Airline of the Year  

Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Avoid this airport at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Incompetence Personified! We arrived at the airport two and a half hours before our flight, the check in desk was only put on screen one hour fifty minutes before the flight. Two desks were opened and it took that one hour fifty minutes just to check in. We then had to queue again for security, we did speak to staff whose attitude was "everyone is late". Once through security queue again for passport control, got to gate, and as advised everyone was late so the plane was held. Once on the plane the baggage handlers couldn't load all the bags, so they took them off and loaded them in a manner that they all fitted, there goes another hour of my life! Avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff unwelcoming, uninterested and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The staff at Venice airport were unwelcoming, uninterested and rude. A hello or a smile would have been nice. I witnessed a member of staff ridiculing English passengers because they did not know how to use the self check in machines - something many of us had never seen or used before. All staff need training to improve their communication skills and patience and understanding with those new to updated technologies. Customers learn and are not trained. Help us not ridicule uspublicly. Dreadful attitude at check in!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no announcements for flights"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Terrible and unorganised passport control. Return flight from airport was awful. We made our way as soon as possible when check in opened then straight to security, that was ok. Then to passport control. So bad the queue was backed up round the shops and duty free. People were try to rush to the front of the queue as they were going to miss flights. No announcements for flights and even when finally boarding the electronic board still did not state boarding, it was blank next to flight. There is not enough time with the back log and slow passport control to get through to board the flights. Absolute shambles, worst airport I've ever been to!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport's departure hall is so disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I arrived into Venice airport in the middle of the night and everything was smooth apart from the rude bus driver for the bus to the city. We boarded the bus and were told to purchase a ticket from the kiosk. We exited the bus and the driver drove off immediately afterwards. Departures was another story however. My experience at departures was awful. The airport's departure hall is so disorganised (long queues) and there is a lack of space to even with to move. This made checking in very stressful and is easily one of the worst experiences checking in I have had. The only redeeming factor during check in was the friendly assistant who tried to speed up the queues by directing passengers to the Alitalia luggage drop off area (which was not advertised).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"could barely have been handled better"

(United Kingdom)

As a regular user of the site, I was not looking forward to my trip to Venice Marco Polo but I actually quite liked it. Whether it was because it was the end of October, who knows. The flight in was smooth, the buses to get passengers to terminals are always a bit of a nuisance, but we were bussed in, picking up the baggage in a pretty smart baggage reclaim area and out looking for our water taxi in 15 minutes. Today's return journey was a late morning flight. I could see how the check in area could have been very dingy, but with three desks open, we checked in 2 and a half hours early in 10 minutes. Upstairs to the security desks - plentiful, slick and through in 5 minutes. Air side, lots of seats and shiny shops if that's your thing. A quick hop through passport control to our series of gates, seats at a premium but sufficient. Whether the refursbishments have kicked in or whether we were lucky, but our Jet2 flight to Manchester could barely have been handled better.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"utter shambles, an absolute disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Have used Venice airport often but my latest visit can only be described as atrocious. We were flying back to Manchester - a journey we've done many times. To start with, because of building work it was hard to find the departure area (usually easy) and when we got there it wasn't clear where security was (there were actually 2 separate queues). Our flight was late and also no gate number was put up so we were left in an area for an indefinite time with no seating whatsoever unless you count the overpriced cafes. Eventually went early through passport control in the hopes of at least finding a seat. Very few available. Even at the gate there were crowds of people and hardly any seating. To add insult to injury our plane was parked so far away we all had to be taken by bus. That took 30 minutes. I might also say I was forcibly pushed out of the toilet area by a female cleaner. No toilets available for women for a good 20 minutes when I was there and eventually the lengthy queue used the disabled toilet. Utter shambles and an absolute disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"run down, with minimal facilities"

(United Kingdom)

One of the worst airports we've ever visited. Run down, with minimal facilities. A single check-in desk for a large, busy flight. Disgusting, grossly overpriced food. Chaotic, inefficient boarding and a filthy plane which ground staff hadn't bothered to clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not enough seating areas "

(United Kingdom)

Not enough seating areas provided, super overpriced food. €6.00 for a sandwich is a little bit out of order. Free wifi. Not only the flight was delayed but there was nothing to do. Terribly boring.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"departures are a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

This was the worst airport I have ever been in. Departures are a shambles. There is not enough room, I know the building work might change this but it is horrendous. Check in queues are awful and there are so many people that check in and security queues merge into each other. No clear signage, we got to our departure gate with minutes to spare even though we had got there 2 hours before. Would love to go back to Venice but the airport puts me off.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security continues to be a mess"

(United Kingdom)

Venice Marco Polo looks like an airport, but the usual shambles at baggage drop. We frequently fly with easyJet and this airport does them a serious disservice. We arrived at the airport well before desks opened, then the usual dive for the queue, then nothing. Desks 73-74 for baggage drop? No. Desk 73 was for special assistance, desk 74 for speedy boarding. The 'real' desk was no.75, with no sign, of course. After half an hour of little progress, an employee wandered along the line and asked if we'd checked in online. Of course we had. That's what you do with easyJet. As we were first to say that we had, we got pulled to a nearby desk and luggage weighed and off we went, trying not to make eye-contact with the puzzled passengers in front of us. Security continues to be a mess, with officious, badged 'trainees' insisting that the removal of laptops etc is done only at the point when the bags are actually placed on the belt to be scanned, in other words, not allowing passengers to get organised before that point, presumably in case they go through too quickly. Upstairs the café provides some reasonable salads etc if you can work out what they cost. I made the mistake of thinking pasta might be tasty. Worst ever in any country. Luke-warm, pre-cooked, dipped into a thin watery sauce. It was supposedly a set meal, with the main course being thin pieces of charred chicken and cold chips. How this airport stands any chance of expanding into the new space is beyond imagination. It goes without saying that signage is inadequate. We guessed where we needed to be from previous experience. If the airport didn't serve such a beautiful city as Venice, we would never go there again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews