Top 100 Airlines  

Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 160 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"no shops after security check"

(Finland)

Terminal 1 B gates had no shops after security check, which was a small surprise/minus. Shop area had very pushy cosmetic sales people - watch out for those. Otherwise airport works well and free wi-fi makes your waiting more pleasant and efficient.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"airport is very easily accessible"

(Portugal)

The airport is very clean and modern looking. I found the walk to the luggage claim a bit long but nothing serious and the shopping space at the arrival a bit crowded. Airport is very easily accessible by car, bus or train with the train station right underneath the airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful and although the airport wasn't immensly big, it had everything you would need. Places were well lit and information was enough. Check-in was a bit crowded but the process was fast and simple. The distance bettween gates was short and it was very simple to get to my gate. Bathrooms were very clean and the waiting room for boarding was confrotable, clean and quiet, it was a bit recessed from the main corridor, so you could wait there without having too much noise from people passing by.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"security however was very pleasant"

(United States)

The staff in most of the restaurants and stores are not very friendly. I had a wonderful experience elsewhere in the country but found the airport restaurant and shop staff to be curt and plain rude. If you arrive early, try to avoid doing any shopping or eating at the airport. Security however was very pleasant, I had no idea what to expect but they walked me through the process with smiles on their faces.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a surprisingly quiet airport"

(United States)

Vienna is a medium sized airport with old and new concourses. I experienced the new one on arrival and departed from the old one. It is a surprisingly quiet airport despite the level of traffic, with a variety of shops including two small supermarkets. One thing it lacks is adequate money changing and ATM service. I received inaccurate directions twice for the lone ATM in the new terminal. It's on the second floor hidden away from most of the other services. I did not see a bank. I would imagine most visitors come from the Eurozone which mitigates some of the need for money services, but Vienna also attracts a great many people from outside the Eurozone, as well. There are 2 ATMs before departure in the old concourse (one was out of service) and the money exchange is not open in the early morning. Immigration went quickly, coming and going. Security was slow--British has a small operation here and contracts out all of the airport services to a contractor who uses the same staff for check-in at the counter and at the gate. Because of the logistics to do this, the queue for security(which happens at the gate) is rather long. The gates in the old concourse are inadequate in size and the boarding process was relatively chaotic. I took the train service into the city (rather than CAT). The set-up is a bit confusing. The train turns into S-Bahn (a sort of commuter rail) at the Airport into Vienna and tickets are good for onward travel on the subway and buses, although this is not clear from the multi-lingual ticket machines. The station is staffed, so if you ask first, the system becomes more intuitive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"free, fast WiFi"

(United Kingdom)

Vienna Airport is one of my favorites. Clean, not too big, many shops, comfortable seating at gates, good quick snack options and Vienna is one of the few airports providing real free WiFi which is very fast.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
6/10

"very few facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Arrival was good, we were bussed from the aircraft to the terminal, a short ride and no queues for passport checks. From there to the rail station was quick and links with the city centre are excellent - we took the S-bahn, it is cheaper than CAT (though a little slower) and links with other lines very well. Departure was not so easy, we had a long walk to Terminal 1 which I am not convinced was necessary as we had checked-in online, we then walked back to the departure gates. Queues for security and passports were not bad, about 5 minutes each. However, once in the departure area for non-Schengen flights there are very few facilities, a vending machine and small 'duty free' shop - both limited and very expensive. If you want something to eat and drink have it before going to your departure gate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Signage is extremely confusing"

(United Kingdom)

A truly dreadful experience. I travel all over the world and have never encountered a more confusing airport. Tried to make for the Austrian business class lounge. This is on the cusp of the Schengen and non-Schengen departure areas. Was travelling within Schengen but accidentally went to wrong area via passport control. Unsmiling officer made me go all the way back through immigration. OK, my fault. But getting back through immigration made me walk more than a mile (I checked it on my iPhone). Signage is extremely confusing. Worst I've experienced anywhere. To add insult to injury, the Austrian airlines business lounge was full, untidy and unwelcoming. Oh, and the wifi was down. Not a nice place to be. Avoid if you can.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"short queuing times"

(Belgium)

One of those airports I do love. Free and easy wifi everywhere and if you get several times through the this airport you will be immediately and automatically connected as soon as you get of the airplane. Different types of seating, depending on if you want to sit in a more relaxed way or to sit and work (with perfect connectivity if you need to recharge the batteries of your devices), a special space where kids can play etc. Everything here is well thought to make the best from the experience of travelling. And the airport also has the advantage of not being too big, so everything is within reasonable walking distance. Short queuing times for transit passengers, in general.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"compact with no endless walking"

(Egypt)

Arrived into Vienna Terminal 3 around mid-day on an Egyptair flight from Cairo. After deplaning, passport control was just a few steps away and we were through in just a few moments. By the time we were in the baggage reclaim hall, luggage was already spinning round. After that, we followed signs for the CAT (City Airport Train) that leaves twice per hour for central Vienna. Plenty of automated ticket kiosks to buy tickets from. As there is a non-express train that stops along the way, it is easy to get confused-the CAT platform is distinguishable by the distinct green branding of the logo. We were in central Vienna in less than an hour from deplaning, which is pretty impressive. Only thing I didn't like was that you needed to insert a 1 Euro coin for the trolley in the baggage reclaim hall-many people won't have change handy straight on arrival. On departure, I had already checked in at the CAT Terminal at Wien Mitte station, so it was straight to departures. At security all check-points were open and through in no time. As we had to do VAT refund, we went to the window open after passport control in the non-Schengen area (G gates). Plenty of shopping, handy if you want last-minute souvenirs. Vienna Airport is brilliant, being compact with no endless walking, short lines, clear signage and plenty of seating. Both times used Terminal 3 which is used by Star Alliance. It's transportation links with downtown Vienna via CAT made everything much easier.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Staff are extremely rude"

(United Arab Emirates)

I travel through Vienna Airport often and transiting is by far the worst experience for me in comparison with any other European airport. I arrived from Dubai - there was no ground staff or customer service desk available to direct me to next gate. I needed assistance since my next flight wasn't showing on the flight info screen yet. After 45 min a ground staff member was passing accidentally so I asked for help. She said I have to exit the terminal and head to another one. A very inconvenient system, long walking (took around 40 min walk to reach next gate). Very thorough security checks. Staff are extremely rude, especially security personnel. No respect for personal belongings at all. They took out my toothbrush and placed it again for scanning in a separate tray. I disagreed and said this is very unhygienic - first they touch it and second they placed it in a tray where everyone places items. For the past 9 years there has been no improvement at customer service at this airport. Extremely unprofessional.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no