Airline of the Year  

Warsaw Chopin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 88 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"border officers are very, very slow"

(Kazakhstan)

Passport control at Warsaw Chopin is awful. I never imagined that in European country that sort of things could happen. I missed my flight and I was very close to missing the second one. I checked in 2 hours (almost the first person) before the flight, but passed passport control only 10 minutes prior to my flight. The line was the biggest I have ever seen. Border officers are very, very slow and lack communication skills. They are careless about the fact that almost all passengers are risking to miss their flights. There is no any order, it's a mess. I would not recommend this airport, and in future I would never ever visit it again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"security the worst I have experienced"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | I pass through Warsaw Chopin airport a few times per month and especially when arriving from a non-Schengen country the passport control and security has to be the worst I have experienced. They are always very slow and I have missed my connections a few times due to this. Today it took 15 min with 4 people in front of me in security, and if they actually did something I could understand. But mostly talking and one passager in front said he was in a hurry, they did a complete check scanning his shoes 5 times. He missed his flight. I almost missed my flight as well, they had to hold the flight and I guess this is very costly for LOT. Please look over the staff at these controls, they drag down the rating of a good airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"modest, but efficient"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Warsaw airport is a brand new airport, fitted with all modern european standards of quality, cleanliness, shopping and restauration. It is very pleasant to depart, arrive or transit. I once had to spend a 8 hours transit in the airport and it wasn't painful. Wifi works well, you can find sockets to plug your equipment, toilets are cleaned very often, shopping and restaurant offer suits for an airport of this size. And when you arrive from a non-Schengen flight (last time I arrived from Minsk), the passport control goes fast, without problem, and luggage claim is also very fast. Connections to the city are also very easy with an express train, and a bus station right at the exit of the airport. Among the best airports I traveled in. Modest, but efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"large selection of restaurants and shops"

(Poland)

Verified Review | Warsaw Airport is very logical. Everything works quite well. There airport has been renovated and it is very modern. There is good connections with the city by car and public transport (there are many buses and trains). In the terminals before and after security is large selection of restaurants and shops. The biggest minus is the staff. Also at the check in and gate they were so rude and unhelpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"will avoid this airport in future"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I was passing through Warsaw Chopin airport for a connecting flight. My flight was more than 30 minutes late (this can happen). Nevertheless there were only 5 officers for passport control. Even worse: since my flight was from Kiev, there were a lot of people with Ukrainian passports coming in. The service was extremely slow, not only checking the (required) Schengen visa but also asking many questions, so that each traveller with Ukrainian passport would stand there for several minutes. Since I travel to Eastern European countries a lot I am very aware of the visa requirements and how they are checked elsewhere. This here was beyond imagination. I had about 30 minutes from arrival to boarding my connecting flight. I spend about 20 minutes in the passport control. Having got out I found another enormous queue before the security lanes of which only 1 was being operated. While standing there they at some point opened the second lane. However things were again going very slowly - people had to take off their shoes, goods purchased in the duty free shopping facilities at the previous airport could only be checked at one of the two lanes hence causing additional delays. All in all I share other reviewers' impression that nobody gave a toss whether people would miss their connecting flights. Treatment looked indifferent. For me this means: once and never again. Since for business trips I usually choose from several alternatives I will avoid this airport in future. I am totally in shock as this is not the modern, well-organized and friendly Poland that I have come to love over the previous 10 years.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"passport control too small "

(Canada)

Verified Review | After the security there is a large area with gates, duty-frees, restaurants and launges. On the right side - the passport control too small and very poor area for the gates 7 to 24. Be aware - there is no way back to loges and restorans after passport control, without any explanation except "because" Passport control people in uniform has very poor language and communication skills.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very good medium size airport"

(United Kingdom)

Warsaw Chopin Airport (WAW) is the major of the two airports in Warsaw; the other, Modlin handles the budget carriers. Chopin has a single terminal, but is sufficient for the current passenger volumes. We have used WAW as our gateway into Poland several times, most recently in July/August. Having arrived and departed using either British Airways or LOT Polish Airlines, our experience of the airport has been the same - very good. In this instance, we arrived and were transported to the terminal from the aircraft by bus. There was a short wait to have our passports checked (less than 5 minutes) and then a short walk to baggage claim. Our cases arrived within 10 minutes and we were able to exit the airport. The major plus for WAW is the train station is next to it linking you to other parts of the city, and the coach stand is next to that linking you to the entire country. Very handy indeed. A new addition to the airport is the viewing gallery - people can take the lift upstairs and watch the flights arrive and depart. Our departure was equally speedy. We were directed to the check in kiosk to print our boarding passes and luggage labels (plenty of staff on hand to assist first time users). Then straight to bag drop, through security and into the lounge. It didn't feel crowded and there was plenty of seating areas. There was even a children's play area, which was a nice touch. And if you want some quiet, there is a separate lounge, open to all that is situated on the ground level next to the airline lounges. No freebies, but it is quieter than the main departure level. All in all, a very good medium size airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incredibly slow security controls"

(Belgium)

Slow, incredibly slow security controls, careless of people missing their flights. ID checking machines malfunctioning, took them 5 minutes to scan mine. Transfer security check is small, cramped and again, utterly slow an ineffective. 1h transit here will not be enough, unless you are willing to cut lines and run.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"baggage claim very simple"

(Poland)

No problem after arrival, baggage claim very simple, easy way outside. Toilets are clean and there is no problem with avalabilty. Touristic info point set in arrivals, easy access to city centre. Modern infrastructure and no works in progress takes place.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
4/10

"security extremely ruthless and rude"

(Sweden)

Nice small airport easy to navigate, speaking Polish helps. Significantly improved after reconstruction. The Security personnel is extremely ruthless and rude. It is hard to believe that flying 10-15 times a year from this airport I'm dissapointed almost each time. Baggage - one of the longest waiting time to collect compare to any airport I'm visiting. Taxi - despite efforts still far fro being perfect. During peak time both people and taxi are waiting in long queues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews