Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 142 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Greece)

Quick, bright and easy to navigate. Fast free internet connection. Flew with Star Alliance airline. Automatic boarding - quick, efficient and very comfortable. A variety of shops - a bit expensive. Overall a very nice experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Austria)

Good connection to the city, free and unlimited WIFI, a "normal" landside supermarket, fairly smoke-free. Effective and quick security check (much improved). The new terminal (Star Alliance) design is terrible (blacks and greys dominate the new terminal, signage grey on black isn't ideal). The arrivals area and halls are too narrow, walking distances are enormous, some washrooms are downstairs below, waiting areas lack sufficient seating. Lounges are a long distance from some departure gates. If there is a gate change for a Schengen flight, it can happen that you have to undergo a second security check as the two Schengen terminals are not connected although being practically in one and the same building.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Russian Federation)

The Airport is excellent. Terminal directions are easy to understand. Every member of airport staff can speak German and English without problems. I had to wait a little bit at security check area - 4 minutes, but it did not cause a problem at the time. The boarding is very quick - thanks to automatic boarding machines.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

The distance from the arrival of the City train to Terminal 1 is not short. It took us good 20 minutes to get to BA counter. The majority of departure gates are 20-30 minutes walk, according to airport information.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
9/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Russian Federation)

Very good directions. You can find what you want easy and fast. During passport control there is no queues and problems. Baggage claims are situated very good and as you come after passport control, your baggage will be on the baggage claim.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
3/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Out of all airports that I've been, Vienna International Airport is the worst. Poor facility and rude service. We only needed to drop off the luggage, but had to wait for an hour just because we arrived at the airport early. That we can understand, but the member of staff at the counter could have explained nicely!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
9/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Croatia)

Vienna airport is very clean and quiet. Signs are clear but they should think about putting one more sign in transfer area that should point out that you have multiple choice. Namely, when I got out of a plane by ramp, I followed the sign that pointed to transfer area and gates. I came by security control and passed it only to be pointed again to position where I came out of a plane. Then I realized that i had to go directly to passport control and then to another terminal again to security check. The WIFI is unlimited and fast. Upon my arrival from FCO the plane was late and i missed connecting flight to Zagreb. But I managed to book another flight that same day and staff was very professional and polite. The toilets are very clean and there are many restaurants and shops.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
8/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Germany)

Transit is easy and quick. Friendly security staff, short distances between the gates in F (Schengen), D and G (non-Schengen). There is only one but: Always when I fly via VIE the aircraft is parked on apron position and the bus ride is an adventure due to the driving style of the bus drivers.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
5/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom)

Had a transfer flight. Wanted to buy a small bottle of water (£3.20) in one of the cafes gates G. Asked if I could pay in GBP and got a positive answer. However this particular sales person tried charging me £7 for it. She kept arguing that she got the exchange rate right even though it is an obvious mistake and kept pushing me into paying £7 for £3.2 bottle of water. Outrageous service not enough decent cafes to eat/drink and almost nothing is translated in English.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
6/10

Vienna Airport customer review

Review by (Dominican Republic)

I flew in/out VIE from/to Punta Cana through terminal D. Definitely a mixed-bag experience in agreement with most comments here. Arrival (immigration customs etc) was swift and convenient. CAT service easy to use and access but the information on alternatives (as much cheaper S7 line) hard to locate unless you asked. Rental car desks can only be reached only after a maze of hallways doors etc. but eventually you will get there. Using an off-site car rental agency? Good luck you will have to ask at the information desk on what to do as there are no signs or clues in that regard. For departing passengers waiting areas beyond the security checkpoint at pier D seem a bit cramped AND bathrooms are a flight of stairs down (so I'm assuming handicapped and/or older passengers would need special staff assistance?). The black/off-white/white shiny-surfaces decor-although sleek/contemporary I should say- reminded me of scenes of the Death Star in Star Wars (seriously). And yes more areas for sitting/relaxing would be a plus (compared to all the floor space devoted to retail). Overall an OK experience and no major hardship to speak off at all but as the gate to a stunning world-class and with a highly efficient public-transport city system like Vienna its airport seems a notch below.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes