Top 100 Airports  

Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"departures are a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

This was the worst airport I have ever been in. Departures are a shambles. There is not enough room, I know the building work might change this but it is horrendous. Check in queues are awful and there are so many people that check in and security queues merge into each other. No clear signage, we got to our departure gate with minutes to spare even though we had got there 2 hours before. Would love to go back to Venice but the airport puts me off.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security continues to be a mess"

(United Kingdom)

Venice Marco Polo looks like an airport, but the usual shambles at baggage drop. We frequently fly with easyJet and this airport does them a serious disservice. We arrived at the airport well before desks opened, then the usual dive for the queue, then nothing. Desks 73-74 for baggage drop? No. Desk 73 was for special assistance, desk 74 for speedy boarding. The 'real' desk was no.75, with no sign, of course. After half an hour of little progress, an employee wandered along the line and asked if we'd checked in online. Of course we had. That's what you do with easyJet. As we were first to say that we had, we got pulled to a nearby desk and luggage weighed and off we went, trying not to make eye-contact with the puzzled passengers in front of us. Security continues to be a mess, with officious, badged 'trainees' insisting that the removal of laptops etc is done only at the point when the bags are actually placed on the belt to be scanned, in other words, not allowing passengers to get organised before that point, presumably in case they go through too quickly. Upstairs the café provides some reasonable salads etc if you can work out what they cost. I made the mistake of thinking pasta might be tasty. Worst ever in any country. Luke-warm, pre-cooked, dipped into a thin watery sauce. It was supposedly a set meal, with the main course being thin pieces of charred chicken and cold chips. How this airport stands any chance of expanding into the new space is beyond imagination. It goes without saying that signage is inadequate. We guessed where we needed to be from previous experience. If the airport didn't serve such a beautiful city as Venice, we would never go there again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no proper lines"

(United Kingdom)

I have been in many airports and this is the most unorganised place I have ever been in my life. Short on check in staff and everybody just gathers around all over the place, no proper lines to stand in and absolutely not one bit of organisation whatsoever with not one person to help or advise where to queue. Just herded in crowds like cattle going to market. We were all herded together all going on different flights the staffing is a joke. We stood juggling for at least two hours absolutely horrendous. The buses are parked about half mile away also which is awful. I am so surprised with this airport so far behind. I will never return here and definately advise anyone going, not to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"heaving with passengers, limited seating"

(United Kingdom)

Venice Marco Polo Airport is chaos. No clear signage for departure check-in. Heaving with passengers, limited seating, passengers having to squeeze past each other. Clearly not enough check in agents. Long waiting times in queues for check-in even for bag drop passengers who had checked in online and had boarding cards. Insufferable heat, AC on but must be in need of service. Information boards - did not have check in desk indicated. Long security queues mingling with check in passengers. Gate 25 and others in this area overcrowded. Not enough cafes in this area. Drinks machine almost empty. Departure gates insufficient staff. Insuffient buses to transport passengers to aircraft on stands. Passengers waiting on full buses in blazing heat, standing and crushed together for long periods of time up to 20 mins
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

I have been through many airports but without doubt, Venice is the worst of them all - especially for departure. I have never seen such terrible organisation and crowd management. Yes it is busy and yes there are building works going on, however this is an international airport and has to be improved for the sanity of those using it. The check in queues are horrendous and slow. We were in the check in queue for 2 hrs. This was made worse by a party of at least 15 people who pushed to the front and expected to not have to wait on the strength of 2 of them being diabetic. This was totally inappropriate. If possible, avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"our time was spent in queues"

(United Kingdom)

Absolute chaos. Only 2 check in desks for standard passengers with easyJet when 4 cruise ships were disembarking (approx 9000 people) and the majority of passengers were flying home. Same with other airlines. Check in staff very slow allowing long queues to form and preventing other travellers reaching their relevant check ins. Then trying to find security again amid all the chaos, I appreciate work is ongoing but major improvements needed in all areas before this can be classed as an international airport. Unable to rate food and beverages as all our time was spent in queues.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff unprofessional, apathetic"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I flew from Venice Marco Polo to Gatwick and I can confirm the chaos that May Jones describes for BA check-in. After getting through security there is a lack of seating airside but if you’re using an outdated, inefficient check-in system with staff that are unprofessional and apathetic then you don’t need seating on the airside as everybody will be queuing landside. The handling of passengers at the departure gate was just as bad. When the departure gate opened it was left up to the passengers to organise themselves which of course resulted in an unholy scrum. Once through the departure gate there was no one supervising the buses at the terminal nor at the airplane. During this whole episode it did cross my mind that perhaps this was a giant experiment into human behaviour under extreme provocation. Marco Polo is advertised as an International airport but it doesn’t meet the standards expected.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"long, difficult obstacle course"

(United Kingdom)

My experience at this airport was so bad that I never want to return. Just getting to the check in desk for BA was a long, difficult obstacle course and then there was a very, very long wait in a very long queue. At one point a member of staff barked at us to form an L shaped queue as the line stretched right across the concourse. There were then queues for security, toilets and the gate. The bus transporting passengers to the plane was almost the worst part. Last October I was told the airport was under construction but nothing had improved in the intervening months and surely BA could have more than one person checking in a busy flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"45 minutes to collect our luggage"

(Italy)

I don't like Venice Marco Polo Airport but I'll focus on my last arrival. We arrived at 7 am and we were the only flight in the airport, despite that fact we had to wait 45 minutes to collect our luggage. Fortunately that time we didn't have to take the bus from plane to airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"every stage was quick and easy"

(United Kingdom)

I was not looking forward to VCE, having seen the other reviews, but both arrival on a Saturday afternoon and departure on a Wednesday afternoon were without problems. Every stage was quick and easy. The Marco Polo lounge had limited, but very good food and refreshments. The only downside is the walk to the water taxi/bus, however I am sure this will be addressed in the major airport extension that is under construction.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 68 Reviews