Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 106 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Avoid this airport at all costs"

(Italy)

Not Verified | People with chemical allergies: Avoid this airport at all costs - some idiot decided that after renovating the airport (which by the way looks awful now, really cold and windy) thought that it was a good idea to spray toxic (par)fumes in all the arrival/departure area and especially in the toilets. I am in pain with asthma now, please if you suffer from chemical sensitivity write to the airport to complain.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is overcapacity"

(Canada)

Unverified | This airport is overcapacity presumably because of the current popularity. Chack in desks are on the main floor in various buildings as the airport kept expanding. You may experience long walks. Flight gate areas are overcrowded. Restaurant/shopping facilities are okay. Once you are past passport control there is only one snack bar and duty free. So, leave extra time for the whole process and buy what you need before passport control.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"way over capacity"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The worst airport i've ever used. The car rental return facility is located very far from the terminal and not easy to find. You then have to carry your luggage a considerable distance, more than 1 km, to get to departure floor. You then find out that you have to leave them at the arrival floor! Fortunately, I registered on-line with my airline, other wise I would have to wait for a good hour to drop them off and get the boarding pass. It is now 11:30 am. You then have to get to the departure floor to go through security. You find with horror that the waiting line goes from one end of the terminal to the other and back. We finally go through security. It is now 12.40, pm. We then find that there is another line for passport verification. We are through at 13:30 pm. The officer barely look at the document. We finally reach the gate at 13:35. The boarding has just started, even if it was to start at 13:05. New line to check boarding passes then wait for the bus that brings passengers to the plane. We are in the plane 13:50. The plane takes off at 14:15. This airport is way over capacity. The process should be simplified - airport staff at baggage drop-off should check passenger documents as at other airports. Staff are helpful, but overwhelmed. Wifi doesn't work. Few restaurants, but anyway because of long waiting time in queue, not time to eat or to shop
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Officials brisk and efficient, so minimal delay"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We departed from Venice Airport on a Saturday at early afternoon, and so it was very busy. Long lines for security, but took only about 10 mins to reach checkpoint. Officials brisk and efficient, so minimal delay. As we were going to Amsterdam there was no need for passport control, but then a long wait until gate announced, but lots of seating and quick free wifi. Flight information displayed on small overhead screens, and gate only announced 60 mins before departure, so leaves some confusion as to which part of airport to wait in - better flight information needed. Ground staff at adjacent gate were carrying out a comprehensive check on size of cabin bags, with some very unhappy passengers who were clearly trying it on. Unfortunately this procedure was not applied at our gate, with the result that the lockers on our aircraft were chock full, and some bags had to go in the hold. Why don't airlines and ground staff apply their own rules?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Totally disorganized airport"

(Canada)

Unverified | We were happy to have passed check-in and security under 40 min so we could relax and grab a bite for lunch before our flight to Montreal, then we were just shocked to see what was waitting on the other side! Just horrible. Totally disorganized airport. Wait for passport control is around 2h with a 300m line and no clear indications. So including check-in and security, that's close to 3h on your feet. There is no priority line for children and although my daughter is 10, that's a long time just waiting! Just an overall horrible customer experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"item remained unattended"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Venice Marco Polo Airport - In these days of extreme terrorist actions throughout the world and specific attacks at international airports we were amazed when a fellow passenger at our allotted departure gate found an unattended piece of luggage and was told by the boarding staff to pick the item up and take it to the police upstairs. The passenger, quite correctly, refused to do so and told them to take some action. The request was ignored and the item remained unattended for some time until another passenger again complained to a different airport employee but this was also received with the reply "Just pick it up and take the escalator to the next level where you will find the police kiosk". Needless to say this passenger also refused to do this and after several minutes a very reluctant airport employee called someone we assumed was security staff and the item was removed. Now we all knew we had already passed security etc but this item of luggage could have been placed there by anyone and contained anything so to ask passengers to approach, never mind pick up and carry is disgraceful and reflects poorly on this airports security policy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Needs big improvements"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | No jet bridge available so we arrived on a remote stand and then an announcement said that they could not find any steps to offload us onto the bus. Eventually we arrived at the immigration queues which were chaotic but followed a few others from the flight into a line only to be told as we were about 6 from the front that we had to go to a massive queue the other side of this area as that had 4 automatic passport gates. This queue was taking forever but the queue we were in previously was empty, and to add insult to injury we saw about 50 people arrive and immediately get ushered into the one we had been thrown out of. The staff there are useless and do not listen to reasonable arguments. Eventually we got through but had missed a water transport connection as a result. In addition this airports toilet facilities are far from hygienic, their announcements and some signs are not clear. Needs big improvements.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"passport control airport was horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | The passport control to leave the airport was horrendous. Although I was able to go through the e-gate, my daughter and granddaughter had to queue for nearly 2 hrs because my granddaughter was under 12 and unable to use the e-gate. So many people were called forward as they would have missed their flight, which is what happened to my family. I think lots of people in the queue did not realise that they could have gone through the e-gate. I will avoid this airport from now on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most unorganised airport"

(Sweden)

Unverified | This is the most unorganised airport I have been to. Arrival was without any problem. However, departure was a hellish adventure. It was chaotic, lacked logic in placement of signs and was generally understaffed. I guess a big part of the problem is that it has become too small to fit the larger masses at summer, but still, this unorganised place makes one feel both unsafe and not very respectfully treated. I'm always at airports in good time. This time I was at the airport 4 hours before departure. My plan was to use the self service check in kiosks you always find at other airports, go through security and then eat lunch and maybe do some shopping before departure. But there weren't any self service check in -kiosks and there wasn't any information about where to check in until well past 2 hours before departure. In the hall people didnt know what queue went to which desk and there were no personel organising it either. From check in we hurried immediately upstairs where we first couldn't find the correct queue to security check and then when we found it, we discovered it went around two corners and was about 300 meters long. Other trevellers had to pass through it. On the other side of the security check we found out that our flight was already boarding so we had to hurry on to the plane. No lunch and no shopping. We were in the Airport in good time and still we had to queue for two hours and feel stressed at the same time. I didn't feel safe or well taken care of like I do at other European airports and will probably avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Found all staff very friendly and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Found the airport very clean and easy to get around. Lost my passport and Police and Lost property staff were excellent. Thank you so very much. Food options very good, and had no problems whatsoever in getting to baggage drop and passport control. Found all staff very friendly and helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 90 Reviews