Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 209 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"clean throughout, good signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent for transit when (DTW-EWR-VIE-ODS) I didn't need to go through passport control and security. Clean throughout, good signage, shop where I could quickly buy a tasty baguette at reasonable cost. I made the connection with (nominally) 90 minutes even through arriving flight was late. The incoming flight (large airplane) had a jetway, but we were bused a short distance to the outgoing flight. All personnel courteous.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"terribly bad service"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Terribly bad service at departure. The que for just delivering my suitcase took almost 1.5 hours. And there was no option for dropping the luggage for people who all ready have done their check in on the phone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
4/10

"seating availability poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passport control quite smooth when I travelled but seating availability poor around D gate area so be prepared to stand around a while until security opens at the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"waiting at passport control"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Arriving from a EU, non-Schengen flight in the same time with a EVA flight from Taipei meant a lot of waiting at the passport control. There weren't any EU passengers desk or e-gates. This sums up with the fact that the plane was parked outside and we had to wait for a bus to bring us to the terminal, zigzagging between planes and waiting a lot to pass. It seems to me like it is working at full capacity, this airport. After that, although transiting there was another security check, after walking some good meters between terminals, wich delayed the experience even more. The shops and restaurants are good distributed and he quality of the products is average, but to expensive, in my opinion. I've been some years ago in this airport and I had the same experience as now, not one of my favorites, I would say.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a great airport to transit"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Vienna is a great airport to transit. I have transited here several times and always encountered short lines at security or passport controls. In this particular instance, I left the arriving flight 25 minutes before the departure of my connecting flight, but still arrived in time for the latter – even though I had to pass passport control before. If you have a bit of time, there are also pleasant seating areas. I can only recommend to transit through Vienna.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
2/10

"just so badly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This Airport is just so badly organised. No signs in English anywhere. Told by a Security Guard as we came off the CAT train link, the completely wrong directions. We arrived at 2.30 for our flight at 5.15, but missed our flight! Told the wrong Gate No. I became unwell, as I have a medical condition yet was offered no Assistance from anyone. My poor partner was running around trying to find out the correct Gate as we were told the wrong one! Poor quality announcements over tannoy unable to understand. By now I was in tears. Not impressed with Austrian Airlines either, they were not exactly sympathetic, even though my partner told them I was unwell, no assistance offered. Paid over £300 for another flight at 8.00 pm. Checking in was a nightmare, nobody to help explain how the automatic machine works, or struggling to get ticket onto your own suitcase! Then had to go through Security yet again! Frisked for drugs with some kind of scanner by some grumpy female, who was told I was unwell and still in tears! Disgusting treatment, with no compassion!! Such a shame as we both loved Vienna, and planned to return but now this has put us completely off Ever returning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience. Next time I will try to go through another airport. The duty free is before security so you don't have time to buy anything. Be ready to queue for hours for security standing as there are no seats. My waiting time for security was 1h30.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an annoying experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Providing security at the airline gates is all right - although it prevents buying/collecting water or other liquids after security to take onto a flight. But it would be helpful if some information were made available about when security opens. The gate was displayed almost two hours before the flight, but the security ‘service’ was closed. People started to queue. No information about an opening time was available at the gate or on the airport website. An hour and a half before the flight I asked at the ‘Security Service Counter’ what the plan was. I was told it usually opened 30 minutes before the flight. I was surprised so asked a few times to be sure. All in all, an annoying experience leaving from Vienna.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no water fountains"

(Macedonia)

Trip Verified | If you want water you can get it after security control. All the retailers in the airport see this as an opportunity to rip off passengers. There are no water fountains and there are signs in the toilets saying the water is not for drinking - shop selling water prices it at 1.9 Euro for a small 50cl bottle. Lots of other things about the airport are good including seating and wi-if.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"dissatisfied with access to gate D61-70"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very dissatisfied with access to gate D61-70. Additional security check point created a line of a full plane or more of passangers. The access to the checkpoint was open only 50 min prior to the departure although the gates have a waiting hall. Despite 7 people from the airport security, only one check point was open for a good 15 min. You would also have to discard your cold beverage that you bought beyond the main security point of the airport and you will have to open your bags in case you bought something from the Duty Free in the main airport departure hall. Just make sure not to through away your receipt - the security point will check for it. Overall, if you have a choice, fly Munich, Frankfurt or anything else. I will try to avoid Vienna, despite one of the best connection time and overall a decent airport, except for these gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no