Verona Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 24 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"simply not enough seats"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Having experienced chaotic Italian airports before I was overall pleasantly surprised by my recent experiences at Verona airport. Arrival was very good, straight off aircraft and on bus for 30 second ride. Passports check was only 3 minutes and cases straight out. Plane to waiting car about 10-12 minutes - not bad at all. Departure ok, check desk open on time security queue very short. Main minus points little seating, poor signage, flies on food. Plane was an hour late not the airports fault and departure lounge was very full, again simply not enough seats.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"best avoided if possible"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We were warned about possible queues when we were returning from Verona airport but nothing prepared us for this terrible experience. Check-in was reasonable and we thought about having a cup of coffee before proceeding. Then we saw the next queue! This was to go through security. I didn’t count but there were certainly hundreds of people in the queue and we gradually shuffled forward to have our hand luggage checked. Then another queue, this time for passport control. Almost immediately afterwards were the gates where hundreds more passengers were waiting with very little seating. It was almost impossible to get to the correct area as a queue of people boarding another plane blocked our path. Having fought our way through, there was little room to stand and certainly no chance of a seat while we waited for some considerable time wishing we had stopped for coffee when we had the chance. Eventually the gate was opened and we boarded a bus to take us to the plane. Then we waited again for some considerable time in a temperature of over 30 degrees with the doors open and another bus next to ours with its engine running throwing out unpleasant fumes. When the bus finally reached the plane, it stood there for about 10 minutes with the doors closed. It appeared the flight crew were not ready to receive us! Verona airport is best avoided if possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"extremely unpleasant and stressful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Absolute chaos from the moment we arrived until the moment we left! Check in told us to join security queues immediately and when we saw the hundreds of people already waiting we understood why! We had to push through an already overcrowded waiting area to get to our departure point as did everyone else, and though we had been advised that our plane was ready and waiting our departure time came and went. Even when passengers started to board the transfer bus there was a delay because there was 'no driver'. Our driver did not appear to know where he was going. We eventually left one hour late and when we asked cabin crew if this was normal for Verona they said 'pretty much'. This was an extremely unpleasant and stressful experience, without doubt the worst airport service we have ever had and an airport to be avoided in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no sign of any airport staff doing anything"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This is the most chaotic and inefficient airport I have had the misfortune to have to use for many years, it makes Geneva look good! Last year the excuse for the mega queues was a broken baggage belt and this year they don't have enough ski containers! I have now queued for an hour to check in and another hour to drop the skis off and I'm still in the queue, absolutely disgusting for a place that calls itself an international airport. The British reps did a great job in establishing some order from the utter chaos of all the passengers with skis going home to 5 different places all in one big Melee and they got a queue going - no sign of any airport staff doing anything. An absolute disgrace and no credit to Italy at all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"disappointed and angry"

(United Kingdom)

Have just had a great week in Verona but my experience at the airport has left me disappointed and angry. The queuing for security check was ridiculous only later to have to queue yet again for passport control into departures. Complete lack of seating, and particularly at the gate we were leaving from where there were about 8 seats for a plane load waiting in 32 degree temperature. A lack of signs makes for a confusing place. My main bugbear however is the catering outlet Bricco Cafe (only 3 small places in departures anyway) serving baguette/panini, pizza and drinks. There is no organisation, customers do not know where to queue and pay, the woman serving was screaming at the customers. I had ordered 2 coffees, these were handed over in scalding hot non-thermal cups and I had to request lids. When I went to the other side to collect food, 2 heated paninis were eventually thrust at me in serviettes, I asked for a paper plate to be told no they were for pizza only, at which stage the content of my panini was falling out onto the counter and I was completely ignored, although a tray was eventually handed over. Food didn't taste very good anyway.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"more comfort is needed"

(United Kingdom)

My wife and I were delayed at Verona airport for 11.5hrs due to our flight not turning up. There was insufficient seating (many were sitting on the floor). We were offered meal vouchers which meant queuing for a voucher and queuing for food. There was no announcement to inform us of the cause of the delay. Many passages were elderly. My wife and I are in our 80s and more comfort is needed for situations like this. So I can only give this airport a low rating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poor signage throughout"

(United Kingdom)

Poor signage throughout the airport. The VIP lounge is appalling - small, with a large advertisement area for a car which could have offered more seating instead. A few apples, some long life croissants, (pre-packaged like biscuits,) a few yoghurts and no other food on offer.Certainly nothing hot or of any substance. All self service. A few newspapers. The TV was off. Our flight left at 11pm. The lounge closes at 8.30pm. I would have been really irritated if I had paid to use it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Avoid at all costs. Worst airport experience to date. Security queue started metres from check-in queues. Fuelled by greed - unable to cope with volume and only 6 of 9 security gates open. When I asked a "supervisor" why, was responded to with a smile and shrug of her shoulders. Great to know that customer service and professionalism no longer exists. Toilets were awful, and only just managed to get a limited seat at the gate, by going straight through passport control. Therefore did not buy any food or Duty Free - certainly not our loss. We were on a package tour - but will travel independently in future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"artificially generate extra income"

(Canada)

At all other airports including Malpensa Milan and Venice I have always paid for excess bagage at the ticket counter. At Verona airport you have to leave check-in counter after standing in line and go to another line somewhere else to pay the extra baggage charge and an extra 8 euros to the airport for the privilege and then get back into the front of the check-in line to get your boarding pass. What a way to artificially generate extra income for the airport and inflate employment figures.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"genuinely shocked at how awful it was"

(United Kingdom)

Myself and a group of five friends travelled through Verona Airport yesterday (23 September 2015). We were genuinely shocked at how awful it was for a modern international airport. Unclear signage, rude and dismissive staff, dirty smelly toilets and poor provision for food and drinks - not a pleasant experience! Unfortunately we had no choice as this was part of a booked tour holiday. Reading other reviews this is not breaking news, so why has nothing been done to sort it out?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 20 Reviews