Venice Marco Polo Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Facilities 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 13th June 2015

It all started so well with quick and efficient security check but after that it all went downhill. With reasonable space available to browse a number of outlets it soon became clear that the area was becoming very crowded and it appeared evident that passengers were having to queue for passport inspection in lines so long that they extended out to the retail area. Then followed a long wait with several anxious passengers worried about missing their departing flights. Once through passport control we were directed to Gates 21-26 where passengers were sat on the floor or left to stand because of overcrowding and lack of space. In order to try to clear space at Gate 21, passengers were boarded, in no particular order and by one member of staff checking boarding passes manually, onto a waiting bus to be taken to the aircraft. In very hot conditions and with no aircon, we were left for over 15 mins on the bus. Then after a slow drive to the plane the driver got out and again left the passengers on the hot bus before getting clearance to board. At the end of our flight the BA Captain advised that he would seek an investigation into what went on after what he rightly described as 'an unacceptable situation'.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date Visit13-06-2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Facilities 12345
Wifi Connectivity N/A
no
7/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 26th April 2015

Returned from Marco Polo to Gatwick yesterday with Easyjet. ATVO coach from Piazzale Roma to airport very good highly recommended. Airport is having building work done so some chaos there! Had checked in online so easyjet baggage drop was a breeze. Coffee shop downstairs hot crowded and not very good. Better upstairs. Not a great deal of outdoor seating and it was really hot in the airport even in April. Had read terrible things about security being a total nightmare but it flowed very quickly and easily with no problems at all - much faster in fact than the passport checks on getting back in to Gatwick. Having gone through security there is loads of places to eat and drink and sit and of course shop but duty free prices seemed more expensive than Gatwick - made the mistake of leaving some purchases until return journey which I won't do again. Boarding was very slow - not sure why - and although Gatwick had been strict about 100ml maximum size for water bottles at Marco Polo they couldn't care less. Maybe that's the Italian way of doing things.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
2/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 20th March 2015

As on previous occasions the Easyjet baggage drop really lets down this company at Marco Polo airport The staff are indifferent and slow. There were gaps in the barrier which enabled queue jumping and nobody around to replace or sort out the mess. On 15/3/15 with a growing queue two staff wandered off one on 'Speedy boarding' took a phone call and there is an air of bemusement that passengers are disgruntled. Perhaps they really don't care. The upstairs café is quite pleasant but not somewhere to visit in a hurry. Easyjet must hate this place as all the 'services' they need are done so badly. All the passengers were ready and waiting to board but everything is done at snail's pace. The security checks re-organised last year are worse than ever even at a quiet mid-March time. Boarding took far too long because only the front door was available so on a quick turn- round it was impossible to get to our seats quickly. The air-crew don't seem to understand the problem is not generally the passengers who've been ready and waiting for a good hour at the gate. If it wasn't in Venice we'd not be back. As for the prospect of expansion eek! They can't cope now.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
0/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th January 2015

We travelled back from Marco Polo on Saturday 2nd January. We've been to this airport before and had no problems but when we arrived at 2.00 for our 4 o'clock flight we found chaos. We only had hand luggage but the queue for security was out of the door and there was a scrum around the entrance to the barriers of the queuing system. Everyone was pushing forward and at times it was hard to stand up we were so squashed. Then some people started pushing in up the side or undoing the barrier tapes to cut off a corner. There were no airport staff to manage the queue. When we got near the front of the queue we found that the reason for the hold-up was that they've introduced automatic boarding-pass readers but only two for the whole airport! And a member of staff was there holding people back presumably to allow through people who'd booked priority boarding. It was a total shambles and it took us an hour and a quarter to get through security. It was quite a dangerous situation which could have been much better managed.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
2/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 14th January 2015

Departed Venice 2 January with hand baggage only on EasyJet. Definitely the security screening experience I have had in any first world airport. Issues: No effective control over the line to get through security. On ineffectual staff member could not control such a large scrum. Too few security scanning stations open for the number of passengers travelling. No staff assigned to getting the baggage trays back from the scanning stations to where passengers were lining up for security screening. We arrived at the airport with two hours before our flight was due to depart (hand baggage only remember) and only got to the gate as the flight was boarding! Shocking experience.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities N/A
no
9/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 22nd October 2014

Modern clean airport. We had cabin baggage only and got through security relatively quickly. Plenty of shops albeit mainly designer brands. A few choices for food upstairs serving hot snacks and soft/alcoholic drinks. Toilets were clean and well stocked. Our gate area was easily found plenty of seats and everything ran smoothly. I was quite impressed with the airport. Plenty of signage and easily guided towards the docks for water taxis etc.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
8/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (Portugal) 13th October 2014

Flew T.A.P. Venice - Lisbon. Bad points - very crowded and nowhere to sit before check-in 2 hours before flight and being bussed to aircraft. Good points were very quick check-in clean tidy air-side with ample comfortable seating (massage chairs excellent) adequate food selection at prices lower than many other airports. This refers to the upper floor area - perhaps the previous bad reports were only applicable to the low cost carriers with separate downstairs check-in?
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
0/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 30th September 2014

Travelled yesterday afternoon Saturday 27 September and after an appalling check in experience with EasyJet decided to investigate other reviews of travelers through Venice Airport. Should have done this before we travelled. Unbelievably reviews written in 2012 could have been ones that we experienced in September 2014! Really dreadful airport. The queues were horrendous check in didn't open until 2 hours before flight due to leave but even though people had been in the airport queuing for 1 hour before check in opened it still took us until 15 minutes before the plane was due to leave to get our boarding passes. The queue for EasyJet was the entire length of the airport! Last call for our plane was made and we were still only half way down this queue. Many signs around the airport blaming the Italian government for the hold-ups but the problem was the queues which could have been sorted if there was enough staff on duty! Only 2 staff on duty checking in 3 EasyJet flights to Paris Gatwick and Perugia - easy to work out the total number of passengers standing in line for hours with no Easy Jet staff to speak to or help. And then final annoyance check in staff desk sent us to wrong gate No 28 instead of No 31! Gate 28 was downstairs no 31 upstairs - for so many passengers rushing to get to the gate this was not well received! Toilets dirty no toilet rolls and in one no water for hand washing. Given the huge number of passengers using Venice airport tourists business and cruise ship passengers absolutely terrible way to finish a visit to Venice!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
1/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 8th July 2014

It is hard to know why this airport runs so slowly when it has relatively few flights and passengers. Baggage drop was slow security utterly inefficient with staff making things worse by trying (unsuccessfully) to manage queues. The new security gates have caused chaos. We were in plenty of time there weren't many people passing through security but it took 20 mins. The upstairs cafe operates at snails pace with odd queue arrangements and poor display of pricing. Not surprisingly with such poor service customers choose not to clear their trays as requested. Our EasyJet flight was delayed because the baggage handlers couldn't get the luggage on in time to meet the departure slot. Why? The passengers were all at the gate in good time there was no sign of anyone arriving at the last minute and not much luggage actually going to the hold. As last year the departure slot was missed because of the inefficiency of the airport. This should be a pleasant airport experience. Please don't allow the passenger numbers to grow until the whole place is managed properly!
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
no
8/10

Venice Marco Polo Airport customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 16th June 2014

A short return trip refreshed our views of this airport and showed up some changes over 3 years. With only cabin bags we were quickly through into the concourse where ticket machines have sprung up for onward journeys either by coach or waterbus and the internal Venice waterbuses too. Very convenient to use but don't bother pre-ordering your tickets online. The discount is minimal you get a code number to punch into the machine for your ticket it doesn't recognise it and you have to go searching for the ticket counter. The airport was very busy on the evening of our return but 4 security lanes kept queues short even though they did insist on searching my bag! Airside there are lots of shops and bars but if you want some quiet seating go through to your gate as soon as it shows on the screens. No shops but plenty of seats. Just a shame they don't have free wifi anywhere. Buses required for transfers to our budget flights and there didn't seem to be much use of airbridges anywhere.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Facilities 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 51 Reviews