhyme of reason to how the shuttle service works at the terminal. After recent personal travel I was appauled at the lack of any organization. Everyone is left to there own accord. This is expecially bad if you use United Airlines for arrival.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"halls were cramped"

(United States)

My husband, 10 month old baby and I flew into Washington Dulles from Frankfurt, Germany and therefore had to go through customs to get back into the country. It was the absolute worst experience that I've ever had in customs. The halls were cramped, it was hot, there were people crammed at the foot of the escalator, so unfortunately, people were getting backed up on the escalator. It took us 2 hours to get through customs and we missed our connecting flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"terminal was relatively quiet"

(United States)

Arrived early morning in IAD from LAX. Once you disembark from the aircraft, you have to take these uniquely-shaped shuttles that take you to baggage claim. After you collect your bag, the Supershuttle check-in is inside the terminal, and you have to wait inside until they call your ticket number. During the return flight, I found it unique that all the passengers (domestic and international) gather in the same general area for security screening. Once screening is done, you catch a shuttle to your respective terminal. United terminal was relatively quiet with fewer passengers travelling on a Sunday morning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"incredibly rude and abrasive"

(Canada)

The staff at this airport are incredibly rude and abrasive. I witnessed a security staff member scold an elderly man for stepping up to the kiosk before being called over by the staff member. This man's native language was not English, and the signs instructing passengers to wait to be called over were not clear. The staff member basically told the man he didn't know how to read the sign. Secondly, while waiting in line to go through security the staff members were all shouting at the passengers because we didn't know what to do. They would tell us to wait, then tell us to keep the line going.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst arrival experience"

(United States)

Washington Dulles International Airport was the worst international arrival experience I had. Poor signage - they compensate by having employees shout to people to direct traffic at immigration (which means mistakes and confused travelers because international arrivals have plenty of people who are not native English speakers. Slow lines for both citizens and non-citizens. Insufficient TSA stations and staff means slow getting things into the X-ray machine, and if anyone needs follow-up bag-check the entire line stops. I saw rudeness to parents of babies who were asked to throw away baby food. People asked to step aside to wait and then forgotten for quite some time. Will never fly international arrival through IAD.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst TSA processing line"

(United States)

Never allow less than 3 hours for transiting Immigration, then Customs, and then the worst TSA processing line since Denver when it first opened. You have to remember these are federal employees - you cannot complain about poor efficiency or performance, they don't care. And, you better not complain or you'll be selected for special screening - delaying yourself and those behind you in line. Poor signage, no apologies from the slow acting employees. Is this really the best the U.S. can master?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst welcome into any country"

(United States)

This was the worst welcome into any country I have ever experienced. I will never again book travel that has Washington Dulles as my point of entry back into the states. The number of problems traveling through Dulles (the ultimate route was Copenhagen to San Francisco) were so numerous it is embarrassing. No only was there no international signage in the nation's capital; there is very little signage or staff at all to help travelers make informed decisions. This was especially apparent as we headed, en mass, toward security. Because the group of travelers I was in had no proper lines or signage guiding us toward security, we became more of a mob pushing upon each other in a hallway that seemed to have no end. Many of us discussed, as we were standing and waiting for 90 minutes, that if there had been any type of situation which necessitated an emergency exit from this space, there would have been chaos and injury. Washington Dulles lack of organization of space is problematic on multiple levels, human safety being paramount.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"the worst in almost every respect"

(United States)

Washington Dulles Airport is the worst in almost every respect - even on a good day it takes forever to get out because of the setup, and there are frequent luggage delays, lines at customs, you name it. In general the staff are not friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

Washington Dulles Airport customer review

(United States)

Immigration and customs lines are unacceptable, took 75 mins just to get thru immigration. Then claim baggage and another hour to get through customs lines. Then you have to figure out (poor to non-existent) signage how to get back to the terminal on a train and go back through security (another line!) and run to your gate just in time to board - with no time to grab a snack or stop at a restroom. To add insult to injury, only of our three bags made it to final destination. You would think the airport would rather have people shopping and eating at the airport during a multi-hour layover. Will avoid IAH for future international travel.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no