Vote Now  

Warsaw Chopin Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"will avoid this airport in future"

(Germany)

Verified Review | I was passing through Warsaw Chopin airport for a connecting flight. My flight was more than 30 minutes late (this can happen). Nevertheless there were only 5 officers for passport control. Even worse: since my flight was from Kiev, there were a lot of people with Ukrainian passports coming in. The service was extremely slow, not only checking the (required) Schengen visa but also asking many questions, so that each traveller with Ukrainian passport would stand there for several minutes. Since I travel to Eastern European countries a lot I am very aware of the visa requirements and how they are checked elsewhere. This here was beyond imagination. I had about 30 minutes from arrival to boarding my connecting flight. I spend about 20 minutes in the passport control. Having got out I found another enormous queue before the security lanes of which only 1 was being operated. While standing there they at some point opened the second lane. However things were again going very slowly - people had to take off their shoes, goods purchased in the duty free shopping facilities at the previous airport could only be checked at one of the two lanes hence causing additional delays. All in all I share other reviewers' impression that nobody gave a toss whether people would miss their connecting flights. Treatment looked indifferent. For me this means: once and never again. Since for business trips I usually choose from several alternatives I will avoid this airport in future. I am totally in shock as this is not the modern, well-organized and friendly Poland that I have come to love over the previous 10 years.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"passport control too small "

(Canada)

Verified Review | After the security there is a large area with gates, duty-frees, restaurants and launges. On the right side - the passport control too small and very poor area for the gates 7 to 24. Be aware - there is no way back to loges and restorans after passport control, without any explanation except "because" Passport control people in uniform has very poor language and communication skills.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very good medium size airport"

(United Kingdom)

Warsaw Chopin Airport (WAW) is the major of the two airports in Warsaw; the other, Modlin handles the budget carriers. Chopin has a single terminal, but is sufficient for the current passenger volumes. We have used WAW as our gateway into Poland several times, most recently in July/August. Having arrived and departed using either British Airways or LOT Polish Airlines, our experience of the airport has been the same - very good. In this instance, we arrived and were transported to the terminal from the aircraft by bus. There was a short wait to have our passports checked (less than 5 minutes) and then a short walk to baggage claim. Our cases arrived within 10 minutes and we were able to exit the airport. The major plus for WAW is the train station is next to it linking you to other parts of the city, and the coach stand is next to that linking you to the entire country. Very handy indeed. A new addition to the airport is the viewing gallery - people can take the lift upstairs and watch the flights arrive and depart. Our departure was equally speedy. We were directed to the check in kiosk to print our boarding passes and luggage labels (plenty of staff on hand to assist first time users). Then straight to bag drop, through security and into the lounge. It didn't feel crowded and there was plenty of seating areas. There was even a children's play area, which was a nice touch. And if you want some quiet, there is a separate lounge, open to all that is situated on the ground level next to the airline lounges. No freebies, but it is quieter than the main departure level. All in all, a very good medium size airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incredibly slow security controls"

(Belgium)

Slow, incredibly slow security controls, careless of people missing their flights. ID checking machines malfunctioning, took them 5 minutes to scan mine. Transfer security check is small, cramped and again, utterly slow an ineffective. 1h transit here will not be enough, unless you are willing to cut lines and run.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"baggage claim very simple"

(Poland)

No problem after arrival, baggage claim very simple, easy way outside. Toilets are clean and there is no problem with avalabilty. Touristic info point set in arrivals, easy access to city centre. Modern infrastructure and no works in progress takes place.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
4/10

"security extremely ruthless and rude"

(Sweden)

Nice small airport easy to navigate, speaking Polish helps. Significantly improved after reconstruction. The Security personnel is extremely ruthless and rude. It is hard to believe that flying 10-15 times a year from this airport I'm dissapointed almost each time. Baggage - one of the longest waiting time to collect compare to any airport I'm visiting. Taxi - despite efforts still far fro being perfect. During peak time both people and taxi are waiting in long queues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"be prepared for a nightmare"

(France)

Verified Review | Horrible experience! I had 55 minutes for connecting flight and almost missed it, because of disorganized passport control. The queues are huge and nobody cares if you are late. I had to cut the line three times, because border control officers were redirecting me to different desks. If you have a connecting flight in less than 2 hours, be prepared for a nightmare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"efficient and easy"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have flown in and out of Warsaw Airport a few times and it has amazed me each time. This airport definitely tops many American airports. The two terminals check in halls are large and spacious with some seating areas. I have only flown LOT in and out of Warsaw so I will be speaking on the the LOT check in service. They use computers for check in but there are always staff walking around for assistance speaking multiple languages, Polish, English, Chinese, those are the one I have heard. There is also a customer service desk. They could use a few more check in computers though. You can also get assistance at the bag drop desks. I have always flown in and out during busy times of the day and the LOT bag drop lines have never been more than five minutes and the desk employees are really nice and professional. There are many desks and exclusive desks for Business and Premium customers. The security line appears long but is efficient and easy, only about 15 minutes. The TSA was polite to me asking to remove a tablet instead of yelling at me. The terminal is quiet large but extremely easy to navigate with signs and arrival/departure tvs. All the long haul flights are at one end of the terminal which is nice. There is free wifi and it is not terribly slow. There are many nice shops and places to eat. There are a not sufficient amount of seats at each gate for the flight which can be bothersome if you are traveling with a large party of family, luckily the terminal is spacious. There are employees walking and around willing to answer questions and the gate agents are polite and are happy to help as well. From a departure flight the boarding process is efficient and if you are on a small flight you may have to board a bus but the rides are never more than five to ten minutes. If you are arriving it is a nice touch to have glass jetways but my experience with customs is some of the employees where a little rude, but not all. The baggage claim is also large and efficient. I have flown through Munich this past July also and Warsaw was just as impressive. Not as many shops and nice places to eat but both large, efficient, and polite staff. If you ever fly through Warsaw it is an awesome connection airport or an awesome gateway to Poland! I highly recommend this airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the most disorganized airport"

(United States)

Warsaw Chopin is the most disorganized airport I have ever been to. Poor signage, poor customer service, cold metal chairs, unclean restrooms. You can not even buy a bottle of water here without presenting your boarding pass. Not at all a welcoming place. Nothing seems to operate to promote ease of experience. Will never travel thru here again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"long distance to walk"

(United Kingdom)

Long distance to walk on arrival up gradual slope, difficult for elderly or infirm. Also only one board at entrance of luggage area - when I got to the luggage carousel I thought it wasn't the correct one so had to walk all the way back to the area entrance. On outward journey most toilets appear to be on upper level with escalators up and stairs down. The food area called Chefs is extremely confusing - all drinks machines should be operated by customer but all only Polish. If you want to cater for other nationalities needs some thought.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews