Vote Airport  

Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 152 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"short queuing times"

(Belgium)

One of those airports I do love. Free and easy wifi everywhere and if you get several times through the this airport you will be immediately and automatically connected as soon as you get of the airplane. Different types of seating, depending on if you want to sit in a more relaxed way or to sit and work (with perfect connectivity if you need to recharge the batteries of your devices), a special space where kids can play etc. Everything here is well thought to make the best from the experience of travelling. And the airport also has the advantage of not being too big, so everything is within reasonable walking distance. Short queuing times for transit passengers, in general.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"compact with no endless walking"

(Egypt)

Arrived into Vienna Terminal 3 around mid-day on an Egyptair flight from Cairo. After deplaning, passport control was just a few steps away and we were through in just a few moments. By the time we were in the baggage reclaim hall, luggage was already spinning round. After that, we followed signs for the CAT (City Airport Train) that leaves twice per hour for central Vienna. Plenty of automated ticket kiosks to buy tickets from. As there is a non-express train that stops along the way, it is easy to get confused-the CAT platform is distinguishable by the distinct green branding of the logo. We were in central Vienna in less than an hour from deplaning, which is pretty impressive. Only thing I didn't like was that you needed to insert a 1 Euro coin for the trolley in the baggage reclaim hall-many people won't have change handy straight on arrival. On departure, I had already checked in at the CAT Terminal at Wien Mitte station, so it was straight to departures. At security all check-points were open and through in no time. As we had to do VAT refund, we went to the window open after passport control in the non-Schengen area (G gates). Plenty of shopping, handy if you want last-minute souvenirs. Vienna Airport is brilliant, being compact with no endless walking, short lines, clear signage and plenty of seating. Both times used Terminal 3 which is used by Star Alliance. It's transportation links with downtown Vienna via CAT made everything much easier.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Staff are extremely rude"

(United Arab Emirates)

I travel through Vienna Airport often and transiting is by far the worst experience for me in comparison with any other European airport. I arrived from Dubai - there was no ground staff or customer service desk available to direct me to next gate. I needed assistance since my next flight wasn't showing on the flight info screen yet. After 45 min a ground staff member was passing accidentally so I asked for help. She said I have to exit the terminal and head to another one. A very inconvenient system, long walking (took around 40 min walk to reach next gate). Very thorough security checks. Staff are extremely rude, especially security personnel. No respect for personal belongings at all. They took out my toothbrush and placed it again for scanning in a separate tray. I disagreed and said this is very unhygienic - first they touch it and second they placed it in a tray where everyone places items. For the past 9 years there has been no improvement at customer service at this airport. Extremely unprofessional.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"had a pleasant experience"

(Germany)

I flew through Vienna on my way back from Sarajevo to Düsseldorf and had a pleasant experience. The new Terminal 3 is very modern, offers free wifi, a lot of places to sit and work at, bars and vending machines. As I flew on Austrian Airlines I din't have to change the terminals so the transfer time can be quite short. There was not a long line at the many security check lines either.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport is thoroughly modern"

(Canada)

Vienna Airport was very clean and attractive. It is well designed and therefore is also efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and easy. Security was thorough but very fast. The airport is thoroughly modern and I appreciated the tasteful decor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"queues everywhere and general chaos"

(Switzerland)

The most annoying airport I have experienced. Queues everywhere and general chaos is usual for it. I almost was late for my connecting flight because of inefficient and tardy staff at Landespolizei counter and baggage re-check. Asking the airport personnel for help leads to nothing: mid-aged frustrated Austrian females have a manner of barking at passengers like shepherd dogs. I will avoid this airport in future and will spread the negative word of mouth as much as I can.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"nice, clean and organized"

(Thailand)

Nice, clean and organized. I like this airport very much. Getting to and from the airport is also very easy on the City Airport Train.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"Vienna airport is a hub with good connections"

(Slovenia)

Vienna airport is a hub with good connections in Europe. Although the airport architecture itself is not very good - especially if you need to find another terminal. Terminals BCD are on one side (old building), terminals G and F are in the new building. In order to go from new building to the old one, you need to go to the arrival hall where there are luggage belts and then follow the signs that takes you up and down the stairs, elevators, halls. It takes you 30 - 40 minutes to walk from one side to another. With children even more. Otherwise the new building is very nice, but toilets are one floor below, so you need to use the stairs (not so convenient for elderly, people with health problems or families with children). The terminal B is very small so if you are departing from there, stay in the main building or wait in the lounge. You really have nothing there at the B gates. Terminal F is ok. If you need to travel as a business traveller it is ok to use Vienna airport, if you travel as a familly, consider if you have enough time between flights, then it is ok.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

Vienna Airport customer review

(Greece)

Quick, bright and easy to navigate. Fast free internet connection. Flew with Star Alliance airline. Automatic boarding - quick, efficient and very comfortable. A variety of shops - a bit expensive. Overall a very nice experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Vienna Airport customer review

(Austria)

Good connection to the city, free and unlimited WIFI, a "normal" landside supermarket, fairly smoke-free. Effective and quick security check (much improved). The new terminal (Star Alliance) design is terrible (blacks and greys dominate the new terminal, signage grey on black isn't ideal). The arrivals area and halls are too narrow, walking distances are enormous, some washrooms are downstairs below, waiting areas lack sufficient seating. Lounges are a long distance from some departure gates. If there is a gate change for a Schengen flight, it can happen that you have to undergo a second security check as the two Schengen terminals are not connected although being practically in one and the same building.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no