Vienna Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 203 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Horrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience. Next time I will try to go through another airport. The duty free is before security so you don't have time to buy anything. Be ready to queue for hours for security standing as there are no seats. My waiting time for security was 1h30.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an annoying experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Providing security at the airline gates is all right - although it prevents buying/collecting water or other liquids after security to take onto a flight. But it would be helpful if some information were made available about when security opens. The gate was displayed almost two hours before the flight, but the security ‘service’ was closed. People started to queue. No information about an opening time was available at the gate or on the airport website. An hour and a half before the flight I asked at the ‘Security Service Counter’ what the plan was. I was told it usually opened 30 minutes before the flight. I was surprised so asked a few times to be sure. All in all, an annoying experience leaving from Vienna.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no water fountains"

(Macedonia)

Trip Verified | If you want water you can get it after security control. All the retailers in the airport see this as an opportunity to rip off passengers. There are no water fountains and there are signs in the toilets saying the water is not for drinking - shop selling water prices it at 1.9 Euro for a small 50cl bottle. Lots of other things about the airport are good including seating and wi-if.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"dissatisfied with access to gate D61-70"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very dissatisfied with access to gate D61-70. Additional security check point created a line of a full plane or more of passangers. The access to the checkpoint was open only 50 min prior to the departure although the gates have a waiting hall. Despite 7 people from the airport security, only one check point was open for a good 15 min. You would also have to discard your cold beverage that you bought beyond the main security point of the airport and you will have to open your bags in case you bought something from the Duty Free in the main airport departure hall. Just make sure not to through away your receipt - the security point will check for it. Overall, if you have a choice, fly Munich, Frankfurt or anything else. I will try to avoid Vienna, despite one of the best connection time and overall a decent airport, except for these gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Good disability assistance"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Good disability assistance, clean airport but most staff unhelpful. Shops to buy water are before security! Nowhere does it explain that you need to request a special sealed bag containing receipt. Very aggressive saleswoman who would not help us delayed us getting to gate. No communication about flight delay at gate (had to receive email to find out!). Only seating for half of passengers at gate 21D. Customer service poor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"clean, clear and straight forward"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Generally a nice airport: it is clean, clear and straight forward. I was often here on different trips (leisure and business). Positive aspects beside the cleanliness and clarity are the connection to the city center of Vienna. A new railway is connecting the airport to "Wien Mitte". In the station "Wien Mitte" you can even check in and drop-off your baggage. If you are a Lufthansa/Star Alliance frequent flyer, full service is provided at the check-in the Airport. Security is okay. At least they take care of conventional lanes and fast lanes. Staff are however not very helpful and seem sometimes not motivated about their customers. Poor English communication may be improved for non German speaking customers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Artificial smiles everywhere"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | Crowds and crowds of people, masses quite badly organized, staff not friendly, not helpful, they just fulfill the minimum rquirements. Better not ask anyone about anything. Artificial smiles everywhere. These people do not enjoy their job, they just work for their money.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Staff not nice at all"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | Staff not nice at all. These people have no idea about what service means. Was really unsatisfied. They just do the most necessary to survive every working day but do not do any extra above that. They put on an artificial smile but you can see on their faces they are fed up with their Job (or with their lives?) There are no seats at all! Only for handicapped. Ever experienced such a thing anywhere else? Would you want to stand for 3 hours?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Amazing lost and found service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Amazing lost and found service. While going through the security area, I forgot to remove my Rolex gold and steel watch, so at the last moment, I just pulled it open and tossed into my tray, on top of my jacket. I didn't notice, but it dropped on the side, to the bottom of the tray. Next, I picked up everything, except my beautiful watch. Since I always put it into a pocket of my backpack, I didn't worry about it and I noticed that it was missing when I was at my hotel in Cascais, Portugal! I immediately called Vienna's airport and they guided me to fill in an online form. I don't think it took more than 30 minutes when I received an email confirming that they had my watch. Long story short, I received my watch back in my home in San Diego, CA around 10 days after I lost it. Amazing. Thank you very much to all of those involved in my drama, that made possible that I recovered my loved wristwatch.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The worst airport in the world"

(Italy)

Not Verified | The worst airport in the world. They never wait for the connection flights even if it is with the same airline 'Austrian Airlines'. At the customer service desk only 2 employees serving more than 60 travellers with no possibility to catch another flight but obliged to sleep in a low quality hotel 20 km far away. How can they accept this low level of service in the only airport of the Country?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no