Warsaw Chopin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 92 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"terrible for transit travellers"

(Bulgaria)

Verified Review | Warsaw airport service is terrible for transit travelers. No special places for relax after long flight, and no special places for work can be found. Almost all of the comfortable places are organized as kantinas or restaurants. The seats are fully metal and super cold, esp. if you need to stay more hours. The airport speakers are super loud and often you can hear double speaking. Most of the personnel speak with poor English, and if you need to stay in transit more than 4 hours it can become super annoying. Additional "crowd control" and boarding services are applied, which often leads to constant hourly long speaking, and calls for passengers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Overpriced duty free, WiFi never works and very rude staff. I had no choice than to travel through Warsaw, but next time I'd rather go to KRK and take a train instead of seeing such unfriendly staff of that airport. It's obvious to me that WAW employees lack basic training and knowledge of customer service etiquette. They are impolite, unhelpful and literally 'process' the passenger as they were objects not human beings. It's particularly sad for me as a Polish national to see this behavior towards own people and the foreigners. Another issue is the choice of F&B, which is very modest, poor quality and super overpriced - here a special note to a place called ‘Papaya’ where they sell fresh juices and the most disgusting flat white - I’ve had in my life and in super stingy size. I will avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a very efficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Warsaw is a very efficient airport and clean. All is functional from the fast track, to the toilets, all is working. Space, air, and light all around you, the shops are well located you don’t need to zig-zag through 2000 Bottles to get to the aircraft. WIFI is a poor, protocols don’t works and they try to limit the access to the internet. You can’t play and even opening the Outlook is a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"border officers are very, very slow"

(Kazakhstan)

Passport control at Warsaw Chopin is awful. I never imagined that in European country that sort of things could happen. I missed my flight and I was very close to missing the second one. I checked in 2 hours (almost the first person) before the flight, but passed passport control only 10 minutes prior to my flight. The line was the biggest I have ever seen. Border officers are very, very slow and lack communication skills. They are careless about the fact that almost all passengers are risking to miss their flights. There is no any order, it's a mess. I would not recommend this airport, and in future I would never ever visit it again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"security the worst I have experienced"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | I pass through Warsaw Chopin airport a few times per month and especially when arriving from a non-Schengen country the passport control and security has to be the worst I have experienced. They are always very slow and I have missed my connections a few times due to this. Today it took 15 min with 4 people in front of me in security, and if they actually did something I could understand. But mostly talking and one passager in front said he was in a hurry, they did a complete check scanning his shoes 5 times. He missed his flight. I almost missed my flight as well, they had to hold the flight and I guess this is very costly for LOT. Please look over the staff at these controls, they drag down the rating of a good airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"modest, but efficient"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Warsaw airport is a brand new airport, fitted with all modern european standards of quality, cleanliness, shopping and restauration. It is very pleasant to depart, arrive or transit. I once had to spend a 8 hours transit in the airport and it wasn't painful. Wifi works well, you can find sockets to plug your equipment, toilets are cleaned very often, shopping and restaurant offer suits for an airport of this size. And when you arrive from a non-Schengen flight (last time I arrived from Minsk), the passport control goes fast, without problem, and luggage claim is also very fast. Connections to the city are also very easy with an express train, and a bus station right at the exit of the airport. Among the best airports I traveled in. Modest, but efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"large selection of restaurants and shops"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Warsaw Airport is very logical. Everything works quite well. There airport has been renovated and it is very modern. There is good connections with the city by car and public transport (there are many buses and trains). In the terminals before and after security is large selection of restaurants and shops. The biggest minus is the staff. Also at the check in and gate they were so rude and unhelpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"will avoid this airport in future"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I was passing through Warsaw Chopin airport for a connecting flight. My flight was more than 30 minutes late (this can happen). Nevertheless there were only 5 officers for passport control. Even worse: since my flight was from Kiev, there were a lot of people with Ukrainian passports coming in. The service was extremely slow, not only checking the (required) Schengen visa but also asking many questions, so that each traveller with Ukrainian passport would stand there for several minutes. Since I travel to Eastern European countries a lot I am very aware of the visa requirements and how they are checked elsewhere. This here was beyond imagination. I had about 30 minutes from arrival to boarding my connecting flight. I spend about 20 minutes in the passport control. Having got out I found another enormous queue before the security lanes of which only 1 was being operated. While standing there they at some point opened the second lane. However things were again going very slowly - people had to take off their shoes, goods purchased in the duty free shopping facilities at the previous airport could only be checked at one of the two lanes hence causing additional delays. All in all I share other reviewers' impression that nobody gave a toss whether people would miss their connecting flights. Treatment looked indifferent. For me this means: once and never again. Since for business trips I usually choose from several alternatives I will avoid this airport in future. I am totally in shock as this is not the modern, well-organized and friendly Poland that I have come to love over the previous 10 years.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"passport control too small "

(Canada)

Verified Review | After the security there is a large area with gates, duty-frees, restaurants and launges. On the right side - the passport control too small and very poor area for the gates 7 to 24. Be aware - there is no way back to loges and restorans after passport control, without any explanation except "because" Passport control people in uniform has very poor language and communication skills.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very good medium size airport"

(United Kingdom)

Warsaw Chopin Airport (WAW) is the major of the two airports in Warsaw; the other, Modlin handles the budget carriers. Chopin has a single terminal, but is sufficient for the current passenger volumes. We have used WAW as our gateway into Poland several times, most recently in July/August. Having arrived and departed using either British Airways or LOT Polish Airlines, our experience of the airport has been the same - very good. In this instance, we arrived and were transported to the terminal from the aircraft by bus. There was a short wait to have our passports checked (less than 5 minutes) and then a short walk to baggage claim. Our cases arrived within 10 minutes and we were able to exit the airport. The major plus for WAW is the train station is next to it linking you to other parts of the city, and the coach stand is next to that linking you to the entire country. Very handy indeed. A new addition to the airport is the viewing gallery - people can take the lift upstairs and watch the flights arrive and depart. Our departure was equally speedy. We were directed to the check in kiosk to print our boarding passes and luggage labels (plenty of staff on hand to assist first time users). Then straight to bag drop, through security and into the lounge. It didn't feel crowded and there was plenty of seating areas. There was even a children's play area, which was a nice touch. And if you want some quiet, there is a separate lounge, open to all that is situated on the ground level next to the airline lounges. No freebies, but it is quieter than the main departure level. All in all, a very good medium size airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 80 Reviews